728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

This RIDGID 14-gal. High Performance Wet/Dry Vacuum is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity and rugged construction in a more compact design than is offered in our largest cart type vacs. The vacuums 14-gal. drum size helps us achieve a more compact overall design but it still provides a big capacity capable of handling large job-site chores. The 6.0 peak HP motor delivers the high performance necessary to handle these chores. Other key features include; a 3-layer fine dust filter captures dry wall dust, accessories are stored on-board, casters provide 360 degree mobility. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, a large drain and you've got a wet/dry vac that achieves the demands of Pros on the job site or in the shop.
Overall rating:
4.712 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(619 reviews) 612
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product575 of 596reviews
Rating Breakdown 619 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(494)
4
(100)
3
(7)
2
(8)
1
(10)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product575 of 596reviews
Customer questions and answers:
51 Questions | 163 Answers
Customer reviews for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Bancroft, MI 48414, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lifesaver for unexpected flooded basement clean up!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With the recent rain, we ended up having our basement flood up to our 1 st stairwell step. We had purchased this shop vac for dry cleaning but were grateful it was a wet/dry as we ended up using it to clean up the water. It did a great job. The hose is of good length, the wheels were a nice addition as the need to move it while full of water was made easier with their additon. Came with a variety of add on tools and two heavy duty handle extension which helped reach all the hard to get to areas much easier. It made the messy and overwhelming job of cleaning up a big amount of water much easier and I was able to do it in a shorter time than expected due to having this larger version I'm sure. I would highly recommend it and am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Garbage

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor in mine melted down in a year of very light use, seizing it.
Cons: Build Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

What a great vac!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My other shop vac finally gave up the ghost, and on some good referrals from some woodturning forumites, I ordered this vac from HD. It is so much quieter than my previous vac (no earmuffs required!) and has much stronger suction. "Standard" hoses, fittings. Filter removal/replacement for cleaning requires no tools and is ridiculously easy. Lighter and smaller than my previous vac, this one lives under a bench, rolled out once a week or so for filter/tub cleaning. I normally don't do reviews, but this is just too nice a deal to pass up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Vine Grove, KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Yearly

Nice power, but bulky

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Really great suction power, but the unit is big. The big, short hose and electrical cord make it hard to maneuver. Does a good job vacuuming but the limited attachments it came with restrict its usefulness.
Pro model was the only 14-gallon Rigid available when I purchased the vacuum, and it did not come with the auto detailing kit, which is now available in the 14 -gallon 6-peak for the same price I paid. Not having the auto detailing kit is a big deal.
Still using my old Sears Kleanmore I bought in 1985 to clean my vehicles and my garage. It has a much longer cord, and the smaller hose is easier to maneuver. Will probably keep the Rigid to use in case I need a wet vacuum.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction
Cons: Cord Length, Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Warranty

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by the lifetime warranty, after 95 days I could not return to Home Depot for replacement - so tried the "Full Lifetime Warranty" offered by Ridgid. At my cost ($35) sent back the "Head", phone call back said wasn't covered. So this is junked after spending $99 + $35 in only 95 days usage.
Will not make same mistake twice!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Marlboro, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent Vac !!!

PostedJuly 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the best items I have ever purchased. Have it for a few months now and no complaints or issues so far. The suction is so strong that I may be getting worms from the ground. Fortunately, I got it with a car kit, which was included for the same price. See if you Store has any of them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

excellent product

PostedJuly 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this 6hp/14 gallon shop vac approximately two years ago to vacuum my two vehicles. It's always performed flawlessly. So far I used it to vacuum several hundreds of water due to a broken water pipe in the kitchen, mud, concrete chips and everything else that could be vacuumed around my house. I did not like the original black hose that came with the vacuum so I upgraded to a better quality orange hose. Ridgid offers 3 different replacement filters, $16, $22 and $29, I use the $16 filter but I replace it twice a year. Don't forget to remove the filter if you are vacuuming water. There is a reason why 99% of car detail shops use Ridgid, yes they are that good.
The reason why I'm giving this vacuum 4/5 in quality is due to a low quality black hose.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best shop vac we've owned

