728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket

5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket

The 6 ft. x 5-1/2 in. x 5/8 in. Pressure-Treated Solid Wood Dog-Ear Picket is designed for decks, docks, ramps and other outdoor projects where lumber is exposed to the elements. This sturdy picket is constructed from Southern Pine and resists termites, rot and fungal decay. The picket can be stained or painted to match your exterior decor.
Overall rating:
4.231 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product34 of 38reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(22)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product34 of 38reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
Review 1 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Lawrenceville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent buy

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product we got from The Home Depot is great and very affordable. It was priced just right and we were able to finish our fence in a very short amount of time. It was very easy to assemble and the components are top quality with a great finish. I would recommend it to anyone.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Huntsburg, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed a fence to support our new blackberry bushes so my wife came up with this. I re-cut the dog ears to Gothic style just for looks. Fence is very light weight and easy to handle. Took about one Saturday to complete.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Tulsa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value per linear foot! Especially bulk purchase.

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No pre-drilling holes because it doesn't split when you screw through it. Made putting my fence up very easy. If you add up the cost of a 3-1/2" picket, this covers more for less money in total. It's a great value and looks better than the 3-1/2" picket. Once ours dries out, we plan to stain & seal so it will look like cedar.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made raised garden beds with....

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found directions online for making raised garden beds using fence pickets. They came out looking good. I have added more beds since.
Pros: Seals Well, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket

picketts work great for slopes

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really hate the look of 8 foot panels stair stepped up slopes, leaving gaps on one end for animals to get in and dogs to escape.
Prevent this by building the fence yourself. it will be stronger with 2x4s cross sections anyway. i had 320 feet to build and bought 690 pickets, 120 2x4s, 44 posts, 22 80lbs quickcrete, 480 3in deck screws, 4,140 1 & 5/8in deck screws, 1 gate kit, 44 solar post caps, and will wait till fall to stain it after all the pressure treated wood is completely dried.
i put up all my posts first then all the 2x4s with the top 2x4 6in from the top picket and the bottom one 6in from the ground with the center one obviously dead center. spend extra time making sure your posts are level and the 2x4s are exactly where they need to be.
i did trim the bottoms of many pickets in order to keep the top level and exactly 6 inches from the top 2x4.
i made a simple guide to keep my pickets perfect on the top. the guide was about 3 feet long by 1 inch wide and rested on the top of the pickets with 4 legs that came down exactly 6 inches. when the back 2 legs rested on the top 2x4, i would adjust my picket to barely hit the guide, screw the board in and on to the next.
i didn't gap any of my pickets because they were all pretty wet still. 1 month later and they are gapping themselves nicely as they dry.
good luck.
the pickets work great.
btw, for the pickets that needed trimmed to stay the correct height, i just flipped the pickett upside down, and marked the bottom of the pickett with an extra board that I extended over on my guide to multi-purpose the guide as a way to measure for the extra amount of the picket that needed trimmed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Fort Worth, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was ideal solution

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I reconstructed the back fence using these pressure-treated pickets. Since my house sits on a cul-de-sac, it was not an easy job. The length required 438 individual pickets and the steepness of the creek bank made using complete panels practically impossible. But the individual pickets are light weight and I managed the job by myself. I recommend these pickets to anyone who needs to build a strong, good-looking fence and would like to do the job by themselves.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Vicksburg, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Deal On Pressure Treated Fence Pickets!

