728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop HVAC Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

The Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Booster Fan is an energy efficient way to help improve comfort in your home or office. This fan is designed to fit 6 in. flexible and rigid ducts. The fan has 1 end with a crimp and bead design for an easy installation. The fan is made out of corrosion-resistant metal. It features a tip-throw balanced, lexan blade. The fan's motor has a large oil reservoir helping ensure a long lasting and quiet performance.
Overall rating:
3.477 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product28 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product28 of 39reviews
Customer reviews for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Review 1 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Perfectly

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My son was having a problem in his rented condo with the air conditioning not reaching his upstairs bedroom. Not being able to actually use the fan "in line" he rigged up a backward vent (shown without the cover) to pull the air to the second story. Worked absolutely beautifully, and it's portable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

loud and wimpy - don't buy

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money or your time with this fan. It has a constant high-pitch whine that is very annoying. Any fan that moves air will have a lower pitch "rush of air" sound which is fine, but the high-pitch whine is coming from the motor of this unit. This is a cheaply made fan, and doesn't move near as much air as a similar but different brand fan that I removed after 12 years of service. I can take the fan back and get my money back, but i am frustrated at the time I've wasted on this piece of junk.
Cons: Not Durable, loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Coal Creek Canyon Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Would've bought a better fan if the store carried it. The only option was to buy it online, and due to pending below freezing weather, I didn't have the time to wait. Why are so many premium items available online but not at the stores?
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Sterling Heights, Michigan

HVAC 6" Fan

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have lived in my house 5 yrs. My bedroom which is the last run from the furnace gets really cold with the door closed (during winter). I was walking through home depot and saw this item on the shelf and decided to give it a try. It is a night and day difference. This unit really helped and price meets the need. However, this unit does add noise when it is running. It is recommending to have this fan 6 to 10 ft from vent. I moved the fan about 20 ft from vent to cut down on noise which also made a big difference. Last tip is how to wire this fan into your furnace. I wired it directly to the furnace fan so it runs when ever the fan turns on. My furnace is 110V power and has EAC (electronic air cleaner) circuit. I don't have eac (instead just filter unit) so the fan can just be hooked to power and ground on these connections and the circuit get completed once the furnace fan kicks on turning on the HVAC fan.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

didn't work for me

PostedSeptember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am glad that this has worked for others but it didn't work for me. I bought and installed it to bring more cool air into my master bedroom. However I don't feel any improvement at all and, the noise level is annoying to the point that it is difficult to sleep when it is running. I have it mounted about four feet from the floor register.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Works Great! Wires Short

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was easy to install and now my 2nd floor master, furthest from the furnance, now has about 3x the air flow. I installed a 6" on the supply and a 8" on the return to that room. The wires are really short, Hot/Neutral 6", GRD 4", so I had to solder some extra on them to read a jct box. Then wired it into the blower fan on the furnace. Super quiet too. -1 star due to short wires.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Lucky that I had a small section (about 2 ft.) of duct at the end of a long run. I put the fan at the end of the long run and then put the small section on the other end of the fan. So the fan ended up being about 2 ft from the register. Consequently I get quite a bit of air rush noise. Sounds like a low quality bathroom exhaust fan. It does work good - room was 63 F now is about 68 F.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan quietly moves more air to distant rooms

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is as expected. Fairly easy to install by merely cutting a section from heat duct, sliding fan assembly into the space and installing with sheet metal screws. The joint is then wrapped with duct tape and insulation. Necessary to install an electrical handy box on the unit to accommodate the electrical connections to complete the project.
I expect to purchase another.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, performs as expected
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to replace these within about 2 years

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these as replacements for the two that I purchased about 2 years ago. The old ones had both failed. I replaced with the same units because I needed to restore the boost in the ducts and there were not other alternatives available. I hope these two last longer than their predecessors.
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy, short usable life
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from OHIO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Must be placed close to end of Run

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It is an overall good unit, but it must be placed near the end of the run close to the diffuser. It can be quite noisy when doing so, but it only gives that extra push of air when placed close to end.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: cannot work properly placed in middle of run
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Poor

