728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome

The Gyro 5 light cable kit, with its versatile 12 volt 20 watt head, allows for the minimal effect of cable lighting to solve many lighting dilemmas. Its pivoting and rotating fixture packs the punch of halogen lamps and gives the user the ability to aim light where it is needed most. Stretching up to 25 ft. wall to wall, this kit contains all necessary components to complete the installation and give new life to your project. Also available in a 3 light version.
Overall rating:
3.722 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(6)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product12 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
Review 1 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from The Pennisula

gyros flicker on and off

PostedMay 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this ourselves. Product appeared as it may have been a return since one of the transformer wires had been twisted--Transformer is very heavy and requires supporting with something while attaching wires to the junction box.
I love lights but it was difficult to get them to operate and I was told by my local light shop to "not puncture" the insulated wire; just to turn the screws enough to make contact and not slip. Well that didn't work.
Now that they are making contact with the wire they go on and off. I believe the problem is in the halogen connectors because I fiddle with them and then they come but later go off.
One can only load 100 watts with this transformer so I removed one gyro light and installed a beautiful hanging 12v light over my son's desk and "that light works consistantly." Also one of the connectors on the gyro was broken.
would I order product again? Yes just for the package and transformer because that alone is worth two hundred at a light shop.
Instructions are aweful and there is no customer support contact. I even showed the Depot guy the instructions and he thougt they were terrible.
My Electrical Engineer husband didn't like the setup and said never to by a product like this again but compared to what I've seen at light stores it's "one fourth" the costs of other track systems and transformers so I will buy another just for the transformer and light.
Don't let the transformer fall on your head or it'll crack your skull.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Portland

Gyro Light Kit

PostedMarch 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this cable light system because installing traditional track lighting in my rented unit would be difficult and permanent.
This simple system of lamp wire/cable and low voltage lights works well with a modern minimalist look. The rather large transformer is housed in a chrome case. Plan and measure at least twice before cutting cables. The enclosed instructions were minimal and was annoyed that spare parts, particularly screws, were not included after almost dropping them several times.
Installation time took me about three hours. It can be significantly less if you have a small room and are driving the cable hooks into wood versus drywall. Max span is rated at 24' but allow no more than 22-23' since you need spare cable to work with.
Biggest downer: the light head do Not Spin like a gyro, only pivot left to right so direct focusing on art work is nearly impossible unless you have a tracklight directly in range of the piece you want to highlight. Essentially these are an inexpensive knockoff of a true track/gimbal track head. The work great for general illumination but not good for a gallery type installation where you need more 180 degree flexibility.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Denver, CO

Nice little kit

PostedOctober 10, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is pretty good value for the money, considering that most similar cable-based track light sets go for much more. Upon inspection, the light heads themselves appear to be of inexpensive construction, although adequate for the purpose. But in a completed installation, they look more expensive than they are. The only downside I've found is that the only thing retaining the bulb in the socket is the friction between the bulb pins and the socket itself, which isn't very secure. So far this hasn't been a problem in actual use, although I did knock a bulb out while performing the installation. Just something to be aware of. This really is the only drawback that prevents me from giving the product 5 stars.
In case you were thinking of using a dimmer with this set, the included instructions indicate that a magnetic/low voltage dimmer is required. It is also mentioned that a "dimmer coil" or "debuzzing coil" may be required to eliminate transformer hum when a dimmer is used. I used a Lutron magnetic/low voltage dimmer (also sold at Home Depot) and have not experienced any humming, so in my experience a dimmer coil is not required.
Again, it's a great set, especially considering the price. I'll probably pick up another set for a different installation.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome

The light looks great installed but...

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We really needed updated lighting in our kitchen and this light was exactly what we needed. It looks great and is a great price for this type of light. Unfortunately, here we are a few weeks after installation and 2 of the 5 lights no longer work. I believe one needs a new bulb and the other had a connection piece that apparently was loose and is no longer intact. We are now searching for replacement bulbs and a replacement piece for the defective light and have been unsuccessful so far in replacing them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Minneapolis, MN

Hate Fluorescent Light!

