728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

This Santa Rosa toilet offers the style of a 1-piece design and a powerful, high-performance capacity of 1.6 GPF. The compact elongated bowl provides comfort while saving space. It has a 1-year limited warranty.
Overall rating:
4.183 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product87 of 105reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(64)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(6)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product87 of 105reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Review 1 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loud Glug Glug at end of the flush

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My old toilet had a bad fill valve and flapper. It would have cost me $25-$30 to replace it all but it was an old 5 gallon toilet and Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP) offered a $100 rebate on a low flow toilet. So, I thought this was a good time to replace it. I bought a Kohler Santa Rosa at a local HD. I installed it. It looked great but at the end of each flush it would make a loud glug glug sound. You could hear it outside the bathroom. I called Kohler. They had me snake out the sewer vents in the roof. I did, but the sound persisted. Kohler then said that this is a normal sound for their toilets and that Kohler "probably wasn't the brand for me!" Another annoying thing about the Kohler was that you had to hold down on the handle to get a full flush. I did some research online and found that noise is often a complaint on the low-flow toilets. Eventually, I found the Niagara Stealth. It flushed quietly in the videos online. It was the only vacuum assisted toilet on the market. I found the lowest price [somewhere else] so I ordered it. It came quickly, I installed it and returned the Kohler. The Stealth isn't ninja silent but it's quiet and there is no glug glug at the end of the flush. Plus it uses even less water per flush than the Kohler Santa Rosa. I ordered a Toto slow close seat (SS114) to go with it. All in, cheaper than the Kohler, quiet, and water saving.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Cons: Performance, Noisy
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy Install

PostedApril 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great Toilet, easy to install, really like the one peace design.
Will flush about anything, but as with all water restricted toilets now days solids will not flow all the way to city line. I did a test with 5 squares of TP, it's 53 feet from toilet to house clean out, it took two flushes before I saw the paper go by. Paper made it about 64 feet before it stopped again. Easy fix, I just run water
in bathtub for a few minutes then drain when I flush. Not really saving water but saving line from stopping up with solids turned hard and stuck.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Solid, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, High Quality
Cons: not enough water
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Very Good Toilet

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a one piece toilet (for looks, simplicity and cleaning). I bought this one several years ago at my local home depot. I think it may have been a special order then. I wanted a power flush but that would be a cimmaron at about $175 more and this was expensive enough. I new the new 1.6 flush was a little less powerful. If you hold the lever down you get a very good flush and no problems in my house. The bowl sometimes does not rinse very well, but the next use will clean it up. And I like the 15" bowl height, it's the most comfortable for my family as we between 5'4" and 5' 9"..Oh yeah, the elongated bowl is so much better, can't live out it now.
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Reliable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fits our needs

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've read all 40+ reviews and can't disagree more with those using a less than 4 stars. We installed it 4weeks ago and do not have any issues with flushing solids...it's rated 10 for 10 in the flush category.. previously we had a 2 piece with a height of 14", my wife had to requirements when purchasing a new toilet. 1) she insisted on a 1 piece low volume toilet. 2) height needed to be at least 16" *( she has a bad knee and 14" height was painful) I give it a major 5
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Arizona

production flaw

PostedMarch 22, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We are just returning our second Santa Rosa toilet in two days. On each one, there was the same production flaw - the back floor rim came down to a point which caused the toilet to rock from side to side by more than a quarter inch. This can't possibly be the way it's supposed to be designed. Even if you could manage to cinch it down so it wouldn't move, eventually you'd cause a crack in the porcelain or even work the bolts out of the flange. Two strikes and Kohler is out.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from ny ny

kohler clogs on a regular basis

PostedJanuary 7, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought one of these several years ago and it has given me nothing but trouble. when i saw the kohler add indicating you could flush just about anything down it i just could not stay quiet anymore. when it comes to solids this toilet is the pits. it is in a bathroom we don't use very often or it would be long gone. this toilet should come with a free plunger! now it has taken to running on when you flush it[the last straw for me as we have a cesspool]. i would stay away from it unless you want to apprentice to a plumber.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average flush nice looking

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
On average it takes 2 flushes to get the bowl clean. It gets clogged sometimes but not a lot. I'm surprised the flush isn't better. Think I'd go for another brand next time. It looks modern and sleek. It is small so fits a small bathroom well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from eagle pass,tx

excellent affordable toilet

PostedJune 25, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
besides being an excellent beautiful toilet, it is very affordable.it is also very compact and very comfortable.i really love this product and plan to purchase another one for a future addition to my home.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Baiting Hollow, NY

never thought i'd love a toilet

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this toilet for my newly purchased home after using my parent's toilets in their new construction apartment in trendy aventura, FL. they flush silently and looks so sleek and modern, they're very narrow. after discussing it with a few male friends, i was advised to get an elongated toilet (trust me, your husband will thank you). you can purchase the slow close toilet seat from kohler sold at Home Depot for about $50, and you have an inexpensive, high fashion, functional one piece toilet for one of the lowest prices out there.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from NJ

