728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Decking Boards or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)

Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)

Every piece meets the highest grading standards for strength and appearance. This strip is used to give a level surface for attaching wallboard, paneling, ect.
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product9 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product9 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
Review 1 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Northwestern Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for many things

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used these for a custom 'doggie-ramp' I had to build.
Like with any lumber, you have to consider what you're using it for. I had to check these for twisting and warping as I picked them, and surprisingly, most of them were good 'first picks'.
Just sand them down - stain them - the result is impressive!
Pros: Multi Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Harrison, Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

used for "ribbon" to mount and attach rafters for adding a roof over back deck.

PostedOctober 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used to make a "ribbon" for mounting and attaching rafters. For adding a roof over existing deck.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight, Good Shape, good finish, square edges
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Joseph Canal
Gender:Male

Worth the discounted price

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 20 1X2 furring strips to use in building a kitchen island. Marked down 30%. Granted furring strips are usually used in construction projects where they are not visible and bowed or knotty lumber doesn't matter, but I had to sort through at least 100 furring strips to find 20 that were even close to usable. I ordered online and the lumber they had selected for me was mostly good, but it was definitely necessary to inspect what had been picked out for me.
Pros: Multi Use
Cons: poor quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Virginia Beach, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great For Crafts

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These furring strips work great for crafts and DIY projects. Suggest purchasing by the strapped bundle and let dry at home. I usually buy 4-5 bundles at a time and leave them in the sun a couple days, flipping periodically. I keep them together and bundled tight when storing in my work shop to protect against warping. The wood surface varies but I like the different character for my projects. At $1.17 a piece it's a great price, even with 10% waste sometimes. Paints and stains great too.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from San Tan Valley, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible quality but probably good for intended use

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought quite a few of these for a cheap trellis project for our garden. Selection was slim-pickings so they brought a pallet down. The bundles were 20ct so we just bought a bundle that looked great on all four sides. When we got home however, and cut the straps, the inside revealed a much lower quality on the inside. Cutting errors, twisting, cracking, and a lot more knots with missing interiors.
We realize that this is cheap lumber, but I use to buy these at home depot for little simple projects, and I never have seen such poor quality with this item. Next time, we will try to weed through the garbage to get better pieces, but to be honest, that would mean 1 good for every 10 bad or more. Expect to invest some time doing this.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: poor quality
+5points
14out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the job I needed it to do.

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is a furring strip. the price is right, and the boards were just straight enough for my use.
Pros: Light Weight, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not so great purchase

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The wood that I had received was very poor grade, bad wood. You put a screw in the wood and the wood split, real bad wood. Will never order wood over the internet again, never.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Light Weight
Cons: bad woodreal bad
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)

Straight from the get-go.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was cut straight and it was easy to install.
Pros: Light Weight, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Burke VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
They were furring strips. I will say the Home Depot associate that picked them for me to pick up at the store did a good job of finding straight and true boards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Minneapolis, MN 55417, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Project done

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was redoing a kitchen table(that used to be a larger dining table) and needed to trim the edge. Turned out my edges weren't straight but Gordon in the lumber department (Richfield Home Depot) had me shipshape in no time! Glued sanded stained and lacquered and was done in no time. Finished product looks great.
+10points
18out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)

Very Easy to work with.

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to make a class project and this wood was very durable yet easy to work with.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Aurora, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I'd rate this product lower than one star, if possible.

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Crooked beyond being usable, full of knots to the point of falling apart. And that is saying a lot for a furring strip. The real problem came when trying to return them.
Cons: useless
-2points
7out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from Jacksonville FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One warped, one had holes drilled in it

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a "buy online, pickup in store" purchase. Obviously, the employee just grabbed these without looking to see if they were usable. One was so warped when one end was on floor, the other end was 4.5" in the air. The other one had a series of holes drilled in it (6); guess someone had used for their purpose, then returned it. This is the first time I've ordered lumber online; won't do it again. This product is usually average quality.
Pros: good price
Cons: employee pulled severely warped item, employee pulled piece that had drill holes in it
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Furring Strip Board (Common: 1 in. x 2 in. x 8 ft.; Actual: 0.656 in. x 1.468 in. x 96 in.)
from lakeland
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great features

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
very nice quality for a very nice price !!!! I love home depot!!!
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well, awesome
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.