728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Wall Mounted Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern

Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern

The Hampton Bay Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern has an attractive aged-iron finish in a square housing that recalls antique metalwork. The clear, textured glass is framed by wire strips that give it the appearance of windows, helping to create a warm ambience at entranceways. Uses 1 medium-base bulb, 100 watts maximum (not included).
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product53 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product53 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
Review 1 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Detroit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great if the base was the right shape!

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these to initially replace the old weathered ones that we had when we bought our house 4 years ago.
The installation went great, however, because the base is oblong, and the base of the existing lights was round, the stone facade on our home made it impossible to install them flush to the house.
We had to take them back, and I am only posting this review to make you aware of a possible consideration when installing them on your house. (The ones we ultimately got are awesome too, but they cost more)
The installation was easy, the units came out of the box fully assembled. They looked great otherwise, but just didn't work on my home.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love these! Bought them for outside our garage and front door. They're really nice looking and tie in perfectly with the black metal balusters on our front porch. Installation was pretty straight forward since we were just switching them out.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great looks, below-average construction

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these lights for my house and found that neither of the lanterns are square to the wall mount. The result is that the light housings look severly crooked. The entire light is a single piece, so there's very liitle room for adjustment to try and get everything lined up correctly. I actually cracked one trying to get everything more square.
The lights look great, but if you're bothered by alignment issues I'd look elsewhere.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: assembled poorly
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Edmond, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful and reasonably priced

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been looking for some replacement fixtures for the front of my house for some time. All the ones I found were either great looking, but expensive or inexpensive and not very attractive. I finally found these on homedepot.com and I was hoping they were as wonderful as they seemed and the reviews made them sound. I was not disappointed. I ordered three of them and when they came I asked my teenaged son to install them. He had all three of them up and working in about an hour and a half. I couldn't be happier. They are as beautiful as they look in the picture.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Florida, USA
Gender:Female

Very happy

PostedMay 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These lights look great on the house! Very happy with the look and quality, not to mention the price!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern

Great looking light

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have bought 5 of these lights to put at the entrances to my home. They look really great. They are a dark gray almost black. The glass looks aged and has a bubbly texture. I found using clear lightbulb looks best. My husband installed them so I don't think it was difficult!haha
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great fixture

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it's just what we needed for our decor on our front entry area!
Pros: Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: these reviews are a pain !
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Stoughton, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks good and adds a quality of sophistication

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Love the look with deck appearance. Would recommend to friend or family.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: just wish you could adjust pitch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

good deal

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
got a pole type one & 4 matching wall ones for a very reasonable price - the electrical guy had them all installed in no time - nice light & look good - no more gross corroded fixtures! chose the wall ones since I can use just one larger size regular bulb, not the annoying candle type ones with small bases that burn out all the time where there are 3 or 4 inside, meaning you're always replacing them
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Honolulu, HI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great but is weak.

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love the look of this product, and we bought several of them and placed them all around the exterior of our home. But three out of the 10 or so that we bought have broken at the solder mark, all within the first 6 months. Not sure if we should continue to replace with the same thing or completely replace all of the lamps with a sturdier company and style.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Sugar Land, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive and easy to install

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this earlier in the day, and had it installed and ready to go less than an hour later. It looks great, didn't cost too much, and installed quickly and easily. Cant ask for much more than that.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Albert Lea, MN 56007, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

looks very good

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this lights give off the perfect lighting, money well spend
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from SanDiego
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dusk to Dawn feature does not work

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these outdoor wall lights to light up the front of our garage. I love the look and quality of these lights. Plus they were easy and fast to install. My only issue is that the dusk to dawn feature doesn't work. They are on all day long! (And I live in sunny San Diego!) I was even very careful about where to place them. But nope, no matter if the sun is hitting the sensor directly, the light will still stay on. So annoying.
Pros: Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: doesnt work properly
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Lufkin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great look for AWESOME price!

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Great product. Of course the instructions are insane and then the screws they provide you are too long to make the light fixture lay flush with the wall so I had to go back to Home Depot and find the right length - which I easily did. These are great fixtures because you can easily replace the bulb without having to unscrew anything!!!! Love the look of these on my home and they are just the right size to flank my front door.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wrong size screws from manufacturer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern

Nice looking lights

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These lights look great on our house. They were fairly easy to install except one of the boxes came with no brackets or screws. My husband needed to take that box back to the store to exchange for another. Overall, we are pleased!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great for the price, no problems with install

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Priced right, easy install.....had everything necessary to put up, bring your own bulb.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Fast / Speed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Edmond, Oklahoma

7 in. 1 light Wall Latern

PostedMarch 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased 3 of these Lanterns/Outside lighting. 2 for over my garage door and 1 for the front entrance. They not only light up great, but they have added a great cottage look/feel when you drive up to my home. I
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Roselle

7 in. 1-light aged iron wall latern

PostedJune 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They said it would ship in 3-4 weeks and I received it the same week I ordered them. They are beautiful and very bright. The glass looks fabulous when not lit up, but spectacular when lit. I am extremely pleased with this purchase.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Kern County, California

Very nice

PostedOctober 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought two of these for the front entrance of my house. I really liked the looks of them, and in 2 days have already got compliments from the neighbors. It took me about 1 hour to install two of them, and was so simple, I did not even use instructions. And these were my first wall light's I have ever installed. So easy I went and bought a third matching light the next day for front of garage. I have always liked the quality and workmanship of Hampton Bay fans and lighting. Just hope the finish hold up since front of house faces the sun all day.We shall see.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wall-Mount 1-Light Outdoor Aged Iron Lantern
from Bishop, CA

Beautiful but flawed

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like the way these look on our house, but there are a few flaws to keep in mind.
Some are just preferences, such as the glass - it is clear with bubbles - very neat and old looking, but it makes for more glare from the light. Also, I always put CFLs in and you can see them through the wavy bubbly glass a little bit. That is minor, though.
Another reviewer mentioned a weak weld and we did experience this. We live 3 hours from the nearest Home Depot, or we would have just returned it, but my husband fixed it with JB Weld instead, and it works fine now. Do be careful of the weld between the hanger and the lantern, though, as it is fairly delicate.
Installation is another issue that was mentioned - the screws they provided were not the right length for what was needed in our case for the light to sit flush against the wall. We just found other screws and made it work. It was partly the screws, and partly the way our previous light was installed, so this may not be an issue for everyone, just check it before you connect the wires to be sure.
All that said, I think I'm going to buy a 3rd one because the combination of nice looks and low price make it hard to resist, and I know we can deal with the flaws!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>