728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

This RIDGID 14-gal. High Performance Wet/Dry Vacuum is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity and rugged construction in a more compact design than is offered in our largest cart type vacs. The vacuums 14-gal. drum size helps us achieve a more compact overall design but it still provides a big capacity capable of handling large job-site chores. The 6.0 peak HP motor delivers the high performance necessary to handle these chores. Other key features include; a 3-layer fine dust filter captures dry wall dust, accessories are stored on-board, casters provide 360 degree mobility. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, a large drain and you've got a wet/dry vac that achieves the demands of Pros on the job site or in the shop.
Overall rating:
4.722 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(539 reviews) 532
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product497 of 516reviews
Rating Breakdown 539 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(436)
4
(81)
3
(6)
2
(7)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product497 of 516reviews
Customer questions and answers:
47 Questions | 147 Answers
Customer reviews for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Bancroft, MI 48414, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lifesaver for unexpected flooded basement clean up!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
With the recent rain, we ended up having our basement flood up to our 1 st stairwell step. We had purchased this shop vac for dry cleaning but were grateful it was a wet/dry as we ended up using it to clean up the water. It did a great job. The hose is of good length, the wheels were a nice addition as the need to move it while full of water was made easier with their additon. Came with a variety of add on tools and two heavy duty handle extension which helped reach all the hard to get to areas much easier. It made the messy and overwhelming job of cleaning up a big amount of water much easier and I was able to do it in a shorter time than expected due to having this larger version I'm sure. I would highly recommend it and am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Garbage

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor in mine melted down in a year of very light use, seizing it.
Cons: Build Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

What a great vac!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My other shop vac finally gave up the ghost, and on some good referrals from some woodturning forumites, I ordered this vac from HD. It is so much quieter than my previous vac (no earmuffs required!) and has much stronger suction. "Standard" hoses, fittings. Filter removal/replacement for cleaning requires no tools and is ridiculously easy. Lighter and smaller than my previous vac, this one lives under a bench, rolled out once a week or so for filter/tub cleaning. I normally don't do reviews, but this is just too nice a deal to pass up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Warranty

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by the lifetime warranty, after 95 days I could not return to Home Depot for replacement - so tried the "Full Lifetime Warranty" offered by Ridgid. At my cost ($35) sent back the "Head", phone call back said wasn't covered. So this is junked after spending $99 + $35 in only 95 days usage.
Will not make same mistake twice!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best shop vac we've owned

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When put to the test the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac gets the job done. As seen in the picture, even the toughest messiest projects are no problem. We use our shop vac every day cleaning out big rigs and engine bays, wet and dry, and haven’t been let down once. We recommend the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac to any individual who needs a reliable shop vac. It’s easy to clean and replacement parts if necessary are stocked locally. We appreciate Home Depot and RIDGID for supplying us with another tool to get the job done.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Very good shop vac

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I now own 2 of these. Very powerful, and not a lot of noise. My only complaint is the filter is not easy to change. With the cost of these, I have just attached one to chop saw, and other to table saw versus a dust collection system.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Empty Filter
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Portland, OR
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

Great, But Terrible Wheels

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this to replace a tiny 5-gallon, 2hp shop-vac. Our backyard had flooded, and was leaking into our basement. Long story short, we needed something with wet-capabilities, and emptying our 5-gallon over and over was absurd. So we bought this. Great power, great volume, and so far, great features. The only thing that really needs some work are the wheels. When the tank is full of water, the wheels get stuck on anything larger than a small pebble. Image pushing 14 gallons of water (8 pounds per gallon, 112 pounds) to have a wheel catch. Goodbye back, and goodbye vacuum. Fortunately, they are a pretty standard type of wheel, so I will be replacing them as soon as I can walk again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features
Cons: wheels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Best shop vac I have owned

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Previously I owned a 16 gal Shop Vac brand wet/dry vacuum, this Ridgid vac will run circles around it. I have owned this vac for about 6 months now and have used it to clean up remodeling dust and debris, as well as concrete and drywall dust. Also, I used this vac hooked up to the dust port on my grinder during resurfacing concrete walls, which creates a high level of dust without using a vac this vac captured 99% of the dust produced. Recently I used it to pull water out of my in laws basement carpet when it flooded. My father in law was impressed by the suction this vac has.
The only negative that I have noticed is that the switch needs to be sealed to prevent small pebbles/debris from getting under the switch to prevent it from turning on/off correctly. I have had this to occur a several times and have to use a air compressor to remove the debris.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
Cons: no sealed switch
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

