728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor

1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor

Designed as a replacement motor for Master Flow power roof vents. This unit is to be used with PG1/PG2 and PR1/PR2 models.
Overall rating:
3.453 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product42 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(14)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product42 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
Review 1 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FAN-tastic

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the PR2-HI22 in 4/8/2001 and installed a lighted inline switch in the closet to turn the unit off in the winter. The light install is attached to the dead side of the wire/switch, so when switched on there is a light indicator. I have not replaced the motor but purchased this replacement motor, just in case it is needed. I feel most who have had issues set the trip level too low which results in higher fan operation. Although, if you follow the instructions it recommends 105° F, I set the thermostat to 118° F. I also did my best to make sure the thermostat gets plenty of air flow when the motor is operating. Hope this information will assist those who have had issues.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from murfreesboro tn
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

lasts 1 year then quits

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had to replace these motors every year like clock work
every spring i go in attic and they are locked up
my last motors before this brand lasted on average 12 years
i give up gonna have to find another source
Pros: Easy to Install, lasts 1 season
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from New Jersey
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fit my 20 year old "Butler Ventamatic" attic fan

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mother in law's attic fan went out and searching the internet for the part came up with a number of alternatives. But I took a chance, removed the fan, brought it to Home Depot and it was the exact same size. What can I say, for the price it fits and I don't have to go up on the roof. One thing people don't take into consideration is the load you put on it, if you don't have the net free area to draw air you're probably going to be pulling from your house. Also it would seem if you don't have enough net free area you're putting more of a load on the fan with pressure.
The part # that this fit was a Butler Ventomatic a051082001 EPC 1050 RPM 3.4 amp. even the metal sheathing for the wire was a direct fit.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Auburn, AL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Consider it a consumable

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Razor blades are designed to wear out after a certain number of uses and so too are these motors. I recently purchased a new residence and the seller had two of these motors on hand to replace the two failed ones up in the attic.
I placed a thermo probe in the attic prior to replacement - temp reached a high of 141 deg F. After replacement we are down to 102 deg F.
As others have said, you need 2x 7/16 wrenches and an allen wrench (mine required 5/32 - odd). The bolt/nut removal for the housing is easiest when you have one socket drive and one closed end wrench.
The fan is fairly loud when running but I can't hear it once my attic access door is closed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Attic Fan Replacement Motor

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This motor replaced a previous replacement that burned out. I didnt realize when i installed the attic fan that i would need to replace the motor every 3-5 years. I guess they dont make things like they used to!!!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Burke, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy motor to swap out

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had to replace an exhaust fan at a community pool bathroom. It was old and did not work any more. So I found this at my local home depot and found it to be a very easy fit for replacement. It is the exact size of the once that came out and as long as you have a puller to pull the fan off, it is a pretty easy install. it comes with the shielded cable and just hooks up easily to the existing thermostat connector.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Lady that helped me was the best !!!! Thank you for all your help

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it's a motor for a exhaust fan it is a little louder than the last one . but no big deal
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from South
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

These motors require maintenance every 2-3 years.

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used this roof vent system for 30 years, replaced a couple of times when the plastic dome, not the metal one deteriorated in TX sun. The motor has only bronze sleeve bearings that require periodic cleaning and lubrication. Have looked for, but never found a ball bearing motor for this application. To cut down on dust entering the shaft end of the motor, cut a 2 inch diameter leather or rubber circle, punch a 7/16 hole in the center and slip over the shaft between the motor and fan. One can get 15-20 years out of a motor with some regular care and lubrication. The new motor is a capacitor run motor drawing 1.6 amp instead of 3-4 amps. A motor with sealed ball bearing and thrust bearing would solve the problem.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Virginia

They don't last

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love reading all these five-star reviews from people who _just_ installed this. I have bought six of these over an 11 year period. You do the math about their reliability.
They invariably die on the hottest day of the year. Climbing into a scorching attic to replace the motor (again) is not my idea of a good time. I wish somebody offered a high-quality, American-made alternative. I would gladly pay twice as much for something that would last 10 years.
Cons: Difficult to Install, unreliable
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Northern Virginia (Washington D.C. Area)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Big Picture

