728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Root Kill

2 lb. Root Kill

ZEP 2 lb. Root Kill is an effective solution for ridding your sewer pipes, drain and septic field lines of shrub and tree roots. Plant roots can penetrate through small cracks and poorly sealed joints of sewer lines. If not controlled, these small roots will continue to grow larger causing breakage, reduced flow, and eventually flow stoppage. Root Kill's powerful granular formula dissolves these pipe-clogging elements on contact without harming the target tree or bush.
Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product20 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(18)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product20 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Root Kill
Review 1 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

A blessing in disguise

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a 30 yr old pine tree on my porch that's been causing problems with my sewage. I noticed my toilet and bath tub drains would constantly back up. Sometimes my toilet bowl would overflow whenever I took a shower. I didnt want to call any plumbers cuz i knew I would paying alot out of my pocket. So i did some research on products that would help get rid of those nasty roots. I decided to give this a try 3 months ago. Low and behold this stuff works. It took awhile, but noticed the results and my drains are finally flowing free with no backups. I will definitely be using this product at least once a year to keep those roots from coming back...
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from CROWN POINT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good buy

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I put in pipe opening and let it do its job. had no problem , drain started working fine .
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Inkster, MI
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zep Root Kill

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My home does not have one tree on the property but the homes on both sides have huge, beautiful trees that are about 100 years old. Because I am forever hiring plumbers to relieve my sewer lines (3-4 times per year) from the roots, my handyman suggested I try Zep's Root Kill. Root Kill is a miracle worker it clears the lines without killing the trees. I'm going to use it right through the spring growing season. The drains are already running much better. I plan on stock-piling this stuff. Sure beats the price of the plumbers. I would recommend this to anyone that suspects that they may have a tree root problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+42points
47out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Atascadero, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

A must if you have an older sewer line with roots getting in at the joints

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My home was built in the 60's and the 150' main sewer line has seen better days. I had the line cleaned out when we moved in and I thought I would be good for a while. After about 4 years it backed up again and I spent another small fortune having a plumber come out and cut out the obstructions. Now I use this twice a year and I don't have to worry about my sewer backing up into the house. I know I have to fix the main line but now I can save for the cost and plan when I want to do it.
Pros: Reliable, Good Instructions, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Annual treatment

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I leave in a very wooded area where many neighbors require their drain tile and/or sewer pipes to be roted every few years. I"ve been using ZEP root killer for about 4-5 yrs. I utilize it 1/yr in the early spring...just dump some into my drain tile and also some into the basement toilet as per the directions. Haven't had any issue with my drian tile nor had to make any calls to a plumber.
+27points
29out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Erie Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is awesome

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having 2 plumbers at my house at the same time, we found that our problem was not even one that they could fix. I received a bill from them for almost $ 300. combined! (The first plumber didn't have large enough equipment and he recommended we call in a 'nationally known' company) Still neither could fix the problem because of an old sewer piper that angled funny under the ground. We found that our recurrent sewer backup problem was tree roots that invaded the sewer line. I was shocked to learn how damaging tree roots can be to a sewer line, but the roots search out water (moisture) and sewer lines definitely have that...so they will poke right through the pipe. Tree roots can travel underground for quite a distance away from the base of the tree. This product works wonders..and is much cheaper than calling out a plumber or two! ..and talk about easy..you just flush it down the toilet! I would recommend to use this product again after a few years (the roots naturally tend to grow back into the pipe) so that you don't have the problem again. You will know if its happening again if you start to notice the drains clogging up for no aparent reason.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+41points
44out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Skagit County, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Received free product:Yes

Twice a year keeps our system happy

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We've got a known area of root intrusion that is going to be VERY difficult to access and repair. We've been using this twice a year since the rest of the line was cleaned-out 3 years ago and haven't had the roots take over again since. Very pleased.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works if used correctly.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is most effective right after the rooter tool has been used to clear the lines of any roots. Those cut roots are now exposed and this product will have better penetration to finish the job. Apply it through the trap or toilet but don't flush it with too much water. It has to sit in the pipe to work.
As for that other review: A bubbling toilet?
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+47points
49out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Irving, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This'll Work

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In the past, I have had the plumber's out at least once a year to rooter my main drain line for blocks from tree roots. I have started using this product on a regular schedule to help eliminate that annual $135 + bill and save myself a little stress from backed up drains till the plumber can get there. I haven't seen that any plants have been hurt from this yet and I will do another review if that changes, but so far this seems a good product. I don't know how it could be easier to use, I just pour it into the cleanout.
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from austin, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution! This can ruin your pipes.

