728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Protect your grout, natural stone or masonry surface with the Miracle Sealants 32 oz. Penetrating Sealer. Its special formula is designed to form an invisible barrier on medium to dense porous surfaces that is resistant to moisture and stains. It will not alter your surface's natural look nor will it make it slippery.
Overall rating:
4.107 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product44 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(31)
4
(12)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product44 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
Review 1 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Chattanooga, Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product works well and easy to apply!

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Just roll it on, that's it. I used it on a slate floor in the kitchen that may take some nasty spills every now and then and it works fine. I recommend 2 coats six months apart just after you have let the slate tiles flake down a bit from foot traffic. After that point you are good to go. I am not sure how long it last (only been on there for 6 months) so I will watch it see how it holds up. If another coat is needed in the future then it is easy to apply. This really does look good after the application, no enhancement or shiny look, just a natural appearance.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Sealer..........

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is a top of the line penetrating sealer. I am a tile contractor, and this is the main sealer that I use. This is an oil base sealer, that I prefer over a water base sealer. It has a chemical odor when first applying, but it goes away after a few hours. You can wear a mask and gloves when applying, but I never have in over 20 years. This is one of the best sealers that you can use..... by far. I use it on any of my stone tiles, and on grout. You apply it, leave it on for 3-5 minutes, and then buff it off. Easy enough. Hope this helps.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Laredo, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Product: Customer for Life

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Followed instructions and the product worked as directed. I am super impressed by the results. One coat for the bathroom was enough to make water beads dance away. Have recommended product to everyone I know that is working on their home. I used this on my new ceramic tile floor, bathroom tile, and granite counter tops. Won't stain or disappoint.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Grout sealer

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product was useful and effective on sealing the grout , but you have to use a small brush just to seal and the grout area. It can stain the tiles if you are not careful of avoiding the spill. Use mask to prevent inhalation and use gloves to protect your skin. Open air is advisable when using it.apply once and reapply only after 24 hours . Test by dropping a small drop of water to make sure the grout was fully seal, if the grout did not adsorb the water it mean it was sealed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Atlanta Ga.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Custom Shower Instullation

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Home Depot provides the ultimate in product assortment necessary to complete any Home Improvement job. To protect your investment make sure you use Miracle Sealer. Miracle Sealer will protect your surfaces from stains to keep your installation as good as the day you completed it, All products provided in this photo were purchased at Home Depot. Special thanks to the HOME DEPOT staff that provided excellent product information and services to complete this renovation.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from West Hollywood, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fine product

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The sealer was easy to apply and did not discolor the grout. One coat was enough.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Hermitage, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased Tile Lab first; used as directed and applied it twice to newly grouted porcelain tile floor. Did not live up to mfg. claims. Water seeped right into the grout. Then, I purchased the 511 Impregnator/sealer and that worked 100% on the first application. I did apply it twice (just for additional insurance) and it definitely passes the water bead test.
Do not waste your money and time on any other product but 511--it even added additional protection to the porcelain tile.
I used an inexpensive 1" paint brush, applied as directed, let it sit for 3-5 minutes, and then wiped up remaining liquid with a soft, clean towel. That's all it takes!
Pros: Easy to Use, works according to mfg. claims
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Colleyville,Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great and a few tips

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I felt I should write a little something about this product and how to use it. I have over 800 sq ft of tile that needed to be cleaned and sealed. I have sealed granite, showers, and driveways, but never kitchen tile grout. I did a ton of research to try and figure out the easiest way to clean the grout and decided on a mix of water and Muriatic Acid. Used a strong heavy duty hand brush. Skip those tooth brush looking things. They wear out in no time. I ended up with this sealer after reading reviews. I used an old broom handle and taped a 1" cheap paint brush on the end. Really saves your back. The product probably needs two coats simply because I was told that by the rep at Home Depot. Depending on how big the job you should consider this. If it is over a few hundred square feet. make sure you get someone to help you. Per the label, you are supposed to clean up the over spill in 3-5 minutes. You need one person putting down the sealer and one wiping with a damp sponge and dry towel. In my world, this was a very tough for one person. You are jumping up and down like a hopping rabbit. Consider 800 sq feet time 3 or 2400 square feet of rubbing by the time the job is complete. Of after you seal you see spots with sealer on it and it is easy to see after it drys, just wipe it up with the Acid formula. So how did it work after 4 days of killing myself (I had no help), I did the water test. The water practically jumped off the floor and into the sink. Well, not quite that good, but it beaded up and I let it sit for 25 minutes and it was still beaded. So my first opinion is it is a great product and certainly would recommend it. I have tried the sprays and they are very messy and require a lot more clean up. Remember, to get this job done in a quick fashion, you need a helper. One putting sealer on and one wiping down the over fill.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Austin, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great productg