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
In looking over the other comments, I want to stress my observations are merely my own opinion. As to the motor replacement frequency, I can only say my previous replacement, the motor lasted four years. I cannot say if this is good or bad. I suppose it depends upon its operating environment. In very hot climates, the motor is subjected to hours of continuous duty in adverse temperatures. I did an autopsy on the failed unit and indeed the culprit is the bearings. It appears the grease does not stay in contact with the actual bearings, but maybe slung out during operation.
As someone pointed out, there is no thermostat in the box. I don’t think there is supposed to be. They are usually accessories separate from the motor (I used the one I already had).
I cannot address the need for instruction sheets, but replacement, for me was quick and straight forward. This is what I did.
1) Pull the circuit breaker (verify cold at the unit with a volt meter)
2) Remove wire nuts and release wires connecting old motor to house electrical system (make a note of where each wire goes so you can replicate their position during reinstallation)
3) Take 1/8” Allen Wrench, loosen nut holding the fan blade to the motor shaft and slide fan blade off (there is no need to remove fan from housing when replacing motor)
4) Carefully loosen two of the three collar nuts/bolts (I used 7/16” wrenches) holding fan centered in the housing. You need only loose two enough you can slide the motor out of the housing – don’t drop it).
5) Using the new motor, you reverse the process.
6) Slide the new motor into place in the support collar, but only snug the bolts – don’t tighten – in case you need to adjust its position/orientation.
7) Slide the fan blade back onto the shaft and tighten the Allen nut (note: the nut faces the flat portion of the shaft).
8) Spin the blade by hand, ensuring it rotates freely, does not touch any portion of the housing and is centered in the collar and while ensuring the motor is evenly distributed – not cockeyed- in the collar. The fan/motor insertion should position the fan at a distance to ensure the fan pulls hot air and ejects it in a balanced quantity. Now tighten the supporting bolts
9) Properly reconnect and secure the electrical connections. Restore electrical power, adjust thermostat,
10) Bask in the glory of a job well done.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get the bigger motor. I bought the 1/5 hp, model PVM115, instead of this under powered one.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When the fan motor on my model PG2 fan went out, I read the reviews here. Then I noticed that there weren't any reviews on the 1/5hp motor for the PG3. It isn't carried in stores either. Is this because it doesn't have to be replaced as often??? So for only $10 more I bought the bigger motor. The dimensions are different, but it fit fine. It wouldn't slide into the sleeve of the housing, but removing and reconnecting the straps did the job. Works great, and hopefully will last longer than the one season that the smaller one did.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Frequently Fails. Why do they continue offering this junk?!

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
From reading some of these reviews, I guess I should consider myself fortunate: I have only had to replace this motor 4 times in 10 years. Of the 4, two of the motors were serviced by a retired motor tech/electrician (the thermal protection failed in both cases) before I decided to buy another. Curious that a motor made to cool hot attics fails due to over temp! As another reviewer stated, I would gladly pay double for a motor that last. At least they should back the quality of their product by offering a prorate on the NEXT replacement! Home Depot, PLEASE OFFER a quality alternative!
Cons: not reliable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

There is no winning with these guys

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
11 years ago I installed 3 attic fans, within 3 years I had replaced the all 3. In the next two years the replacement motors (with one year warranties) failed so I did the math and figured I'd do better by buying the top-of-the-line roof mount with the ten year warranty. The first one failed within a few moths and master flow honored the warranty. That was in 2007, since then, I have replaced 6 motors, only two of which Master Flow honored the warranty.
No sense in buying new or from Master Flow.
Last go-round Master-Flow offered me a hundred dollar + rebate to move up to their solar fan - for real?? I can only image the trouble getting warranty on their solar panels, rectifies, etc. in addition to the motor.
Buy the cheapest replacement motor you can find an hope for a year's service.
Cons: service length, warranty
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Replacement

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was worried that it might not fit, but had no problem installing from within the attic - didn't need to get on the roof. Worked as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Plano, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy this motor, it will die in less than a year.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
GET THE BIGGER MOTOR. BUY THE 1/5 HP, MODEL PVM115, INSTEAD OF THIS UNDER POWERED ONE.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor
from Huntssville, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good replacement

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to replace a burned out motor on a attic exhaust fan.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor

Regular replacement

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have four individual fan roof vent systems between my house and breezeway/garage. When I replace the motors I put the month and year on the end. Due to the poor bearing system in these motors they seize up after approx. 3 years. I keep an extra one on hand. Just had another seize up last week ( a little over 3 years old). It appears that they have cornered the market on this motor, can't find a replacement from another manufacturer at this time. Several years ago I purchased the same motor at Home Depot for approx. $35.00. The price just keeps going up!! Soon you may find the whole gable end unit on sale for less that the motor.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor

Burned out after less than year

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read reviews and thought this motor would get the heat out of my attic.. it did for a while, then it just stopped working after maybe 10 months.
I am now looking for a replacement and wont buy this motor again.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor

this don't last

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
These motors don't last very long! I've had to replace them alomost every year. The price has almost doubled in the last year.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/9 HP Replacement Power Vent Motor

I Like It

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
mine lasted 1 year i like it !!! yes i really like it ,it lasted a whole year ,perfect.
Pros: nice box
Cons: you have to install it
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>