728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sanders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander

4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander

This Ryobi 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander is a combination belt and disc sander that delivers 120-volts of power to help provide efficient operation. The cast-iron base helps keep the sander stable during use so you can apply the desired amount of pressure and achieve consistent results. The sanding bed can be positioned horizontally or vertically for your convenience, and the lockout power switch helps provide safety.
Overall rating:
3.873 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product43 of 60reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product43 of 60reviews
Customer reviews for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
Review 1 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Crawfordsville, IN.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super handy Tool for the shop

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got tired of hand sanding everything, so I chose this bench sander. It is well built and works great. the Miter fence is sort of cheap, but I rarely use it anyway. It set up easily and makes quick work of what I ask of it. Must be used with a shop vac, or other dust collection system or you will choke out the shop. It is a great tool for the price and will get used often.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great Value

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After looking at many options for one of these I found that this is easily the best value for this price range. It has a nice heavy cast housing, not plastic or sheet metal like others I saw. And it has a full 1/2 HP motor. Many others have only 1/3 HP. Tried it right out of the box (after some minor assembly) and it works better than I expected.
On the negative side there's really not a lot. One thing is that there doesn't seem to be a way to tension the sanding belt. I saw a review where a guy said that he could stop the belt while sanding some wood, though the motor kept going. I tried a piece of steel and it didn't slip at all, but it was only on the edge - not a flat surface. Also, it would be nice if the sanding discs could be changed more easily. The only method is to use a heat gun and peel it so switch grits is not really an option. However, this is common to many disc/belt sanders so I don't count it against this model.
Overall, it appears to be just what I was looking for. Though I have not had a chance to give it a good workout yet, I am pleased so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for money

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good value for the money, you are not getting an industrial grade product but for the basic home owner or hobbyist it does the job.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sturdy and forgiving

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Use this sander in a school workshop to sand wood and aluminum. Has lasted under very hard use for at least three years until the timing belt failed (2/3 of the teeth were stripped) and even then we could use the sander by pushing the belt along to engage the remaining teeth. The motor is very powerful, almost no speed reduction during use.
The switch can go bad with repetitive use and dirt buildup. It's a simple replacement, though. If you hear a whining sound when running the belt sander, it's most likely a timing belt failure.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Baxter Springs, Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Well pleased with my sander.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this sander in my knife making business to flat sand my blade blanks as well as some handle shaping and it works great. The overall quality of the machine is impressive, it has a nice cast iron base and has a nice fit and finish. The cord is of adequate length and belt changes are easy enough but you do have to slightly raise the 36" belt assembly off of the rest to allow the belt to slide off. I just leave it slightly loose in order not to have to use the allen wrench every time I change belts, not a big deal at all. My machine runs very smoothly and was easy to set up out of the box. The only assembly required are the dust guards and the table for the disc sander which was very easy, I only needed a phillips screwdriver to attach the dust guards. In order to tilt the 36" belt to the vertical position you must use an allen wrench which is included with the machine. I only have a couple hours on the machine at this time but am very happy thus far. There are many versions of this machine being imported and the only difference that I can see is the color and the price. The only thing that I can see doing is mounting the machine to reduce movement, although the machine weighs 40 pounds or so, it does tend to slide a bit if used on a smooth surface because it does not have rubber feet. My only complaint is the quality of the disc table, it could stand to be made of a little heavier material but it does work well if you pay close attention to making sure it is set to the desired angle and don't apply too much downward force to it while in use as it tends to flex. For the price this is a great little machine.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, nice fit and finish
Cons: needs a more sturdy disc table
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value for Moderate Use

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I debated for quite a while before purchasing this sander because of the reviews complaining of drive belt problems, power cord issues, and difficulties in sanding belt alignment. I have had the sander for six months and had none of these problems. I even bought spare drive belts just in case, but I have had no problems with the drive belt. I was concerned with the sanding belt alignment problems mentioned but I found the adjustment quick and reliable. I can switch from one sanding grit to another quickly and the belt stays aligned. The vacuum port works as well as can be expected, gathering most, but not all the sawdust. This has been a good investment for me and I'm satisfied with my purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: dust collection not the best
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander

