728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat

Install the Monterey 35,000 BTU Natural Gas Top-Vent Wall Furnace between studs in the wall to provide a room with heat without the need for electricity. This wall furnace comes with a thermostat for temperature regulation and can be converted to run on liquid propane with an optional conversion kit (not included).
Overall rating:
4.023 / 5
4
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(13)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product30 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Review 1 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Coldandmad
from Bradford pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase ever!!

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Brand new heater? yes its brand new but came with a bad gas regulator. Who knows how much it will cost to repair it. Plus the parts to install it are a hard to get and home depot doesn't sell.
Thank giving is in 4 days and the timing could not be any worse.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Agent8J
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Designed for By Men, For Men :(

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My landlord installed this heater. It provides heat but 1. It's shorter than the older heaters so now there's an ugly gap in the wall at the top. 2. The cover is too hard to remove for cleaning or, as I had to do today, remove the cover to reset the safety valve switch. I guess you can't dry a bra near this thing or it will think it is suffocating. And really - you have to remove the entire heavy, obstinate, cover to reach the switch. I want a heater designed for a woman - and I don't mean a pink one. ;)
Pros: provides heat
Cons: Too Heavy, difficult to reach safety button, difficult to remove cover to clean, no instructions on reaching safety button, slightly shorter than older heaters
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
unamused
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was ordered to replace the exact same product

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had to order one on the web and had it installed. This was to replace the exact one that's on the wall already. The new one that we had installed leaked gas. The company said we'd have to have someone take the unit apart and repair the all in one wall heater. I was not about to spend the same amount to repair the heater as we did to buy a brand new heater. We had to reorder another new one and wait for it to come in so that we could have the other one taken off the wall and the second new one installed so that we could return the first one. It was just a big inconvenience to have to have this installed twice and to remove one as well as having to be out twice the amount of money for two weeks waiting for the second one to arrive.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Chuck
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not all Items needed were included in the item i purchased

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered this furnace from your website, there was no mention of additional parts needed anywhere on the website or on any additional info requested. the failure of this info has left a renter of mine without heat for the last three weeks while waiting for the rest of the furnace to show up, at additional costs. I'm sure the furnace will work just fine but Home Depot could do a much better job of providing all the parts needed to install it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
RentalOwner

Stopped working after 5 weeks

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This thing worked great for 5 weeks and then went kapoot.
The internal parts of the valve stopped working, leaving only a pilot light. Warranty calls for a free replacement, but labor (remove and replace) is not covered.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
nick
from Bolivar, NY 14715, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not a great value

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product cost as much for the needed parts as the furnace. It sticks out a lot farther than suggested in ad
Cons: Too Big, meeded parts are expensive
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Murph
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

do not know how this product performs as Home Depot does not sell the vent kit that is necessary to install this product

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This furnace offered several features that were appealing to me. there is a vent kit that is not offered by home depot that is unique to this furnace and difficult to find especially if you are not an HVAC contractor you can not buy from these companies. Home Depot should either start stocking the required componets to install the furnace, make it very clear to purchasers that they will have to buy the needed componets from anohther dealer or stop selling the product.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
LongJohn
from Dubuque, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought to replace an LP furnace as we switch to Natural Gas

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This unit is identical to the one we have, but was not convertible from LP to Nat Gas.
The new one has a wall mounted thermostat which will be more convenient than kneeling down to reach the controls.
Best was that this furnace was half the price that we paid for the first one, from a local heating contractor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
JuJu
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I returned the item.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I returned the item. The photo online was not useful in determining the suitability of the item for my needs. Will not order items of this nature online again.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
jolergolf
from Missouri

Monterey wall furnace

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Furnace arrived on time and in good condition. Was easy to install as it was a replacement for former wall furnace. Everything fit into existing opening and flu vent.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
jack

williams heater

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
when received and opened slighty dented on the side. heater. performs fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
JohnS

Better deisgn.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The newer units have better designs than sone of the older models. Easier to get to when making adjustments and/or repairs in later years. Specs were really tight, so had to make some very minor modifications to make it fit into the wall, as the wall was exactly the opening size needed. As a result, it was a bit tricky to slide inot place.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
international
from troy mich.

extra heat

PostedApril 14, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
needed extra heat in a famliy room. it works well and was easy to install, thats all you can ask for
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
wash1

Should have more info on parts needed

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Heater does not come with starter plate for flue pipe. hard to find oval vent for flue.Does not fit wall tight.Home Depot does not sell the parts needed.Works good after getting all the parts and installing.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Spike
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unit is a little flimsy and thermostat does not work well

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice looking unit but a little flimsy. Thermostat does not seem to work. Be sure to order a fan with it as the radiant heat is mostly up.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
rprmn
from California

Wall Mounted Heater

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent item. We thought the item was outdated and no stores would carry it. It's great that you guys have it !!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Dennis
from Simi Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It was as adverticed

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was hard to install but was delivered on time. It was as advertised.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Blaze

This furnace was easy to install.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The one problem I ran across was finding the right vent. Most places do not carry the B-W vent. You can find the round B vent at Home Depot. The only place I found the B-W vent was through a HVAC Contractor. That was the only issue I had with getting my final inspection.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: finding b-w vent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
steve
from placerville calif
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great service for extra parts needed

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read these reviews and when i purchased the unit I knew what questions to ask. As a result I received knowledge to locating all parts necessary for the install I needed. Not all stores will have the personnel at the time maybe when you need them, but I have learned they do hire the right personnel for each dept, and you will eventually get your questions answered. The home depot wants your business and it shows with their customer service.
Pros: Easy to Install, great customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 35,000 BTU/Hr Monterey Top-Vent Gravity Wall Furnace Natural Gas with Wall or Cabinet-Mounted Thermostat
Rhondalee02
from Sault Ste. Marie, ON, Canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good features

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I do not have it installed yet do to the length of shipping time,, I just picked it up a week ago
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: shipping time was to long
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>