728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Install the Monterey 35,000 BTU Natural Gas Top-Vent Wall Furnace between studs in the wall to provide a room with heat without the need for electricity. This wall furnace comes with a thermostat for temperature regulation and can be converted to run on liquid propane with an optional conversion kit (not included).
Overall rating:
3.965 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product40 of 53reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(28)
4
(14)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product40 of 53reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Review 1 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Designed for By Men, For Men :(

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My landlord installed this heater. It provides heat but 1. It's shorter than the older heaters so now there's an ugly gap in the wall at the top. 2. The cover is too hard to remove for cleaning or, as I had to do today, remove the cover to reset the safety valve switch. I guess you can't dry a bra near this thing or it will think it is suffocating. And really - you have to remove the entire heavy, obstinate, cover to reach the switch. I want a heater designed for a woman - and I don't mean a pink one. ;)
Pros: provides heat
Cons: Too Heavy, difficult to reach safety button, difficult to remove cover to clean, no instructions on reaching safety button, slightly shorter than older heaters
-9points
3out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Stopped working after 5 weeks

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great for 5 weeks and then went kapoot.
The internal parts of the valve stopped working, leaving only a pilot light. Warranty calls for a free replacement, but labor (remove and replace) is not covered.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not all Items needed were included in the item i purchased

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this furnace from your website, there was no mention of additional parts needed anywhere on the website or on any additional info requested. the failure of this info has left a renter of mine without heat for the last three weeks while waiting for the rest of the furnace to show up, at additional costs. I'm sure the furnace will work just fine but Home Depot could do a much better job of providing all the parts needed to install it.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was ordered to replace the exact same product

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had to order one on the web and had it installed. This was to replace the exact one that's on the wall already. The new one that we had installed leaked gas. The company said we'd have to have someone take the unit apart and repair the all in one wall heater. I was not about to spend the same amount to repair the heater as we did to buy a brand new heater. We had to reorder another new one and wait for it to come in so that we could have the other one taken off the wall and the second new one installed so that we could return the first one. It was just a big inconvenience to have to have this installed twice and to remove one as well as having to be out twice the amount of money for two weeks waiting for the second one to arrive.
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Bradford pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase ever!!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brand new heater? yes its brand new but came with a bad gas regulator. Who knows how much it will cost to repair it. Plus the parts to install it are a hard to get and home depot doesn't sell.
Thank giving is in 4 days and the timing could not be any worse.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Only works when I press the vent limit switch

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just bought last week and the day it was installed it worked the first time I turned the heat up to about 75 deg. Ever since, I have to press the vent limit switch in order to get it to turn on. It seems something is broken or not working properly from the first day I started it up. I replaced the thermostat with a nice programmable Honeywell to see if that would help, but same issue. I have to press the vent limit switch in order to get it started. Pilot light is fine, just won't heat up until vent limit switch is pressed. Don't know what to do except pay contractor who I paid to install it to now uninstall it and return it. That or see if PG&E will take a look at it.
Cons: not working
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Bolivar, NY 14715, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not a great value

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product cost as much for the needed parts as the furnace. It sticks out a lot farther than suggested in ad
Cons: Too Big, meeded parts are expensive
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Artesia, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be prepared to buy more parts

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this unit because I thought it was a good price, too bad I had to order a $165.00 freestanding mounting kit shipped motor freight for an additional $170.00. I decided to go ahead and get the optional blower motor assembly for only and extra $110.00. These extra accessories were not available at Home Depot so I had to order from Global Industrial. The unit could not be installed properly because the freestanding kit was not adjustable for ceilings lower than 7'9" which was supposed to be the minimum height it could be adjusted to. The pilot would not stay lit until my HVAC guy adjusted several parts, several times. He was about to suggest that I just return the unit, freestanding kit, and blower and get something else. I would have only given one star, but once we finally got it all installed and got the pilot to stay lit, it does work well enough and the blower is all that noisy as one other review I read suggested. I wouldn't buy this unit, or any other William's product again.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install, required extra parts not available in stores, difficult to light the pilot
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Coeur d Alene, ID
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

difficult installation

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The heaters description leaves out the fact that you need to purchase additional product specific exhaust vent parts that are very expensive. Heater should be manufactured with direct vent.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I returned the item.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned the item. The photo online was not useful in determining the suitability of the item for my needs. Will not order items of this nature online again.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Dubuque, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought to replace an LP furnace as we switch to Natural Gas

