728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Measure & Layout Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure

50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure

The Strait-Line 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape measures up to 50 ft. with a 1 in. resolution for accurate readings. Featuring a menu-driven digital display with intuitive function selection for units, memory and mode. This measuring device calculates area and volume and can store up to 5 measurements for easy retrieval.
Overall rating:
2.935 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product17 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(11)
Quality 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
Value 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product17 of 30reviews
Customer reviews for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
Review 1 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

dont waste your time with this glorified pointer

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has to be the worst tool I have ever spent money on. First off you MIGHT get a reading, then it MAY be somewhat in the ball park and that's on white painted walls indoors. For example: I choose the length feature, press read (at a wall around 6 or 7 feet away) the reading comes back at 20 feet then I clear it and redo. The reading comes back at 7 feet, when I let go of the read button 20 feet is what it decided to display. This is an ongoing problem with random measurements. Or I point at a ceiling 5 feet above head and the reading ends up being 65 feet. I needed this for a fence bid and wouldn't bet used toilet paper on its reading. I will be getting a superior product from a better company..
Pros: price
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable, mis readings, everything, you get what you pay for
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from E. Irondiquiot, NY

It works better than I expected!

PostedJune 10, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought the Sonic Laser Tape, at first, because it was inexpensive. But, the more I used it, the more I found how handy and accurate it was. If you just bought a house like I had, the house was listed as 2200 sq. ft. however I had no room sizes. The sonic tape worked excellant! I was even able to get distances between fence posts and garage dimensions. I have used it so much I have killed several 9 vdc battery's! You can't beat a cheap tool that works good! (and the laser is fun to play with the cat!)
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You get what you pay for.

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this unit for a couple years now and have used it sparingly for home improvement jobs like estimating painting and flooring projects. If you need precisely accurate measurements don't buy this unit.
To work properly the unit base must be held firmly against a solid surface, and the laser reflect off of a perfectly flat surface. Even slight movement of the laser (ie: you can't hand hold it), or if the surface you aim at is even slightly reflective or moderately textured you get wildly erratic and seriously inaccurate readings.
Also, it appears the manufacturer has discontinued this item. I went to their web site to see if there were any tips or tricks to using it, and it's no longer listed in their product line. Nor is there any reference to it on the support page, other than a PDF copy of the user manual.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure

Works well for the price

PostedApril 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall this is a good product. I noticed on occasion the reading is way off. It is usually off enough that it is noticeable and I repeat the process. For example it may read 20 feet and I can tell it is closer to 10. I do it again and it works.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and easy to use!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple, intuitive and it works! Use it indoors or out as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i buy this product and a can use it al the day its a great product
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Belton, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not Work, returning it

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Waste of time and money! I am a realtor and I had a great Sonic Laser Tape Measure from another mfg, but it got stolen and I thought this would be the same.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Germantown, MD

Strait-Line Sonic Laser Tape

PostedFebruary 11, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best product I've used in awhile. Quick and easy to master, gives an accurate reading with the push of a button! Love it.
Online Home Depot has it listed as an "Irwin" 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape, however, no where on the packaging bought from the store does it say "Irwin," and it is exactly the same model. AND, online it is listed at around $29.00, in the store it is listed at $14.99, however, we got it on sale for $12-something.
Good deal!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Medical Lake, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for empty rooms

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Works well for empty rooms with flat walls. When used outside it was difficult to get the readings. When used inside across a kitchen, it gave widely different readings as the sound wave bounced off the marble back splash and cabinets.
Overall it works and is a quick measure. I wouldn't use it for cluttered rooms or between objects ... the old fashion tape measure is still best there!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely recommend!!!!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the reviews online I went and purchased this tool anyway, after doing some measurements and following the instructions I was skeptical so I double checked with my tape measure, it was within less than 1/16 accurate. Not to mention the price was right. Just follow the instructions and this tool will be an asset to your tool box!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Erratic readings

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Piece of junk. Very erratic readings. I've had readings of 4'9", 13'2", and 20'6" all from the same place. Sorry I bought it.
Cons: erratic readings
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure

junk

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
its junk as a fellow worker had the same unit and we both got bad readings ended up using a standard tape to measure rooms would not buy this junk ended up costing me time money in gas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Indiana

This Product Rocks

PostedJanuary 9, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Over the course of several years I have had several laser tapes. I was hessitant about purchasing this unit because the price was so low. I purchased the unit and have been pleaseantly surprised at the level of accuracy of the unit. Don't let the price full you. This product works and works well.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure

works great

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
even though there arte som bad reviews on the web, this unit does everything i need it tom and does it well,,,
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Toronto
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Horrible

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Horrible accuracy. And it cannot measure anything less 24" ie 2Ft
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from New Orleans

Not too useful

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You need reasonably solid and obstruction-free surfaces for this device to work. So, obviously, if you are measuring the sizes of rooms in a gutted house, the bare 2X4's do not reflect well enough and the signal goes through to the next room before coming back. And even in a finished room the results were often off by a factor of 2 or 3, other times ERR would appear. I am guessing these are stray signals bouncing off other walls, etc.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Ogden, Utah

Accurate Measurements if held steady.

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product, first, because it was the least expensive of the options available and secondly, because I needed a way of measuring distance to a target that could not be approached using tape measures. This unit is extremely accurate if held STEADY when making measurements. The flatter and larger the target area, the faster and more accurate the reading. The laser will stay on as long as the button is held.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Brandon, Fl
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I liked this product

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It worked really well and was all I needed to measure the rooms in my house. Very easy to use. Didn't have to be a professional carpenter to use this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure

It works well and is easy to use.

PostedJanuary 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I would have like to get mine on sale as one of the other reviewers had, but even at $19.99 it was a good deal. My only disappointment is that the screen is not backlit, so you can't use the measure in poorly lit rooms. For that, it gets 4 stars instead of 5.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50 ft. Sonic Laser Tape Measure
from Knoxville, TN

50ft Sonic Laser Tape

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works great for a $20.00 laser tape. I was able to calculate my house's square footage, by myself, in about 15 minutes. It is very simple to use. No worries, its well worth the money if you need a simple laser tape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>