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an electrician friend install two of the light units in my office and I was able to place the lights along the cable track very easily. The entire project took aprox. 2 1/2 hours to complete for two units. I wanted to get rid of my current hideous fluorescent lights- what a difference. I love my new office. I am able to have enough directional light over my work desk and have the ability to spotlight some art work. However, I do wish the lights had more swivel placement options. Overall I'm very happy with the product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from New Mexico

5 Gyro Cable Light Kit in Chrome

PostedOctober 3, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT light kit for an enclosed patio with limited options for overhead lighting! Only 1 ceiling outlet is needed and it covers up to 24 feet. Can be expanded or shortened as needed. You can move the lights in different directions and anywhere along the 20 (our length) feet we want it. It doesn't provide a lot of light but is very nice for ambience. We have wall outlets for reading, etc. We love the fact that the cables are rather unobtrusive and hang rather than have to be attached to the beautiful wood ceiling of the patio. No unsightly flat cables attached to the ceiling. You really don't notice the cables of this light kit! It just looks modern. PERFECT! The price was right! AND Once it was wired by the electrician, I could finish the installation myself...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Denver, CO

couple glitches, but good

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the look of this light set is awesome. not sure how it was installing it as i hired out to have the job done. the only draw back i have is that the lights swivel back and forth only, and not side to side which it looks as if it would.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome

Missing and inferior parts.

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Several integral parts were missing to assemble the fixture, (ceiling hooks) One of the supplied turnbuckles was not properly machined and would not hold the screw. Some of cable fasteners screw-heads are not deep enough for a screw driver to bite. You may need to spice a small section of wire to allow the screw heads to make contact. Be prepared to make a trip to the hardware store to buy replacement parts.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from colorado

cool light, great price

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hung this in my kitchen, looks great. I've hung similar lights customers have bought from lighting supply places and they spent close to a grand. This is a great deal. Not a beginners light to hang.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from New York

Easy lite... no! difficult light!!! to install

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product suffers from a major conception defect. The connection between canopy power to cable is very tricky. Cable diameter is too small for the screws provided that are supposed to make electrical contact. The tip of screw flips on the side of the cable. It is very difficult to hit straight in the middle of the cable to get power...
If you decide to buy one though, have an electrical tester with you...otherwise you will spend the day trying to connect properly!
Also, the product is not full gyro as mentioned!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome

Good product, but needs to be adapted if being installed around a corner

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed these myself over a weekend. Generally well made product although one of the units had poor internal bulb connection causing flickering. My instalation was for one kit around two walls turning a corner, however the kit does not come with any corner cable hangers or hooks, it is made for a straight run. Quite easily adapted though with a couple of industrial strength plated round-eye bolts.
Final effect is sleek unobtrusive downlighting. As others have commented this product does not allow side to side positioning, only angular downlighting, but overall worth the effort.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool Looking, not so easy to get the coolness going

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
These are very slick looking lights. They are tiny (the light itself is about the size of a tangerine), but put out the light well. The mounting is nice looking and the swively option is lovely. Installation, however is another story. This product should be about 1/2 the price based on the headache medicine one must take when done. The mouting parts are not of the best quality. In the end, I do like them, but not sure it is the greatest value. By the time I got them installed, I didn't want to take them down and look for a better value in such a cool looking light set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Mineola

sharp looking

PostedMay 16, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
adds class to any room easy to install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome

Excellent result, great value!

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted to eliminate the harsh overhead fluorescent lighting in our offices so we purchased 4 sets to install. I am very impressed with the overall quality of the lights. We had an electrician install them. Just in the few days they have been installed we have received multiple unsolicited comments about how great they look. My major concern was whether they would put off enough light to be able to work at a desk. I was pleasantly surprised that with proper positioning of the lights over the workspace they were more than adequate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lighting at a good price

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is our second Easy Light product and the installation went pretty well. The instructions were not detailed enough but it was fairly easy to figure out how to hang and tighten the wires. Be sure to fully tighten all the connections before turning on the power. The attachment to the bulbs could have been sturdier. I accidentally bumped the wire and a bulb dropped and broke.
The lights look great when installed. We put ours in a long closet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Silver Spring, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall great looking product

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was very difficult to install only because we decided to install it in a square instead of a straight line so there was a lot of math involved to keep the lines parallel. Also, the light bulbs seem to be old, there are already three that have burned... $7 a bulb times 3 is pretty expensive after spending over $100 for the whole system. That said, it looks great, works great and if I had to do it again, I would in a heart beat!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from Flagstaff, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Finicky fixtures with a luxury look

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install, this product looks good and provides warm light to our kitchen and dining area. The light bulbs that are included in the purchase, however, are junk; I had to replace them immediately. Also, because there are multiple contact points, or points of transmittance in the fixture, if the little gyro fixtures are skewed at too steep of a lateral angle, light production can flicker as much as a seedy motel's neon sign.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gyro Cable 5 Light Kit In Chrome
from NJ

Unique track light!

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a 25ft living room, and wanted one fixture to cover it all. This looks great; the cables reached the space and the five lights do a great job. I had to have someone install it; much more complicated than it looks on the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.