728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Deck Boards or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

This 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Lumber features a micronized copper azole treatment to help protect the wood from termite infestation, rotting and fungal decay, making it ideal for outdoor applications. Use for a variety of applications including decks, stair support posts, walkways and other outdoor projects where lumber is exposed to the elements. When used properly, lumber is safe and environmentally friendly.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product22 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(4)
3
(7)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product22 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
Review 1 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Bradenton, Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

100' Fence Installed in a Day

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best purchase ever to hide neighborhood eyesore- Easy to install and friendly staff loaded and helped me tie down my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Atlanta, GA

Choose your own!!!

PostedApril 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you're looking on line for pricing, that's fine; however, you HAVE to go to the store and pick out your own pieces...if you let the associate pick the pieces/number you are ordering, you will not get quality pieces. I am using these for a bench, so I was fine w the 1-2 pieces that were not solid, but if you are using them as posts, you must choose your own. Not all are created equal.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Lake Placid NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Knowing about wood

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you look at the pictures of the 4x4 timbers you might buy you'll notice the end grain on all of them are the center of the log thus they are the last cut from the tree and warping twisting and checking/cracks are very common as the center of the tree is the least stable....so take your time picking your stock for your individual needs....Hope I helped ya a bit....
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
+78points
82out of 86found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

Good solid lumber

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked well for project, good value for the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Dallas ,Tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad but could be better

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the store pick up option for this wood and for some other pressure treated 2x4s that I would need to build a swing set using a kit bought at the store, The wood was already pulled for me when I arrived and the ones that were selected were not the best of quality that I could see (lots of knots and cracks throughout ), I went back an exchanged about 4 of the 8 that I had requested for better pieces (I had to do some digging from them as well), After using them to build my structure and letting them dry out for 2 weeks I noticed that these too are starting to have some large cracks and splits in them as well, I plan to stain the wood once it completly dries out but I may have to do it sooner than I had planned , Structurally they seem to work out just fine but Im worried that if I dont seal them qucikly they may crack all the way through and split, they seem good for what I am using them for but I'm not sure how load bearing they would be
Pros: Seals Well, good value
Cons: some quality issues
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Waterrbury Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PT 4x4

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Knotty and voids , very wet I am concerned that warping will cause me problems in the future meaning taking down and replacing a lot of work. Cost and convenient hours are only reason I use these
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Bloomburg TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Post

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The best treated post I have found. Straight grain means less/no twisting. I use for intermittent strengthening between T post that hold up over 1200 feet of 4 foot sheep/goat wire.
Pros: strong post
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Newnan, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful product - rotted in 3 years at ground level

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these 4x4x8 posts to put up a privacy fence in June of 2010. I noticed in the summer of 2013 the fence was leaning and when I checked the posts had all put rotted right at ground level. Now I need to replace 13 of these posts. I would NOT recommend this PROWOOD pressure treated product to anyone.
+19points
26out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Lunenburg, Virginia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice quality but......

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We ordered several of these for a fence / dog kennel project and we ordered online. We usually load them ourselves but an associate did help us and I didn't get to inspect them like I wanted. When we arrived home most of them were straight with the exception of a few that had a light twist to them but one in particular was extremely curved and we live thirty minutes from the store so we had to make due. Great product but be sure to check them if you order online before loading in your vehicle.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from new york
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

these guys worked out greatthey we're very strong ! believe me there under great pressure now !!!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ok guys here's what i used them for i made i timber wall almost 7foot high. with no posts. just 8" bolts. it worked but i worried about it. so i dug down 1-1-1/2' deep holes poured them full with cement. suck posts in holes. lined them up let them sit 2 days in the 90 degree sun. them i drilled out 1/2" holes in everyone of the post they drilled very easy with my bosch 18volt drill. them i took 8" lag bolts with big washers screwed them all threw landscape timber dead centers it drew all the timbers right up to the posts like magic it looks so sweet!!!!!!!!!!!! yes people buy them buy buy buy. the cement also its strong buy it. can't win i don't know how to take a picture on line my wife either. we'd lose anyways.
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Palm Bay, Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This wood is junk

PostedJune 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I won't even give this wood a star-- I used these to make benches around a fire pit area and had to pull all the benches apart to replace because these 4x4 warped and twisted so badly.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

Posts were okay but will have to replace in less than 5 yrs.

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 8 8t wooden fence posts. Because it is hard for me to walk I pre-ordered and picked it up. 4 of the posts have large cracks in them and two have warped rather badly and they have been up only a month. Next time, I will go in and select my own posts at whatever store I buy from to ensure I get defective free posts.
Cons: split and warped wood
+24points
27out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I ordered

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this online. My son picked it up in a different state. The order was waiting for him at his store.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from St. Charles, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great posts for fence building

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are quality building materials for a good price.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Sycamore, Al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great 4 x 4

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These were straight and can be used for multi uses
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

Twisty

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Soggy and twisted.
Different sizes from one end to the other.
Maybe cause I ordered online and had it all delivered, but not great quality wood. I have an extra star cause it was a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

re: too small

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
all finished lumber is s half inch smaller (4x4 is actually 3 1/2x3 1/2) due to kiln drieing. The only way you get true demensions is to get rough sawn lumber (from a mill or someone with a mill). I hope this helps.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber

Defective product

PostedMay 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a new deck installed about a month ago using this wood. Its already has 2 ft long splits about a half inch wide in it. I understand it is a natural product, and wood splits but in my opinion this is a very poor product.
+7points
16out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Placed order on line and picked it up in 30 min. Everything as expected. So easy.
Pros: High Quality of Material
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Timber
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for the money

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I am bery pleased with my purchase. I cannot complain, as the price was right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>