728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Decor or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

This Seasonal Designs 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with American Flag includes a 3 ft. x 5 ft. nylon flag with a canvas header and brass grommets. It comes with a gold ball, halyard, pulley, rope and sleeve to insert into the ground. The rust-resistant aluminum pole has a 2 in. diameter.
Overall rating:
3.97 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product71 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(60)
4
(13)
3
(8)
2
(2)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product71 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Review 1 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Seattle, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Flag pole deficiencies

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I live just outside of Seattle. This area isn't noted for stormy weather but twice now mi flagpole has bent and broken where sections are staged down for slipping into neighboring sections. All sections are exactly alike. Sections stack one atop the next with pulley and truck at the top. Bottom section fails in the wind where it affixes to the second section. The first time that it occured, I simply removed the bad section and re-installed the pole. It happened for a second time. Now I believe the pole is getting too short. Manufacturer needs to produce stronger sections for the base module.
Cons: Not Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from SHEPPARD AFB, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PERFECT!!!

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! THIS WAS WAY BETTER THAN I EXPECTED. THE QUALITY OF THE FLAG POLE AND FLAG, THE PRICE, THE EASE OF INSTALATION, AND THE DURABILITY TO WITHSTAND HIGH WIND SPEEDS ALL EXCEED MY EXPECTAIONS! IT WAS DELIVERED A DAY EARLY. INSTALATION WAS A BREEZE. THE DIRECTIONS WERE VERY EASY TO UNDERSTAND. TO THINK, HOME DEPOT HAS THEIR PRODUCT PLANTED AND STANDING TALL ON A MILITARY INSTALATION RIGHT NOW IS QUITE THE HONOR! THE AMERICAN FLAG AND FREEDOM IS WHAT WE FIGHT FOR. SALUTING THE AMERICAN FLAG IS ESSENTIAL TO OUR HERITAGE AND YOU HAVE MADE THAT POSSIBLE FOR US. THANK YOU HOME DEPOT!!
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape, affordable, complies with military regs
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from New Mexico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Flagpole!

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Would recommend a 20' 1x1/4" PVC pipe and insert up the middle for additional stability in high wind areas. If you have to cut the PVC pipe, ensure the PVC coupler will fit inside!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Same problem as others,broken pole.

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As others have mentioned today, my flag pole today also broke off three feet from the ground. The break was a perfect circle. It was windy outside today, however, it was nothing extreme.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+38points
39out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Globe, AZ.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cheap build

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I did not read the reviews until after I purchased. This could be a great flagpole however as most reviews state it is not very strong. I did add the two 1 1/4 and 1 inch PVC as recommended by other reviewers and I believe this will make a strong product. I can very easily see how wind would break this as it feels like it could have been made with beer cans attached end to end. Really a shame as this could be a great flagpole if both Home Depot and the manufacturer would read the reviews and take the necessary steps to make it so. As usual great service, shipping, etc. from Home Depot and I will purchase on line from them again, In fact I have done so. Strongly recommend you not put this up unless you have taken the strengthening steps recommended by others.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Michigan

Broken Pole

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had the assembly for about 8 months. The pole broke off about 3 feet off the ground. NO WARRANTY..... Dont spend your hundred plus bucks on this because when the wind blows your cash will be gone too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+49points
56out of 63found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Old Glory is still flying!!!

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed the flagpole in a rather windy area. I am a remodeling contractor and would rather overkill than barely get by. I installed 1 1/4" PVC pipe inside the pole as well as some 1" PVC, 3/4" metal conduit and some 1/2" rebar. Made it a bit heavy and more difficult to assemble but it has lasted through 50mph winds and no sign of breaking!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: i would recommend adding strength on the inside
+34points
35out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Hesperia, CA 92344, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

bending in the wind

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
after reading reviews about pole breaking off 3 ft. above ground in strong winds, i put a 16 ft. schedule 40 inch and a quarter pvc pipe in the pole to prevent this from happening, cost: $ 11 dollars, no problems at all in the hi-desert winds, just sayin plan ahead...
+86points
87out of 88found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Quincy
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did not meet expectations

