728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Rollers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller

9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller

The PaintMate is Wagner's ultimate all-in-one roller and paint container. The manual trigger roller draws paint from an internal, trigger-operated reservoir for even application on semi-smooth surfaces. Its inner tube and roller are reinforced for added strength. Perfect for medium-sized interior projects.
Overall rating:
4.038 / 5
4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product21 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(7)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product21 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
Review 1 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller

PostedMay 11, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product but the accessory (replacement) rollers are a bit pricey. It eliminates the use of a roller tray, which I absolutely loved. Ease of use allows you to move from room to room for easy touch ups. I initially couldn't draw the paint out of the can into the tool, so I recommend pressing your hand on top of the cover to remove excess air, then try and draw the paint into the tool.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from coon rapids, mn

faboulous product!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a terrible painter. Until I bought this product. This product not only made my finished product look amazing, But the project took less than half as long as it would have otherwise. The application of the paint was smooth, I had no excess, no runs, no spatter, and clean up was a breeze. If you are considering this product, I can testify I was not disappointed. An excellent value for the price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Gilbert, AZ

Great Value

PostedSeptember 25, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This included everything I needed. It made painting easy and fun!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Seattle, WA

Quick Painting And Unbelievable Mess

PostedJuly 14, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like all Wagner products that I have tried, this one starts out fine, and ends in a mess. See that roller pad? Well, when I was 12 feet in the air on a ladder in a stairwell that pad came flying off, causing a near perfect storm of paint mess as paint and paint soaked roller flew down the stairs and I was left with a dripping paint stick. I tried it again later and it worked well for a while - until the roller came off again. If you install the optional spatter shield I think that will hold the roller pad on there. Maybe. The clean-up is a hassle, and this thing is not good in tight spaces. Please don't waste your money.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Dallas, TX

Great product

PostedNovember 4, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a wondful product and will help you finish your job in half the time. You do have to save an hour to do clean up, and make sure you have warm water and a large bucket. But otherwise, it is a wonderful product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Missouri

Large areas, ONLY

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is nice, but, unless you are doing a very large area, it uses to much excess paint......and gets a little heavy when doing overhead..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from MO

Works Great!

PostedJune 27, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great. We have used it over and over again and friends have borrowed it as well. Never any problems with function. Easy to use and it works well. Others we know have tried the less expensive brands of this same type of product and found they didn't work as well, this one you will be happy with though. Worth the money if you are going to do a large room or lots of painting.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Madison, Ohio.

Better than a sprayer

PostedJune 15, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even the best sprayer creates overspray. This roller gives you the control and coverage of a conventional roller with nearly the speed of a sprayer. I recently bought a house that desperatly needed painting in every room, including the ceilings,and this roller made it go fast. Cleanup was surprisingly easy as well.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Los Angeles, CA

Don't waste your time with standard rollers !

PostedJuly 5, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so glad I found this product and was able to read the previous reviews. I wasted so much time with regular rollers and the dip paint dip paint routine. This paintmate was amazing, I am a super-novice painter (1st timer) and I achieved professional results. Cleaning was easy and I will be using only this for my future painting projects. Super product, highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from worcester, ma

roller kit is helpful if...

PostedSeptember 10, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this roller kit is very helpful but only if you are doing a large wall! The clean up takes time and it is hard to move in tight spaces with it, but if you have a large wall it DOES save time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
from Texarkana, TX

5-Piece roller kit

PostedJune 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was a life saver. It worked better than we had expected. It painted evenly and it was so much faster that a regular roller and pan.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 9 in. PaintMate Manual Trigger Roller
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
12 out of 15 recommend this product
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5