728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan

The Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Booster Fan is an energy efficient way to help improve comfort in your home or office. This fan is designed to fit 6 in. flexible and rigid ducts. The fan has 1 end with a crimp and bead design for an easy installation. The fan is made out of corrosion-resistant metal. It features a tip-throw balanced, lexan blade. The fan's motor has a large oil reservoir helping ensure a long lasting and quiet performance.
Overall rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product25 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(16)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product25 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Review 1 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Jerry
from Hillsboro, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly what I needed at a great price

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed a fan and motor for a small exhaust fan and although this is a heat duct fan it was a exact replacement for my exhaust fan, including mounting bracket. The associate first told me they have no replacement for my exhaust fan. Then I mentioned it fits in a 6 inch exhaust duct and he immediately went to the heating dept and picked up this duct fan for me. excellent service!
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Danse
from Sterling Heights, Michigan

HVAC 6" Fan

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have lived in my house 5 yrs. My bedroom which is the last run from the furnace gets really cold with the door closed (during winter). I was walking through home depot and saw this item on the shelf and decided to give it a try. It is a night and day difference. This unit really helped and price meets the need. However, this unit does add noise when it is running. It is recommending to have this fan 6 to 10 ft from vent. I moved the fan about 20 ft from vent to cut down on noise which also made a big difference. Last tip is how to wire this fan into your furnace. I wired it directly to the furnace fan so it runs when ever the fan turns on. My furnace is 110V power and has EAC (electronic air cleaner) circuit. I don't have eac (instead just filter unit) so the fan can just be hooked to power and ground on these connections and the circuit get completed once the furnace fan kicks on turning on the HVAC fan.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
skibee
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan quietly moves more air to distant rooms

PostedDecember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product is as expected. Fairly easy to install by merely cutting a section from heat duct, sliding fan assembly into the space and installing with sheet metal screws. The joint is then wrapped with duct tape and insulation. Necessary to install an electrical handy box on the unit to accommodate the electrical connections to complete the project.
I expect to purchase another.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, performs as expected
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Xyster101

Works Great! Wires Short

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was easy to install and now my 2nd floor master, furthest from the furnance, now has about 3x the air flow. I installed a 6" on the supply and a 8" on the return to that room. The wires are really short, Hot/Neutral 6", GRD 4", so I had to solder some extra on them to read a jct box. Then wired it into the blower fan on the furnace. Super quiet too. -1 star due to short wires.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
HDcustomer

Lasted one season!

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Lasted one season! Loud wobble then stopped. Does not hold up to low usage.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
TimP
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to replace these within about 2 years

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two of these as replacements for the two that I purchased about 2 years ago. The old ones had both failed. I replaced with the same units because I needed to restore the boost in the ducts and there were not other alternatives available. I hope these two last longer than their predecessors.
Pros: Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy, short usable life
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
GoCats

Good for the price

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Lucky that I had a small section (about 2 ft.) of duct at the end of a long run. I put the fan at the end of the long run and then put the small section on the other end of the fan. So the fan ended up being about 2 ft from the register. Consequently I get quite a bit of air rush noise. Sounds like a low quality bathroom exhaust fan. It does work good - room was 63 F now is about 68 F.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
GPMARINE2
from MONTANA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

pretty good

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
really quiet fan, wiring instructions were a bit odd. probably from the translation from English to Chinese and back...
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
hhrr

Poor

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought the first one I bought was broken. It moved that little of air. The second was the same, this thing might move 50CFM.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Dissatisfied123
from Bellaire, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Noisy

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a piece of junk. Don't waste your time buying it and then returning it like I did.
Cons: Noisy
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
WARMandCOZYinNJ