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a obsolete copper sulfate product. Copper sulfate is highly corrosive to iron and steel pipes AND it doesn't affect roots in the top part of the pipe where roots often enter and thrive.
I am about to buy a treatment but this time I'm going to use Home Depot's foaming dichlobenil treatment, which DOES kill roots at the top of pipes.
Don't take my word for it -- search for "cornell copper sulfate pipes" and you'll see the university research. I qoute: "Copper sulfate is classified as a hazardous substance... highly corrosive to plain steel iron and galvanized pipes."
I am ashamed to say I bought this a few years ago and used it without realizing what it was. Perhaps coincidentally I had to replace a pipe this spring that was corroded.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: can damage your pipes, outdated, toxic
+15points
30out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Root Kill

Recommended by plumber

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a sewer backup due to tree roots getting into the sewer pipe. We have not had any sewer issues since starting to use this product every few months. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, does exactly what it says it does
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kill weed trees

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a weed tree that nothing would kill. Chiseled a hole in the stump and used this. At long last it appears to have died
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Root Kill used for Science Fair Project

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We used the Root Kill to grow a crystal using copper sulfate. After dissolving the product into hot water crystals began to appear after a couple of days. It grew a few cm long after two weeks.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 lb. Root Kill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cheap, Effective, Easy to apply.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought 2 bottles pour them in increments before Easter vacation on a bubbling toilet. Comes back from vacation 2 days after, bubbling are gone.
+17points
40out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Del Mar, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKS FOR HORSE HOOF THRUSH

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Dilute with water or vinegar to kill thrush.Pack central sulcas with cotton. Soak with blue liquid.
-11points
3out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from NY

Works very well, as long as you remember to use it at the right times.

PostedJune 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
I have used ZEPs Root Kill for several years. When we bought our house we didn't know that they got roots in the pipes. My neighbor told me about root kill, and so I used it, but not like I should have, wrong times of year. Now I used it every 3 months, and I try to time it after winter a couple of weeks into spring depending on the temperature so I catch the roots growing. I spend $300 for a drain service to clear my pipe, the first time, and then again a year later because I did not do it at the right time (I lived in an apartment and didn't know about these things). It has been 4 years now, and still no problem. So, for around $50/year, I have piece of mind....and I am saving a ton. It works really well just by flushing it down the toilet, however,r I put half in the trap and then flush the other half.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Root Kill

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
We have been using this product for the last 5 years in our association. Each unit gets one can in January of each year and since we have been using this we have not had a major plumbing/drain problem. We ask all the unit owners to use the product with in one week after we delivery the product to get a good flush. It seems to work.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: no comment
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 lb. Root Kill

Works great.

PostedJuly 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
Works great. Haven't had a problem since. Use it every 2 months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Dallas, Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for preventing pond algae.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
I add about 3 lbs ( one container) to my natural pond (20 ft X 100 ft , 6 ft deep average) once a month and it cures all my algae problems along with a water spout fountain.
Even though this use is NOT listed on the packaging, it is the chemical that is used in a farmer style algaecide found at my local feed store. Also is safe for animals/fish and birds when used at this concentration. If your not sure how much to add, try a little at a time, wait one week and check the progress . If your algae is turning brown or red you have added enough. Be sure to NOT OVER APPLY THIS CAN BE TOXIC.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Brooklyn, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

No Good Product. Garbage

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
This product is absolutely no good. It served no purpose. I should get a full refund of my money.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>