728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

3 ft. Toilet Auger

Get the RIDGID 3 ft. Toilet Auger to quickly and safely clear toilet obstructions. This hand-powered auger features a durable, kink-resistant, 1/2 in. compression-wrapped inner core cable and large, ergonomically designed handles.
Overall rating:
4.762 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(80 reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product75 of 78reviews
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product75 of 78reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Review 1 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Georgia

Worked Like a charm

PostedMay 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first experience with a closet auger, I have never had a clog that would require one. This product was straight forward and easy to use. I got the clog with my first attempt. I would defiantly recommend this auger to anyone in need of such a tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from LaGrangeville, NY

Work well

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a toilet that was not flushing very well and had clogged before. I was about ready to call a plumber, but gave this a try and it solved the problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Saved me $300 and worked like a champ

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful. worked perfectly and allowed me to tell the widely advertised national plumber service to take their $350 quote and get off my property. All it took was 3 minutes and a little elbow grease and things were back to normal. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Unclogged clogged toilet!

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an AS Cadet short toilet which was clogged with waste, ironically on same evening my car keys went missing. I'm speculating that my 1.5 yr old daughter threw the keys in the toilet, thus leading to clog. The water in toilet bowl just doesn't completely flush, and after trying plunger, I did some research and was introduced with this. Works as advertised, now I can get some rest! Thanks to HD for staying open till 9.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Capabilities are great!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very skeptical about how well this auger would work but I was greatly surprised! The combination of the heavy duty cable, the design of the handle and crank mechanics made very easy work of a stubborn situation. What chemicals and detergents and endless plunging couldn't do, this piece of equipment did in one easy try. Well worth it's price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Perfect

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Did the job quick and easy. Took all of 30 seconds for a pair of underwear & a piece of tennis ball (darn dogs...)
Dried easily with no rusting. I just toweled it off and left it in the tub over night.
For those who've never used one before: make sure to fully retract before starting to snake (to prevent scratching the bowel) & always turn counter clock wise. DON'T force anything.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Like a Dream.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took me about 30 sec. to clear the clog with this handy tool. I was very careful to keep the plastic sleeve inserted all the way in the drain so as not to scratch the bowl.
This wonderful little tool just saved me at least $110: last week I had a clog that let the bowl drain very slowly but not flush. The plunger didn't help, the plumber came out and the first time he flushed the toilet it cleared - after I had flushed it probably 100 times. He did auger it just to be sure. So basically I paid $150 to have someone flush my toilet.
3 days later it clogged the same way again. I tried the plunger again, then hot water (and I mean gallons and gallons of hot water) and dish soap and neither helped.
The plumber had told me if I put liquid drain cleaner down the toilet he wouldn't come out because it gets acid on his auger. So, long story short I went to HD, picked up this auger, drove home, and cleared the clog first time. It wasn't even hard to push the auger down the drain, I just cranked and pushed.
Thanks to everyone who gave such great reviews, and to the videos on youtube that showed how to use it.
I'm a realtor and I'll probably give one of these as a housewarming gift to each of my clients when they buy a home (they already think I'm a little weird because I give them a wrench to shut off the gas in case of an earthquake).
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Philadelphia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Absolutely Great

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a glass airwick freshner plugged into socket next to the toilet, it fell and broke into the toilet. I didn't want to cut my hands, and it appeared most of the glass was gone, therefore I flushed the toiled. The next morning my toilet was clogged, my friend came over with a plunger, it didn't work, the following day he came over with a larger plunger, that made the problem worst, neither worked. I decided to purchase the RIGIT TOILET 3 FT AUGER and a friend used it and it cleared the toilet within 5 minutes ... this item is excellent. I first give thanks to the The Lord second ...this item worked perfect.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: particules can get stuck on the tip hole
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Worked great

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cleared a stack of baby wipes out in no time. Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Gurnee,IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works extremely well!!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mother-in-law flushed spaghetti sauce down the toilet,she didn't bother taking sausages out.Went to home Depot and got the 3 foot auger.Toilet was fixed within 2 minutes,easy to figure out how to use and it is not cheaply made.It got a hold of the sausage and pulled it right out.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Reading, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, just wow

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Woke at 3:00am to find our toilet clogged. Worked for several hours
trying to unclog by plunging then using a 3/8" drain snake. Was unsuccessful.
Began to suspect wife dropped something in toilet. She woke up and I
asked and she said yes a plastic tube of moisturizer cream.
Was prepared to tear toilet out, unclog then remount. But first saw great
reviews given this tool by plumbers and customers. Spent the money,
brought it home and within 10-minutes had the toilet unclogged.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, works as advertised
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from granite, md.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

the R E A L deal !

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
dozens of plunger pumps, mess everywhere....nothing.
liquid dishwasher soap, wait an hour....nothing.
pour drain solution, wait overnight....nothing.
bought this auger, read instructions, 25 seconds later....SUCCESS!
every home should have one.
john 3:3
Pros: Good Instructions, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Works like a charm

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It unclogged my toilet on the first try. A plunger just didn't work. I almost bought the cheaper plastic one to try to save some money, but I decided on this one, and I'm glad I did. The build quality is great, it will last for ever. And compared to a $150 plumber visit, this more than paid for itself on the first use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Clarksburg, WV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
here I was with a toilet stopped up! tried everything! Plunging, clothes hanger, Hot water and dishwashing liquid,
still no go! so I called a Plumber? the price was service call $35.00 to come out and $65.00 per hour! and he said that if it got fixed within the 1st hour, still $65.00! so I started looking online? and then I read the reviews here! so I thought will I can get this for $35.00 after taxes so why not try? will I got it and with in 3 minutes I had the clogged toilet fixed! it goes down better than it ever did! this is a handy tool to have for home owners, and renters! it is built good and does the job! Yes I would recommend this tool to anyone!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Bloomfield, Nj
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is the best product in the world......

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a clogged toilet that did not budge, I tried the plunger and the dish washing soap but nothing worked. So I started looking around and found this item on youtube and looked for it in my nearest Home Depot and they hadf it. It was so esy to use and light weight. It worked so fast, I would highly recommend. Thanx RIDGID.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

works!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works like a charm, very well built, made to last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Heavy duty...who needs a plumber???

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My toilet was clogged. It wasn't just clogged but I accidentally flushing down a large piece of plastic down to the toilet. It ended up trapped inside the S pipe. This plastic is the size of a scotch tape holder!!! My worst nightmare was to remove the toilet in order to unclog it. Well, I need the largest auger I could find and this one seems to fit the bill. Me and my father got to work once I got the unit. It took us some good 10 minutes and a lot of brute force. It works. What a relief!!! And saved us couple of hundreds of dollars too....
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy this tool!

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool saved us at least $150! Because of the holiday, the local plumbers wanted to charge a minimum of $150.00 to come to the house, plus whatever is might cost to solve the problem.
The tool is easy to use, easy to clean, and very sturdy. I am in my late 50's with bad arthritis. I used the tool without a problem.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Houston, TX

PostedMay 13, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Springfield, VA

Toilet Auger - does exactly what it advertises

PostedJune 28, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No hassle. Works well and quickly. Does precisely what it advertises. I had a clogged toilet filled to the brim, and it removed the clog without overspilling anything. The three-foot length is more than adequate to be able to "stand back" while you are doing the work. The extremely heavy-duty construction provides a no-nonsense feel to the operation of the product. If you've paid for a plumber to do this, you will definitely appreciate the low price !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>