Appears that it is going to work well

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this fan to install in a 12" x 10" rectangular vent between my basement, where my pellet stove is, and my living room upstairs. I decided to make my own bracket to mount the fan onto. This was easy to do, using a piece of metal and some wood for support. I wired the fan to a wall switch to turn on and off when I have the stove on. Once installed and tested I was surprised on the amount of air movement that it pushed upstairs. The floor vent in the living room is right next to the sofas and as I sat and listened, this fan was quiet enough not to intefere with the television or normal volume conversation. Now I am waiting for the first cold day to turn on the stove and the fan and see how much warm air will be moving into the living room. For $30 it may be the best investment other than the pellet stove itself.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
RonR
from Pa

does what its supposed to

PostedApril 12, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this fan to use as an exhaust fan for my bar / home entertainment area in the basement. With no windows, you can imagine the cigarette smoke, and other odors linger for a very long time. Installed this fan with a wall register near the cieling, and the fan 8 feet in on the line (manufacturer recommends 6 to 10 feet) works like a champ, and almost impossible to hear running, even when the room is dead silent. MUCH quieter than any bath vent fan available, and even quieter than my air purifier (and gets the job done faster)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Jwbink1500
from Hermann MO

Inline Junk Fan

PostedFebruary 17, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First off, I work in the construction field and we do everything from Framing to Elec and Plumbing. OK , I bought this because I have a small wood stove that the fan went out on so I needed something to push the air through. I put this BEFORE the wood stove so the heat wouldn't affect it. I figured it would move more air than it did. I can't imagine this being useful in a long duct run. The fan has a very irritaing whistle to it when running though may not be as noticeable in a longer run. I could hear it anywhere in my house though. Within 2 weeks of use, it died. Nothing, wiggle wires nothing. Power source still good. Returned it and got the 8 in fan made by the same manufacturer and the it met the same fate.
Honestly, I wonder how many people have these installed in their duct work and aren't working. This is a terrible product and I won't buy anything made by that company again. Would not recommend it.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Dano
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Quiet

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use with the DuctstatPlug-In Thermostat Temperature Sensitive Switch DS100. Gets more heat into a room far from the furnace.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
cpannarbor
from Ann Arbor, MI

A bit noisy, stopped working after two years.

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This item has a one year warranty. That tells you the manufacturer does not expect it to last long. It's really a simple electric motor secured in a piece of duct. My motor failed after two winters. I am using it with the duct stat device and it works pretty good. I'd rather have it tied in the the furnace fan blower but it would cost too much to pay a HVAC pro to wire so I went with the duct stat.
It all works fine but there is some elevated noise levels when the fan is running. Since the fan is inexpensive enough, I'm going back to Home Depot and getting another. For under $30 I really can't find a better alternative.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
Bruisa
from Mid-coast Maine

As advertised

PostedJanuary 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works as it's supposed to. Unfortunately it was blowing the wrong way based upon the crimped end. Had to drill out the fan support bracket rivets and re-rivet 180 degrees out, but it solved the problem. Would have been 5 stars but it was a bit difficult to switch the direction of the air flow. The fan itself is quite quiet, but once attached to the duct the noise was amplified. It was installed about 2' from the floor vent which probably contributed to the increased noise. Perhaps if it was further down the line it would be less noticeable. Anyway, definitely worth the price and install was a cinch.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
dondi
from Franklin, NJ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very quiet works well

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
only i was disapointed that it runs constantly, i thought it had a thermal switch that turned it on when it felt heat? i installed it in my dryer vent so now i have to plug it and unplug it every time i use the dryer
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no thermal switch
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
darkrider
from Pfafftown, North Carolina

Give Your Heating Vents A Boost

PostedNovember 19, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This little in line fan is just the right thing to install to give the warm air flow of your heating system a little boost. Blowers on most heating units are sufficient to deliver warm air throughout the house, but rooms at the opposite end of a house from the heating unit may be deprived of sufficient warmth. By positioning this fan in the right spot along your hard or flexable round duct line, you can boost the air flow to any room or rooms and help the overall heating of your home quite a bit. If you have a wood stove with a hood and duct system built in, it will help tremendously provided you install it in a good place along your duct line. Installation is pretty easy, and as long as you can wire up a light switch, gthe electrical end of the installation should be a breeze as well.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
MARMATT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It could be better

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
it's not as good as I hope for, but does work, could be better
Cons: Not Durable
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Inductor 6 in. In-Line Duct Fan
mikey60452
from Oak Forest, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product was (almost) just right for my project

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I needed the fans to repair a solar heat collector which helps to warm the house. They were not exactly a replacement, but my son was able to modify them to make them work. I am pleased with the result.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>