728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

This Oatey Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester features a shock-absorbing chamber that reduces the shock from water line vibrations. The water hammer arrester is compatible with CPVC pipes (sold separately). Can be installed on your hot and cold valves (valves sold separately).
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product14 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product14 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
Review 1 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

Didn't work at all

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product did nothing to correct the problem of the hammering sound in the plumbing.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sometimes work, sometimes doesn't

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two of these for the washing machine. They appear to be solidly made, and went on pretty easy . I followed the instructions and connected them directly to the hot and cold water inlets of the washing machine, then connected the hoses to them. Prior to these, the hammering done by the washing machine was very loud and occurred all the time. After installing these, its quieted down pretty much, almost 80% of the time I would say they work, but the washing machine still does hammer the pipes a few times. So I would say its a hit/miss kind of product, a little pricey, of which I wouldn't have minded if they worked 100% of the time, but they don't. I would look for something else if I could, so not recommending them (is my opinion).
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: still makes noise
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation, does the job.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since my local Home Depot carries no arrestors, I ordered two of these online from the Home Depot website. Delivery was quick. They are inexpensive, well-made, and easy to install. My new washing machine replaced a nine-year old one and it has many electronic sensing functions and I think it shuts water off relatively abruptly, causing water pressure spikes. The Oatey Quiet Pipes completely cured this problem. I believe the issue is the increasing use of quick-responding electronically controlled functions compared to the older mechanical, gear-driven operations in appliances such as washers.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, nicely made
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Long Island
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best $25 I've spent in a while

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My laundry room is in the basement on complete opposite side of house from my bedroom. But the water supply pipes originate from under my bedroom. I'd always regret doing a load of laundry at nite because the pipes would bang loud every time the water cycled. I finally did some detective work and figured out how to fix it - with two of these arrestors. 5 minute installation and presto, fixed like magic. Still can't believe running water can be that loud but these little guys work exactly as they should. I installed directly to my washer, but you can install at the supply line as well.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from North Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Common fix for a common problem

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This accumilator type design has been around for years and it is nice to see a company produce an off-the-shelf product. However, most hammering is system dependant based on water run lengths. I have seen homes that required multiple instances of the accumiilators in various places. If the problem persists try adding one or two more throughout the system if possible. A plumber would do the same.
Pros: Reliable, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Long Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Proper Installation

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great but it must be installed properly. It did not work at all when installed on supply valve before washer hose. In my case installing directly onto the machine ( after the hose) made the difference. No hammer at all!!!
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't really do what I'd hoped

PostedMay 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product helped a little but didn't eliminate the pipe hammer completely. I tried attaching directly to the appliance and to the valve but we still have the loud bang. I think it's slightly better than before but it didn't seem to help much.
Pros: Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

It works

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Stops the water hammer for sure. Can still hear water turn on and off, but this is minor in comparison.
Pros: Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from new hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just ok

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It has not eliminated the banging pipes, but it is not as loud as it used to be.
Pros: Good Instructions
Cons: noise not eliminated
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product stops banging water pipes

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Since the installation of my LG washer my water pipes bang every time the washer is filling. It was loud and damaging my pipes. I googled a solution and water hammer arresters were
recommended. Easy to fit, 10 minute job, works perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, does what it says it does
Cons: no cons
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Akron, OH, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water hammering

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have high efficiency lg washer and dryer made pipes bang like donkey kong was in the house. Hooked these up directions said 10min to install more like 1min works great totally stopped the banging now we can finally run the washer at night without being kept up.Lg washers should come with these because i guess its a common problem.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Rhinelander, WI 54501, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product worked great !

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought a new LG washing machine from Home Depot, hooked it up and the plumbing started to hammer when we used the washer. Installation was a breeze. It's super quiet now. No hammer or noise of any kind. We can even hear the TV !!
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

Easy to install - but didn't work - at all.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Just didn't work on my washing machine. Pipes are still hammering. Oh well - Time to call the plumber!
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: doesn't work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

Did not work

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was easy to install however it did not stop the water hammer. For sure the new washing machine is causing the pipe shifts but the product did very little to stop the pipes banging so cannot recommend it only because for our application it did not fix the problem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
Cons: may not work
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

They work

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After 2 years of annoying water hammer, 2 minutes of installation and we now have a quiet washer. I only regret not finding these sooner.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from San Jose, Callifornia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great!

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a new LG washer from Home Depot and it was causing loud banging in my pipes. This device is easy to install and the surge tube can be in any orientation in any direction. It completely eliminated the LOUD water hammer. Be sure to buy two, one for the cold water and the other for the hot water. The best location to install is right to the washer but installing to wall connectors works too.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
from Canton,Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great.

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got two of them and one leaked so I took it back and got another good one. I installed them on the back of the washer and moved the hose connection to the bottom of these units and now it is quiet and no knocking of the pipes. Works great .
Pros: Easy to Install, good price.
Cons: just hope you get 2 good ones the first time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Washing machine hammer arrestor

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to install, but although it lessened the noticeable hammer in my system (I have an LG HE washer) the hammering is less pronounced now and doesn't rattle the walls like before.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

Would not recommend if pipes vibrate a lot.

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I installed 2 of these on my washer and it maybe caused the pipes to not vibrate quite as much but still very noticeable. I would not recommend these if pipes vibrate a lot. Might work for small vibrations.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: did not work
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Quiet Pipes Washing Machine Water Hammer Arrester

Didn't work for me

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Installed it, which was easy enough, but it didn't really work at all. Need another solution. :(
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>