728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

3 ft. Toilet Auger

Get the RIDGID 3 ft. Toilet Auger to quickly and safely clear toilet obstructions. This hand-powered auger features a durable, kink-resistant, 1/2 in. compression-wrapped inner core cable and large, ergonomically designed handles.
Overall rating:
4.736 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(110 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product103 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 110 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(93)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product103 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Review 1 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Springfield, VA

Toilet Auger - does exactly what it advertises

PostedJune 28, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No hassle. Works well and quickly. Does precisely what it advertises. I had a clogged toilet filled to the brim, and it removed the clog without overspilling anything. The three-foot length is more than adequate to be able to "stand back" while you are doing the work. The extremely heavy-duty construction provides a no-nonsense feel to the operation of the product. If you've paid for a plumber to do this, you will definitely appreciate the low price !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Atlanta

Does the Job Well

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger was a good purchase. It is easy to use and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. This three foot length auger is perfect for a small and tight toilet area. Three feet should be long enough for most clogs because it reaches all the way to the flange. Being only three foot long made it easier to remove and clean the auger when the job was finished. It works perfectly taking less than two minutes to unclog the toilet, did not damage the porcelain bowl and is a quality product that will last a lifetime.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Maryland

Much better than plunger

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kids don't get enough fiber in their diet and as a result, I frequently have to use a plunger. Although it often took a hundred or so plunges, it always worked. Until last night. I tried Drano. Nothing. I went to home depot to see what they had and lo and behold I saw this thing. They had a cheap looking thing for something like $8, but I wanted to make sure I got something that would work, so I bought this. It worked great. I just followed the instructions. It's not complicated. Just push the spring into the hole and turn with the crank. It drilled a hole through the middle of the obstruction. One flush later and everything was good to go. It was kind of messy cleaning it. I did this in the bathtub and cleaning consisted of spraying with the shower head while running a card through the cracks in the coil to breakup what was stuck inside.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Columbus, Oh

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to get one of these today for...you know. Well I got it home, used it once and it didn't feel like it had worked. So I tried it a second time, a bit more forceful. Flushed the toilet and got more vacuum than before. But still not much, So I figured i'd let the bowl fill up and then try it. Voila! It worked and now the toilet is back to normal operations.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Quick and simple

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Brought this product after the kids stuffed the toliet with something; After hours of endless plunging and scraping my toliet bowl with coat hangers, i read the reviews, here at home Depot and quickly purchased one; five minutes later it was uncloged.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is worth the purchasing price

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had my toilet clogged in my masterbed room after my daughter that I am pottie training put tissue and baby wipes into it.. Shortly after that my husband fished it off we tried every liquid drain declogger; we decided to rent a mini rooter after seeing what they charge we went ahead and purshased the Rigid in one attempt in cleared our clogg and we were back to flushing normal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Works like a charm

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It unclogged my toilet on the first try. A plunger just didn't work. I almost bought the cheaper plastic one to try to save some money, but I decided on this one, and I'm glad I did. The build quality is great, it will last for ever. And compared to a $150 plumber visit, this more than paid for itself on the first use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from BALTIMORE, MD

EASY

PostedJuly 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IT'S ESAY TO USE
EXCELLENT QUALITY
AND IT WORKS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Clarksburg, WV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
here I was with a toilet stopped up! tried everything! Plunging, clothes hanger, Hot water and dishwashing liquid,
still no go! so I called a Plumber? the price was service call $35.00 to come out and $65.00 per hour! and he said that if it got fixed within the 1st hour, still $65.00! so I started looking online? and then I read the reviews here! so I thought will I can get this for $35.00 after taxes so why not try? will I got it and with in 3 minutes I had the clogged toilet fixed! it goes down better than it ever did! this is a handy tool to have for home owners, and renters! it is built good and does the job! Yes I would recommend this tool to anyone!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

works!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works like a charm, very well built, made to last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Houston, TX

PostedMay 13, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Antelope, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my pocketbook and my new toilet!

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My brand new beautiful Kohler toilet clogged so bad, and nothing we did would unclog it. I was so stressed out, I didn't want to pay a fortune for a plumber to come out, especially right after I paid one to install the toilet in the first place. I have never experienced a tough clog that a plunger wouldn't remedy. I did my research on augers, reading reviewers of far less superior quality than this one, and they all complained how cheaply they were made and how they scratched the bowls of their toilets. Well, since I just paid almost $450 just for my new toilet, I wasn't going to scratch it. I had my husband pick this up and HD, and I am so glad we purchased this one, even though it cost way more than the cheaper one. It worked like a champ and only took around 3 minutes for the clog to go away. The metal on the part of the auger that touches the opening of the bowl is coated in plastic, which is why it didn't scratch the toilet. I would highly reccomend this auger to anyone who ows a home. It will come in handy in the future and save $$ from hiring a plumber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Warrenton, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tried everything - plunger, hot water, drain cleaner and Dawn with no success. Bought the 3 foot auger and cleared the clog within 1 minute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Georgia

Worked Like a charm

PostedMay 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my first experience with a closet auger, I have never had a clog that would require one. This product was straight forward and easy to use. I got the clog with my first attempt. I would defiantly recommend this auger to anyone in need of such a tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Detroit, MI

it works!

PostedMarch 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a severely clogged toilet, and no element of plunging was making a difference. Of course, it was the weekend and so I didn't want to pay to have a plumber come out. Having watched a youtube video of a woman using a toilet auger, it looked relatively easy so I decided to give it a shot. This worked perfectly! It was so easy to use (a simple three-step process), and my terrifyingly filled toilet started flowing again. I'd highly recommend this project to anyone facing a similar challenge - and am thrilled to now have this in my arsenal for now on!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Capabilities are great!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very skeptical about how well this auger would work but I was greatly surprised! The combination of the heavy duty cable, the design of the handle and crank mechanics made very easy work of a stubborn situation. What chemicals and detergents and endless plunging couldn't do, this piece of equipment did in one easy try. Well worth it's price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Rochester, MI

Works great

PostedJune 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm not a mechanical person by any means, but this device made it simple to unclog the toilet. It is very straightforward and simple to use.
For those who are visual learners, search for landlordvideos on youtube for an excellent video tutorial on how to use the product.
I would highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from NJ

Great tool even for an absolute novice

PostedMay 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this tool because the home remedies I found online were not working on my toilet. I have 0 home repair or plumbing experience, but this was really easy to use and it got the job done. I don't know what a plumber visit would have cost, but I'm sure it would have been a lot more expensive. Overall a great buy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

3Foot Closet Auger Works

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Search on youtube for this excellent video, "How to Clear a Toilet Clog using a Closet Auger" The plumber in the video recommends a 3 foot auger. I bought this one to clear an organic clog that was resistant to repeated efforts with a plunger. Two passes with the auger, and the toilet flushes like a champ. The auger wasn't cheap, but it is a lot less than a plumber charges.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from South Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ran out to my local HD after reading some reviews and figured for 35 bucks it couldn't hurt to try before committing to pay a plumber to come out and clear my toilet. It took less time for me to go to my local HD, buy the product, get home, and unclog my toilet than it would have been to even get a plumber to come to my house not to mention the savings! This thing paid for itself at least 3-4 times over in just its first use!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>