Kholer santa rosa toilet

PostedFebruary 8, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two kohler santa rosa elongated toilet for my new house, they are useless, very weak flush, checked by plumbers twice with snake use etc, not enough water to flush, not enough suction, it just sit there, my family is using the other bath fitted with cheaper toilet. I ended up discarding these two and replacing it. What a waste. DONOT BUY IT, it should get a negative rating, One star is the lowest rate i can give.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Wisconsin

Great Toilet

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased at the local Home Depot and installed it in an hour. replacing a 19 year old toilet that uses TOO much water. It is quiet, uses very little water yet doesn't need 2 flushes as some models do. Very nice design, elongated seat (which I discovered is a very nice feature) and has an ergonomic slight slant, and a quiet close seat. We are planning to purchase another for our cottage and one for our master bath!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Good toilet... once you get one that works

PostedMay 22, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have this toilet in 2 of my bathrooms and am in the process of installing it in a third. It looks good and is quiet... but Kohler quality control seems to be slipping.
- The first toilet I purchased (2005) was flawless.
- The second toilet I purchased (2006) had scratches on the seat and handle and the "Kohler" label was printed askew. I didn't notice these flaws until the toilet was installed, so I let it slide.
- The third toilet I purchased (2008) had a glazing flaw on the front lip, so I returned it.
- The forth toilet I purchased (2008) leaked through the siphon jet. I'm going to return it today.
So, I'm 1 for 4 with this toilet. It's nice one you get one that is works and is finished properly, but I've wasted a lot of time and trips to Home Depot on this. I hope my next one works. For future remodels, I will be using Toto toilets.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There several things wrong with this toilet. I've had 2 plumbers to tell me the flush is to weak. They said the toilet is not worth the money I paid for it. I won't buy another kohler product.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White

Great appearance, works great

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second Santa Rosa toilet in our home. The first one was installed over 4 years ago. We love it so much we bought the second one. It looks great and works perfectly.
Pros: Sleek, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Water Pressure, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Texas

Great Toilet - Cheap Fill Valve

PostedApril 24, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I can't say how much we appreciate the aesthetics of our new Santa Rosa toilet. After major renovation in our master bathroom, it was a perfect fit and looks wonderful. After all, Kohler is a trusted name, and it was the most expensive toilet my local Home Depot offered, so I expected it to be as good as it looks.
However, I must add that we're now on our third fill valve, as the original parts failed within the first 72 hours after installation. The first replacement failed when it cracked. The second replacement is holding on, but needs frequent adjustments to stop the toilet from running. I would hope that Kohler would make sure their toilets do more than look good. After all, it's how well they work that eventually determines their true value.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from MA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great purchase!

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very attractive item. Love the one-piece feature; and the petite size is perfect in my small bathroom. Works very well...a big improvement!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great, looks great

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not much to say. It's a toilet and it does what it's supposed to do. It's sleek and pretty, as toilets go. You won't regret getting it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Manhattan, IL 60442, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Very nice for the price and compact.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice toilet for the price. Flushes good and is very easy to clean. Fits in a small bathroom and does not over power the room.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product performance and quality

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for home delivery, so did not inspect it in person but had seen recommendations for it in the past. The installation was routine, which is perfect. The performance is very good with a single touch flush clearing the bowl very efficiently. I was surprised and pleased. I strongly recommend this product now after nearly a month of usage.
The only partial negative on the process of ordering and delivery is that is did take a fairly long time to get the unit delivered. 10 days or so. If this is not an issue for your situation, then the home delivery option would work just fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Santa Rosa 1-piece 1.6 GPF Elongated Toilet in White
from Tempe, AZ

Weak Flush

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
READ THIS: The toilet looks great because it's a nice one piece. That's it and that's all I paid for as far as I'm concerned. I've had it two years and from those first few weeks the flush has always been weak. I've had to break out my plunger for this toilet a good 6-8 times a year the past two years. And for spending $268, no thanks. The two piece toilets half the price work better based on customer reviews.
If this is a toilet that only gets used for "Number 1", then it's good, but for the other "Number 2", forget about it. I'm reviewing it now after two years because I never replaced the toilet in my other bathroom and am finally looking to do so (and I would very much prefer the toilets are the exact same), so I'm at a point where I need t decide, just get another Santa Rosa and deal with it, or start over and begin looking for whatever is the leading one-piece with a power flush.
So my recommendation to you, shop hard for your toilets and don't settle ...and if it means a spend a little more if you truly wanted a one-piece like I did, then spend a little more. If I end up renting out my condo someday I'm going to have to replace these toilets because I know I'll be getting calls from tenants, so I've already created more work for myself by buying this one.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>