728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

3 ft. Toilet Auger

Get the RIDGID 3 ft. Toilet Auger to quickly and safely clear toilet obstructions. This hand-powered auger features a durable, kink-resistant, 1/2 in. compression-wrapped inner core cable and large, ergonomically designed handles.
Overall rating:
4.779 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product72 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 77 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(69)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product72 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Review 1 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from NJ

Great tool even for an absolute novice

PostedMay 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this tool because the home remedies I found online were not working on my toilet. I have 0 home repair or plumbing experience, but this was really easy to use and it got the job done. I don't know what a plumber visit would have cost, but I'm sure it would have been a lot more expensive. Overall a great buy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is worth the purchasing price

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my toilet clogged in my masterbed room after my daughter that I am pottie training put tissue and baby wipes into it.. Shortly after that my husband fished it off we tried every liquid drain declogger; we decided to rent a mini rooter after seeing what they charge we went ahead and purshased the Rigid in one attempt in cleared our clogg and we were back to flushing normal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I'm a believer

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before purchasing this auger I researched it at the Home Depot web site. I saw a lot of glowing reviews, however I am always skeptical of online opinions. Despite this, I decided to purchase it and try it on a problem toilet in the master bathroom. All I can say now is, I'm a believer! I'll echo the point of one review I read...I tried a plunger and liquid drain cleaners, and they did not work. I tried this ONCE, and the toilet flushes BETTER than before there was really a problem. Some may scoff at the price of this auger over others, but I look at it this way: you get what you pay for, it works, and has already paid for itself by avoiding a plumbing service call, and will probably help avoid some service calls in the future as well!
Excellent product all around!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took me longer to take off the label than to clear the toilet

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Spent 3 days trying to plunge toilet normally and gave up. Originally came in for the $8 model after viewing online but when I got to HD saw this one - pulled up the reviews on the phone and they seemed stellar. Got it home, took off the label, went up stairs, pulled handle back and inserted, couple of cranks while pushing - done! Thought that I might need my son to help but it was an easy one-person job. No scratches to bowl.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Miami Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very good product and useful, the only thing is that sometimes it can damages the toilet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best thing ever

PostedDecember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a ditz when it comes to handyman stuff but this was very easy and served its purpose! Fixed my problem in less than 3 minutes!
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Like a Dream.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me about 30 sec. to clear the clog with this handy tool. I was very careful to keep the plastic sleeve inserted all the way in the drain so as not to scratch the bowl.
This wonderful little tool just saved me at least $110: last week I had a clog that let the bowl drain very slowly but not flush. The plunger didn't help, the plumber came out and the first time he flushed the toilet it cleared - after I had flushed it probably 100 times. He did auger it just to be sure. So basically I paid $150 to have someone flush my toilet.
3 days later it clogged the same way again. I tried the plunger again, then hot water (and I mean gallons and gallons of hot water) and dish soap and neither helped.
The plumber had told me if I put liquid drain cleaner down the toilet he wouldn't come out because it gets acid on his auger. So, long story short I went to HD, picked up this auger, drove home, and cleared the clog first time. It wasn't even hard to push the auger down the drain, I just cranked and pushed.
Thanks to everyone who gave such great reviews, and to the videos on youtube that showed how to use it.
I'm a realtor and I'll probably give one of these as a housewarming gift to each of my clients when they buy a home (they already think I'm a little weird because I give them a wrench to shut off the gas in case of an earthquake).
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Philadelphia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolutely Great

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a glass airwick freshner plugged into socket next to the toilet, it fell and broke into the toilet. I didn't want to cut my hands, and it appeared most of the glass was gone, therefore I flushed the toiled. The next morning my toilet was clogged, my friend came over with a plunger, it didn't work, the following day he came over with a larger plunger, that made the problem worst, neither worked. I decided to purchase the RIGIT TOILET 3 FT AUGER and a friend used it and it cleared the toilet within 5 minutes ... this item is excellent. I first give thanks to the The Lord second ...this item worked perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: particules can get stuck on the tip hole
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Worked great

