728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

3 ft. Toilet Auger

Get the RIDGID 3 ft. Toilet Auger to quickly and safely clear toilet obstructions. This hand-powered auger features a durable, kink-resistant, 1/2 in. compression-wrapped inner core cable and large, ergonomically designed handles.
Overall rating:
4.717 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product112 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(101)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product112 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Review 1 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from BALTIMORE, MD

EASY

PostedJuly 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
IT'S ESAY TO USE
EXCELLENT QUALITY
AND IT WORKS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Rochester, MI

Works great

PostedJune 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm not a mechanical person by any means, but this device made it simple to unclog the toilet. It is very straightforward and simple to use.
For those who are visual learners, search for landlordvideos on youtube for an excellent video tutorial on how to use the product.
I would highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from LaGrangeville, NY

Work well

PostedAugust 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a toilet that was not flushing very well and had clogged before. I was about ready to call a plumber, but gave this a try and it solved the problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Springfield, VA

Toilet Auger - does exactly what it advertises

PostedJune 28, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No hassle. Works well and quickly. Does precisely what it advertises. I had a clogged toilet filled to the brim, and it removed the clog without overspilling anything. The three-foot length is more than adequate to be able to "stand back" while you are doing the work. The extremely heavy-duty construction provides a no-nonsense feel to the operation of the product. If you've paid for a plumber to do this, you will definitely appreciate the low price !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Atlanta

Does the Job Well

PostedJuly 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This auger was a good purchase. It is easy to use and the instructions are clear and easy to follow. This three foot length auger is perfect for a small and tight toilet area. Three feet should be long enough for most clogs because it reaches all the way to the flange. Being only three foot long made it easier to remove and clean the auger when the job was finished. It works perfectly taking less than two minutes to unclog the toilet, did not damage the porcelain bowl and is a quality product that will last a lifetime.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Maryland

Much better than plunger

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My kids don't get enough fiber in their diet and as a result, I frequently have to use a plunger. Although it often took a hundred or so plunges, it always worked. Until last night. I tried Drano. Nothing. I went to home depot to see what they had and lo and behold I saw this thing. They had a cheap looking thing for something like $8, but I wanted to make sure I got something that would work, so I bought this. It worked great. I just followed the instructions. It's not complicated. Just push the spring into the hole and turn with the crank. It drilled a hole through the middle of the obstruction. One flush later and everything was good to go. It was kind of messy cleaning it. I did this in the bathtub and cleaning consisted of spraying with the shower head while running a card through the cracks in the coil to breakup what was stuck inside.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from West Warwick, R.I.

3ft toilet auger

PostedMarch 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Spent all morning trying to plunge clogged toilet, after blisters and sore back purchased the 3ft toilet auger. Took less than 5 minutes to unclog toilet!! Should have done this 4 hrs ago !
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Georgia

Worked Like a charm

PostedMay 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was my first experience with a closet auger, I have never had a clog that would require one. This product was straight forward and easy to use. I got the clog with my first attempt. I would defiantly recommend this auger to anyone in need of such a tool.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is worth the purchasing price

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had my toilet clogged in my masterbed room after my daughter that I am pottie training put tissue and baby wipes into it.. Shortly after that my husband fished it off we tried every liquid drain declogger; we decided to rent a mini rooter after seeing what they charge we went ahead and purshased the Rigid in one attempt in cleared our clogg and we were back to flushing normal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Bremerton, WA

Good product

PostedJanuary 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This worked exactly as described. It was easy to use and, almost as important, easier than I expected to clean. It's very sturdy and easy to maintain control the whole time. I hope you don't need one, but if so, this is the one to get.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

When plunging fails, use this, it works!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a bad plug in the bathroom toilet, tried all of the normal things, plunging, draino, hot water ect.... none of that budged it. Took a quick ride to Home Depot, bought this 3 ft auger and presto, 2 min later clog gone, simple to use, and seems well made.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Problem Solved, Mystery Remains

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After attempting to plunge the toilet for 45 minutes and making no progress, I purchased the RIDGID 3ft Toilet Auger at a local Home Depot based on the ratings and reviews from HomeDepot.com. The 3ft auger quickly dislodged a plastic spoon that had somehow ended up in the toilet. As happy as I am to be able to use my toilet again, I still wonder how the plastic spoon ended up there.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Columbus, Oh

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I needed to get one of these today for...you know. Well I got it home, used it once and it didn't feel like it had worked. So I tried it a second time, a bit more forceful. Flushed the toilet and got more vacuum than before. But still not much, So I figured i'd let the bowl fill up and then try it. Voila! It worked and now the toilet is back to normal operations.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Commerce, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fixed my problem

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was determined I was going to fix toilet issue myself and with great assistance from the person at HD, I was able to go home and resolve the issue. Took the online advice of getting the more expensive version which seemed very sturdy and was incredibly easy to use.....much cheaper than calling a plumber!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Took me longer to take off the label than to clear the toilet

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Spent 3 days trying to plunge toilet normally and gave up. Originally came in for the $8 model after viewing online but when I got to HD saw this one - pulled up the reviews on the phone and they seemed stellar. Got it home, took off the label, went up stairs, pulled handle back and inserted, couple of cranks while pushing - done! Thought that I might need my son to help but it was an easy one-person job. No scratches to bowl.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Detroit, MI

it works!

PostedMarch 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a severely clogged toilet, and no element of plunging was making a difference. Of course, it was the weekend and so I didn't want to pay to have a plumber come out. Having watched a youtube video of a woman using a toilet auger, it looked relatively easy so I decided to give it a shot. This worked perfectly! It was so easy to use (a simple three-step process), and my terrifyingly filled toilet started flowing again. I'd highly recommend this project to anyone facing a similar challenge - and am thrilled to now have this in my arsenal for now on!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Capabilities are great!

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very skeptical about how well this auger would work but I was greatly surprised! The combination of the heavy duty cable, the design of the handle and crank mechanics made very easy work of a stubborn situation. What chemicals and detergents and endless plunging couldn't do, this piece of equipment did in one easy try. Well worth it's price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

Outstanding!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually bought the 6' version to be sure it would work without removing the toilet.
Problem was I would plunge and use one of those little snakes, the toilet would work OK for a day or two, but continually get slower until it became unusable. Plunge and snake again, same problem 2-3 days later.
This auger made it flush like the bottom dropping out of a bucket!
Here's the kicker. Since it worked on one toilet, I thought I might as well clean out the other ones in my house, though they seemed to be OK. Turns out it pulled a 6" pencil out of one of the them I had no idea was there!
Again, I used the 6' version, but am sure this 3' would be adequate for most problems.
Easy to use and store. One great product for the homeowner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from Willoughby, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy this!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wasted all kinds of time plunging, fishing out toilet paper, trying dish washing liquid to no avail. One minute with this and problem solved! No scratches, either!
Buy this! Save time and money!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
from South Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I ran out to my local HD after reading some reviews and figured for 35 bucks it couldn't hurt to try before committing to pay a plumber to come out and clear my toilet. It took less time for me to go to my local HD, buy the product, get home, and unclog my toilet than it would have been to even get a plumber to come to my house not to mention the savings! This thing paid for itself at least 3-4 times over in just its first use!
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>