Excellent addition to my shop

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this bench sander a couple of years ago. Other than my miter saw, this is the most used item in my shop. I have had no problems. I have found that the motor can get bogged down with some pressure on the wood, but I probably shouldn't push down that hard anyway.
If you want to get something for your woodworking Dad or Spouse, I would highly recommend this.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from charlotte, nc

great sander

PostedMay 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Setup is quick and easy. feels solid, all the important parts are metal- which is more than I can saw for most ryobi tools. easy to quickly change and adjust belts without tools.
the main belt also rotates up to 90 degrees vertical which is a nice feauture.
I've had mine for about a year with no complaints. don't let the ryobi name scare you away, this delivers as promised.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Palm Springs, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Update of Feb. 2012 Review - The Darn thing won't die!

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
(this is an update of my February, 2012 Review of the Ryobi Belt/Disc Sander).
Well, my opinion of this sander has changed - for the positive. I've pushed quite a lot of hardwood against this sander over Spring and Summer (at least 50 discs, and maybe 7 belts), and it just will not die; I think the little bugger's growin' on me some.
In my initial review, I noted the miter table didn't square up to the disc face. I've since had some time to look at the issue, and found a good solution: Seems that the miter table's hex socket bolt (acting as a 'set screw') is what's pushing the table off-angle. I saw there is a hole below the table's angle gauge (protractor?) that's threaded through, and by putting a bolt in there nicely counteracts the "push" of the other bolt - it's all squared away now!
An initial gripe I'd had was the gap between the table and disc face if the table's tilted more than a few degrees. I realize now that gap is not a fault of the sander; it was my expectation in trying to sand pieces that are waaay too small -- they really should be worked on a (much) smaller unit....live and learn...
Overall, I think this Ryobi sander's got a nice heavy base, it's stable, it has taken abuse in the form of wood and metal and hasn't died or complained.
If Ryobi Customer Support weren't so good, I don't think I'd buy this - unless perhaps it came with extra free belts and discs, and/or was on sale :-)
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: miter table could be squared up better
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Melbourne, Florida

Ryobi Belt/disc Sander delivers

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this sander for a project to build a bassinet for my grand daughter. I needed to accurately fit 45 degree and 22.5 degree end cuts on wood strips for layers of laminations for an octagonal structure. Using oak for my material, I needed very high accuracy beyond saw cutting which I intended to get using the disk sander and careful fitting.
Out of the box, both the Belt sander and the Disc sander did require some fine adjustments which were made with an aluminum triangular angle and took five minutes. I have since used both the disk (which was very accurate once adjusted) and the belt sander. For its low cost, the Ryobi has very good rigidity for accuracy and repeatability. It appears well made. it is solid and it works smoothly. The belt sander tracks true and the disc sander is solid and spins without any sign of wobble or run-out.
For home projects, even using hardwoods, the Ryobi Belt/disc sander appears to be an excellent addition to my workbench and I recommend it highly. It has met and exceeded my expectations when I purchased it.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Sander

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sander is a fantastic value. It's heavy so it doesn't slide around. It has a belt and disc and can handle most jobs. I use the end of the belt for curved sanding. I've had mine several years now with no problems. The belt can be positioned either horizontal or vertical so suit your needs. A must for your woodshop.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not impressed

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this sander for a couple of years but only use it rarely.
Just about as soon as I took it out of the box, the strain relief on the cord broke. No big deal; I fashioned one that works well enough.
However, the table in front of the disc never did tighten properly so I could never get a true 90-degree angle, nor could I use the pushbar that comes with the unit.
Today, the notched belt that drives the belt portion of the sander snapped. NOT good. And Home Depot does not carry parts, so I have to order it from Ryobi.
I've also had a Ryobi table saw that gave up the ghost far too soon.
All in all, I'd recommend spending more money for a better brand. I definitely will.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Mulberry Fla.

