728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

7 In. Wet Tile Saw

The Workforce 7 in. Wet Tile Saw is exclusive to The Home Depot. It comes with a 3/4 hp motor with a safety switch which is the most powerful in its class. The cutting table and angle guide are stainless steel. It has the capability it cut any size tile, can also cut 0 - 45 degree miters and It has a one year warranty. Lightweight (28 Lb.) for easy mobility. A great DIY Tile Saw.
Overall rating:
4.356 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product42 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(15)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
93%of customersrecommend this product42 of 45reviews
Customer reviews for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
Review 1 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Miramar Beach, Florida

THD 550 7 In. Tile Saw

PostedJune 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used the saw to shape and cut tiles in 4 different rooms. The total square footage was over 800 sqare feet with some complex circular shapes to work around. The saw cut the tile with ease. Since I had never done this before, I was worried about safety, but again the switch protection, slider device and blade protection this was more than adequate. The unit cleaned up well also. I did had to use WD 40 on the blade to ensure that it was free for the next use. This may not have been necessary, but sure did the trick.
All in all it was a good buy and I'll be ready for the next tile project.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Columbia, MD

Decent for the money

PostedMay 3, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not the greatest tile saw in the world, but it only costs $88 and it does cut tiles. For an average DIY project, it would pay for itself in about 2 rental fees. A good number of features for the money. Although it will cut angles, I found a 6" x 6" tile is about the limit for this function. The greatest annoyance is that if you want to watch the cut - like if you are trying to notch a tile - you will get sprayed with water. Nevertheless, glad I bought it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Raleigh, NC

Timesaver and Economical

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Wet Tile Saw has been a real timesaver and economical, which I like. I am a woman starting out in a predominantly male field. I recently started a home repair business and obtained a ceramic tile job. Product cost, job completion time, and quality are very important issues for a business. I had a 2week deadline to complete installation of ceramic tile on the kitchen floor and backsplash. I had someone lay the tile; however, I was responsible for cutting it. The electric tile saw is more powerful than manual cutting, it is affordable, and easy to use. The wet saw causes less friction on the tile and the blade lasted longer. The precise measurement gage allowed easy sizing and holding the tile while cutting it. The tile saw's size is compact, light, and easy to transport to the job site even for a woman. I have recommended it to others, even the men I know. The job was complete and beautiful within the 2week period.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Lancaster, MA

Perfect for Novice

PostedJanuary 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I borrowed a professional wet saw to tile my kitchen. It worked fine. I bought this saw to tile my breezeway, 10X10, with 16" tiles laid out diagonally. Lots of cuts and angles. It has already paid for itself! You must be patient, it is not fast, but it is accurate and smooth and safe. My second tile project looks like a professional did it and this saw is the major reason for that. I have two bathrooms left to tile in our remodeling project. This saw makes the job practical and economical to do. For the DIYer, it is a very good investment. My wife is now thinking up all kinds of tiling projects....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Tennessee

