728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber

2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber

This 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine Lumber is treated for protection against termites, fungal decay and rot. It is good for various applications such as decks, play sets, landscaping, stair support and walkways. It is good for outdoor projects where the lumber will be exposed to the elements. It can be painted or stained.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product16 of 19reviews
Customer reviews for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Review 1 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
DrDan
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product, does well in shower areas for keeping termites away,

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to cut, holds up well in wet conditions,only draw back is its very heavy when it was purchased, try to pick dry ones as it will shrink up and become loose if nailed ore held with screws.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
RichieRich03
from Charleston, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Typical wood product.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is just a typical wood product. Many are warped, knots split and hard to find good ones. Generally I have to enter store and sift through 25 to find 5 acceptable ones.
Pros: Multi Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
foofurrah
from hyattsville, md

Good deal for nice 2x4s

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great price for treated 2x4s. I ordered these online for in store pickup and the Home Depot in Hyattsville had it ready within about an hour. Whoever picked them out did a nice job. All the boards were straight and only one had a small crack near the end. I got a mix of brands but they all looked fine and will work for my purposes. I can't speak to longevity yet, but I'm very pleased with the purchase and plan to use the online order in store pickup method again in the future for lumber orders, saved a lot of hassle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Rose

Worst wood ever.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Maybe the guy who picked out the wood for my online order just wanted to get rid of the worse pieces. It was wet, moldy, uneven, chipped, basically junk. Lucky for me I wasnt using it for anything really important.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Fran
from Mississippi, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 x 4 Pressure treated Pine lumber

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Each piece was straight and in excellent condition. What more can you say about a 2 x 4.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Good Shape
Cons: no cons
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
LadyJustice
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Picked to Perfection

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with my online order. When I arrived to pick up my lumber, I found that each piece was straight, with no large knots. I then had 17 pieces cut to my specifications at no extra charge, and was assisted by an employee during my entire visit up until my car was loaded down without me lifting a finger, and I drove away, waving bye. What more could you ask for? Excellent product and service!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Shape
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
AHappyOwner
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems like a good buy

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This treated 2x4 is not too expensive and is easy to work with. They have been generally free of major knots but have the usual number of average size knots. The lumber appears to be a lot lighter than treated wood that I have purchased before.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
Cons: seems to be very light not sure that is bad
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
MIPG13
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

just what I needed

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm not an expert by any means, I just took a basic stagecraft class last semester and felt confident enough to build my own desk. To my surprise, the materials were good and I spent less than I would have buying a new desk. This product is good and sturdy, I used it for the legs of my desk and it's holding fine (supporting a 32in TV and a computer). I have a bad habit of bumping into the desk CONSTANTLY and it still holds.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Good Shape, amount for money
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
alan

prefer a real lumber company

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
over $1500 worth of weathershield wood purchased for building a shed and not one single piece was the right size, many extra hours were spent measuring and cutting down.
The only good thing about this purchase was the PRO desk loaded it all saving me a good bit of work.
Cons: wrong sizes
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
tom029
from Bowling Green, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Lumber

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Normally I go to the store to pick my own lumber but I was in a hurry so I ordered these 2x4s online for pickup. I have to say I didn't get one corkscrew in the lot.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
bigmamma

great

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good product. would recommend. Building a chicken coop.
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
ERICMAC
from La Porte, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THE BEST I HAVE FOUND FOR THE MONEY!!!................................................................................................................
Pros: Multi Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
gautam

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As promised. Good quality product. Would recommend it to others.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Gene
from McDonough, GA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Covered with too much bark

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2x4's in McDonough GA were very sorry today.
Lot of them had a lot of bark and the sides were not
even. Had to pick through a lot to fine 7 that I could use.
The manager should send them back to the supplier
Cons: sorry wood
-1point
5out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
hmdavid
from Fayetteville, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good lumber

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These treated 2X4's were of great quality and not too wet.
Pros: High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
jeff
from Pasadena, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

used as studs inside home

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
used this product to replace and support studs in our home from termite damage. all the boards were very straight. easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Scot
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Dimensional Control

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 40 of these delivered. Width varied from 3 1/2 in. to 3 5/8 in. Would not always be a big deal, but really messed up my job. Had to rip many of them to correct.
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Norm
from VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest purchase I have ever made at Home Depot.

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered 8 pressure treated 2 x 4s on line. It was easy and I was notified within 1 hour that my order was ready for pickup. I had a Home Depot Associate cut each one of the eight to the length I needed and then paid for them. The 2x4s were straight and had no major flaws. I will buy this way again. Excellent product and even better service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Linda
from Pearland, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK would buy again

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some were warped and had a large amount of knots, but for the price worked well. I would buy them again.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Pressure-Treated Lumber
Andres

Works Great

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fine durability and looks good. Hope it lasts some time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.