728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

This RIDGID 14-gal. High Performance Wet/Dry Vacuum is designed to deliver the powerful suction, large capacity and rugged construction in a more compact design than is offered in our largest cart type vacs. The vacuums 14-gal. drum size helps us achieve a more compact overall design but it still provides a big capacity capable of handling large job-site chores. The 6.0 peak HP motor delivers the high performance necessary to handle these chores. Other key features include; a 3-layer fine dust filter captures dry wall dust, accessories are stored on-board, casters provide 360 degree mobility. Add a top handle with a cord wrap, heavy duty 2-piece drum construction, a large drain and you've got a wet/dry vac that achieves the demands of Pros on the job site or in the shop.
Overall rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(440 reviews) 433
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product399 of 417reviews
Rating Breakdown 440 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(354)
4
(65)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product399 of 417reviews
Customer questions and answers:
44 Questions | 135 Answers
Customer reviews for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
Review 1 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Bancroft, MI 48414, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lifesaver for unexpected flooded basement clean up!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
With the recent rain, we ended up having our basement flood up to our 1 st stairwell step. We had purchased this shop vac for dry cleaning but were grateful it was a wet/dry as we ended up using it to clean up the water. It did a great job. The hose is of good length, the wheels were a nice addition as the need to move it while full of water was made easier with their additon. Came with a variety of add on tools and two heavy duty handle extension which helped reach all the hard to get to areas much easier. It made the messy and overwhelming job of cleaning up a big amount of water much easier and I was able to do it in a shorter time than expected due to having this larger version I'm sure. I would highly recommend it and am very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Garbage

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The motor in mine melted down in a year of very light use, seizing it.
Cons: Build Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from VA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Daily

What a great vac!!

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My other shop vac finally gave up the ghost, and on some good referrals from some woodturning forumites, I ordered this vac from HD. It is so much quieter than my previous vac (no earmuffs required!) and has much stronger suction. "Standard" hoses, fittings. Filter removal/replacement for cleaning requires no tools and is ridiculously easy. Lighter and smaller than my previous vac, this one lives under a bench, rolled out once a week or so for filter/tub cleaning. I normally don't do reviews, but this is just too nice a deal to pass up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Best shop vac we've owned

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When put to the test the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac gets the job done. As seen in the picture, even the toughest messiest projects are no problem. We use our shop vac every day cleaning out big rigs and engine bays, wet and dry, and haven’t been let down once. We recommend the RIDGID14-Gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vac to any individual who needs a reliable shop vac. It’s easy to clean and replacement parts if necessary are stocked locally. We appreciate Home Depot and RIDGID for supplying us with another tool to get the job done.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Lots of Features, Self-Propelled, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Denver, CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Weekly

Warranty

PostedDecember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't be fooled by the lifetime warranty, after 95 days I could not return to Home Depot for replacement - so tried the "Full Lifetime Warranty" offered by Ridgid. At my cost ($35) sent back the "Head", phone call back said wasn't covered. So this is junked after spending $99 + $35 in only 95 days usage.
Will not make same mistake twice!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rugged and powerful wet/dry Vac

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this unit. Well built and sturdy. Contains multiple attachments (but consider an extension hose) that cover the gamut of things you need for a work Vac like this. Unit rolls easily and the wheel base is wide enough to preclude tipping over unless jerked overly hard when "leading" the unit around the area. Very powerful suction that works equally well for liquid and/or dry pick up.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Sturdy, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Miami, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Good product at a good price

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product so far (only owned it for two or three weeks). Easy to assemble and to clean. Big, yet not too heavy, and it rolls smoothly. The filter that comes with it is very good and does a great job (I vacuumed very fine concrete powder, among other things). I have not yet used the "wet" attachment (the one with the squeegee), but one of the little teeth holding the rubber in place is already broken and the contraption came loose. I was able to reassemble it but I am not sure it will hold... Other than this I am satisfied with the purchase, and it helps me keep the construction site (bathroom remodel) clean.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Easy to Empty Filter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Wet vac

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome vac strong suction including water highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from lake ozark mo
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

best shop vac ever

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we are building and being a little OCD feel the need to clean up after the contractor weekly, this vac is fantastic for this .
I can not find any fault in it. would tell anyone to purchase.
Not so great cleaning up after the contractor, but then I did not get him at the Depot
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Noisy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Great vac

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This vac is a lot quieter than the smaller one it replaced. Attachments and hose store right on it and the long cord is very helpful. So far, great unit.
Pros: Performs Well, Strong Suction
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Great Value !Awesome product!

