728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap

Remove pesky wildlife from your property with the Havahart Collapsible Medium Animal Cage Trap. This trap offers a nonlethal solution that allows you to capture and release raccoons, feral cats, woodchucks and other animals. The cage is collapsible for easy portability and is made of high-tensile wire to resist damage by animals. The spring-loaded door is easy to set after baiting while the smooth-edged interior helps to protect trapped animals.
Overall rating:
3.844 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Review 1 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Marko
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Trap

PostedOctober 15, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought this trap with the hopes of catching the raccoons that have been using our pool for a toilet! With in five days we caught and relocated three raccoons! The trap performed flawlessly and is very easy to set and bait, the only problem I had was with the instructions as they are not very clear. As hard as the raccoons tried they did not get out and that I am glad of, I did not use the release door in the back as your fingers are way to close to the animal inside. A good tip for bait is the jumbo marshmallows they love those things!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
reminthorn
from Sun City Center, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to set up.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The trap was easy to set up but so far, I haven't caught the armadillo I'm after. Time will tell.
Pros: Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
GroundhogCatcher

perfect for catching groundhogs

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Extremely easy to use. I had a groundhog problem and caught two in two days. They love pb&j sandwiches. Felt good about trapping and releasing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
andy

no kill animal trap

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought this trap to catch feral cats running around my yard. I'm glad I got the large trap as the cats just fit in. The trap collapses so that it can fold up and be put back in the box and stored. It's a little flimsy but if it was any heavier gauge metal it would be way too heavy.
Easy to set up, easy to use and set. This trap worked very well for what I needed it for and I would recommend it. Just make sure you find the right size for your application. The large trap is just big enough for adult cat sized animals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Lamont
from Washington, D.C., DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME PRODUCT!

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is rare and fulfilling to finally purchase a product that actually works as advertised! After setting this trap, it was only a matter of minutes before the neighborhood possum was captured. I am now the neighborhood hero. Thanks Havarty!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design, works as advertised!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
nordon
from long island

A piece of junk

PostedJune 11, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are going to use this trap to catch a raccoon DO NOT use this trap. It caught him but could not hold him. Bent the flimsy back door and metal holding rod right up like it was nothing. This cage was obviously not designed to hold a raccoon so am going to try to return to get my money back.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
WildBill
from Chesapeake, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Caught The Possum I Was After

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After buying and assembling this trap, I was concerned that the trigger mechanism didn't allow for much movement of the trip plate in the bottom of the cage. But after some careful bending of the trigger rod and testing, I decided to give it a try. The trap sat in place for almost 2 weeks with no sign of any bait being taken, and the trap door was still in the cocked position. But one morning I saw that the trap door was down, and the possum who'd been ravaging my tomatoes was caught! So for me, this was a worthwhile purchase. There was a minor bend in the trap door when I received it, which I was able to straighten. And as I mentioned, the trigger mechanism required some tweaking to work effectively. But overall, this is a well-made trap that collapses for storage in the shipping carton. I would recommend it to others.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, it works
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
UncleCoffee

the perfect feral cat solution

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I set this trap the first time without any food at all and one of the feral cats in my back yard walked right inside the darned thing. Released him a couple of miles away. Then I baited it with cat food and removed 3 more feral cats. So easy. And much more pleasant, safe and humane than the alternatives I was considering.
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
franky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very good.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
very useful and good,but price is high.i will ecommend it to friend.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Martin02
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is not the collapsable verison

PostedOctober 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Not as advertised on the web. The collapsible version is Havahart #1088, this is actually Havahart #1079.
Just make sure all the your numbers match up before you purchase.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: web page is not accurate
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Wrangler
Gender:Female

Sufficient for Catches of Domestics

PostedNovember 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I consider it priced as good. It caught the stray cat I was after. I like the collapse feature for storage. I had no problem with instructions or setup, tho I am experienced due to using city loaner traps. There are locking-pin-like parts that are separate, making the cage useless if lost. If you are after wildlife, I encourage the purchase of a heavy gage, rigid trap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
lseay
from On Da Rivah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value and collapsible

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked as advertised and caught a large female groundhog which was relocated safely!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
AuntBren
from Houston, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very Disappointed

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this trap for a feral cat .. the trap worked great, but the rear door did not hold shut and the cat worked it's way out before I could get the trap outside (the cat had gotten inside my house). The U-shaped bar that's supposed to hold the rear door shut is not strong enough. I returned it to the store for a refund. If I ever need another trap, I'll be sure to get one that has only one door (the entrance).
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
cps5755
from Powder Springs, GA

Works for cats and small animals

PostedApril 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this trap to catch raccoons. It is not big enough and did not hold the raccoon, Need a bigger trap. Have used the same trap to catch feral cats and it works great for them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Jaco

Not for Raccoon

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Trapped raccoon twice and it broke out twice. This product is not worth the money you spent. The cage will distort, deform or open up - call it what you want- at the door making it possible for animal to escape.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Carol
from Texas

Great buy!

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is truly a great buy. It is very easy to set, trap & release. So far we've used it only to catch feral cats and we've been able to catch one each night that we've set it. I would highly recommend this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
Mike
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Product after you figure it out.

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recommend better instructions to include possibility of having to straighten out some components after folding and shipping...not a big deal but necessary...and applying some lubrication to the trap catch so it works a bit smoother after the trap has been out for awhile...but the thing works like a champ...3 for 3.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: see notes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
silentbear
from Sunland, CA

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The trap was the ideal size for use to capture feral cats and be able to turn them in to animal control. Easy to set up and easy to collapse and store. A real deal.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
FAR123
from Quincy, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Trap works as intended. Caught the kittens I was after and caught a possom.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered a collapsible trap but the one I received was not collapsible. It was the same cost so decided to keep. The trap works as described. The trap is long so can be difficult to set. May need a stick to push the bait all the way in.
Pros: Durable, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Collapsible Large Animal Cage Trap
james410berry
from Irving, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for trapping Skunks!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had skunks getting under my house. I bought this trap at Home Depot. Baited with a can of tuna and set it 2 nights in a row. I caught a skunk each night so I'm 2 for 2!!
Looks like they tried really hard to get out of the trap from all the dirt they scraped up under the cage but to no avail. Cage is very sturdy for this type of animal.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>