728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Protect your grout, natural stone or masonry surface with the Miracle Sealants 32 oz. Penetrating Sealer. Its special formula is designed to form an invisible barrier on medium to dense porous surfaces that is resistant to moisture and stains. It will not alter your surface's natural look nor will it make it slippery.
Overall rating:
4.171 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(9)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product33 of 37reviews
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
Review 1 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Laredo, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Product: Customer for Life

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Followed instructions and the product worked as directed. I am super impressed by the results. One coat for the bathroom was enough to make water beads dance away. Have recommended product to everyone I know that is working on their home. I used this on my new ceramic tile floor, bathroom tile, and granite counter tops. Won't stain or disappoint.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Austin, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great productg

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product after using a product I had used many times in the past. The older product left streaks on the 20"x20" tiles that were very noticeable. I did not have those streaks with the 511 Impregnator. Will use only this product in the future, especially with the larger tiles.
Pros: High Quality, no streaking
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Hermitage, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased Tile Lab first; used as directed and applied it twice to newly grouted porcelain tile floor. Did not live up to mfg. claims. Water seeped right into the grout. Then, I purchased the 511 Impregnator/sealer and that worked 100% on the first application. I did apply it twice (just for additional insurance) and it definitely passes the water bead test.
Do not waste your money and time on any other product but 511--it even added additional protection to the porcelain tile.
I used an inexpensive 1" paint brush, applied as directed, let it sit for 3-5 minutes, and then wiped up remaining liquid with a soft, clean towel. That's all it takes!
Pros: Easy to Use, works according to mfg. claims
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from West Hollywood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fine product

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The sealer was easy to apply and did not discolor the grout. One coat was enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - easy application and works properly

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked as described. The application is not difficult, as long as you don't mind being on your hands and knees (I guess you could use a sponge mop), and the results are perfect. I left it dry/set for about 48 hours before we walked on the tile/grout. I spilled some water to test some areas and the tile/grout did not absorb the water and formed beads. The tile color and grout did not change and there is no telling that I used the sealer. I would recommend this product.
Pros: High Quality
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from San Jose, CA

Awesome & Effective Product

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Initially I was using TileLab sealer for sealing the grout. I applied 2 times and did the water droplet test and the water droplet seeped right through the grout. I was dismayed with the result and returned the product immediately. At home depot, I was recommended the 511 Impregnator sealer. I did the resealing 2 times using 511 sealant. As usual I did the water droplet test and was amazed to see the formation of the water droplet on the grout. It does not get absorbed into the grout at all!! This product may cost more than the TileLabs brand but this is well worth the money & time spent.... I highly recommend this product !!!
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Use it right and it's the best!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It seems a number of people are using this product for the wrong purposes in the wrong way. This sealer is excellent - I've used it on my slate backsplash, cascade limestone bathroom, and travertine bathroom. Apply it, wait the recommended time, and wipe off the excess - surfaces remain stain resistant for years - I applied it 5 years ago on the oldest project and have never had to reseal.
To those using this to seal countertops - impregnator is a PENTRATING sealer, not a coating - water will not stain your counters but it will penetrate the surface and darken it until the water evaporates, and to prevent this impregnator is simply the wrong product. Try porous plus 511 - it's way more expensive and only available from specialty tile stores, but it adds a polymer coating that will prevent any water penetration.
To the person who complained that their floors still got dirty - a sealer makes it so your floor won't get stained, not so it won't get dirty in the first place! If you find the floor has a sticky film it may be that the excess wasn't completely wiped off - mopping should do the trick because the excess shouldn't be tacky once dry, but if you still have trouble a chemical stripper may be needed.
I've used other brands of sealer and they don't work or quickly wear off. Again, if used for the right applications and according to the instructions, miracle sealers work the best and are worth the extra money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the only sealer our tile setter would use. He has decades in the field and has seen it all.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Toppenish, WA

Amazing Coverage, Superior results!

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just used this product on our granite tile countertop, and it worked with no problems. At first I was skeptical about the amount I would need to use. I almost bought 2-quarts at the store, but decided against it. Once home I was amazed at how little it took to cover the granite,and how easy the process was. It only took 1/4 of the quart to finish 2 coats on our countertops. Also, it is super easy to do. I was able to seal the countertops while my husband was busy working on our outlets. I simply poured a small amount of solution in a plastic container (you can always pour more when you need it) and used a 67 cent foam paint brush to apply it to each of the tiles and grout. Then I waited 3 minutes and wiped up the excess with an old cloth diaper before it dried. Then 24 hours later we tested it. I would recommend this product to anyone and everyone.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Yorktown, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding performance!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was skeptical when purchasing because of the price. It was a bit more expensive than other sealers but made up the difference in performance. I cleaned my grout using a Lowe's product (Tile Guard; tile and grout cleaner for ceramic) followed by (Mapei; Grout refresher) also a Lowe's product. The final step was using this product. I purchased a dispenser bottle allowing no drip application. Product performed as promised. COMPLETELY satisfied!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As I have only used the product one month ago it will be difficult to provide a full accurate review.
The application of the product was very easy. I used a sponge by dipping one edge into the product then spreading it evenly across the tiles, then going back and applying heavily through the grout. After using the sponge evenly on the surface it would spread with no excess and an even coating. Within one hour you could no longer see the product and there was no visible difference between areas treated and untreated. One quart completed approximately 1250 sq./ft. counting two coats on shower walls, bathroom floors, entry foyer & kitchen floor. Shower tiles beaded up like a fresh waxed car and ran down instantly. Floor is quick to mop and can not see any moisture going into grout. I would recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Boulder, WY 82923, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product always performs as advertised.