belt/disk sander

PostedSeptember 25, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had my Ryobi sander for about 2 yrs. now. I build toy boxes, bird houses etc. I have had no problems with my sander, and find it to be the most used Ryobi tool I own. I would be lost without it!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Greensboro, NC

Solid Product

PostedAugust 21, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using this sander for the last 6 months with fantastic results. It really can't be beat for the price point.
The majority of my work requires the use of oak and although this shortens the span of the discs a bit they are easy to change with nothing more than a philips screwdriver and the included hex key.
Recommend grabbing a bottle of GooGone (or similiar) to make disc changing easier.
The unit is solid and performs exactly as it should.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Fort Worth

Good for the crafter.

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this sander for doing small sanding for making wood boxes. It has worked well so far for my use. I removed the cover to look at the belt after the complaints I read on the reviews. I dont know what they expected to see the belt looked fine to me for the purpose. Overall I gave it a 4 raiting for ease of use and affordablitie. Its not a industrial sander but if you looking for something to help crafts I say go for it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Tampa, Florida

Poor Quality

PostedNovember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this sander and after 4 uses the drive belt shredded. I thought that maybe I may have done something wrong during setup so I researched this sander on the internet.
I found posted on several sites that this is a common problem with this model. Dozens of woodworkers have experienced the same thing. It appears the pulley has been installed backwards on this sander while others have said the design is the culprit.
I returned it to the store and bought a Skil model instead. I did not want to run the risk of getting a second one and having the belt shred AFTER the warranty was up.
I highly recommend you consider a different model.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Florida

Frustrating

PostedFebruary 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I discovered that the plastic bushing on the power supply cable was broken on the first unit I purchased when I unpacked it. I immediately exchanged it at a different Home Depot store since the store I purchased it from had no more in stock. When I unpacked the second unit this also had the same broken power supply bushing. I now have to return this one. I won't buy another.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

OK But Not Great

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had trouble with mine since I got it. The disk works but the belt part would stop the motor whenever I tried to use it. Now the sander won't start until I give the sanding belt a shove to get the motor going. I looked inside of it and the drive belt is chewed up. Apparently that happened soon after I got the sander. Maybe too much pressure on the belt, or it was misadjusted when I got it. I lost the receipt so I couldn't return it. Eventually I'll get another belt and try to set the sander up properly and see what happens.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Jefferson, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

To Weak to be of any value

PostedNovember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe I got a lemon, but two lemons make lemonaide and that's what I ended up with. I've killed two motors in one month on this tool. Nothing like the Delta I replaced. The delta lost a bearing, and only after 8 years of use. The Ryobis have died within a week of getting into the shop. Just too weak to do the same job as the Delta. I should have tolerated the squealing.
Capt. Eddie, Jefferson, LA
Cons: Not Durable, very weak
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 in. x 36 in. Belt/Disc Sander
from Mountain View, CA

Seriously poor quality

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought three of these. Each had to be returned because it had a broken part.
The first one I bought got all the way home and when I opened it I found a broken piece taped inside the box. Apparently someone had returned it broken and Home Depot just threw it out on the floor again.
The second one I bought got all the way to the parking lot before I opened it and found that the part holding the cord to the body of the machine was broken. I see that other reviewers have had this exact problem as well. I brought it back inside and exchanged it.
The third one I bought got back to the parking lot where I opened it and found the exact same broken part. I took it back inside (at this point there were no more units in the store I was at) and accepted a 25% discount.
The quality of this machine is clearly pretty terrible, although I can't really speak for the quality of the important moving parts. The one thing I can say is, OPEN THE BOX IN THE PARKING LOT AND INSPECT!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>