728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Coolers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller

Finished in a sleek and contemporary stainless steel appearance, the GE Profile Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser with Refreshment Chiller delivers hot (194 Deg F), cold (50 Deg F) and room temperature water from three easy-to-use push button faucets. Including a child resistant hot water faucet. It takes either 3 or 5 gallon water bottles (bottle not included). So whether you need water to make instant soup, or for a cold beverage, or perhaps room temperature water to cook with, now you can enjoy water the way you like it. But the convenience doesn't stop there. This water dispenser also features a built-in refreshment chiller with a capacity of 0.67 cu. ft., making it perfect for storing beverages and non-perishable snacks. Chiller maintains temperature below 50 deg F. With its stylish good looks and versatility, the GE Profile Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser is perfect for use in both the home and the office. Approximate unit dimensions: 15.5 In. x 17 In. x 41.5 In.
Overall rating:
2.857 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
48%of customersrecommend this product10 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(3)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(6)
48%of customersrecommend this product10 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
Review 1 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Texas

Quality & Convenience

PostedMay 23, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros: Overall solid construction, easy to use, and attractive design. The push buttons make water dispening very easy. The 3 water temperatures is a very nice feature, especially when it comes to preparing foods, such as baby cereal, formula, etc. The mini-fridge stays cold and appears to seal well. The finish is plastic, but looks like stainless steel - a nice feature to prevent finger prints and water marks.
Minor Negatives: Water dispenses a little slow and you cannot adjust the dispense rate. The hot water turn-dial is a bit awkward to use, though it is effective protection. Some ice does form in the mini-fridge and you will need to remove it periodically.
Would be nice: A temperature control for the water and fridge.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Crystal Lake, IL

Fell apart immediately after the warranty expired

PostedJanuary 29, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product worked well for the first 24 months. Our only complaint initially was that if it is really humid out, there is a lot of condensation in the chiller compartment which accumulates on the top of the compartment and drips all over the tops of the soda cans and can drip onto the floor if you don't watch it carefully. The water does flow somewhat slowly although it is tolerable.
The very disappointing part was that immediately after the warranty period expired - approx 25 months old, the hot water heater went out. We called GE and inquired about parts to fix the unit. They explained that they do not sell parts and they can only recommend throwing away the unit and purchasing a new one. OK fine, we figured that we would live without the hot water. When the unit was approx 26 months old, it started leaking somewhere internally causing a small flood. $165 and lasted 26 months.
I guess when you figure the cost of renting a unit vs. buying, we about broke even. But all in all, we are more than a little disappointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from New Jersey

Owner

PostedJuly 6, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Very sleek and professional appearance. Slow on the pour though. Hot water dificult to manage.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Grove City, OH

Great but not for long

PostedJune 5, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this dispenser about two years ago figuring it would save us money by not having to rent the supplier's dispenser. The three water option was great; the hot was perfect for instant coffee, hot chocolate, or hot tea, the room temperature pleased my wife, and the cold was perfect for me. Unfortunately, about three weeks ago (after the warranty period, of course) it stopped dispensing hot or room temperature water. We definitely got our money's worth (saved almost $200 over 2 years by buying vs renting) but sure thought it would last longer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Bronx, NY

Good quality water cooler.

PostedMarch 26, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this product to provide cool water in summer and to stimulate myself to drink more water. However, it is true that if you keep drinks like snapple or canned soda in cooler, there will be water all over the bottles or cans. I rarely use the hot water dispenser. The unit does not consume much electrical power and provides chilled water during hot summer months. I would recommend it but hope that the manufacturer improves on the water leakage problem in future models.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from burlington, nj

Don't buy this water cooler dispenser

PostedJanuary 19, 2007
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The features on this water cooler are nice. It does have a nice appearance and it coordinates well with stainless steel type appliances. It is nice having an extra cooler for juice boxes and beverages for the kids to access without having them open and close your main refrigerator constantly. I love having quick access to hot water to make a cup of tea or hot chocolate. My major gripe however, is that we have purchased and returned two of these coolers already and now have a third one with the same problems. Our cooler keeps freezing up, causing the cold water dispenser to stop working. We have allowed the cooler to thaw out (without the water bottle attached) and thoroughly cleaned it. We have still experienced problems with all the coolers we've tried. We are now on our third one and the same thing is happening again. We are not going to try for a fourth one. I would not recommend this to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from atlanta ,ga

bad product

PostedMay 14, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was not even two months after purchase before it started to drip excessively even when not in use. Water will quickly fill up the drip tray. I was informed by GE that this cannot be fixed. I am totally disappointed .
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Williamsville, NY

NO COLD WATER

PostedJanuary 28, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product looks great, and you would think for the money would work greatl. Not the case. We have had it only one day and the cold water is still not even the slightest bit cold. It is almost the same as room temperature. The hot works great.
I would not recommend this product to anyone. I wish I would have seen these reviews prior to my purchase. If you only want hot water, and like the look, then this product is for you. If you want cold water, buyer beware! While this is not Home Depot's fault, It is going back and I will rent a cooler going forward-less hassle if there is a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Oconomowoc, WI

Throw away product

PostedJanuary 5, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After maybe 3 or 4 years our unit would start to freeze the water and block the flow to the taps. I went to GE website to look for schematics to repair this product. Nothing there but the user book. No way to even order parts to do the repair for this item. This cooler is truly a "throw away item". The cost is not bad compared to paying a rental. Today I planned on going to Home Depot tp purchase a new one. I was disapointed to find out that I can only order it online now, and that I also have to pay almost $40.00 more for the delivery. That made my mind up to purchase from another source and also to upgrade to a better product with a longer warranty. So long Home Depot. You just lost a customer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Phoenix, AZ

Two Times Rusty!

