728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

This Seasonal Designs 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with American Flag includes a 3 ft. x 5 ft. nylon flag with a canvas header and brass grommets. It comes with a gold ball, halyard, pulley, rope and sleeve to insert into the ground. The rust-resistant aluminum pole has a 2 in. diameter.
Overall rating:
3.923 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(78 reviews) 78
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product55 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 78 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product55 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Review 1 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
linktorich
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Same problem as others,broken pole.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have mentioned today, my flag pole today also broke off three feet from the ground. The break was a perfect circle. It was windy outside today, however, it was nothing extreme.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
jrebman
from Michigan

Broken Pole

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the assembly for about 8 months. The pole broke off about 3 feet off the ground. NO WARRANTY..... Dont spend your hundred plus bucks on this because when the wind blows your cash will be gone too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
35out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Jameson
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Old Glory is still flying!!!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the flagpole in a rather windy area. I am a remodeling contractor and would rather overkill than barely get by. I installed 1 1/4" PVC pipe inside the pole as well as some 1" PVC, 3/4" metal conduit and some 1/2" rebar. Made it a bit heavy and more difficult to assemble but it has lasted through 50mph winds and no sign of breaking!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: i would recommend adding strength on the inside
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
dick
from Hesperia, CA 92344, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

bending in the wind

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
after reading reviews about pole breaking off 3 ft. above ground in strong winds, i put a 16 ft. schedule 40 inch and a quarter pvc pipe in the pole to prevent this from happening, cost: $ 11 dollars, no problems at all in the hi-desert winds, just sayin plan ahead...
+62points
62out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Dan12345
from Illinois

Folds right over

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 4 times breaking in half in the wind, I am replacing this cheap pole with a much better design. Uncommon USA telescoping flagpole. I tried filling new replacement pole sections with expandable foam, so they were stronger, but the joints are still a problem and the pole will still break right off. Also the tips of the eagle wings would catch the hem on the flag and rip it up.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
imnobody
from home,USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

I have no problems

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love the flag pole and i have 2 flags up. I also filled the first 2 sections of poles (about 8') with 1/2 rebar and concrete.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Looks High End, it's strong with the concrete
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
brinkmangriller

works well

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used at beach, Holds up good in high winds and salt air.
Pros: Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
old4
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

flag bust

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
overall not bad but aluminum pole is weak and bends in the wind, with 2 flags it bends alot even in a small breeze. save up and buy a better pole !
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
tacho

2 Different Poles at 2 Different Houses Broke

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one we bought seemed great, so I bought another one for our cabin. The one at our house sheared off after about 3 years. The one at our cabin sheared off in about 2 months. Will not be buying another one of these flagpoles. The suggestioons about re-inforcing it seem like a good idea and hope they work for you. My 2 poles didn't break, the pole spins a lot at the joints (leaving black residue all over) and it appears they just spun so much that it sheared off. May need to stabalize it to keep it from spinning.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
mnzan

Don't Waist your Money .............

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mother bought this for my father about 2 weeks ago. We finally put it up a few days ago so my Dad can raise his Flag for Memorial Day, well a storm with high winds rolled through north east Ohio today May 28th 2012 "Memorial Day" and the cheap, piece of junk Aluminum pole broke about 3 feet from the ground also breaking the nice gold colored Eagle on the top of the pole, not to mention now that the Flag hit the ground it has to be put to rest. It does not deserve a 1 star rating but I had to give it one to write this review. That's Why we shouldn't buy NON American Made Products, especially Something that was suppose to fly the American Flag. DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY, Buy a nice STEEL Flag Pole made buy the US Steel Workers.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
gene
from Seal Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful! My neighbors love it also.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Quality workmanship. Enjoy raising & lowering it each day. Beautiful gold plated eagle and sturdy pulley and rope. Am very pleased. Thank you.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Strong, Sharp, Great Quality, made in usa!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
DIYhomeguy
from Calabasas, CA

Didn't last

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this flagpole installed for a little while now - about 1yr. Straightforward instructions and install was easy. Pole did not hold up, though.
Had an unexpected wind gust a day ago here in So. Cal. and the pole snapped 3ft. above the ground. Replacement sections are available from online sources, but I'm opting to get a completely new pole made of steel.
This pole from Home Depot is nice, but the aluminum pole is not strong enough.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
ARMYVET
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

EVERY ONE SHOULD HAVE ONE AND DISPLAY IT PROUDLY

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After looking for few months, I finally found and excellent Flag Pole with the US Flag at Home Depot. It is well made and was easy to install. Now for sure I can proudly fly the colors on my back yard. What a beautiful sight for a VV Army Vet.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, excellent choice for the quality and price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
John
from Florida

Too weak for winds

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had this kit for several years and until today had mostly good things to say about it. Today, however, was windy and the pole snapped off 3 feet from the ground. Judging from other reviews, this is a recurring theme. Also, one of the cheap plastic clips broke early on and over time the shiny eagle turns black.
I plan to rehab my pole by removing the broken section and leaving it at 16 feet. I hope this lowers the stress enough to last a while longer.
Buyer beware.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
nothappycustomertoday

Cheap Garbage

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This flag set is cheap garbage - stay away. Clasps are plastic. Finial is plastic. Pole is very lightweight aluminum and bent in half during first mild windstorm.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Mike6544
from Utah

Flag pole

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not durable at all. Flag pole snapped 3 feet above ground in 30mph winds. A total waste of $150 (product plus shipping)
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Jone
from West Des Moines, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Good quality and value

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Received quickly, the install was quick and easy. However, I did place 16 feet of sch. 40 pvc pipe inside to stiffen the pole and protect against wind damage as recommended by previous buyers. Also inserted small sheet metal lscrews at each joint. Have not had any wind since erecting but expect it to peform well. Looks very nice. You will need someone to help set it verticle since it it so tall. I stood on a ladder, neighbor guided into hole. Happy with purchase so far!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Looks Great
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Bob
from Egg Harbor City

Great Job

PostedJune 17, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found your product (20ft. Flag Pole) very easy to assemble, very easy to install and looks excellent with the Stars and Stripes and my YANKEES Flag blowing in the wind. The dilivery was much faster than I expected. You guys did a GREAT JOB.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
JRP1
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Do Not Buy This Item

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this flag pole that looks great and is fine as long as their is no wind. Once wind gusts started the pole broke off right at the top of the first section of pole. I thought this may be a defect. I then purchased a second one and it did the same thing in the same spot. Stay Away from this item !
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
nothappy

bends and wobbly

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pole sways in the wind really bad. I used a 5' piece of 1 1/4'' galvanized pipe set in concrete with the pole set down on it. I'm going to take the pole back and just extend the galvanized up 20' and paint it silver....Dont waste you money.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>