728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wood Fencing or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket

5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket

The 6 ft. x 5-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. Pressure-Treated Solid Wood Dog-Ear Picket is designed for decks, docks, ramps and other outdoor projects where lumber is exposed to the elements. This sturdy picket is constructed from Southern Pine and resists termites, rot and fungal decay. The picket can be stained or painted to match your exterior decor.
Overall rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product24 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product24 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
Review 1 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Tulsa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value per linear foot! Especially bulk purchase.

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No pre-drilling holes because it doesn't split when you screw through it. Made putting my fence up very easy. If you add up the cost of a 3-1/2" picket, this covers more for less money in total. It's a great value and looks better than the 3-1/2" picket. Once ours dries out, we plan to stain & seal so it will look like cedar.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Vicksburg, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Deal On Pressure Treated Fence Pickets!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 520 of these pickets, over the Memorial Day weekend. I layed them outside to dry, since they were moist, from the pressure treating process. Out of 520 pickets, about 5 boards slightly warped from the drying process. Not enough to affect their usage, or physical appearance. So, I did NOT lose
any product, as some reviewers have claimed, that they experienced.
Plus, all 520 pickets were selected by store staff; I ordered them on-line, and did not "hand pick" any of them!!!! I simply drove to Home Depot, loaded on my truck, and left.
Remarkable, at a price of $1.20, for pressure treated wood! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Huntsburg, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed a fence to support our new blackberry bushes so my wife came up with this. I re-cut the dog ears to Gothic style just for looks. Fence is very light weight and easy to handle. Took about one Saturday to complete.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was ideal solution

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I reconstructed the back fence using these pressure-treated pickets. Since my house sits on a cul-de-sac, it was not an easy job. The length required 438 individual pickets and the steepness of the creek bank made using complete panels practically impossible. But the individual pickets are light weight and I managed the job by myself. I recommend these pickets to anyone who needs to build a strong, good-looking fence and would like to do the job by themselves.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fence pickets

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Whats good about these pickets?
1. pretty consistent size (some variance but that is to be expected.)
2. Rough cut looks great (these are supposed to be rough cut for staining and sealing. If you are looking for smooth finished wood for painting you can expect to sand or purchase a different product.
3. Home Depot loaded my truck for me (saving me 1/2 the backache).
Cons:
I had to go through a full pallet of these to find the 110 pickets that I wanted for my gates. (That means about 25% of a pallet load would most likely not be useful for gates - lots of knots or cracks.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: finding knot free pickets is time consuming
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Lake George, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked out great!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
From the start this was an easy project, lots of help and advice from store associates about installation and money saving methods, pulled my truck up and they loaded a pallet and a half on I did not touch any till home. Found one in the batch that was to warped to use and one broken dang good for 1/3 the price of what I would have to pay at the local lumber store! The pickets locally are a little thicker and hand picked but this fence looks great and I believe will last a long time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product for the price. I have bought a lot of fence boards from Home Depot and have always need pleased.
Pros: Good Shape, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wet

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
most were still wet from treating. many warped as they dried, about 17%. so much for the 15% discount on quantity buy.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Eden, NC 27288, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product great, service very good

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
customer service very good, material read for pickup. panels and timbers look good.
Pros: Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Omaha, NE
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product for the money

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Most pieces were in great shape. Only issue is after fence was up, a few warped almost immediately. Not sure if that was the way we installed them or if it is a product flaw though. But 2 out of over 300 is not a bad ratio for having trouble.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the price ;)

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good for this kinda price, all you have to do is stain it and looks like expensive fence, i have more fence to do and i will by it again !!!!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

5

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, easy to install, great look your fence. Treated flank. Great product for the price. I recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Harvest, AL

Works great, just be careful selecting lumber

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had to patch a couple of broken fence slats, and these did the trick. Be careful selecting the lumber though, since I dug through 2 cracked boards for every 1 solid board. Maybe it was just a bad batch, but I wasn't impressed with the overall quality of the pallet I picked mine from.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Tracy City, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The pickets far exceeded my expectations.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent straight lumber. Very uniform pressure-treating. Pricing was the best on quanity.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Beaumont, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

the product was good quality is good.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install, good quality The price was good compare with the quality of the wood. the only complain we had was it take longer for the pick up because they didn't has the purchase ready to go and we had to wait, but they apologized for the delayed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Cedartown, GA 30125, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

the product has great discount

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought online,and i pick up the product,and everything was very good,every body was profesional,iam very happy
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Waterford, Mi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motor City Jay

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, looks goodeasy to install! Only complaint had to go through a pallet and half to get 150 pieces for my project. Going to buy more, if you have the time its alot chesper then buying the pre made panels and you can choose your wood!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from LaGrange GA

Pressure treated panels

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great deal! a buck 39 for a 6 foot tall 5.5 inch wide piece of treated lumber! I recently used this to build a outdoor project that is NOT a fence! Great product! Thanks HD
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket

great price

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was ready when I got there....when used, each piece was in great condition!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5/8 in. x 5 1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure Treated #2 Pine Dog Eared Picket
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fence Project

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered all fence pickets, framing lumber, and concrete via the internet for my project. Less than 10 minutes after my order Home Depot text and said that the order was ready. I took in my paperwork, paid for it, and had help loading my purchase. Very easy. Very efficient.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>