728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

The Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Booster Fan is an energy efficient way to help improve comfort in your home or office. This fan is designed to fit 6 in. flexible and rigid ducts. The fan has 1 end with a crimp and bead design for an easy installation. The fan is made out of corrosion-resistant metal. It features a tip-throw balanced, lexan blade. The fan's motor has a large oil reservoir helping ensure a long lasting and quiet performance.
Overall rating:
3.451 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product33 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.5 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(18)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product33 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Review 1 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pacific Northwest
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Perfectly

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son was having a problem in his rented condo with the air conditioning not reaching his upstairs bedroom. Not being able to actually use the fan "in line" he rigged up a backward vent (shown without the cover) to pull the air to the second story. Worked absolutely beautifully, and it's portable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

not really happy

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Noisey even when placed in the line where the instuctions say put it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Sterling Heights, Michigan

HVAC 6" Fan

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have lived in my house 5 yrs. My bedroom which is the last run from the furnace gets really cold with the door closed (during winter). I was walking through home depot and saw this item on the shelf and decided to give it a try. It is a night and day difference. This unit really helped and price meets the need. However, this unit does add noise when it is running. It is recommending to have this fan 6 to 10 ft from vent. I moved the fan about 20 ft from vent to cut down on noise which also made a big difference. Last tip is how to wire this fan into your furnace. I wired it directly to the furnace fan so it runs when ever the fan turns on. My furnace is 110V power and has EAC (electronic air cleaner) circuit. I don't have eac (instead just filter unit) so the fan can just be hooked to power and ground on these connections and the circuit get completed once the furnace fan kicks on turning on the HVAC fan.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Southwest Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

two down, not doing 3 is the charm

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
venting a warm electronics room. The first one did exactly as planned and worked great until it didn't. It lasted 4 days running approx. 6 hours a day. Returned and got # 2. Installed it and turned on. Motor locked up. Wouldn't start. I am not going to try # 3. Install and uninstall are a pain, wires are too short for my circumstance.
value good unless you have to replace multiple times, so it's poor
quality poor because they obviously aren't good
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pennsylvania
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought to vent heat out of a server room. Installed so that it could be controlled with a rheostat on an adjacent wall. It worked well and without any issues.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Works Great! Wires Short

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This was easy to install and now my 2nd floor master, furthest from the furnance, now has about 3x the air flow. I installed a 6" on the supply and a 8" on the return to that room. The wires are really short, Hot/Neutral 6", GRD 4", so I had to solder some extra on them to read a jct box. Then wired it into the blower fan on the furnace. Super quiet too. -1 star due to short wires.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan quietly moves more air to distant rooms

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product is as expected. Fairly easy to install by merely cutting a section from heat duct, sliding fan assembly into the space and installing with sheet metal screws. The joint is then wrapped with duct tape and insulation. Necessary to install an electrical handy box on the unit to accommodate the electrical connections to complete the project.
I expect to purchase another.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, performs as expected
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Lucky that I had a small section (about 2 ft.) of duct at the end of a long run. I put the fan at the end of the long run and then put the small section on the other end of the fan. So the fan ended up being about 2 ft from the register. Consequently I get quite a bit of air rush noise. Sounds like a low quality bathroom exhaust fan. It does work good - room was 63 F now is about 68 F.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to replace these within about 2 years

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these as replacements for the two that I purchased about 2 years ago. The old ones had both failed. I replaced with the same units because I needed to restore the boost in the ducts and there were not other alternatives available. I hope these two last longer than their predecessors.
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy, short usable life
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but not very strong

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I have installed a half dozen of these booster fans in my ductwork and of the four I installed last year, one failed (motor burnout)--but the other ones work fine. The fans are not terribly strong--but they are reasonably quiet. Good choice if you need a "little boost" to airflow to a remote HVAC register.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Cheap and easy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product, easy install works great with a variable speed switch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Poor

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought the first one I bought was broken. It moved that little of air. The second was the same, this thing might move 50CFM.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Chicago, Illinois
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very well constructed product. Easy to install.

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The in-duct fan was easy to install. It is well made and operates very efficiently. It is very quiet and looks easy to maintain. For the price it's a real buy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Not worth it

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Really doesn't push any air and was a big waste of money
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Denver, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

loud and wimpy - don't buy

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your money or your time with this fan. It has a constant high-pitch whine that is very annoying. Any fan that moves air will have a lower pitch "rush of air" sound which is fine, but the high-pitch whine is coming from the motor of this unit. This is a cheaply made fan, and doesn't move near as much air as a similar but different brand fan that I removed after 12 years of service. I can take the fan back and get my money back, but i am frustrated at the time I've wasted on this piece of junk.
Cons: Not Durable, loud
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Pa

does what its supposed to

PostedApril 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this fan to use as an exhaust fan for my bar / home entertainment area in the basement. With no windows, you can imagine the cigarette smoke, and other odors linger for a very long time. Installed this fan with a wall register near the cieling, and the fan 8 feet in on the line (manufacturer recommends 6 to 10 feet) works like a champ, and almost impossible to hear running, even when the room is dead silent. MUCH quieter than any bath vent fan available, and even quieter than my air purifier (and gets the job done faster)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Appears that it is going to work well

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this fan to install in a 12" x 10" rectangular vent between my basement, where my pellet stove is, and my living room upstairs. I decided to make my own bracket to mount the fan onto. This was easy to do, using a piece of metal and some wood for support. I wired the fan to a wall switch to turn on and off when I have the stove on. Once installed and tested I was surprised on the amount of air movement that it pushed upstairs. The floor vent in the living room is right next to the sofas and as I sat and listened, this fan was quiet enough not to intefere with the television or normal volume conversation. Now I am waiting for the first cold day to turn on the stove and the fan and see how much warm air will be moving into the living room. For $30 it may be the best investment other than the pellet stove itself.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Coal Creek Canyon Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Would've bought a better fan if the store carried it. The only option was to buy it online, and due to pending below freezing weather, I didn't have the time to wait. Why are so many premium items available online but not at the stores?
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Ann Arbor, MI

A bit noisy, stopped working after two years.

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This item has a one year warranty. That tells you the manufacturer does not expect it to last long. It's really a simple electric motor secured in a piece of duct. My motor failed after two winters. I am using it with the duct stat device and it works pretty good. I'd rather have it tied in the the furnace fan blower but it would cost too much to pay a HVAC pro to wire so I went with the duct stat.
It all works fine but there is some elevated noise levels when the fan is running. Since the fan is inexpensive enough, I'm going back to Home Depot and getting another. For under $30 I really can't find a better alternative.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use with the DuctstatPlug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch DS100. Gets more heat into a room far from the furnace.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>