PostedSeptember 30, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this cooler over the summer for my low traffic office and after following the extensive initial cleaning instructions I thought I would be done cleaning the unit. After about two months of perfect operation, there was significant rust coming out of the hot water tap. I tried cleaning it again, but the rust persisted, so I returned it to Home Depot for a new one of the same model.
I am now only two weeks into my new cooler and again I am seeing rust!
All of the water temperatures are fine, I get cold out of the cold and hot out of the hot but I also get gross red floaties coming out of the hot water tap. I don't know why a receptacle made to hold water would have exposed metal parts that would cause rust?!
Its going back to home depot this weekend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Bayfield, Colorado

I should have listened to my husband on this one.

PostedJanuary 17, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I do like the three temperature option, (though I have yet to actually use/need the room temperature spout) and it seems to dispense water slowly. It would have really been nice to have control devices (for temperature and water flow).
The refrigerator is nice because we have ours between the kitchen & livingroom, so it's convenient to have drinks close by.
I don't feel the cold water is very cold, and it takes quite a while for the water to reach the cold & hot temperatures, which may be caused by more energy it uses to keep the little refrigerator cold. That's the reason my husband wanted the model w/ only two temps (cold & hot), w/o the "bells & whistles"~perhaps more efficient that way.
Overall, I'm pleased w/ it, but I'd really recommend a two-temp dispenser for the aforementioned reason.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Logan, WV

Cold & Hot Water

PostedAugust 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the G.E. Profile despenser from Home Depot and love it. The cold water is perfect for the hot grass cutting days. It is just inside the back door. The hot water is perfect for adding water for your soup or hot chocalet or anyother need for hot water. Just be carefull because if you use the can. The water is at a temp. that gets the can hot. It will cut down on heating time for soup. I call it my Goldielocks water despenser. The hot and cold is just right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Pico Rivera, CA

could probably find better

PostedApril 3, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
overall the cooler is average. not sure if mine is defective but the cold water temperature in no where near 50 degrees. it's hard to tell the difference between the cold and room temp. as far as the hot water, that's great. but if your looking for something to give you a nice cold cup of water, look else where.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Wylie TX

Leaks

PostedJuly 5, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We had this cooler for right at a year when it started leaking. Never could figure out where the leak came from and had to purchase a new cooler. Loved the room temperature option, but have found the same option from another manufacturer at the same price. Hopefully my new one will last longer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Hemet, CA

Dead after warrinty

PostedDecember 12, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this product for just over a year when the hot water stopped working, (never did work well). It would seem that at this price you would get a quality product. Home Depot should seriously consider discontinuing this product. Oh bye the way, now the cold water doesn't work either.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from River Edge, NJ

Makes the water yellow and taste bad

PostedAugust 25, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this water cooler and had it for around 6 months.
It suddenly turned the water to yellow and it tasted wierd!
We tried to clean it and it didn't work... so we had to return it back and got a new one. But I like its design and color.
Plus the cold water is not really cold!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Southern California

Fantastic Item

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new GE Profile Water dispenser is outstanding! This is my second cooler that has hot water, room temperature and cold water. The GE Profile is far superior to the other. The cold is very icy cold and the room temperature has a nice crisp taste to it. The safety dial on the hot water is far superior to other water coolers/dispensers and very easy for my 57 year old hands to operate. I would definitely recommend this to a friend and would definitely replace it with another GE Profile product. Forgot to mention, the push button dispensers are so much better than the types you have to lift the little handle up.
A side note about buying from Home Depot! As always a great pleasure to do business with Home Depot. Ordering on line is easy as pie and the delivery service is extremely fast. I have ordered other things online through Home Depot including a very LARGE, heavy backyard swing, and have always been very satisfied with the delivery and their service.
Thank you GE for the product and Home Depot for delivery!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Marysville OH

Tri Temperature Water Dispenser

PostedSeptember 14, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This multi functional water dispenser is fantastic. The temperatures are true to their word. I also love the mini fridge below for soda. If you question whether you should buy it, simply buy it and you'll be extremely satisfied. -Diane
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Mentone, IN

good product

PostedDecember 29, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
have had this item for a couple of weeks now and so far it has worked great! does everything it says and i hope to get alot of future use out of it. highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tri-Temperature Water Dispenser With Refreshment Chiller
from Port Hadlock, WA

Don't Pay Rent On A Cooler

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Why pay rent for a water cooler. This one works great and the water company is still happy to deliver bottles of water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>