728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills & Screwdrivers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 18v Cordless Drill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

18v Cordless Drill

18v X-Drive 3/8 In. Cordless Drill. Equipped with a stud finder which can attach to the drill. Built in sitelight for better visibility and accuracy. (2) 18v Batteries with 1 hour charger. Forward and Reverse Indicator. Keyless Chuck for easy bit changes. Soft Grip for added comfort. Two finger trigger with ergonomic grip for comfort and control. Carrying Case.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 18v Cordless Drill
Review 1 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Dunedin, FL

18V Skil Drill, Cordless

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have recently just bought my first home and knew that one of the most important household tools I would need would be a drill. As a female, I wanted something easy to use but that would be durable and last over time.
I needed the drill to be able to go inside and outside of the house so therefore I wanted a cordless. I also knew I'd be using it to help build a deck, drill into masonry and also inside small jobs.
I went to home depot and looked around at various drills but kept coming back to the "Skil 18V Cordless drill" because of its carrying case and other easy features. Such as a "light" that comes on when you drill, which is important in darker areas like closets, etc. I also liked the battery usage features - I can check how low the battery is by simply pressing a button.
I LOVE THIS Drill. Its very user friendly for me and my son indicates that its very sturdy and will stand the test of time.
Thanks for selling such a great product!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Cleveland, Ohio

Very Disappointed

PostedSeptember 28, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Folks, I am going to make this simple. The product only costs around $80, and there is a reason for that. I bought this drill only as a replacement for a Craftsman that went belly up. I was able to sell the Craftsman housing for $20, and HD was running an ad on the Skil, so I Figured for around $40 why not take a flier. Well, I crash landed.
One of the two batteries stopped working just past the 2-year warranty period. Both batteries never really gave me long use, at most 1/2 hour. But with 2 batteries, initially it was no big deal. My one battery now only runs for maybe 15 minutes of drilling or screwing, that's it!!! The batteries are also hard to remove from the drill. The stud finder works pretty well.
I expected much more from the parent company, BOSCH. If you are planning on drilling one or two holes, and driving screws into those holes, and only plan on doing that a few times a year, this product is fine. But make sure you remember one-hour before you want to use it to charge the battery, because they will drain sitting in the box after a couple of weeks.
Maybe I got a lemon. Maybe........
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Elizabeth NJ

Worth the price

PostedAugust 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was lucky enough to get this when it was on sale and it is the best $59 I have spent. Moved in to new home and have used this every day for almost two weeks.
It is ergonomic in its grip design and light enough for those tough to reach jobs. Having the ability to raise and lower torque or speed comes in handy when trying to perform some of the less typical screw installs.
One of the best features is the two batteries that come with this drill. They hold a charge for a long while and by the time first one is done second is charged and ready to go again. Easy wall mount for garage storage and the case allows you to lay on shelf or floor. Would definitely recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Mesa, AZ

Skil 18v Cordless Drill

PostedMarch 31, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This appears to be an excellent drill kit. The drill is easy to set up; comfortable to use and powerful. Indicator lights (forward, reverse, battery state are very helpful. The light that illumiates the work area is helpful - though I wish it coulf be turned on before pulling the trigger in orfer to aidfinding screw slots.
The batteries both charge to full capacity in well less than a hour - a nice feature! The kit has a nice solid charger that can be used on a flat surface ot wall mounted.
Haven't used the drill index or laser level yet, but they are nice to have. Everything fits neatlly into the molded case.
For those people looking for a powerful drill/driver with a 4/8" chuck, low and high speed capability and 24 torques setings plus chuk lock foir drilling, I have only good things to say about this drill kit.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Clarks Summit, PA

A Quality Bargain

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Given the very wide price range on 3/8" cordless drills, I kept looking for something to be wrong with the Skil entry. Never found it! With 300in/lbs of torque, 25 clutch positions, job light, two batteries and recharger, etc., one looses next to nothing in a drill costing less than half of other name brands! And the built-in stud-finder and bit case are a real convenience. Unless you really need more bells and whistles, and want to pay for them, chose this drill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Granville, NY

SKIL 18volt Drill

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A good product at a great price. Batteries charge quickly and last a long time. Plenty of power, good balance and nice features make this product a good buy. The case even has real hinges, not just those flimsy plastic tabs that seem to break all the time. I'm very satisfied with this drill and would recommend it to anyone considering this item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Golden, CO

Good drill, bad accessories

PostedMay 1, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The drill is pretty good--has the power and such. However, the stud-finder is borderline worthless; you may as well use your knuckle. The battery has always been adequate once charged, but doesn't have a very long shelf life (to be expected). It does charge pretty quickly, though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Oklahoma City, ok

Skil cordess drill

PostedSeptember 11, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great drill for the person doing weekend projects. I have had mine for two years and it still works just as good as the first time I used.
I have told my friends about this tool and some of them have went out and bought one like.
I highly reccomend this tool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 18v Cordless Drill
from St. Augustine, FL

Very easy and powerful

PostedSeptember 13, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very easy and powerful drill to use. I am a petite woman who doesn't have a lot of arm strength so this tool is great for me! I don't, however, think the "faster" setting has been useful. I only put it on "high torque".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Inglewwod ca

guardduck

PostedOctober 1, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Battery life is not good on most jobs only three and a half hour run time ryobi runs circles around this drill 8 hour run time on ryobi batteries
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 18v Cordless Drill
from Ct.

drill

PostedMarch 22, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Has good power but not buit to handle it.First day using I broke
the screw that holds the chuck head tight when removing a bolt.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 18v Cordless Drill
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product