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cleared a stack of baby wipes out in no time. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Gurnee,IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works extremely well!!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mother-in-law flushed spaghetti sauce down the toilet,she didn't bother taking sausages out.Went to home Depot and got the 3 foot auger.Toilet was fixed within 2 minutes,easy to figure out how to use and it is not cheaply made.It got a hold of the sausage and pulled it right out.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Atlanta

Does the Job Well

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger was a good purchase. It is easy to use and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. This three foot length auger is perfect for a small and tight toilet area. Three feet should be long enough for most clogs because it reaches all the way to the flange. Being only three foot long made it easier to remove and clean the auger when the job was finished. It works perfectly taking less than two minutes to unclog the toilet, did not damage the porcelain bowl and is a quality product that will last a lifetime.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problem Solved, Mystery Remains

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After attempting to plunge the toilet for 45 minutes and making no progress, I purchased the RIDGID 3ft Toilet Auger at a local Home Depot based on the ratings and reviews from HomeDepot.com. The 3ft auger quickly dislodged a plastic spoon that had somehow ended up in the toilet. As happy as I am to be able to use my toilet again, I still wonder how the plastic spoon ended up there.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from New Market, MD, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Works!

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked as promised, took under 5 minutes from taking off packing material to clearing and flushing the bowl. Did not scratch bowl which had concerned me as one I used years ago did. Had tried the plunger and dish soap routine but it did no good. I figure this saved me about $80 over calling the plumber and I will have it use again if needed
Pros: Easy to Install, a diy money saver!
Cons: a bit unwieldly to use in a small bathroom
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy this tool!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool saved us at least $150! Because of the holiday, the local plumbers wanted to charge a minimum of $150.00 to come to the house, plus whatever is might cost to solve the problem.
The tool is easy to use, easy to clean, and very sturdy. I am in my late 50's with bad arthritis. I used the tool without a problem.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Elmont, NY, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worth the money

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It saves a lot of money on plumbing and it's easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable, Good Instructions
Cons: Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Alaska
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you can't flush, nothing else matters. This saved my day in 2 quick passes. Normal life can resume.
Pros: Easy to Install, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Springfield, VA

Toilet Auger - does exactly what it advertises

PostedJune 28, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No hassle. Works well and quickly. Does precisely what it advertises. I had a clogged toilet filled to the brim, and it removed the clog without overspilling anything. The three-foot length is more than adequate to be able to "stand back" while you are doing the work. The extremely heavy-duty construction provides a no-nonsense feel to the operation of the product. If you've paid for a plumber to do this, you will definitely appreciate the low price !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from LaGrangeville, NY

Work well

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a toilet that was not flushing very well and had clogged before. I was about ready to call a plumber, but gave this a try and it solved the problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from West Warwick, R.I.

3ft toilet auger

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Spent all morning trying to plunge clogged toilet, after blisters and sore back purchased the 3ft toilet auger. Took less than 5 minutes to unclog toilet!! Should have done this 4 hrs ago !
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Antelope, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my pocketbook and my new toilet!

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My brand new beautiful Kohler toilet clogged so bad, and nothing we did would unclog it. I was so stressed out, I didn't want to pay a fortune for a plumber to come out, especially right after I paid one to install the toilet in the first place. I have never experienced a tough clog that a plunger wouldn't remedy. I did my research on augers, reading reviewers of far less superior quality than this one, and they all complained how cheaply they were made and how they scratched the bowls of their toilets. Well, since I just paid almost $450 just for my new toilet, I wasn't going to scratch it. I had my husband pick this up and HD, and I am so glad we purchased this one, even though it cost way more than the cheaper one. It worked like a champ and only took around 3 minutes for the clog to go away. The metal on the part of the auger that touches the opening of the bowl is coated in plastic, which is why it didn't scratch the toilet. I would highly reccomend this auger to anyone who ows a home. It will come in handy in the future and save $$ from hiring a plumber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>