728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin

Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin

The contemporary styled Swanstone Contour 49 in. Solid Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin has a spacious surface and sweeping bowl design and is a simple solution to giving your bathroom decor a fresh and updated look. Durably made for long-lasting enjoyment with solid surface material that is not easily discolored or harmed by curling irons, makeup, acetone or hair dye, this vanity top is easy to clean and maintain and features multiple drill points so you can choose a faucet style that best fits your design parameters. The included backsplash help prevent water damage to your wall and vanity back and with the built-in overflow, water stays inside the basin.
Overall rating:
4.071 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product10 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
Review 1 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A Bit Marginal

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First, the photo needs to be changed. Because based on that, I believed the rear back splash was NOT integrated into the unit--not the case. A bit expensive also considering how minimal the construction is and it's gloss level is akin to that of flat paint. Finally there's nothing stone-like in the appearance. Even so--may work for some people. I agree with the poster who said be sure to look it over for appearance before bringing it home.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSMarch 16, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer,
Thank you for the feedback regarding your Swan Contour Vanity Top. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your recent purchase. Swan Contour vanity tops are made of high-performance Swanstone, which is durable, easy to clean and is five times stronger than other solid surfaces on the market. This product is also back by our limited lifetime warranty. We understand that individuals have unique preferences in home decor and that is why we do recommend viewing a sample in-person so that you can visually inspect and touch the material to ensure it meets your expectations prior to purchase.
Review 2 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Aurora, CO

Contour Single Bowl Vanity

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home was built in 1994, and we're in the process of renovating room-by-room. We had our contractor install the Contour single bowl vanity in white for our hall bath. Unlike the standard bowl design, this item is bold and trendy. Everyone loves it and so far, it's easy to maintain.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Rochester NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Modern but non-traditional, not for every taste

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As noted by other reviewers, the surface is very matte, not glossy at all like porcelain or cultured stone. It's very attractive and modern, and the square sink is not something I could find in a more traditional material, but it may take getting used to. I recommend ordering to the store and opening the box there to see what it is like in person before accepting delivery.
Although the trade name is Swan"Stone", this is basically plastic. When cutting, it smells like hot PVC. The advantages are that it is light, and since it is a solid material, even deep scratches should be able to be polished out. It is very easy to position in place. Requires a 1-1/4 inch hole saw to cut the holes for either a 4 or 8 inch faucet, but it cuts easy. You will need to use silicone caulk to attach it to a base cabinet, as other caulks won't stick to the plastic. And there is very little pitch to the sink bottom, so be sure the base cabinet is level front to back, so the sink drains properly.
I've had this installed for 2 weeks and I like it, although the matte finish still does take getting used to. Cleans up easily with Barkeeper's Friend.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Modern, Easy to Clean
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great design but dull

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm a fan of the design, but the material is really dull. Even a matte finish would have more shine than this. Otherwise, I like the product.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin

Like the design, dont like the material

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the design was exactly what we wanted. unfortunately, when the sink arrived, we found the finish (material) to be dull and chaulky like. the product does NOT have a gloss finish and shows marks immediately from dirty smudge or greasy hand. We were up against the wall on a timeline with the plumber, so we installed. I figure we can always change it later. I even tried to apply some mcquires car wax to see if i could pull-out some shine... no luck.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Arlington Heights, IL

many questions

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Looks nice, easy maintenance; once the right top arrived.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Manassas, VA

Beautiful - but first one was broken

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The 49" marble counter top looks great and was easy to install. Note that it comes with a back splach guard but the side splash guard is solod separately. We found the first one we purchased at the store was broken when we got home. Return was no problem -- except it weighs a LOT. Check before you leave the store.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin

Clean contemporary design/easy to install

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Has a matte finish which I like - it doesn't pretend to be a piece of marble.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful and decorative

PostedAugust 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love the matte finish and the swoosh into the bowl. It added not only a functional item for our master bath, we installed 2 vanity tops, but also added a decorative item. These were just installed which was easy as drop it in, level, then add the sealant. The instructions claim that these are mostly indestructible but we shall see.
Pros: Sleek, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Gorgeous

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an elegant and very attractive countertop. Really did a great job of updating the look of our lavatory. I would highly recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin

LOVE IT!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this vanity! It looks so modern and is very easy to clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

imperfect finish

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The surface is porous, more of a matte finish which makes it hold onto spills and suck.
Pros: Looks Great, Modern, Good Use of Space
Cons: Quality, Maintenance
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin

It's OK.

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the design, but the material isn't so good. Not shiny at all.
If you drop some cosmetic material such a like cheek, lip stick. I think never clean it... I just brought this. well see....
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Contour 49 in. Solid-Surface Vanity Top in White with White Basin
from South Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great. We will see how it holds up.

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to install. Clean lines. Makes the bathroom really modern.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.