7" Wet Saw

PostedAugust 3, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT saw for the money. Trust me - it's well worth the price as opposed to paying for two days of a rental. You'll be glad you did.
Making cuts on this little baby are relatively a piece of cake. Proper alignment of the guide is key. As it doesn't have knotches or anything to "lock into" when setting the guide - the front edge and back can be in different spots if not paid attention to setting them correctly. But that's easy.
I just used it on my new kitchen floor with 18" sq tiles and had no problem. I got a little wet from it when making irregular cuts because I had the guard set higher so I could see the blade but that's nothing.
Easy clean-up, lightly hose off and I usually washed out the pan and put fresh water in it and ran the saw again without cutting anything - just to get any excess tile flakes, dust, etc. out of the siphon. Clean-up takes under 4 minutes.
I'm SO glad I chose to get a saw over the snap-tool because this also allowed me to make complex cuts for corners, door facings, etc. where one tile needed to have 8 cuts to fit around the pantry door and trim and against the carpet edge from the next room.
VERY handy and lightweight - I moved outside and back inside for every use. It's adaptable for what you need. It makes smooth cuts, very little "flaking" on my porcelain tiles at the edges (but you typically don't see the cut edges anyway).
The only other draw back is that you only have the 7 inches in which to cut - so you end up turning around some tiles to cut them, or you have to "free-hand" cut the tiles without a guide sometimes. It's a smooth system and the blade lasted easily for my 10.5' x 11.5' kitchen - and I plan to use it again on my wall tile when I get my cabintets installed.
Overall - 4.75 Stars - a slightly wider work-surface would have been ideal for the 18" tile and being able to use the guide over that larger surface. Other than that - NO complaints.
I recommend it to anyone doing a tile project. It makes easy, and you can always go back and cut/shave off more of the tile - which you CANNOT do with a snap cutter. It makes "losing a tile or burning a tile" (wasting it) a very rare thing indeed. I only lost one tile, and it was my fault on a mis-measured corner. But the next one was perfect and I was still able to use the blundered one. Go get one if you haven't already!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from San Antonio

PostedJune 21, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this saw alot. It works very well and is a good value. It is mostly metal. The only plastic on it is the water tray and blade guard. I tiled my stairs, shower stall, and backsplashes and it is still running strong. The water tray is a little hard to empty, and the blade doesn't quite run fast enough to keep from chipping some tiles.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Whitmore Lake

Best bank for buck out there

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing is great, pretty much bomb proof! Cuts great and made my money back on the first room I did. Only advice is don't tighten your rip fence knob too tight (will break it off). This thing is cheap, and more than worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from San Francisco, CA

Great for Ceramic Tile

PostedJune 20, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a terrific value for cutting ceramic tile and smaller jobs. I don't recommend cutting marble or granite tile.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Downingtown,PA

GREAT ALTERNATIVE

PostedAugust 12, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this product instead of renting a tile cutter because we didn't want the time restraints that renting causes. We were very pleasantly surprised how well it worked considering it was less expensive than others. It cut nicely throught the tiles just like the expensive units we rented in the past. It was quiet and didn't make a big mess. We used it right on the kitchen table! We like it so much that we are considering other jobs to do. We would recommend this product to anyone who is considering renting a wet saw. It is the same price without the pressure of getting the job done within the renting timetable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Boston, MA

Better than renting

PostedFebruary 27, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While they say you get what you pay for.... this unit goes well above and beyond. I had rented for my previous two jobs and at the recommendation of a friend I picked up the 550 when it came time to do the bathroom floor. It cut better than the rented models (asp of $500+) and was easier to use. It's very light and easily will fit on any work bench or table. You will get wet, more so if you lift the guard to do precision cuts. Slow your cut to a crawl as you complete the cut an you won't have any flaking... much the same as with other wet saws. It's a no brainer for someone looking to do a couple of tiling jobs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Central PA

Good saw, excellent value

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this saw for lapidary slabs and small rocks. IT works as well as much more expensive lapidary saws - except there is more wet mess. The thing is it comes with a fairly good blade. I have had tile saws in the past that just could not cut rock.
The steel table may be misaligned by just a hair, which unfortunately transferrs to the fence - but I am not trying to do precision work. I have other saws for that. I use this saw for moving thorugh material swiftly.
Anyway, you get a metal saw with a great blade for the price that others are selling plastic-top saws and weak blades.
I ordered this saw because dozens of my lapidary-hobby friends recommended it. They were right!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Quad Cities, Iowa

Great Price

PostedMarch 26, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure how Home Depot can continue to rent wet saws with the one on the shelf. For the money this has been a great purchase. I cut 12x12 floor tile with ease and 4x4 wall tile like a hot knife through butter. I'm already on my second project with the saw so it has now paid for its self in rental savings. While cutting 12 x 12 is done hand holding and couldn't use the fence if you take your time you get just as good a cut.
The part I like about owning my own wet saw is I can take my time working on my cuts I don't have to feel rushed to get the job done and the saw returned to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw

Excellent saw for a beginner

PostedMay 17, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For a beginner this saw outperforms most others in the price range and would purchase this again. A few downsides of this saw.
1. The metal fence is a little difficult to adjust, you have to practically remove the fence from the top plate and readjust to fine tune the saw. To solve this problem I used a little bit of machineries grease on the rail – works a lot better now.
2. The numbering system is very small and difficult to read at times. My solution was to take a waterproof marker and overwrite each notch and number. Works a lot better now.
Overall I would give this saw 9 out of 10.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Kansas

Tile saws THD550

PostedJuly 18, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the saw on 07/`7/06. I used it the next day, and wandered why I did not have one sooner. The work Force THD550 is a great saw. It shows on the box that you can cut center cut but it didnt show how. It was a great tool. I am glad I bought it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Ohio

A huge money saver!

PostedMarch 30, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little hesitant at first to buy a wet saw when attempting my backsplash -- wow, am I glad that I did!! This saw has now been passed around to three other families and has helped us finish a total of four backsplashes, one wall, one sinktop and one floor. Works great on ceramic, slate and marble - we've used them all! Up to 16 inch tiles have been no problem at all The blade has been replaced once by a friend - not sure if it even needed it, but more of a courtesy. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to purchase this saw for the price - it's a huge bargain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Bristow, VA

Excellent saw for the money

PostedAugust 31, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was going to rent a wet saw to cut tiles for a bath, but after reading the reviews, I decided to buy this one. 2 day rental would have been about the same as this purchase price. The saw was easy to use and set up, and easy to clean. I used it to cut about 20 12x12 porcelain tiles. Most of these cuts could be hidden by the quarter round I will install. The blade that comes with the saw is not good enough to make cuts without the tiles chipping. So if you have to cut field tiles, you'll need a better blade. Overall though, it is definitely worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Austin, TX

Good Tile Saw for the Price

PostedFebruary 11, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this tile saw for my first major home renovation project - the kitchen floor. I had never tiled anything before, nor had I operated any kind of saw...so I was impressed when I was able to take it out of the box, use it...and use it over and over. The saw handily managed the gauged slate I chose for my floor; the saw was simple to use and easily the most efficient for the value I got out of it. Had to change out the blade before my second tiling project (this time, ceramic tile in the guest bathroom), but it was easy to find a replacement blade at Home Depot. Overall - it isn't a heavy piece of equipment overloaded with features, but it has definitely been the right saw for me, with all the capacity I need to do my home tiling projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from ST.LOUIS MO.

small tile jobs

PostedMarch 4, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a small tile project in my bathroom to do over the weekend
there were alot of tiles that had to be cut. I read alot of good things about this little saw and thought I would buy one and give it a try. The price was very reasonable, it looked a little small but I thought sometimes good things come in small packages. Well I was very happy with the way the saw cut effortlessly through the tiles with speed & accuracy. I would recommend this saw to anyone doing tile jobs at home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from masonry contractor, Elk Grove, CA

Great wet saw

PostedDecember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'am a brick mason, and use big wet saws and chop saw for rock,and brick, had some time this yr so I tiled the master bath floor with 20x20 tiles, this thing cut right though with no chip to the edge, I was really happy to get a wet saw that not only works great, but didnt put a hole in my pocker, Plan on doing around the tub and shower next then to the kitchen, I know this little, fast clean up saw will do it, Thanks Joe in Elk Grove, CA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7 In. Wet Tile Saw
from Attleboro, MA

Just Okay

PostedJuly 2, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Flimsy rip and does not cut angles for big 12x12. So if you are using a larger tile I wouldn't recommend. I returned this item because it was not making the cuts that I needed. I went a step up to the Husky for $169 which is much better, which was only offered in the store. If you are doing a simple small project I would suggest this one, but for larger projects with more technical cuts I would investigate others out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>