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This unit is identical to the one we have, but was not convertible from LP to Nat Gas.
The new one has a wall mounted thermostat which will be more convenient than kneeling down to reach the controls.
Best was that this furnace was half the price that we paid for the first one, from a local heating contractor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

do not know how this product performs as Home Depot does not sell the vent kit that is necessary to install this product

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This furnace offered several features that were appealing to me. there is a vent kit that is not offered by home depot that is unique to this furnace and difficult to find especially if you are not an HVAC contractor you can not buy from these companies. Home Depot should either start stocking the required componets to install the furnace, make it very clear to purchasers that they will have to buy the needed componets from anohther dealer or stop selling the product.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

great product but beware...

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
... home depot does not carry all the required parts needed to make it work for propane use and venting. Once we finally tracked down suppliers for the necessary gas to propane conversion kit & vent kit it worked great. The only other problem was fitting the cover on after mounting flush to the wall instead of partially recessed into the wall. The grate won't go on without yet another necessary conversion kit. Great product, works very well for heat, but there are too many conversion kits needed to actually make it work that home depot doesn't carry for this specific model. In the end we spent a lot more money on kits than the actual heater. Poor advertising home depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Moderate install nice furnace

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Not straight forward but nice when completed. Called Williams a couple times helpful if you get a good agent (got one that hated her job). Bought the blower too and it didn't fit as directed. Had to tear it apart a couple times, move components inside and drill holes to make it fit. What a hassle. This is not for the unskilled!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Homewood,IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The good,the bad, and the ugly and all the above

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this heater to replace a very old wall heating unit TEMCO that was leaking gas and carbon monoxide. The installation supposed to be quick and easy, but I still decided to hire a professional HVAC tech. However, it was nightmarish.
It was very hard to fit the unit into an existing wall whole so I had extra expenditures on boards, insulation and spacers. The small over-heating sensor was mounted on the side of the unit and techs accidentally damaged it during installation, so needed to be replaced with a new one. Came with a cheap and BROKEN thermostat so I ended up buying a new one and paying extra for installation...thanks to Home Depot Customer Service that gave me partial credit for that.
After installation the unit seemed to work fine except the noise. During the heating cycle the unit produces the normal sound( white noise) but after the temperature has been reached you can hear the clicking and nocking sounds from the chamber and the vent. Called the Williams Customer Service and they explained that this is normal-"metal is cooling off and the noise you hear is the trunk lines and chamber cooling down..'. So,since I sleep in that room -I better get used to the noise.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Missouri

Monterey wall furnace

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Furnace arrived on time and in good condition. Was easy to install as it was a replacement for former wall furnace. Everything fit into existing opening and flu vent.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Should have more info on parts needed

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Heater does not come with starter plate for flue pipe. hard to find oval vent for flue.Does not fit wall tight.Home Depot does not sell the parts needed.Works good after getting all the parts and installing.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from Calif
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good heater for the money

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I continue to use Williams wall heaters in my apartment. I have installed four of theses at different times, I would recommend you first blow out the exhaust tube in the wall to get rid of built up carbon and soot build up before you connect to the heater. (I use a .electric blower to blow out the soot).
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from troy mich.

extra heat

PostedApril 14, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
needed extra heat in a famliy room. it works well and was easy to install, thats all you can ask for
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas Heater with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
from California

Wall Mounted Heater

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent item. We thought the item was outdated and no stores would carry it. It's great that you guys have it !!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>