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought the first one I bought was broken. It moved that little of air. The second was the same, this thing might move 50CFM.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pa

does what its supposed to

PostedApril 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to use as an exhaust fan for my bar / home entertainment area in the basement. With no windows, you can imagine the cigarette smoke, and other odors linger for a very long time. Installed this fan with a wall register near the cieling, and the fan 8 feet in on the line (manufacturer recommends 6 to 10 feet) works like a champ, and almost impossible to hear running, even when the room is dead silent. MUCH quieter than any bath vent fan available, and even quieter than my air purifier (and gets the job done faster)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Hillsboro, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what I needed at a great price

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a fan and motor for a small exhaust fan and although this is a heat duct fan it was a exact replacement for my exhaust fan, including mounting bracket. The associate first told me they have no replacement for my exhaust fan. Then I mentioned it fits in a 6 inch exhaust duct and he immediately went to the heating dept and picked up this duct fan for me. excellent service!
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Appears that it is going to work well

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this fan to install in a 12" x 10" rectangular vent between my basement, where my pellet stove is, and my living room upstairs. I decided to make my own bracket to mount the fan onto. This was easy to do, using a piece of metal and some wood for support. I wired the fan to a wall switch to turn on and off when I have the stove on. Once installed and tested I was surprised on the amount of air movement that it pushed upstairs. The floor vent in the living room is right next to the sofas and as I sat and listened, this fan was quiet enough not to intefere with the television or normal volume conversation. Now I am waiting for the first cold day to turn on the stove and the fan and see how much warm air will be moving into the living room. For $30 it may be the best investment other than the pellet stove itself.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Ann Arbor, MI

A bit noisy, stopped working after two years.

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This item has a one year warranty. That tells you the manufacturer does not expect it to last long. It's really a simple electric motor secured in a piece of duct. My motor failed after two winters. I am using it with the duct stat device and it works pretty good. I'd rather have it tied in the the furnace fan blower but it would cost too much to pay a HVAC pro to wire so I went with the duct stat.
It all works fine but there is some elevated noise levels when the fan is running. Since the fan is inexpensive enough, I'm going back to Home Depot and getting another. For under $30 I really can't find a better alternative.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use with the DuctstatPlug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch DS100. Gets more heat into a room far from the furnace.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Mid-coast Maine

As advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as it's supposed to. Unfortunately it was blowing the wrong way based upon the crimped end. Had to drill out the fan support bracket rivets and re-rivet 180 degrees out, but it solved the problem. Would have been 5 stars but it was a bit difficult to switch the direction of the air flow. The fan itself is quite quiet, but once attached to the duct the noise was amplified. It was installed about 2' from the floor vent which probably contributed to the increased noise. Perhaps if it was further down the line it would be less noticeable. Anyway, definitely worth the price and install was a cinch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Hermann MO

Inline Junk Fan

PostedFebruary 17, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I work in the construction field and we do everything from Framing to Elec and Plumbing. OK , I bought this because I have a small wood stove that the fan went out on so I needed something to push the air through. I put this BEFORE the wood stove so the heat wouldn't affect it. I figured it would move more air than it did. I can't imagine this being useful in a long duct run. The fan has a very irritaing whistle to it when running though may not be as noticeable in a longer run. I could hear it anywhere in my house though. Within 2 weeks of use, it died. Nothing, wiggle wires nothing. Power source still good. Returned it and got the 8 in fan made by the same manufacturer and the it met the same fate.
Honestly, I wonder how many people have these installed in their duct work and aren't working. This is a terrible product and I won't buy anything made by that company again. Would not recommend it.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pfafftown, North Carolina

Give Your Heating Vents A Boost

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This little in line fan is just the right thing to install to give the warm air flow of your heating system a little boost. Blowers on most heating units are sufficient to deliver warm air throughout the house, but rooms at the opposite end of a house from the heating unit may be deprived of sufficient warmth. By positioning this fan in the right spot along your hard or flexable round duct line, you can boost the air flow to any room or rooms and help the overall heating of your home quite a bit. If you have a wood stove with a hood and duct system built in, it will help tremendously provided you install it in a good place along your duct line. Installation is pretty easy, and as long as you can wire up a light switch, gthe electrical end of the installation should be a breeze as well.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Lasted one season!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lasted one season! Loud wobble then stopped. Does not hold up to low usage.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>