This Shop Vac is AWESOME!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been doing construction on and off for years through a family business and I have used a variety of different vacs and this by far is the best one I used. It is priced right and has a ton of suction. I needed it to clean up long pine needles off my carpet after the holiday and it did the trick. I was worried about needles getting stuck in the tube but I was able to put the hose on the other end and blow them out onto the grass. Highly recommend this product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Willow Grove pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

blows dust right thru bag and clogs filter don't buy

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this vac because fine homebuilding magazine picked as one of their best buys. But di they use it very long to know that after normal use that it blows the dust right thru the best bag you can buy. As a result the high quality filter gets clogged. This never happend to my SHOP VAC that I had for 16 yrs. Who cares about that much suction if you have to clean the filter and inside of the vac after every use. I would never buy this again. STAY AWAY!
Pros: Quiet, Lots of Features
Cons: Dust Chamber, blows air right thru bag, clogs filter after short use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Monterey, CA, USA

A quiet sucker :-)

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I started off buying one of the much smaller Rigid wet-vacs, but got tired of emptying it out every few minutes and decided to return it in favor of one with a larger drum. I'm glad I did, because this model is by far the quietest wet-vac I've ever used and needless to say is quite capable in the suction department as well. This bugger is even quieter than our Dyson vacuum for inside the house. Anyway, I love stumbling upon a good product and so far this is certainly that. I've had it for just under a year and used it 5-6 times, so can't say anything about longevity yet.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Chattanooga, Tn 37421
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

works great & quiet

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this vac to replace a craftsman, what a difference it has made. Plenty of power & so quiet, I don't have to wear ear plugs. I would totally recommend this vac for anyone wanting value & quality.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from San Diego
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Love Shop Vac

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Use it to clean patio and love it....gets up the dust and leaves without bothering my allergies. Lightweight enough so I can pull it around. It's a staple in my garage and yard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Great job and home vac

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great vac, 14 gal makes all the difference over smaller sizes, and larger filter. Will buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

My Review update Company Cares !!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I owned a craftsman 16 gal for over 12-13 years - Bought this to replace it. this needs Improvements.. # 1 the two rear caster base, that acts as a holder for the two long pipes don't snug up tight enough to hold them in place, #2 the rear attachment bag that holds the attachments, loose don't snug up tight into the base unit. #3 the hose does not hold it self on top of the unit. The craftsman had a two sided "C" that held the hose on top of the unit when not in use. What I like so far is that the micro dust filter came with it, they cost 25-29$ alone, also the long power cord it nice. it's a little lighter then the craftsman due to the smaller base 14 gal VS. 16 gal...
UPDATE........ The company sent me an email asking if I will like to try a better acc. holder? I was in shock ! they sent me photos of the product / fedex me the new acc holder... works awesome, Wonderful Customer Service and care about the customer -- that Does Not Happen offten these days !
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, the company cares about the customer !!!
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Great Falls MT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Vacuum

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very good suction and durable. I didn't think my first one would ever wear out !!!!
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Roseville, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent Value - You really do get what you pay for!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We bought this one to replace a Black Friday special wet/dry vacuum that never really performed well. This one is a high quality work horse! It has everything you would need, plus some nice surprises, like a cord that's much longer than the standard, and a hose that looks like you could run it over and it wouldn't kink. Plus you can't beat the warranty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Lots of Features, Nice Design, excellent hose
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Great upgrade!

PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love how quiet it is compared to my retired Craftman vacuum. Used it with my Dewalt miter saw, portable table saw and circular saw, almost no sawdust!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Must have for home improvement.

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This vacuum is better than advertised. It is able to handle all of your home project clean ups with relative ease. The filtering system prevents even the finest dust from escaping into the air. This is a purchase that will leave you wondering how you did without.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Iowa
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Best Shop Vac I have used

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This wet/dry vac is an excellent value for the size and power. It's not too big, not too small and powerful suction.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>