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this product after using a product I had used many times in the past. The older product left streaks on the 20"x20" tiles that were very noticeable. I did not have those streaks with the 511 Impregnator. Will use only this product in the future, especially with the larger tiles.
Pros: High Quality, no streaking
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from San Jose, CA

Awesome & Effective Product

PostedAugust 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Initially I was using TileLab sealer for sealing the grout. I applied 2 times and did the water droplet test and the water droplet seeped right through the grout. I was dismayed with the result and returned the product immediately. At home depot, I was recommended the 511 Impregnator sealer. I did the resealing 2 times using 511 sealant. As usual I did the water droplet test and was amazed to see the formation of the water droplet on the grout. It does not get absorbed into the grout at all!! This product may cost more than the TileLabs brand but this is well worth the money & time spent.... I highly recommend this product !!!
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product - easy application and works properly

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked as described. The application is not difficult, as long as you don't mind being on your hands and knees (I guess you could use a sponge mop), and the results are perfect. I left it dry/set for about 48 hours before we walked on the tile/grout. I spilled some water to test some areas and the tile/grout did not absorb the water and formed beads. The tile color and grout did not change and there is no telling that I used the sealer. I would recommend this product.
Pros: High Quality
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Easy to use

PostedMarch 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Let me start out saying that I am not Mr. handyman this product was easy to put down easy to clean up and it looks great I actually had to fix a professionals mess up I ended up using the sealer and it looks great!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Miracle sealant

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sealant worked great and was easy to apply. This is a really good product.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Use it right and it's the best!

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It seems a number of people are using this product for the wrong purposes in the wrong way. This sealer is excellent - I've used it on my slate backsplash, cascade limestone bathroom, and travertine bathroom. Apply it, wait the recommended time, and wipe off the excess - surfaces remain stain resistant for years - I applied it 5 years ago on the oldest project and have never had to reseal.
To those using this to seal countertops - impregnator is a PENTRATING sealer, not a coating - water will not stain your counters but it will penetrate the surface and darken it until the water evaporates, and to prevent this impregnator is simply the wrong product. Try porous plus 511 - it's way more expensive and only available from specialty tile stores, but it adds a polymer coating that will prevent any water penetration.
To the person who complained that their floors still got dirty - a sealer makes it so your floor won't get stained, not so it won't get dirty in the first place! If you find the floor has a sticky film it may be that the excess wasn't completely wiped off - mopping should do the trick because the excess shouldn't be tacky once dry, but if you still have trouble a chemical stripper may be needed.
I've used other brands of sealer and they don't work or quickly wear off. Again, if used for the right applications and according to the instructions, miracle sealers work the best and are worth the extra money!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Toppenish, WA

Amazing Coverage, Superior results!

PostedAugust 22, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just used this product on our granite tile countertop, and it worked with no problems. At first I was skeptical about the amount I would need to use. I almost bought 2-quarts at the store, but decided against it. Once home I was amazed at how little it took to cover the granite,and how easy the process was. It only took 1/4 of the quart to finish 2 coats on our countertops. Also, it is super easy to do. I was able to seal the countertops while my husband was busy working on our outlets. I simply poured a small amount of solution in a plastic container (you can always pour more when you need it) and used a 67 cent foam paint brush to apply it to each of the tiles and grout. Then I waited 3 minutes and wiped up the excess with an old cloth diaper before it dried. Then 24 hours later we tested it. I would recommend this product to anyone and everyone.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Waste of money

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I applied to cured grout according to the provided directions. I even applied (4) coats over a few days duration allowing it to fully cure for 48hrs. The product lasted about 3 months... This was applied last year in December, now I'm looking for a better product that will Last!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Yorktown, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding performance!

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was skeptical when purchasing because of the price. It was a bit more expensive than other sealers but made up the difference in performance. I cleaned my grout using a Lowe's product (Tile Guard; tile and grout cleaner for ceramic) followed by (Mapei; Grout refresher) also a Lowe's product. The final step was using this product. I purchased a dispenser bottle allowing no drip application. Product performed as promised. COMPLETELY satisfied!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

Miracle Sealant

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works excellent, I have used it on several occasions. Keeps my floors and shower protected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Recommended product for sealing and waterproofing tile in shower

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to work with looks great! Water proofed tiles in the shower. Enough to do multiple showers
Pros: Effective
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. Impregnator Penetrating Sealer

2 Coats Didn't Do The Trick

PostedJanuary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I paid over $30 for this product and used it on the 3rd and 4th day after grouting. I shook it up and poured it into a container then applied it with a paint brush as instructed, and wiped off excess after about 5 minutes. The next day, I dripped some water on the tile and grout, only in some places did the water bead. I won't use this product again.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>