728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

This RIDGID 14 gallon High Performance Wet/Dry Vac is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity and rugged construction in a more compact design than is offered in our largest cart type vacs. The vacuums 14 gallon drum size helps us achieve a more compact overall design but it still provides a big capacity capable of handling large job-site chores. The 6.0 peak HP motor delivers the high performance necessary to handle these chores. Other key features include; a 3-layer fine dust filter captures dry wall dust, accessories are stored on-board, casters provide 360 degree mobility. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, a large drain and you've got a wet/dry vac that achieves the demands of Pros on the job site or in the shop.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(299 reviews) 292
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product263 of 276reviews
Rating Breakdown 299 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(236)
4
(48)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product263 of 276reviews
Customer questions and answers:
37 Questions | 118 Answers
Customer reviews for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Review 1 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best shop vac we've owned

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When put to the test the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac gets the job done. As seen in the picture, even the toughest messiest projects are no problem. We use our shop vac every day cleaning out big rigs and engine bays, wet and dry, and haven’t been let down once. We recommend the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac to any individual who needs a reliable shop vac. It’s easy to clean and replacement parts if necessary are stocked locally. We appreciate Home Depot and RIDGID for supplying us with another tool to get the job done.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Garbage

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor in mine melted down in a year of very light use, seizing it.
Cons: Build Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Bancroft, MI 48414, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lifesaver for unexpected flooded basement clean up!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the recent rain, we ended up having our basement flood up to our 1 st stairwell step. We had purchased this shop vac for dry cleaning but were grateful it was a wet/dry as we ended up using it to clean up the water. It did a great job. The hose is of good length, the wheels were a nice addition as the need to move it while full of water was made easier with their additon. Came with a variety of add on tools and two heavy duty handle extension which helped reach all the hard to get to areas much easier. It made the messy and overwhelming job of cleaning up a big amount of water much easier and I was able to do it in a shorter time than expected due to having this larger version I'm sure. I would highly recommend it and am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

What a great vac!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My other shop vac finally gave up the ghost, and on some good referrals from some woodturning forumites, I ordered this vac from HD. It is so much quieter than my previous vac (no earmuffs required!) and has much stronger suction. "Standard" hoses, fittings. Filter removal/replacement for cleaning requires no tools and is ridiculously easy. Lighter and smaller than my previous vac, this one lives under a bench, rolled out once a week or so for filter/tub cleaning. I normally don't do reviews, but this is just too nice a deal to pass up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Elkton, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good solid shop vac

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No problem with the product. It works well and should serve its intended purpose adequately.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Age Range:25 to 34

Great Vac

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've had the vac 5 years and it works great! Being able to turn the hose around to blow instead of vacuum is an awesome feature. My model came with the bag to hold accessories which was slightly annoying as I have to take it off every time I empty the vac, but it looks like the updated version fixes that issue. Overall a great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value
Cons: Cord Length
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

Very happy with purchase

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this for $99 and it was worth every penny. Very good suction and easy setup.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

My Review update Company Cares !!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I owned a craftsman 16 gal for over 12-13 years - Bought this to replace it. this needs Improvements.. # 1 the two rear caster base, that acts as a holder for the two long pipes don't snug up tight enough to hold them in place, #2 the rear attachment bag that holds the attachments, loose don't snug up tight into the base unit. #3 the hose does not hold it self on top of the unit. The craftsman had a two sided "C" that held the hose on top of the unit when not in use. What I like so far is that the micro dust filter came with it, they cost 25-29$ alone, also the long power cord it nice. it's a little lighter then the craftsman due to the smaller base 14 gal VS. 16 gal...
UPDATE........ The company sent me an email asking if I will like to try a better acc. holder? I was in shock ! they sent me photos of the product / fedex me the new acc holder... works awesome, Wonderful Customer Service and care about the customer -- that Does Not Happen offten these days !
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, the company cares about the customer !!!
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Central North Carolina
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best Wet Dry vacuum for the money

