728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan

QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan

Get the NuTone QuietTest 300 CFM White Exhaust Fan for use in rooms up to 275 sq. ft. The fan's thermally protected motor operates at just 4.5 sones, thanks to sound-deadening foam in the fan's steel housing. The fan's white polymeric grille blends in with your ceiling and will match most bathroom decors. The UL-listed fan offers a built-in damper that helps resist back drafts. This fan can be easily installed between ceiling joists or wall studs.
Overall rating:
4.518 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product24 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(18)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product24 of 27reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
Review 1 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Novi Michigan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had three different exhaust fans in my daughters bathroom and finally this one clears the steam right out. I went from the builders special to a 160 CFM unit both were not good, but this one works great.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeps my bathroom moisture free like none other!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got this fan because like many others we have family members that like long hot showers. This used to result in walls just dripping with moisture and eventually mold starting to show up.After months of trying to keep up with it I decided to go from our 110 cfm to this whopping 300! Let me tell you it was the best investment ever! The fan offers 10 times the exhaust and not one bit of moisture any where no fogged up mirrors either. As for noise it wasn't any louder than the previous fan.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: it requires a bit more space to install.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Over-priced motor caused me to buy entire fan

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 15 years, my old 300 cfm fan motor stopped working. The lubrication on the motor bushings had dried out causing the motor to have an excess load which eventually caused the motor windings to burn out. Luckily, it didn't catch fire. The replacement motor was available as a spare part but it was priced at about double the cost of buying the entire fan unit. Since this is an existing installation, I didn't want to have to make any changes to the ducting or the ceiling. So I opted to buy the whole new unit. Luckily the new fan assembly slipped into the in-place existing housing.
When I bought the original fan, it was in stock at the store. This time I had to special order it and wait about a week to 10 days for it to arrive.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from California

Buy this fan

PostedMay 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan sucks...as in sucks all the steam and stink out of a bathroom. I now have two in my house and the performance is excellent. The 300cfm is way overkill for my small bathrooms but in this case, more is better. A couple of notes: make sure you mount the housing rock solid, and you will probably need an adapter to go from the exhaust port to a vent tube (I used a 3x10 to 4" adapter and this worked well). It is not the quietest fan but the noise hides some of those embarrassing bathroom noises.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Columbia City, IN 46725, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet compared to our old less capable fan

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation was no surprises except that our rafters were slightly less than 16" so a little trimming was necessary ;) My wife is quite pleased with the reduced sound level.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Manahawkin, N J
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only vent fan I would use

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the only fan I would ever use or recommend for a bathroom ventilation system due to the volume of air and steam it can remove from a shower or bath area. Steam building up from a hot shower can cause mold to grow and can damage other interior finishes.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, high volume flow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from North Dakota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality fan. Would buy again

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fan is easy to install and assemble. Same fan I purchased from another vendor but far cheaper on Home Depot site. Shipped quickly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Franklinville,NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good fan

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan was very easy to install. It had mounting brackets and many options for mounting applications in the ceiling. once wired in, the fan was very quiet. It did move the required exhaust air out of the room. I'd buy these again with no questions! I had to install three of these fans and it was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replacement for the same product that was 20 years old and starting to make noises.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The 40% off sale was the perfect timing, plus free shipping was great.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: i had to replace the speed control with a nutone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Modesto, ca.

300 cfm Twin Blower Exhaust Fan

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this fan last week as a replacement for an old 50cfm fan in a 8ft x 10ft. bathroom. No windows in this bathroom. When the kids would get out of the shower, it looked like a sauna. Moisture would literally run down the walls. I installed this, very easy, used 3.25x10x6 inch adapter, ducted through roof, and No More Moisture !! Fan is actually very quiet, and very powerful. Worth every penny.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan

Excellant product

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
CAUTION WHEN INSTALLING. DO NOT PUT YOUR FINGERS INSIDE THE OUTER HOUSING-TOUCHING THE BLOWER FINS. THIS WILL KNOCK IT OF BALANCE AND THE RESULTS WILL BE THE NOISEST THING EVER. TRUST ME, I DID AND I HAD TO BUY ANOTHER.
NU-TONE SHOULD HAVE THIS WARNING PLACED ON THE OUTER HOUSING AT THE FACTORY.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Pacific Northwest
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great fan

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan replaced a very old fan that was undersized and VERY loud. It is recommended for installation w attic access, I installed it on the ground floor. It fit perfectly between the floor joists. It does require a duct transition piece as well. We had to do a drywall patch on the ceiling after installation, but it was worth it!! The fan is very well made and really moves the air. I do hear it, but so much quieter than the previous fan.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design, Powerful
Cons: needs additional duct pieces
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Baton Rouge, LA

Very Good Product

PostedSeptember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these online upon the recommendation of my contractor. I had a problem in my master and guest bath with old fans that were not vented to the outside and did not have a lot of vents working to remove the room's steam.
The fans are quietier than the old ones, and seem to be doing a much better job getting the steam out. I didn't need extra lighting and the vents on these are nice and wide to do their job well. Also, my contractor said the 300 CFM was good and strong and the price was reasonable. They did need some additonal materials to vent to the outside. The look is nice and snug to the ceiling. I hope to have these for a long time.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from NJ

Great

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this fan in a bathroom that measures about 15 ft square. When I was first wiring it up and turned it on, I thought it wasn't working because it was so quiet. It does in fact make some noise, but it is far quieter than 120cfm fans I have used before!
It moves air through that bathroom like no one's business!!!
I am going to be remodeling a second bathroom, and know exactly which fan I will be putting in!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Detroit Burbs, MI

Wish it had a light!

PostedDecember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very quiet, but a bit pricey, and has no light. Too much fan for use in a simple 1/2 bath; besides, most people prefer fan noise when using the guest bath :) However, still a great product for a full bath because since it's quiet the family will use it when showering to cut down on steam. Previously installed noisy fan went mostly unused by family members.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Washington, DC

Extremely powerful

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these I have purchased. They are excellent. We have large master bath (12 x 12) and it clears out the fog in minutes! I would highly recommend and quiet given the horse power.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This fan performance is quite.

PostedMay 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I in stalled this fan in one morning with no problems. It is quite. The design is simple and it moves a lot of air. We will be replacing another fan with this on also.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan

lots of exhaust

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After installation, when shutting off fan it was making clicking noise, had to pull it out and loosen the fan shield bolts to give more clearance.
Pros: Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from Bossier City, LA, USA

It is quiet and works very well

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We've had it installed for a few weeks now. It exceeds even our highest expectations. I would definitely recommend this to others, and I'm considering purchasing some for my church and home.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for QuietTest 300 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Fan
from mountains of pennsylvania
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet and efficient

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
runs quietly and exhausts cigar smoke efficiently from the man cave
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>