728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 lb. Root Kill

2 lb. Root Kill

Zep 2 lb. Root Kill is an effective solution for ridding your sewer pipes, drain and septic field lines of shrub and tree roots. Plant roots can penetrate through small cracks and poorly sealed joints of sewer lines. If not controlled, these small roots will continue to grow larger causing breakage, reduced flow, and eventually flow stoppage. Root Kill's powerful granular formula dissolves these pipe-clogging elements on contact without harming the target tree or bush.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 2 lb. Root Kill
Review 1 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Inkster, MI
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Zep Root Kill

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home does not have one tree on the property but the homes on both sides have huge, beautiful trees that are about 100 years old. Because I am forever hiring plumbers to relieve my sewer lines (3-4 times per year) from the roots, my handyman suggested I try Zep's Root Kill. Root Kill is a miracle worker it clears the lines without killing the trees. I'm going to use it right through the spring growing season. The drains are already running much better. I plan on stock-piling this stuff. Sure beats the price of the plumbers. I would recommend this to anyone that suspects that they may have a tree root problem.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from austin, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caution! This can ruin your pipes.

PostedJune 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a obsolete copper sulfate product. Copper sulfate is highly corrosive to iron and steel pipes AND it doesn't affect roots in the top part of the pipe where roots often enter and thrive.
I am about to buy a treatment but this time I'm going to use Home Depot's foaming dichlobenil treatment, which DOES kill roots at the top of pipes.
Don't take my word for it -- search for "cornell copper sulfate pipes" and you'll see the university research. I qoute: "Copper sulfate is classified as a hazardous substance... highly corrosive to plain steel iron and galvanized pipes."
I am ashamed to say I bought this a few years ago and used it without realizing what it was. Perhaps coincidentally I had to replace a pipe this spring that was corroded.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions
Cons: can damage your pipes, outdated, toxic
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Irving, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This'll Work

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past, I have had the plumber's out at least once a year to rooter my main drain line for blocks from tree roots. I have started using this product on a regular schedule to help eliminate that annual $135 + bill and save myself a little stress from backed up drains till the plumber can get there. I haven't seen that any plants have been hurt from this yet and I will do another review if that changes, but so far this seems a good product. I don't know how it could be easier to use, I just pour it into the cleanout.
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Annual treatment

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I leave in a very wooded area where many neighbors require their drain tile and/or sewer pipes to be roted every few years. I"ve been using ZEP root killer for about 4-5 yrs. I utilize it 1/yr in the early spring...just dump some into my drain tile and also some into the basement toilet as per the directions. Haven't had any issue with my drian tile nor had to make any calls to a plumber.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Erie Pennsylvania
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is awesome

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having 2 plumbers at my house at the same time, we found that our problem was not even one that they could fix. I received a bill from them for almost $ 300. combined! (The first plumber didn't have large enough equipment and he recommended we call in a 'nationally known' company) Still neither could fix the problem because of an old sewer piper that angled funny under the ground. We found that our recurrent sewer backup problem was tree roots that invaded the sewer line. I was shocked to learn how damaging tree roots can be to a sewer line, but the roots search out water (moisture) and sewer lines definitely have that...so they will poke right through the pipe. Tree roots can travel underground for quite a distance away from the base of the tree. This product works wonders..and is much cheaper than calling out a plumber or two! ..and talk about easy..you just flush it down the toilet! I would recommend to use this product again after a few years (the roots naturally tend to grow back into the pipe) so that you don't have the problem again. You will know if its happening again if you start to notice the drains clogging up for no aparent reason.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+21points
24out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works if used correctly.

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is most effective right after the rooter tool has been used to clear the lines of any roots. Those cut roots are now exposed and this product will have better penetration to finish the job. Apply it through the trap or toilet but don't flush it with too much water. It has to sit in the pipe to work.
As for that other review: A bubbling toilet?
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 lb. Root Kill

Recommended by plumber

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a sewer backup due to tree roots getting into the sewer pipe. We have not had any sewer issues since starting to use this product every few months. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, does exactly what it says it does
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kill weed trees

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a weed tree that nothing would kill. Chiseled a hole in the stump and used this. At long last it appears to have died
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 lb. Root Kill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cheap, Effective, Easy to apply.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought 2 bottles pour them in increments before Easter vacation on a bubbling toilet. Comes back from vacation 2 days after, bubbling are gone.
+16points
38out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Del Mar, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

WORKS FOR HORSE HOOF THRUSH

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dilute with water or vinegar to kill thrush.Pack central sulcas with cotton. Soak with blue liquid.
-9points
2out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Dallas, Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for preventing pond algae.

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
I add about 3 lbs ( one container) to my natural pond (20 ft X 100 ft , 6 ft deep average) once a month and it cures all my algae problems along with a water spout fountain.
Even though this use is NOT listed on the packaging, it is the chemical that is used in a farmer style algaecide found at my local feed store. Also is safe for animals/fish and birds when used at this concentration. If your not sure how much to add, try a little at a time, wait one week and check the progress . If your algae is turning brown or red you have added enough. Be sure to NOT OVER APPLY THIS CAN BE TOXIC.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 lb. Root Kill
from Cincinnati, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Way to Rid Tree Roots

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
The directions were easy to follow and the product really does work! I just knew that I would have to make a follow up call to a root contractor after using the product. But, that wasn't the case. I have not had any problems with the sewer backing up and I will definitely keep the process up as directed every spring and fall.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 lb. Root Kill

It works

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:32 oz. Root Kill (Case of 4)
If you start with clean pipes this product makes sure that no roots will clog up your pipes. I use it a bit more frequently than the product suggests just to make sure that I do not have to call the plumber.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.