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Read all the reviews and inserted the 1 1/4 in PVC pipe to strengthen the pole. The wall thickness of this pole is proximally 0.054 inches and is insufficient to withstand winds in the 30-50 mph or higher. Installed the pole and after only 5 days and one rain storm with 35-50 mph wind gusts the bottom section of the pole is noticeably bent (between 7-12 degrees). A pole assembly, where the bottom two sections have a wall thickness in the range of 0.070-0.080 inches most likely would solve the problem that so many customers have communicated. As the product, although looks good when installed, does not meet my expectations and therefore I would not recommend this product to anyone. Why should a customer have to modify a product to ensure its usefulness? The manufacture needs to step up to the plate and listen to its customers, understand and implement the term "Quality".
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product

PostedJune 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live on the ocean. The wind can be pretty tough on a flag pole and did in fact finally do my old pole (this same brand) in. But.... I got 15 years out of it and was able to invert the new one and use it in the old mounting. Not bad for the money. Also the quality of the flag is excellent. And I always use Anin flags. I'd buy another one but there is no ID on it. How can I get one?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Illinois

Folds right over

PostedApril 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 4 times breaking in half in the wind, I am replacing this cheap pole with a much better design. Uncommon USA telescoping flagpole. I tried filling new replacement pole sections with expandable foam, so they were stronger, but the joints are still a problem and the pole will still break right off. Also the tips of the eagle wings would catch the hem on the flag and rip it up.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from home,USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

I have no problems

PostedOctober 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love the flag pole and i have 2 flags up. I also filled the first 2 sections of poles (about 8') with 1/2 rebar and concrete.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Looks High End, it's strong with the concrete
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect except the length of the rope.

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put together, solid & visually pleasing. My only complaint is the rope provided is too short, had to go to the hardware store & purchase the appropriate length. Other than that it's as advertised & looks great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

2 Different Poles at 2 Different Houses Broke

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one we bought seemed great, so I bought another one for our cabin. The one at our house sheared off after about 3 years. The one at our cabin sheared off in about 2 months. Will not be buying another one of these flagpoles. The suggestioons about re-inforcing it seem like a good idea and hope they work for you. My 2 poles didn't break, the pole spins a lot at the joints (leaving black residue all over) and it appears they just spun so much that it sheared off. May need to stabalize it to keep it from spinning.
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: Cheap Material, Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Janesville, Iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent purchase

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was a quality product. Easy installation from start to finish
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

flag bust

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
overall not bad but aluminum pole is weak and bends in the wind, with 2 flags it bends alot even in a small breeze. save up and buy a better pole !
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from SW Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Flag and Pole

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just received our American flag and pole. Very good quality. It is up and flying high!!!! We did install a heavy wall pvc pipe 3 ft long into the ground first with cement. Then inserted the flag pole inside of that, just wanted to make it stronger for higher winds. It looks beautiful, and the price was very economical to. I would recommend this product, my neighbor first told us about it. Take care.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag
from Calabasas, CA

Didn't last

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had this flagpole installed for a little while now - about 1yr. Straightforward instructions and install was easy. Pole did not hold up, though.
Had an unexpected wind gust a day ago here in So. Cal. and the pole snapped 3ft. above the ground. Replacement sections are available from online sources, but I'm opting to get a completely new pole made of steel.
This pole from Home Depot is nice, but the aluminum pole is not strong enough.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

Flag pole

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put together, put pvc inside pole for more strength on windy days.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 ft. Aluminum Flagpole with 3 ft. x 5 ft. U.S. Flag

Don't Waist your Money .............

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My mother bought this for my father about 2 weeks ago. We finally put it up a few days ago so my Dad can raise his Flag for Memorial Day, well a storm with high winds rolled through north east Ohio today May 28th 2012 "Memorial Day" and the cheap, piece of junk Aluminum pole broke about 3 feet from the ground also breaking the nice gold colored Eagle on the top of the pole, not to mention now that the Flag hit the ground it has to be put to rest. It does not deserve a 1 star rating but I had to give it one to write this review. That's Why we shouldn't buy NON American Made Products, especially Something that was suppose to fly the American Flag. DON'T WAIST YOUR MONEY, Buy a nice STEEL Flag Pole made buy the US Steel Workers.
+5points
10out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>