728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

Remove pesky wildlife from your property with the Havahart Collapsible Medium Animal Cage Trap. This trap offers a nonlethal solution that allows you to capture and release raccoons, feral cats, woodchucks and other animals. The cage is collapsible for easy portability and is made of high-tensile wire to resist damage by animals. The spring-loaded door is easy to set after baiting while the smooth-edged interior helps to protect trapped animals.
Overall rating:
3.838 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product29 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(11)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product29 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Review 1 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trap

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this trap with the hopes of catching the raccoons that have been using our pool for a toilet! With in five days we caught and relocated three raccoons! The trap performed flawlessly and is very easy to set and bait, the only problem I had was with the instructions as they are not very clear. As hard as the raccoons tried they did not get out and that I am glad of, I did not use the release door in the back as your fingers are way to close to the animal inside. A good tip for bait is the jumbo marshmallows they love those things!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Deerfield Beach, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, highly effective. One of the best things I've ever purchased.

PostedAugust 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in South Florida and my property abuts a pond that is home to all manner of creatures. Most of them I love, including the wild parakeets, the ducks, turtles, and ibis, but lately a family of raccoons moved in and have been rummaging through garbage containers and killing the adorable ducklings that once roamed the lake.
I bought this trap for $50 with tax and set it up behind my house where the raccoons were known to hang out. I baited it with jumbo marshmallows and put it on level ground, then went to bed. The next morning, I woke up and there was one really ticked-off raccoon in the trap. Over the past two weeks, I have caught four raccoons and one opossum which I have then driven out to the Everglades to either fend for themselves or become gator bait, but they're no longer my problem.
The trap is a simple pressure plate/gate device that is effective, but at times can be overly sensitive. If the trap is jarred too strongly it will trigger the gate which has led to several mornings where the trap has been triggered but there's nothing inside except the bait. I've found that I can limit this occurrence by placing the trap on level ground so that none of the corners are uneven in relation to the others. A raccoon can get his arm out of some of the wider gaps in the cage so be careful when handling, but the cage gaps are too small for him to get the bait without triggering the trap.
This trap is a magnificent bargain and, when one considers that the pest control folks near me charge $80 to trap a raccoon or opossum, this trap paid for itself the very first night.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

perfect for catching groundhogs

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely easy to use. I had a groundhog problem and caught two in two days. They love pb&j sandwiches. Felt good about trapping and releasing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

no kill animal trap

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this trap to catch feral cats running around my yard. I'm glad I got the large trap as the cats just fit in. The trap collapses so that it can fold up and be put back in the box and stored. It's a little flimsy but if it was any heavier gauge metal it would be way too heavy.
Easy to set up, easy to use and set. This trap worked very well for what I needed it for and I would recommend it. Just make sure you find the right size for your application. The large trap is just big enough for adult cat sized animals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Falls Church, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caught a raccoon!

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First, beware that some of the negative reviews may be on another Hava Hart model, like one that mentions two doors. There is only one door on this model. I caught a raccoon with it, one of the largest, smartest, strongest and agile urban wild animals. It failed to escape. Used a fruit and nut bar dabbed with peanut butter as bait. If you read and follow the instructions, a rarity among the human species, you shouldn't have a problem with it. But do have a plan for relocating the animal several miles away, because they do roam for miles.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Washington, D.C., DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME PRODUCT!

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is rare and fulfilling to finally purchase a product that actually works as advertised! After setting this trap, it was only a matter of minutes before the neighborhood possum was captured. I am now the neighborhood hero. Thanks Havarty!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design, works as advertised!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from long island

A piece of junk

PostedJune 11, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are going to use this trap to catch a raccoon DO NOT use this trap. It caught him but could not hold him. Bent the flimsy back door and metal holding rod right up like it was nothing. This cage was obviously not designed to hold a raccoon so am going to try to return to get my money back.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DON'T BUY!

PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The trap door doesn't close when the animal is inside. Had a cat eating food placed inside the trap and the latch didn't spring closed. A waste of time putting together. Don't bother.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Berlin, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

OK

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
not real durable, easy to use. Large enough for cats
Pros: good size
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Mantua, N.J.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Deal

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We caught a ground hog, a raccoon, and a squirrel with relative ease. I would recommend this trap to anyone who is in the same situation. These animals were destroying our garden and blueberry bushes.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

the perfect feral cat solution

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I set this trap the first time without any food at all and one of the feral cats in my back yard walked right inside the darned thing. Released him a couple of miles away. Then I baited it with cat food and removed 3 more feral cats. So easy. And much more pleasant, safe and humane than the alternatives I was considering.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not the collapsable verison

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Not as advertised on the web. The collapsible version is Havahart #1088, this is actually Havahart #1079.
Just make sure all the your numbers match up before you purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: web page is not accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

Not for Raccoon

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trapped raccoon twice and it broke out twice. This product is not worth the money you spent. The cage will distort, deform or open up - call it what you want- at the door making it possible for animal to escape.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Powder Springs, GA

Works for cats and small animals

PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this trap to catch raccoons. It is not big enough and did not hold the raccoon, Need a bigger trap. Have used the same trap to catch feral cats and it works great for them.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Gender:Female

Sufficient for Catches of Domestics

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I consider it priced as good. It caught the stray cat I was after. I like the collapse feature for storage. I had no problem with instructions or setup, tho I am experienced due to using city loaner traps. There are locking-pin-like parts that are separate, making the cage useless if lost. If you are after wildlife, I encourage the purchase of a heavy gage, rigid trap.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Sun City Center, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to set up.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trap was easy to set up but so far, I haven't caught the armadillo I'm after. Time will tell.
Pros: Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Texas

Great buy!

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is truly a great buy. It is very easy to set, trap & release. So far we've used it only to catch feral cats and we've been able to catch one each night that we've set it. I would highly recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Sunland, CA

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trap was the ideal size for use to capture feral cats and be able to turn them in to animal control. Easy to set up and easy to collapse and store. A real deal.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Disappointed

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this trap for a feral cat .. the trap worked great, but the rear door did not hold shut and the cat worked it's way out before I could get the trap outside (the cat had gotten inside my house). The U-shaped bar that's supposed to hold the rear door shut is not strong enough. I returned it to the store for a refund. If I ever need another trap, I'll be sure to get one that has only one door (the entrance).
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caught The Possum I Was After

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After buying and assembling this trap, I was concerned that the trigger mechanism didn't allow for much movement of the trip plate in the bottom of the cage. But after some careful bending of the trigger rod and testing, I decided to give it a try. The trap sat in place for almost 2 weeks with no sign of any bait being taken, and the trap door was still in the cocked position. But one morning I saw that the trap door was down, and the possum who'd been ravaging my tomatoes was caught! So for me, this was a worthwhile purchase. There was a minor bend in the trap door when I received it, which I was able to straighten. And as I mentioned, the trigger mechanism required some tweaking to work effectively. But overall, this is a well-made trap that collapses for storage in the shipping carton. I would recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, it works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>