728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 10 In. Portable Table Saw

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

10 In. Portable Table Saw

BTS15 10 In. Portable Table Saw. Sliding Miter Table easily guides material for crosscuts. 20 In. Rip Capacity for cutting wider material.15 Amp Motor powers through a wide variety of cuts. Outfeed Support provides additional material support while making cuts.36 Tooth Carbide Tipped Blade for quick and accurate ripping and crosscutting. Leg Stand provides a stable work platform. Rip Fence and Miter Storage onboard storage keeps parts close at hand. Blade Storage allows additional blades to kept with the saw. Includes siding miter table, table insert, leg stand, carbide tipped blade and wrenches.
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(2)
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
Review 1 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Flower Mound, TX

10" Table saw

PostedJune 4, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had much more expensive table saws in the past and have found this less
expensive tool to perform as well as as the higher priced units. It is
light weight when moving to different locations and yet is robust enough when
it comes to cutting large and heavy materials. I would recommend
this tool to anyone who want a very good tool at a very reasonable price.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Rochester, NY

Great Buy!

PostedJuly 29, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this saw for almost a year and it was given to me as a Christmas gift. Some things that I really like about it are the table length, a sturdy rip fence, pretty good blad with purchase, and over all ease of use. The bevel feature works pretty well and I have used The Miter Table often and is very easy to detach if you don't need it. I have cut all kinds of wood from Bass Wood, laminant flooring, to Oak. The saw does not lack power and zipps through everything with a sharp blade!
As a first time owner of a table saw, I am very pleased with what you get out of this saw for the money. It is very handy and does a great job for all kinds of projects.
A minor down fall to this saw is the lack of compatibility to other table saw accessories. The miter table does not have a channel in which the miter fence is placed. This is only a problem if you would like to purchase accessories that would go in that channel, such as a feather board. In this case, you would just have to use a large C clamp to attach accessories such as this to the table. A minor set back.
All in all, a great buy!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Boston, MA

NOT BAD STARTER TABLE SAW

PostedOctober 28, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this saw based on reviews. It is a replacement for a 26 year old Craftsman which just wore out. If you're serious about getting accurate cuts on a cheap table saw don't buy this! If you're happy with rougher cuts - or can ignore being off by 1/32 or so then you might like this saw.
Real problems with this saw include a unreliable deadman switch and rip and mitre gauges that have to be trued very ofter.
Real PIA is the lack of an outlet for accessories. Ryobi makes the accessories but they are VERY hard to find. Needed accessaories? Table extension (working surface is quite small).
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Southern Illinois

Excellent for first table saw

PostedOctober 11, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a first table saw purchase, I am very happy with this saw after completing my first three projects. I like the large work surface, the controls are easy to get to, the adjustments are very smooth and the blade cuts oak like butter. My only negative comment is the fence, as I had to check it for square on every single cut and often it would tilt slightly out of square after an adjustment. Once locked in however, it was very sturdy.
I purchased this saw based on reviews online, and I would recommend this to anyone as a first table saw purchase. I am just a novice home woodworker, and this tool is a fine addition to the shop.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from San Antonio, TX

Great Table Saw

PostedFebruary 14, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Initially the cost and warranty were the selling factors for me on this table saw. However, after putting it into use, I am more than satisfied with the performance of the Ryobi, Model BTS15 table saw. The size and weight make it a real plus too. When I am not using it, I can put it away in the corner of my garage and still have plenty of room for the rest of my tools; and of course my loving wife’s car. :-)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Huntsville, Texas

Useful Tool

PostedJanuary 24, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this product because we were putting up new crown molding in our home. It was simple to use, and now I even use it for little crafts. It is smooth and not scary. I would recommend this product to anyone doing major repairs to little crafts in the garage.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Portland, OR

Good Saw

PostedOctober 4, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoyed using this saw.
The onboard storage for the fence and miter are a great feature.
Easy to assemble from the box.
Fence has a good feel and cuts square.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Urania, Louisiana

PostedJanuary 26, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am somewhat disappointed with this table saw. IT IS MADE ALMOST ALL FROM PLASTIC. Only the stand and top are metal. The plastic fence and plastic miter are not accurate > requires constant adjusting. The saw is noisier than most. It was easy to assemble and lightwieght. The motor is powerful but but there is a hard jolt and vibrates when first turned on. The plastic miter is a clever design but rattles when the saw is running. Even with moderate use, I fear it will not last long. Hope I am wrong!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Virginia

Ryobi; A "Piece of Junk"

PostedMarch 10, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was never able to get this saw operational as it was not assembled properly by Ryobi. The bevel lock at first did not work but I was able to fix that with some guidance from on-line customer support. Then the bevel and saw blade height mechanism was determined to be missing parts (at least a locking ring on the shaft to keep it in position). Fortunately, Home Depot was gracious enough to give me a full store credit refund. I am now looking for a table saw that is properly made - it won't be a Ryobi!!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from contractor for 30 years

Don't waste your money

PostedJanuary 12, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This has to be the worst table saw ever. The blade will not stay at a 90 deg angle.
It takes about two min to go from a rip cut to a cross cut because you have to change part of the table top.
The wrenches to change the blade are just plain junk. They snap and the slot is too small to accept and open end wrench.
The arbor shaft is not long enough to accept a good quality dado blade set.
Best thing is to stay away from their tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from Urania, Louisiana

tbs15 a disappointment

PostedJanuary 29, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fence and miter have to be constantly adjusted. The saw with (exception of the stand and the very top) is made from plastic. Even the miter and fence assemblies are made from plastic. The Motor has suficient power but starts with a hard jolt that causes vibration. I doubt the plastic parts will last long with moderate use. The miter assembly is however a clever design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from orlando

Great bang for buck

PostedJanuary 21, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This table saw is excelent for the price. I have only stoped the saw once and it restarted right away once I located the reset button. Does great cutting through all different hardwoods and laminate floors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
from New Jersey's Pine Barrens

It Works for Me

PostedJune 5, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Let me start out by saying this table saw isn't as good as cabinet saw and shouldn't be compared to one costing more.
That being said, this saw worked wonderfully for me. I am a weekend woodworking warrior. And I know enough that this table saw isn't for someone who would use it professionally everyday.
After I had purchased this saw for $139 I went home read the manual, made sure everything was set correctly, then I cut my first piece of wood. I was pleased that it was not as loud as I was led to believe. I was more than happy that rip fence was true and that my 3.25 inch cut pine was in fact 3.25 inches. Not bad.
Resawed some .75.inch x 3.5 inches douglas fir down to .5 inch by 1 inch and the resawed measurements were dead-on.
Other cuts I made were dead-on too. Maybe because of the way I set the rip fence I get exact measurements. I set the rip fence to the measurement I want, then with both thumbs I push the rip fence towards the table, fine tune the measurement, then lock the rip fence. If you just move the rip fence to the measurement you want then lock it, the rip fence may not be parallel to the blade since the rip fence is not self alligning.
I realize this Ryobi table saw will not have the exacting tolerences that a cabinet saw would have, but then I didn't expect too.
The one draw back is that there is no dado plate for this saw even though the manual lists a dado part number. Oh well I guess I will have to pull out my Ryobi router.
Yestools
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 10 In. Portable Table Saw
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product