728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger

3 ft. Toilet Auger

Get the RIDGID 3 ft. Toilet Auger to quickly and safely clear toilet obstructions. This hand-powered auger features a durable, kink-resistant, 1/2 in. compression-wrapped inner core cable and large, ergonomically designed handles.
Overall rating:
4.776 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product71 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product71 of 74reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Review 1 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
PaulMC
from Springfield, VA

Toilet Auger - does exactly what it advertises

PostedJune 28, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No hassle. Works well and quickly. Does precisely what it advertises. I had a clogged toilet filled to the brim, and it removed the clog without overspilling anything. The three-foot length is more than adequate to be able to "stand back" while you are doing the work. The extremely heavy-duty construction provides a no-nonsense feel to the operation of the product. If you've paid for a plumber to do this, you will definitely appreciate the low price !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
ektakrome
from Columbus, Oh

PostedAugust 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to get one of these today for...you know. Well I got it home, used it once and it didn't feel like it had worked. So I tried it a second time, a bit more forceful. Flushed the toilet and got more vacuum than before. But still not much, So I figured i'd let the bowl fill up and then try it. Voila! It worked and now the toilet is back to normal operations.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
KidHorn7
from Maryland

Much better than plunger

PostedAugust 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My kids don't get enough fiber in their diet and as a result, I frequently have to use a plunger. Although it often took a hundred or so plunges, it always worked. Until last night. I tried Drano. Nothing. I went to home depot to see what they had and lo and behold I saw this thing. They had a cheap looking thing for something like $8, but I wanted to make sure I got something that would work, so I bought this. It worked great. I just followed the instructions. It's not complicated. Just push the spring into the hole and turn with the crank. It drilled a hole through the middle of the obstruction. One flush later and everything was good to go. It was kind of messy cleaning it. I did this in the bathtub and cleaning consisted of spraying with the shower head while running a card through the cracks in the coil to breakup what was stuck inside.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
tele52
from Clarksburg, WV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
here I was with a toilet stopped up! tried everything! Plunging, clothes hanger, Hot water and dishwashing liquid,
still no go! so I called a Plumber? the price was service call $35.00 to come out and $65.00 per hour! and he said that if it got fixed within the 1st hour, still $65.00! so I started looking online? and then I read the reviews here! so I thought will I can get this for $35.00 after taxes so why not try? will I got it and with in 3 minutes I had the clogged toilet fixed! it goes down better than it ever did! this is a handy tool to have for home owners, and renters! it is built good and does the job! Yes I would recommend this tool to anyone!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
BigJim43
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

When plunging fails, use this, it works!

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a bad plug in the bathroom toilet, tried all of the normal things, plunging, draino, hot water ect.... none of that budged it. Took a quick ride to Home Depot, bought this 3 ft auger and presto, 2 min later clog gone, simple to use, and seems well made.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
agoyal000

works!

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works like a charm, very well built, made to last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Esquire17
from Willoughby, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy this!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wasted all kinds of time plunging, fishing out toilet paper, trying dish washing liquid to no avail. One minute with this and problem solved! No scratches, either!
Buy this! Save time and money!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
bostonphotog

Worked Immediately

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I tried to clear a clog previously with a cheaper, auger and had no luck what so ever. After reading a few of the reviews of this product I figured I'd give it a try before coughing up $105 (what it cost last time for a plumber).
It took me about 30 seconds to have my toilet flushing again; it worked immediately.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Victor

Heavy duty...who needs a plumber???

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My toilet was clogged. It wasn't just clogged but I accidentally flushing down a large piece of plastic down to the toilet. It ended up trapped inside the S pipe. This plastic is the size of a scotch tape holder!!! My worst nightmare was to remove the toilet in order to unclog it. Well, I need the largest auger I could find and this one seems to fit the bill. Me and my father got to work once I got the unit. It took us some good 10 minutes and a lot of brute force. It works. What a relief!!! And saved us couple of hundreds of dollars too....
Pros: Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
DJC930

This product did the job!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the last 2 days my toilet was clogged. I tried using hot water and dish detergent, plunger, hanger, flushing and dumping water into bucket, septic tank material AND liquid plummer. However, none of the above worked so I purchased the 3ft. Rigid toilet auger. Well, THANK GOD it WORKED! It saved me some $$$ because I didn't have to call a plummer.
Pros: Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
MARCUSM15
from BALTIMORE, MD

EASY

PostedJuly 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
IT'S ESAY TO USE
EXCELLENT QUALITY
AND IT WORKS
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Clueless
from Rochester, MI

