728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

This RIDGID 14 gallon High Performance Wet/Dry Vac is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity and rugged construction in a more compact design than is offered in our largest cart type vacs. The vacuums 14 gallon drum size helps us achieve a more compact overall design but it still provides a big capacity capable of handling large job-site chores. The 6.0 peak HP motor delivers the high performance necessary to handle these chores. Other key features include; a 3-layer fine dust filter captures dry wall dust, accessories are stored on-board, casters provide 360 degree mobility. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, a large drain and you've got a wet/dry vac that achieves the demands of Pros on the job site or in the shop.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(279 reviews) 272
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product244 of 257reviews
Rating Breakdown 279 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(222)
4
(43)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product244 of 257reviews
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 109 Answers
Customer reviews for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Review 1 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Doinitbymyself
from Bancroft, MI 48414, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lifesaver for unexpected flooded basement clean up!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the recent rain, we ended up having our basement flood up to our 1 st stairwell step. We had purchased this shop vac for dry cleaning but were grateful it was a wet/dry as we ended up using it to clean up the water. It did a great job. The hose is of good length, the wheels were a nice addition as the need to move it while full of water was made easier with their additon. Came with a variety of add on tools and two heavy duty handle extension which helped reach all the hard to get to areas much easier. It made the messy and overwhelming job of cleaning up a big amount of water much easier and I was able to do it in a shorter time than expected due to having this larger version I'm sure. I would highly recommend it and am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Miles
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Garbage

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor in mine melted down in a year of very light use, seizing it.
Cons: Build Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Matthew
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best shop vac we've owned

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When put to the test the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac gets the job done. As seen in the picture, even the toughest messiest projects are no problem. We use our shop vac every day cleaning out big rigs and engine bays, wet and dry, and haven’t been let down once. We recommend the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac to any individual who needs a reliable shop vac. It’s easy to clean and replacement parts if necessary are stocked locally. We appreciate Home Depot and RIDGID for supplying us with another tool to get the job done.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
richinva
from VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

What a great vac!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My other shop vac finally gave up the ghost, and on some good referrals from some woodturning forumites, I ordered this vac from HD. It is so much quieter than my previous vac (no earmuffs required!) and has much stronger suction. "Standard" hoses, fittings. Filter removal/replacement for cleaning requires no tools and is ridiculously easy. Lighter and smaller than my previous vac, this one lives under a bench, rolled out once a week or so for filter/tub cleaning. I normally don't do reviews, but this is just too nice a deal to pass up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Procraftsman
from Central North Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best Wet Dry vacuum for the money

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I felt compelled to write a review on this Ridgid Pro Wet/Dry vacuum because I was very surprised about the giant leap of quality you get from this vacuum compared to the black friday special or just one model below it. i have been wood working, metal working and (you might be surprised) use the vacuums on my 18'x36' salt water pool. First, I have owned MANY of these types of vacuums. I put them through their paces. I have owned the Lowe's ShopVac brand, which aren't bad, and the next level down Ridgids, which aren't bad either. Second, for just a $20-$30 price increase, you get about $100 in better equipment. There is a much better accessory holder and they don't go flying all over the place when you are pulling it around. It has a self contained cord holder which most other versions don't have and has a hose holder, which other versions don't have. The power switch is a lot better quality feel and makes a very positive on and off relay. It also comes with a much better filter which makes up for the extra cost of the vacuum right there. I could go on about the benefits of this Ridgid, but great quality, great price, and a lifetime warranty. It really is the way to go. I put a lot into reading reviews to help me in my making decisions on buying new products, so I really hope this helps somebody out to get a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: none...it's not free?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Blake
from Lisbon, NY 13658, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Excellent Features

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is by far the best wet/dry vacuum I have ever owned. It is stable, has great suction and I used the sheet rock dust bags and the interior is as clean as the day I bought it. I also like the long cord and the snap that keeps the hose firmly attached. Money well spent.
Pros: Performs Well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Donny
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

My Review update Company Cares !!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I owned a craftsman 16 gal for over 12-13 years - Bought this to replace it. this needs Improvements.. # 1 the two rear caster base, that acts as a holder for the two long pipes don't snug up tight enough to hold them in place, #2 the rear attachment bag that holds the attachments, loose don't snug up tight into the base unit. #3 the hose does not hold it self on top of the unit. The craftsman had a two sided "C" that held the hose on top of the unit when not in use. What I like so far is that the micro dust filter came with it, they cost 25-29$ alone, also the long power cord it nice. it's a little lighter then the craftsman due to the smaller base 14 gal VS. 16 gal...
UPDATE........ The company sent me an email asking if I will like to try a better acc. holder? I was in shock ! they sent me photos of the product / fedex me the new acc holder... works awesome, Wonderful Customer Service and care about the customer -- that Does Not Happen offten these days !
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, the company cares about the customer !!!
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
LenG