PostedDecember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I felt compelled to write a review on this Ridgid Pro Wet/Dry vacuum because I was very surprised about the giant leap of quality you get from this vacuum compared to the black friday special or just one model below it. i have been wood working, metal working and (you might be surprised) use the vacuums on my 18'x36' salt water pool. First, I have owned MANY of these types of vacuums. I put them through their paces. I have owned the Lowe's ShopVac brand, which aren't bad, and the next level down Ridgids, which aren't bad either. Second, for just a $20-$30 price increase, you get about $100 in better equipment. There is a much better accessory holder and they don't go flying all over the place when you are pulling it around. It has a self contained cord holder which most other versions don't have and has a hose holder, which other versions don't have. The power switch is a lot better quality feel and makes a very positive on and off relay. It also comes with a much better filter which makes up for the extra cost of the vacuum right there. I could go on about the benefits of this Ridgid, but great quality, great price, and a lifetime warranty. It really is the way to go. I put a lot into reading reviews to help me in my making decisions on buying new products, so I really hope this helps somebody out to get a great product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: none...it's not free?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Monterey, CA, USA

A quiet sucker :-)

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started off buying one of the much smaller Rigid wet-vacs, but got tired of emptying it out every few minutes and decided to return it in favor of one with a larger drum. I'm glad I did, because this model is by far the quietest wet-vac I've ever used and needless to say is quite capable in the suction department as well. This bugger is even quieter than our Dyson vacuum for inside the house. Anyway, I love stumbling upon a good product and so far this is certainly that. I've had it for just under a year and used it 5-6 times, so can't say anything about longevity yet.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Bandon, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Solid product

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid unit with nice attachments. Quality product.
Pros: Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Inglewood, CA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

Lifetime warranty

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was an excellent deal for a great product and good customer services for warranty. Thanks.
Pros: Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

Best Shop-Vac in its Class.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It has gone through heavy use for 2 years now without the filters being cleaned as often as they should. The only negative with this vacuum is the length and quality of the hose (for my uses at least). Everything else has been great with this.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Strong vac

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vac is great. Its extremely strong and with the ridgid warranty its even better.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Metro Detroit, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

If it would only last

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 1/2 years after purchase it just stopped. Usage was under 40 hours. Decided to check switch since that is an issue with these. It's good. I can send the power head to Emerson for inspection. If they determine it was a defect, they will send a replacement. In any case, I'm out the shipping cost which is close to half of a new one. If not covered by warranty and I want the bad unit back, I would have to pay that shipping also. I think I can use my money for something better than that.
Cons: Build Quality, warranty useless
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Lisbon, NY 13658, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Excellent Features

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is by far the best wet/dry vacuum I have ever owned. It is stable, has great suction and I used the sheet rock dust bags and the interior is as clean as the day I bought it. I also like the long cord and the snap that keeps the hose firmly attached. Money well spent.
Pros: Performs Well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

motor smoked after only a month of light use

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We bought this vacuum to clean up during our remodel. We used it on and off for just over a month--nothing crazy. The other day the motor began smoking during use, and small bits of black plastic (guessing from the motor somewhere) came out of the machine. Smelled pretty terrible, so we took it back to Home Depot. We liked the features of the vacuum, so just got another of the same model. Fingers crossed that it was just a lemon, as we'd like to be able to keep this one.
Cons: Build Quality, Performance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Fairfield, OH 45014, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Excellent Product!

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a ton of research and found that this product is supposed to be great so I purchased it. I did some floor grinding in my basement and this thing sucks up the chunks of concrete with no problem.
I decided to wet the floor and scrub it to get any fine particles off the ground and this product did a great job sucking up the water with the squeegee attachment.
The extension wands sometimes pull apart if the suction grips the floor.
Overall this product didn't disappoint and i'm confident this will suit my needs in future projects.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac

What a great vacuum

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Night and day compared to my old shop vac. Low noise level, wide hose (no clogs), attachments holder on the unit, ... love it.
Pros: Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Lots of Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac
from Branchport, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome vac

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only have used it for 3 days HOWEVER..I live in the recent flooded area of the FINGER Lakes in Upstate NY. Had to remove 2" of water from basement 3 times. Started using my old c-man 2hp I had for 15 yrs when I decieded to check online for more powerful unit with larger capacity. Came upon the Rigid Pro WD1450 and purchased it from Home Depot. Powerful suction, much quieter than my old unit, Easier to navigate the obstacles in the cellar .Easily have removed over 500 gals of water from the cellar. I am totally pleased at this point with the unit. Read where others have had problems with motor. Even Cadilac's produce lemons at times.. Hope this is not one. But for now, I am very pleased with the unit and would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>