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Miracle products for years and have relied on their performance and consistancy. If used as directed you will always get good results. I really like the enhancer because you can use multiple coats to adjust the sheen to where you want it. We have slate samples with 1,2, or 3 coats on them to show clients what appearance they can expect. All around dependable and quality product with competative pricing. With any sealers you get what you pay for. Cheap ones don't perform as well or last as long.
Pros: High Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Virginia

Miracle 511 Sealant

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is excellent for cleaning and sealing stone porches. It withstands the harsh winter weather, prevents cracking and is ever so easy to apply. I have been using this product for 5 years now and my porch still looks like new!!! I would recomment this product to anyone who needs to shine up and seal their stone porches.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Lexington, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

clearing up some of these reviews

PostedOctober 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
first off this product is not cheap, there are more expensive products out there but when it comes to sealers you pay for what you get. if you want to use a cheap sealer go ahead, you'll just be back at the same spot reapplying sealer in a year or so. remember that what you are sealing cost way way more than this sealer so why take the chance on going cheap. this is not the only size that 511 impregnator comes in, they have a 16oz container for smaller job. its a great product for the money, you may have to put 2 or 3 coats on pending how porous of material that you are sealing. if your material is too porious you may have to use something like 511 porous plus. i apply this with an old cotton shirt. low lint is the key especially if you have a rough surface, foam brushes work nice also. if your sealing wall tile, use a washed cotton cloth of some sort cause you can control your runs alot better. this is important if your sealing the tiles before grouting cause you should only be sealing the faces of you tiles and not your joints, you want to keep the sealer out of your joints so the grout can bond well. stay in the 3 to 5 minute window for soak in time. i let sit for 3 minutes and try and have it all off by the 5 minute mark. if you have dried sealer that you missed on tiles, the instructions inform you to reapply sealer to that specific area then wipe the area clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A little goes a long way.

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off, I researched this and other products to seal the flagstone copeing around my pool. I did not know this was going to be so easy and wish I would have read the product details earler. My coping is about 100 linear feet by a foot wide so 100 sqft. With this little bottle I almost got two coats with about 10 feet short. I thought I was going to have to spend about 3-4 times what i spent. I bought four of the cheap throw away brushes so my wife and kids could help. It literally took us about 15 mins coat the entire thing. The water now beads up on the stone and I no longer have sand in the bottom of my pool. I will be applying a coat of this every year. I have a salt pool and Texas summer is just starting so we will see how it holds up for the season...
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Great cheap alternative

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We've found this works just as well as having a professional come and seal our countertops.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

A bit of work to put on, but it seals great

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We recently purchased new construction and needed to seal three bathrooms. Based on online reviews we chose this product and it works great. It was a bit time consuming to apply and required special ventilation but once applied all water beads and doesn't penetrate the tile or the grout. It's been on the bathrooms about 3 months now and we still have no complaints.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impregnating Sealer

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know how the finish will react on glossy granite, but on honed and acid etched granite, it works great! Our granite is a matte finish and this does a great job of staying matte. I'm sure multiple coats may bring a sheen if done enough times, but, 2 coats is no problem. The surface glosses up from being wet few a minute, then goes back to a nice dull natural look with zero reflections in the stone and can see all the stones detail.
But claims of it working great? What do you expect it to do for granite? Most granite has very little porosity, while some can have softer areas. Sealing it help and gives a small sense of security that it will not stain with some spill of wine or lemon juice, etc. I would never put it to the test and leave such spills unattended. Specially over time, and use, as the sealer is only impregnated a very low level of the stone, it is likely to wear. I would think after a few years you need to reapply.
The bottle I have says it is NSF approved, so it is safe for even commercial level use in food handling areas like your kitchen.
This is our second coat in 5 years and looks to do a fairly well job. With our stone pattern it's hard to tell if there are any stains, but even at close inspection it appears there are none.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Vancouver, WA, USA

Excellent product

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this because it was compatible with the grout additive I used. It was easy to apply. I will add to this review when I have had time to have it on our shower for a longer period of time.
Pros: Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Stoughton, MA, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems OK so far...

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered a bathroom vanity through Home Depot, and I found that the granite was not sealed very well. I bought the Impregnator to finish the job, and so far it seems to do the trick. I think I may need to put on another coat since I may not have left it on long enough on the side of the vanity that I did last (it takes longer to put it on than to wipe off the excess). Pretty fumey stuff, but that is to be expected with a solvent-based sealer. I rubbed the heck out of it while it was still wet, but the surface still feels like there is a film. Maybe this will wear off? There is also a residual smell 2 weeks after I applied it, but you can only smell it if you get really close. This seems OK in the bathroom, but I would not want to put it on my kitchen counter.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>