728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Handheld Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer

4.8 amp 14 In. swath. Auto feed system-no bumping. Rubber Soft Grips. Ratchet cord retention. Push button Groom and Edge. Edge guide. Superior ergonomics.
Overall rating:
4.529 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
Review 1 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
tammy
from zwolle, louisiana

Perfect Gardener Product

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box plugged it in and went to work. Lightweight, easy to handle, refeeds trimmer line with great ease. in fact you have to stop to rest cause it does such a great job you don't want to quit. Just got new trimmer line spools and it was a breeze to set up. Great product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
pepesfrau
from Daly City, CAaa

HOG WILD ABOUT THE GRASS HOG

PostedJuly 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went to HD to purchase Grass Hog and was swayed by a salesperson to buy the Toro...better quality he said! What a disappointment! After the Toro jamming and me six times having to re-feed the line I was close to tossing it down my hill! I returned the Toro and took a chance on the Black & Decker I had originally sought out and what a dream piece of equipment. It took on the task of my wild yard without a hitch. It ran smoothly and efficient. Never stopped, never jammed, never had to feed the line it just did what it was created to do and that made me a happy gardener! I was so pleased I recommended it to my contractor friend! If youo want a dependable trimmer at a good price...this is the one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
zeus317
from Neptune, NJ

Great Buy!!!

PostedMay 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this after reading the reviews. It's worth every penny. It works much better than my previuos gas weed wacker. It is light wieght, and the automatic feed works great, since I'm cutting around chain link fence. I have already recommended this product to people at work. Very pleased with purchase, price and performance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
JosiethePlumber
from Fort Worth, TX

Black and Decker Grasshog

PostedMay 31, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I truly enjoy using the 'Grasshog' and it makes quick and easy work of any trimming task. The product is lightweight and easy to handle making it very easy on back muscles. The added convenience of the 'no bump' feature truly makes this a vital component of the most basic garden tool collection.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
Bandit77
from Lawrenceville, Georgia

Great lawn tool

PostedMarch 13, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a gift I had bought for my husband for his birthday as he has been wanting to buy this trimmer for some time.
Pros: Easy to use and does a great job, adjustable height for comfort level, easy to switch between the trimme mode and the edger mode, safety lock feature prevents power cord from becoming detached while in use, guide bar attached to get the perfect edging job done. Most important, well worth the money.
Cons: As far as the tool itself, there isn't any negatives to say about it. I had ordered this online from Home Depot in hopes of surprising my husband. Shipped in its original packaging and the package was damaged...All parts were enclosed and nothing we could tell was missing.
Highly Recommend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
JIMMY
from Southeast Michigan

POWERFUL

PostedJuly 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It can be a daunting task choosing a lawn trimmer when you're given so many choices as you are at Home Depot.
I knew I didn't want a $17 trimmer, and I knew I wasn't going to get one for $89, either. The GH600 I did buy was at the perfect price point and had all the features I was looking for. Can you say "no bumping"--auto line feed? What a wonderful advancement in home lawn care tools!
I have some "heritage" weeds in my yard; some with stalks nearly one inch thick. This Grass Hog tore through them with ease. I ran the trimmer for nearly 45 minutes right out of the box, and it never balked. The five amp motor B & D designed here is one nifty power source.
I'm pleased with this purchase and recommend it highly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
RiverRat
from Houma, Louisiana

Excellent trimmer

PostedAugust 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a great electric trimmer, I highly recommend this one. It has plenty of power so I can edge in one pass. The automatic line feed works flawlessly. The edger guide actually works the way it is supposed to. With the guide extended I get a razor sharp edge along my driveway moving at a walking pace. This machine is the perfect balance between power and weight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
effe
from Frisco, TX

Best trimmer for the job

PostedAugust 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several gas powered models because they said it's more 'powerful' than electric. That is incorrect. The only thing that the gas powered models make more powerful was my arm because I can never get mine to start (by pulling the rope).
This model is powerful and lightweight with push button start, and can edge and trim so effortlessly and easily. Definitely supports the saying 'you need the right tools for the job'. The feeder is automatic so no bumping to load and is always at the right length; installation is quick and easy.
I am very pleased with this product and look forward to adding the Black and Decker brand to my collection.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
JRMtuba
from South FLorida

Inexpensive purchase/expensive life use

PostedMarch 13, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had 3 of these. They seen to last abot 2 -3 years (about once a week edging and tgrimming). They burn through VERY expensive replacement string spools at an alarming rate. To save money, I bought a 1,000 yard spool and from it, I hand re-wind the tool's spool. The line burns off even faster; but will NOT feed by itself. Every 10 - 20 seconds, I must stop; remover the cover and hand feed a section)...repeat..repeat... When they break (the spool feeder head, usually); replacement is cheaper than shipping to and from the repair center(s), which is/are not convenient. So I have no choice but to buy a new one and try, try again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
FDEE
from Manalapan NJ

A bit of noise for MONSTER power!

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had bought a few different gas one's and all of them gave me a lot of trouble with starting, Plus buying and mixing the gas is a pain. on 5/11/09 bought a ryobi 18v job and what a joke that was( went dead real fast and was built to cut very light edge's) went back an hour later, I read the reviews on this and said let me try one, went back to the store and am very glad, I did, Took 30 seconds to get the handle and shard on, plugged it in and destroyed every weed and piece of unwated grass in my yard, was a little loud "But thats the sound of power:! Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
MrTed
from Aliso Viejo, CA

Strong but LOUD, VERY LOUD!!! No safety switch

PostedJune 21, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does the job.
It whacks with fervor, not very precisely, but
with practice you learn its impulsiveness.
If you are not careful, there will be unintended casualties.
The wrong plant whacked, skewed edging, the cord, whatever
is in its way. The unit is strong.
There is no safety switch, so keep it unplugged and away
from the kids.
It is VERY LOUD.
Buy earplugs (for you and your neighbors) if you buy this product.
Had I known it to be so loud, I would not have purchased it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
BIGSARGE
from Killeen, TX

GOOD TO THE LAST DROP

PostedJune 28, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just returned a different model Gh1000. this one is good. lighter, and reliable.
TUGGIN a long cord does not bother me at all if the tool get thejob done. a bit loud, but worth i every penny. have not refilled the spool yet, more to follow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
Annik
from Pocatello, ID

autofeed??

PostedMay 25, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product works great. My husband and I have tried to refil it using the instructions (in English and in French...)and it still doesn't autofeed. I just do it manually. Maybe we are just a bit challenged when it comes to this kind of stuff.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
adnsar
from derby, ct

excellent cheap product

PostedJune 4, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just bought this product from home depo, it works real great on my lawn, i would say it is a real weed wrecker, light weight n easy to handle. i love this product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
PhxBob
from Phoenix, AZ

Most Excellent

PostedAugust 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer saves me time and energy with auto feed feature. It also saves strain on my back and neck during usage as trimmer or edger. It is fast and easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
Richard
from Yorktown Heights, New York

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The lightweight of the "Hog" made it easy to use. However any advantage gained was offset by dragging a long heavy cord.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 14 In. Auto Feed Electric Grass Hog Trimmer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product