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 520 of these pickets, over the Memorial Day weekend. I layed them outside to dry, since they were moist, from the pressure treating process. Out of 520 pickets, about 5 boards slightly warped from the drying process. Not enough to affect their usage, or physical appearance. So, I did NOT lose
any product, as some reviewers have claimed, that they experienced.
Plus, all 520 pickets were selected by store staff; I ordered them on-line, and did not "hand pick" any of them!!!! I simply drove to Home Depot, loaded on my truck, and left.
Remarkable, at a price of $1.20, for pressure treated wood! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good buy

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Needed 290 pickets to finish a fence. Our 1 acre property is fenced on 3 sides and wanted to complete it. Out of the 290 pickets, 4 were too warped and 1 split. The rest have been good quality with no issues. Sure there is better quality wood but at a higher price. Overall have been happy with the product and the fence looks great.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fence pickets

PostedJune 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Whats good about these pickets?
1. pretty consistent size (some variance but that is to be expected.)
2. Rough cut looks great (these are supposed to be rough cut for staining and sealing. If you are looking for smooth finished wood for painting you can expect to sand or purchase a different product.
3. Home Depot loaded my truck for me (saving me 1/2 the backache).
Cons:
I had to go through a full pallet of these to find the 110 pickets that I wanted for my gates. (That means about 25% of a pallet load would most likely not be useful for gates - lots of knots or cracks.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: finding knot free pickets is time consuming
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Joliet IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy different boards

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The boards were very rough faced, shredded edges and corners, random coloration - some brown, some mottled green, some fully green colored. The term "rough sawn" should be clearly in the title description, as every board had clear circular saw marks on the large surface. I don't think the waterproofing treatment was applied well, or evenly in some cases. Some are pretty ugly. Seemed thinner than the 5/8" described, closer to 1/2". It would have been worth the extra money to get planed smooth surface boards, but I was buying unseen and expected them to be the same as normal stock. It got my fence built, but not as good looking as I'd hoped. Next time I'll check the boards out first, and hand pick what I want. I'd say these are the worst quality dog ear fence boards I've ever seen. At least they didn't split when the screws went in, and only a couple of splinters. These should have been half price instead of thirty cents off the regular price. And you could see about getting the picture upload function to work, my 2.6 meg kodak .jpg images don't seem to be loading very well. I should be able to select all 6 at once. I'm reducing the image size to 175k for your slow system.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood
Cons: Poor Color, bad finish, not dimensionally accurate, green treatment looks bad uneven., many splinters and chips
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-10points
7out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket

pickett

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I like buying my Pickett from home depot one weakend I purchased a large quantity of them I had about 20 of the warped could not use them take back cause I lived so far out .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Austin, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buy these treated fence pickets. untreated is a waste of money and time

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
These are fence pickets. What can I say, I put them up, people can't see through them. I got a fence.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Lake George, Mi
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked out great!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
From the start this was an easy project, lots of help and advice from store associates about installation and money saving methods, pulled my truck up and they loaded a pallet and a half on I did not touch any till home. Found one in the batch that was to warped to use and one broken dang good for 1/3 the price of what I would have to pay at the local lumber store! The pickets locally are a little thicker and hand picked but this fence looks great and I believe will last a long time.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Harvest, AL

Works great, just be careful selecting lumber

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had to patch a couple of broken fence slats, and these did the trick. Be careful selecting the lumber though, since I dug through 2 cracked boards for every 1 solid board. Maybe it was just a bad batch, but I wasn't impressed with the overall quality of the pallet I picked mine from.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product for the price. I have bought a lot of fence boards from Home Depot and have always need pleased.
Pros: Good Shape, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from LaGrange GA

Pressure treated panels

PostedJune 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great deal! a buck 39 for a 6 foot tall 5.5 inch wide piece of treated lumber! I recently used this to build a outdoor project that is NOT a fence! Great product! Thanks HD
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from red bluff ca.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fencing is great quality

PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The was a little more in store we payed 20 cents more per board and the fast check out lady was very rude
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Good Shape
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wet

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
most were still wet from treating. many warped as they dried, about 17%. so much for the 15% discount on quantity buy.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Louisville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellant purchase

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to work with Stainable or paintable. Many colors for a beautiful appearance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5/8 in. x 5-1/2 in. x 6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Dog-Ear Fence Picket
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the price ;)

PostedJuly 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very good for this kinda price, all you have to do is stain it and looks like expensive fence, i have more fence to do and i will by it again !!!!
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>