What a great vacuum

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Night and day compared to my old shop vac. Low noise level, wide hose (no clogs), attachments holder on the unit, ... love it.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Rich
from Monterey, CA, USA

A quiet sucker :-)

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started off buying one of the much smaller Rigid wet-vacs, but got tired of emptying it out every few minutes and decided to return it in favor of one with a larger drum. I'm glad I did, because this model is by far the quietest wet-vac I've ever used and needless to say is quite capable in the suction department as well. This bugger is even quieter than our Dyson vacuum for inside the house. Anyway, I love stumbling upon a good product and so far this is certainly that. I've had it for just under a year and used it 5-6 times, so can't say anything about longevity yet.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Jm89
from San antonio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Powerful

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For how powerful this thing is, it's surprisingly quiet. It worked well to clean up some leftover construction debri in my garage and cleaned up the inside of my car. I'm very happy with it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
ItsThatGuy
from NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

It's quieter than my Bissell upright

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always needed one, and after the basement flooded I decided to get this one. I am very happy with my purchase. The price was great and product is solid. Powerful, quiet.. Cheap.
Pros: Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
handyman

Best Shop-Vac in its Class.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It has gone through heavy use for 2 years now without the filters being cleaned as often as they should. The only negative with this vacuum is the length and quality of the hose (for my uses at least). Everything else has been great with this.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
MrDave
from Metro Detroit, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

If it would only last

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 1/2 years after purchase it just stopped. Usage was under 40 hours. Decided to check switch since that is an issue with these. It's good. I can send the power head to Emerson for inspection. If they determine it was a defect, they will send a replacement. In any case, I'm out the shipping cost which is close to half of a new one. If not covered by warranty and I want the bad unit back, I would have to pay that shipping also. I think I can use my money for something better than that.
Cons: Build Quality, warranty useless
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Mistered
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Great product. Recommeded

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum after my last one bit the dust after three years of hard service. This vacuum is very powerful and yet surprisingly quite. I bought the dust bag with it to provide a pre-filter for the main filter. I find that it does not reduce the vacuum suction power and works great. I use this vacuum on the majority of my wood working projects, including a router, band saw and a multiple sanders.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
EngineerBob
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great Vacuum especially for the price

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd Shop Vac. I own a large steel unit that I love but it is too big and too heavy for use in my second story hobby room. I have had this 14 gallon unit for two months and it is great. Plastic parts are rugged and I love the accessory bag because it holds all of the accessories. The 6 HP motor picks up the wood shavings, plaster dust, saw dust and other debrie exceptionally well. I purchased a Hepa filter for this unit but I haven't needed it yet.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
MicCheckOne
from Long Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Powerful suction with minimal noise, as advertised.

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this RIDGID wet/dry vac for small-scale dust collection in my home workshop. What appealed to me was the boastful info card at the store that claimed this model had one of the highest suction levels and lowest noise levels of any wet/dry vac on the shelf. This was important to me because (1) I had been killing my wimpy, household Hoover vacuum by using it (improperly) to suck up dust & debris in the shop, and (2) I live in close proximity to my neighbors and didn't want a wet/dry vac that would sound like I was revving up a jet engine next door.
This model fits the bill nicely. The suction is definitely powerful -- dust and debris start to get sucked in when the nozzle is still six inches away -- and this wet/dry vac runs even quieter than my household vac.
The only downside, in my shop, is the vac's footprint. It's kind of short and squat -- about 20" in diameter; even wider with the accessory bag attached -- and gets in the way quite a bit. Obviously, if I had more space to walk around, this wouldn't be an issue. But in the small shop, it's a bit of an obstacle.
For pure suction power and low noise, though, at this price point, the RIDGID WD1450 can't be beat.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
roscoguy
from Roscommon, MI 48653, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very good vacuum!

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is easily the best & most powerful shop vacuum I've ever owned. I love that it comes with a sturdy top handle, several nozzles & a high-efficiency filter. The on/off switch is large & easy to find and use. Possibly the only thing missing is a standard, narrow crevice nozzle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Lots of Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Lvt53
from Huntington Beach, CA, USA

Works poorly!

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't have enough suction to hold the extension together. Very slow to pick up simple drywall dust.
Cons: Suction, Performance
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Mike
from NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Unit was as expected with no surprises

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is nice to order something that you get what you see in the website. This Unit was delivered on time and quality as expected with no surprises
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
dover
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Greats

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I think for a contractor is a great pick up , since I have great vacuum I expected somewhat of the same suction. nevertheless its a great addition
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Quiet, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>