Works great

PostedJune 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not a mechanical person by any means, but this device made it simple to unclog the toilet. It is very straightforward and simple to use.
For those who are visual learners, search for landlordvideos on youtube for an excellent video tutorial on how to use the product.
I would highly recommend this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
SGKS

3Foot Closet Auger Works

PostedNovember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Search on youtube for this excellent video, "How to Clear a Toilet Clog using a Closet Auger" The plumber in the video recommends a 3 foot auger. I bought this one to clear an organic clog that was resistant to repeated efforts with a plunger. Two passes with the auger, and the toilet flushes like a champ. The auger wasn't cheap, but it is a lot less than a plumber charges.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Airlily

Very Easy to Use

PostedAugust 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My boyfriend severely clogged my toilet, and then made it worse by over-plunging the toilet and pulling up god-knows-what on top of whatever he had clogged the toilet with. I looked up toilet snakes online and saw this one had good ratings. So, despite his I-can-fix-it attitude, I ran out and bought this.
It took only two flushes and the toilet, which was clogged for four hours, was unclogged. The handles are nice and big, so my grip was steady. One is stationary, and the other is meant to help wind the snake down into the toilet. I wound it a few times, tried to flush, and then repeated when that failed. The second attempt was what cleared the drain.
It was very, very simply to use. I'm really glad I bought this. It'll come in handy when he decides to "blow it up" again.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
bigmark743

Quick and simple

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Brought this product after the kids stuffed the toliet with something; After hours of endless plunging and scraping my toliet bowl with coat hangers, i read the reviews, here at home Depot and quickly purchased one; five minutes later it was uncloged.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
atlantonius

Saved me $300 and worked like a champ

PostedOctober 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wonderful. worked perfectly and allowed me to tell the widely advertised national plumber service to take their $350 quote and get off my property. All it took was 3 minutes and a little elbow grease and things were back to normal. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Bobkat

Outstanding!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually bought the 6' version to be sure it would work without removing the toilet.
Problem was I would plunge and use one of those little snakes, the toilet would work OK for a day or two, but continually get slower until it became unusable. Plunge and snake again, same problem 2-3 days later.
This auger made it flush like the bottom dropping out of a bucket!
Here's the kicker. Since it worked on one toilet, I thought I might as well clean out the other ones in my house, though they seemed to be OK. Turns out it pulled a 6" pencil out of one of the them I had no idea was there!
Again, I used the 6' version, but am sure this 3' would be adequate for most problems.
Easy to use and store. One great product for the homeowner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
Anonymous
from Antelope, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved my pocketbook and my new toilet!

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My brand new beautiful Kohler toilet clogged so bad, and nothing we did would unclog it. I was so stressed out, I didn't want to pay a fortune for a plumber to come out, especially right after I paid one to install the toilet in the first place. I have never experienced a tough clog that a plunger wouldn't remedy. I did my research on augers, reading reviewers of far less superior quality than this one, and they all complained how cheaply they were made and how they scratched the bowls of their toilets. Well, since I just paid almost $450 just for my new toilet, I wasn't going to scratch it. I had my husband pick this up and HD, and I am so glad we purchased this one, even though it cost way more than the cheaper one. It worked like a champ and only took around 3 minutes for the clog to go away. The metal on the part of the auger that touches the opening of the bowl is coated in plastic, which is why it didn't scratch the toilet. I would highly reccomend this auger to anyone who ows a home. It will come in handy in the future and save $$ from hiring a plumber.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
notbond007
from Where I am at!!!
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look no further!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Well.......I read reviews and decided to get this one as I had a clogged toilet problem for a few days and the plunger wasn't helping. I was skeptical about getting an auger / snake, but it was a good thing that I got this one. Otherwise the "Spongebob toothpaste" tube that turned out to be the problem would have led to a large plumber bill. This auger drilled it's coils right into that tube of toothpaste and I was able pull that sucker right out and problem solved!!! Check youtube for awesome instructional videos on using an auger to fix your toilet problems. And don't make the mistake of getting a cheap auger with plastic parts because you are going to end up buying this one after the cheap one breaks.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, does the job, saves you $$$ - no need to call a plumber anymore, sturdy and solid construction
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3 ft. Toilet Auger
mskim
from Waterford, MI
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just Buy It!

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Toilet's plugged again and I refused to pay $105 for a plumber to do the job for me. Researched a little about toilet snakes and augers and decided upon the Ridgid 3' toilet auger. All I can say is that it was ridiculously easy to use and within two minutes the toilet was flushing and back to normal. AND, I saved $70 by doing it myself!
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, very easy to use, does not bind or kin, fast fast fast!
Cons: none
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>