728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern

1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern

The Hampton Bay Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern has an attractive aged iron finish in a square housing that recalls antique metalwork. The clear, textured glass is framed by wire strips that give it the appearance of windows, helping to create a warm ambience at entranceways. Uses 1 medium-base bulb, 100-Watt maximum (not included).
Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(65 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product58 of 62reviews
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(44)
4
(14)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product58 of 62reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
Review 1 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Columbus, Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome light

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install. High quality light and large size for a nice price. Too many large exterior lights are very expensive. This light looks great at a great value!
Pros: Unique, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from astoria, or
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great selection of styles

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed flush mount ceiling fixture, pole light and 2 wall mount fixtures. All are fairly close so needed a set. Found these online, picked them up at the Warrenton store and they looked good. Then I had a garage built and wanted the same light for there. Hoping I could find a larger model like the porch lights and found 2 sizes of the same model with a scroll trim. So I was able to buy 4 different types of the same model, 6 lights, for about $300. My electrician didn't complain or charge a fortune so they must not have been a problem to install.
Get a lot of compliments on them and love the look. They just sparkle. Great product.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Detroit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great if the base was the right shape!

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these to initially replace the old weathered ones that we had when we bought our house 4 years ago.
The installation went great, however, because the base is oblong, and the base of the existing lights was round, the stone facade on our home made it impossible to install them flush to the house.
We had to take them back, and I am only posting this review to make you aware of a possible consideration when installing them on your house. (The ones we ultimately got are awesome too, but they cost more)
The installation was easy, the units came out of the box fully assembled. They looked great otherwise, but just didn't work on my home.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Edmond, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful and reasonably priced

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had been looking for some replacement fixtures for the front of my house for some time. All the ones I found were either great looking, but expensive or inexpensive and not very attractive. I finally found these on homedepot.com and I was hoping they were as wonderful as they seemed and the reviews made them sound. I was not disappointed. I ordered three of them and when they came I asked my teenaged son to install them. He had all three of them up and working in about an hour and a half. I couldn't be happier. They are as beautiful as they look in the picture.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great looks, below-average construction

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two of these lights for my house and found that neither of the lanterns are square to the wall mount. The result is that the light housings look severly crooked. The entire light is a single piece, so there's very liitle room for adjustment to try and get everything lined up correctly. I actually cracked one trying to get everything more square.
The lights look great, but if you're bothered by alignment issues I'd look elsewhere.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: assembled poorly
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Hilliard, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Nice Wall Lanterns That Are Easy To Install

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Does take two people to hang on the wall as hard to hold and screw in at the same time. Looks great and at night with CFL bulbs being used provides a clear white light. Very nice.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern

Great looking light

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought 5 of these lights to put at the entrances to my home. They look really great. They are a dark gray almost black. The glass looks aged and has a bubbly texture. I found using clear lightbulb looks best. My husband installed them so I don't think it was difficult!haha
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

good deal

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
got a pole type one & 4 matching wall ones for a very reasonable price - the electrical guy had them all installed in no time - nice light & look good - no more gross corroded fixtures! chose the wall ones since I can use just one larger size regular bulb, not the annoying candle type ones with small bases that burn out all the time where there are 3 or 4 inside, meaning you're always replacing them
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great but is weak.

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We love the look of this product, and we bought several of them and placed them all around the exterior of our home. But three out of the 10 or so that we bought have broken at the solder mark, all within the first 6 months. Not sure if we should continue to replace with the same thing or completely replace all of the lamps with a sturdier company and style.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Bishop, CA

Beautiful but flawed

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really like the way these look on our house, but there are a few flaws to keep in mind.
Some are just preferences, such as the glass - it is clear with bubbles - very neat and old looking, but it makes for more glare from the light. Also, I always put CFLs in and you can see them through the wavy bubbly glass a little bit. That is minor, though.
Another reviewer mentioned a weak weld and we did experience this. We live 3 hours from the nearest Home Depot, or we would have just returned it, but my husband fixed it with JB Weld instead, and it works fine now. Do be careful of the weld between the hanger and the lantern, though, as it is fairly delicate.
Installation is another issue that was mentioned - the screws they provided were not the right length for what was needed in our case for the light to sit flush against the wall. We just found other screws and made it work. It was partly the screws, and partly the way our previous light was installed, so this may not be an issue for everyone, just check it before you connect the wires to be sure.
All that said, I think I'm going to buy a 3rd one because the combination of nice looks and low price make it hard to resist, and I know we can deal with the flaws!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Roselle

7 in. 1-light aged iron wall latern

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
They said it would ship in 3-4 weeks and I received it the same week I ordered them. They are beautiful and very bright. The glass looks fabulous when not lit up, but spectacular when lit. I am extremely pleased with this purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Edmond, Oklahoma

7 in. 1 light Wall Latern

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have purchased 3 of these Lanterns/Outside lighting. 2 for over my garage door and 1 for the front entrance. They not only light up great, but they have added a great cottage look/feel when you drive up to my home. I
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Kern County, California

Very nice

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two of these for the front entrance of my house. I really liked the looks of them, and in 2 days have already got compliments from the neighbors. It took me about 1 hour to install two of them, and was so simple, I did not even use instructions. And these were my first wall light's I have ever installed. So easy I went and bought a third matching light the next day for front of garage. I have always liked the quality and workmanship of Hampton Bay fans and lighting. Just hope the finish hold up since front of house faces the sun all day.We shall see.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great fixture

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
it's just what we needed for our decor on our front entry area!
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: these reviews are a pain !
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Graham, WA

A winner

PostedOctober 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought (3) of these lanterns and they are beautiful next to my front door and on each side of my garage. Very rich looking and have had many compliments on them. Received the lanterns the same week I ordered them and the boxes they came in were in mint condition. The lanterns even came with light bulbs which was a real bonus too.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Pataskala, Ohio

Classic Look

PostedMarch 31, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We recently purchase a 4 year old home and the outside fixtures were almost all different. We wanted a different bold
look that was classic and fit the house. This was it. We even
changed our gas lamp to electric for the "total" look. Changed them all (5) in a few hours, easy as pie.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Maryland

I Love these lights!

PostedFebruary 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are renovating a large colonial style house. We bought four of these lights, two for the front door and two for the garage. They are the perfect size and look. The bubbly glass gives them an extra twinkle at night.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Boylston, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks good from a distance

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Up close the product is just so so. Faked casting and antiqued glass.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern
from Princeton, NJ

wall lantern

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Installed this on back patio. Looked so good went back and bought another for outside the garage. Easy to install.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1-Light Aged Iron Outdoor Wall Lantern

Great Classy Lights!

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have a million dollar house and just updated the new exterior paint job with these lights. Love the size and color...not a strong black-more of a grey black which are beautiful!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>