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When put to the test the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac gets the job done. As seen in the picture, even the toughest messiest projects are no problem. We use our shop vac every day cleaning out big rigs and engine bays, wet and dry, and haven’t been let down once. We recommend the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac to any individual who needs a reliable shop vac. It’s easy to clean and replacement parts if necessary are stocked locally. We appreciate Home Depot and RIDGID for supplying us with another tool to get the job done.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

ShopVAC

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Its very quite for how strong it is and I like how many different tools there are for this model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Monterey, CA, USA

A quiet sucker :-)

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started off buying one of the much smaller Rigid wet-vacs, but got tired of emptying it out every few minutes and decided to return it in favor of one with a larger drum. I'm glad I did, because this model is by far the quietest wet-vac I've ever used and needless to say is quite capable in the suction department as well. This bugger is even quieter than our Dyson vacuum for inside the house. Anyway, I love stumbling upon a good product and so far this is certainly that. I've had it for just under a year and used it 5-6 times, so can't say anything about longevity yet.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

My Review update Company Cares !!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I owned a craftsman 16 gal for over 12-13 years - Bought this to replace it. this needs Improvements.. # 1 the two rear caster base, that acts as a holder for the two long pipes don't snug up tight enough to hold them in place, #2 the rear attachment bag that holds the attachments, loose don't snug up tight into the base unit. #3 the hose does not hold it self on top of the unit. The craftsman had a two sided "C" that held the hose on top of the unit when not in use. What I like so far is that the micro dust filter came with it, they cost 25-29$ alone, also the long power cord it nice. it's a little lighter then the craftsman due to the smaller base 14 gal VS. 16 gal...
UPDATE........ The company sent me an email asking if I will like to try a better acc. holder? I was in shock ! they sent me photos of the product / fedex me the new acc holder... works awesome, Wonderful Customer Service and care about the customer -- that Does Not Happen offten these days !
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, the company cares about the customer !!!
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Awesome

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble, powerful suction, not too bulky. Just perfect!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Middlebury,vermont
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent for the money !

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The reviews were correct. For a $99. Shop Vac, this is a Great value.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Strong Suction
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rigid Wet/Dry Vac

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I picked up the Rigid Wet/Dry Vac from the 87th Street store in Chicago, due to an emergency at home. Once I brought it home, we were able to use it right away, clean up the mess, and would recommend this product to anyone who is a DIY-er.
Plus, in my experience, a product from Home Depot is always worth the money . . . . and I have further found that the personnel at Home Depot (including Four Seasons Heating & Cooling) are very efficient and helpful. (I had a furnace installed earlier this year),
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Central PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good quality

PostedJune 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was impressed the way this went together. The feet where the casters are installed are screwed to the tank. Others that I've had feet that would fall off. Also there is a place to secure the hose a real plus. I have not used this very much but it has good suction. Long cord, seems heavier than others.
Pros: Strong Suction, Great Value, Nice Design
Cons: filter should have nut.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Best Shop-Vac in its Class.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It has gone through heavy use for 2 years now without the filters being cleaned as often as they should. The only negative with this vacuum is the length and quality of the hose (for my uses at least). Everything else has been great with this.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Metro Detroit, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

If it would only last

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
2 1/2 years after purchase it just stopped. Usage was under 40 hours. Decided to check switch since that is an issue with these. It's good. I can send the power head to Emerson for inspection. If they determine it was a defect, they will send a replacement. In any case, I'm out the shipping cost which is close to half of a new one. If not covered by warranty and I want the bad unit back, I would have to pay that shipping also. I think I can use my money for something better than that.
Cons: Build Quality, warranty useless
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Lakewood, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Strong vacuum

PostedJune 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this vacuum for the power of the motor. I needed to pick up standing water in a flooded basement. Although I needed to empty it several times, I was glad I did not purchase a larger capacity vacuum (too heavy to pick up once the container was full). My vacuum was used several times a day for a week; no problems or lack of performance.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Napa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Worth the money

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
straight forward easy to use. I would recommend this to anyone
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Used twice

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used the vacuum twice. On the second job, I noticed a loss of suction. I checked the hose for obstructions, cleaned the filter, and still had little suction. I opened up the housing to discover that a piece of foam strip inside the impeller housing, held in place only by tape, had come loose, and was blocking the exhaust outlet. I have not been able to get the foam to stay in place since, and have not been able to restore the suction.
Cons: Suction, Build Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 19 >>