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my small shop. It has great suction .it's easy to move around. I really like it .
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Strong Suction, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Colorado Springs, CO

Bulky but Powerful

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sturdy and powerful shop vac. It is a little bulkier than I expected but overall it is a great machine
Cons: Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Am very happy with my purchase.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this product to use in my garage / very happy
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Great Value, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Willow Grove pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

blows dust right thru bag and clogs filter don't buy

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this vac because fine homebuilding magazine picked as one of their best buys. But di they use it very long to know that after normal use that it blows the dust right thru the best bag you can buy. As a result the high quality filter gets clogged. This never happend to my SHOP VAC that I had for 16 yrs. Who cares about that much suction if you have to clean the filter and inside of the vac after every use. I would never buy this again. STAY AWAY!
Pros: Quiet, Lots of Features
Cons: Dust Chamber, blows air right thru bag, clogs filter after short use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Monterey, CA, USA

A quiet sucker :-)

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started off buying one of the much smaller Rigid wet-vacs, but got tired of emptying it out every few minutes and decided to return it in favor of one with a larger drum. I'm glad I did, because this model is by far the quietest wet-vac I've ever used and needless to say is quite capable in the suction department as well. This bugger is even quieter than our Dyson vacuum for inside the house. Anyway, I love stumbling upon a good product and so far this is certainly that. I've had it for just under a year and used it 5-6 times, so can't say anything about longevity yet.
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

My Review update Company Cares !!!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I owned a craftsman 16 gal for over 12-13 years - Bought this to replace it. this needs Improvements.. # 1 the two rear caster base, that acts as a holder for the two long pipes don't snug up tight enough to hold them in place, #2 the rear attachment bag that holds the attachments, loose don't snug up tight into the base unit. #3 the hose does not hold it self on top of the unit. The craftsman had a two sided "C" that held the hose on top of the unit when not in use. What I like so far is that the micro dust filter came with it, they cost 25-29$ alone, also the long power cord it nice. it's a little lighter then the craftsman due to the smaller base 14 gal VS. 16 gal...
UPDATE........ The company sent me an email asking if I will like to try a better acc. holder? I was in shock ! they sent me photos of the product / fedex me the new acc holder... works awesome, Wonderful Customer Service and care about the customer -- that Does Not Happen offten these days !
Pros: Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design, the company cares about the customer !!!
+46points
48out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Kentucky
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

They do not get any better then this.

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this about 3 years but never really used it a lot. The performance of this machine was excellent, and it is lightweight and I like the bigger hose (doesn't clog as easy as smaller ones). When I started using it the other day, it just stopped working, like someone turned the switch off..no smell, nothing, just stopped. Since I has it for awhile I figured I might have to buy a new one. But then I thought I would check their website just to see what the warranty was. To my surprise, it has a lifetime warranty. I called the up and they said, no problem, just send us a few pictures of it and about a week later, I received a complete new unit. I was expecting just the power head, but I received the entire vacuum. Customer support does not get any better then this! Service like this will put ridgid at the top of my list for my next power tool purchase. Thanks RIDGID!!
Eric
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Looks Great, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Strong Suction, Good Size & Lightweight, excellent customer support!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect!

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quiet, very strong suction, a great buy for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum

Best Shop-Vac in its Class.

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It has gone through heavy use for 2 years now without the filters being cleaned as often as they should. The only negative with this vacuum is the length and quality of the hose (for my uses at least). Everything else has been great with this.
Pros: Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Strong Suction, Nice Design
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14-gal. Professional Wet/Dry Vacuum
from Boston, MA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Definitely sucks and blows!

PostedNovember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't understand why anyone would get any other type of vacuum. This thing can out suck and blow away any $500 Dyson that I've seen. It can handle anything you throw its way, wet or dry. Plus, it'll outlast any other vacuum by at least a decade. It's surprisingly quiet as well. I can talk on the phone while vacuuming with no problem. The car cleaning kit is a great add on as well. My only regret is not getting a slightly smaller one. This thing is kind of big if you have a tight apartment.
Pros: Cleans Edges/Corners Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Quiet, Strong Suction, Great Value, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>