728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

This ECHO 17 in. 22.8 cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer features the high-output Power Boost Tornado engine. It includes a heavy-duty air filtration system, padded edging-style left handle, a debris shield with cut-off knife, vibration reducing hand grips, die-cast fan cover and engine vibration reduction shocks. It also comes with safety glasses, the operator's manual and engine oil.
Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product39 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Features 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product39 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
drummer5359
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bullet proof for 13 seasons

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this model at the begining of the 2000 mowing season. I have used it weekly on multiple properties ever since. I replaced the head early the first season with an Echo rapid loader head, as I prefer the ease of using cut line to bump and go heads. I've changed the spark plug and filters once in 13 years and it has been trouble-free the whole time. A friend of mine who is out of work needed a new line trimmer, I gave him mine and bought a new one of the same model. I have friends who have bought (and fought with) three or four cheaper line trimmers in the same time. They ended up spending much more in the long run.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
David
from La Vernia, TX 78121, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop reviewing, and go buy it!!!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are anything like me, you spend a lot of time researching and reviewing products prior to buying. Well, I'll save you some time... Stop it and go buy this trimmer. After fighting with my 1 acre of grass with my previous trimmer, I had to look into another trimmer to save my back and my time. I had a 28cc prior, and I have to say that this 22.8cc trimmer out performs the larger one that I had by far. Right out of the box, this thing started with three pulls, and took down huge weeds with out a problem. The speed feed head also saves a lot of time in line replacement. So, stop looking at reviews and go out and buy this awesome Echo trimmer. You will not regret it..
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Jwyatt
from Humble, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great weed eater for the price.....

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Im from Houston, Tx and the Saint Augustine grass grows at a rapid pace and need cutting every week during the summer time. I been using this weed eater since 2010 and works like brand new! the power is just unbelievable. I had previous weed eaters in the past ( toro, craftsman , weed eater) and just don't compare to the echo arm-230. If u are reading this, go buy it.. u won't regret it!! The pros recommend this product for commercial use...it has to be a good weed trimmer!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Steve2397
from Rural Kentucky

Great Pruduct

PostedMay 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for another string trimmer (not echo brand) I have had some experience with Echo before.
I live on a farm so I need a pretty good string trimmer. Out of the box this thing ran beautifully, the first day I cleaned about 200 ft of fence row, just to try out it, worked great!
My biggest concern purchasing this product was the string diameter, .095, I don't know what the deal is but the string lasts longer in this than my old trimmer that used .105 string! Maybe it is the RPM because it does turn considerably faster.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to purchase a larger string trimmer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Jimbo
from Wakefield, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY nice tool !!!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have only used this unit for a few hours, but really prefer it over my Stihl FS90R. About the same weight (a litttle heavy) , but can run this at a much slower RPM for light cuts, yet rips when needed. God-bless true 2-Strokes, Trigger is much more sensitive/easier to regulate. VERY happy with it.
Only have a few yards to do, but makes them much easier, by far. You will be pleased. I sure am. No complaints.
Get it. Worth the money.
Tried the $95 Homelight straight-shaft as a back-up for one week. Absolutely inferior/junk. You get what you pay for.
Jim
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
DELawnCare
from Dyersburg, TN

Comfortable, Easy to start, Lots of power!

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use these trimmers for my lawn care company, and they are awesome! We've used Stihl, and many other brands, but the Echo SRM230 is the best we've found. From the comfortable hand grips, to the easy starting and great power band, these really can't be beat. If you are looking for a trimmer that will stand up to years of use, look no further.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
PocoDiablo
from Sterling, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, what a monster!

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently gave up trying to get my Homelite trimmer to work (properly, or at all usually) and decided to try this trimmer out based on the other reviews.
In a word ... WOW.
This thing is a beast. It is amazing. It is so far and above better quality than the Homelite piece of junk I had I simply cannot believe I had never tried a good piece of equipment like this.
My story, as brief as I can be:
I ordered online and picked up in the store. I happened to notice the air filter and head were missing from mine, so I went back to the store and got that sorted out.
At home, I removed the packaging, read the directions (I know, right?) and filled it with 2-cycle gas.
I pressed the primer bulb several times, until the bulb filled up and fuel was returning to the tank.
I put the choke on (70 degrees outside, meh) and yanked a few times. No luck. I turned off the choke and it fired up after about 3 pulls and idled nicely.
I let it warm up for about a minute and then jammed it into some thick weeds and ivy that are a perennial problem on my fence and ...
and ...
and WOW it just tore right through the ivy like it was nothing. I mean, it absolutely DESTROYED it. My old Homelite would choke and die on this ivy (and many smaller tasks).
I ran this Echo through everything I could find at the edge of my yard and it just doesn't care, it rips right through it. It is an amazing machine.
Ok, bottom line:
PROS:
+ Starts quickly and easily.
+ Too powerful for mortal beings.
+ "Bump" to feed more line works great.
+ *Incredibly* easy to re-string (I've never seen a trimmer that is so easy to re-string).
+ Could probably cut down a tree.
CONS:
- A little expensive, but seeing as how I had to throw away my last bargain trimmer, and this one seems to be long-lasting, it will probably be more cost effective in the long run ...
- A little on the heavy side. After about 10 minutes you'll want to take a break if you're a thin guy like me. However, you'll probably be halfway done with your yard, instead of only 1/10th, so this really isn't a big issue.
- The manual references a strap, which does not seem to be included. :(
As a closing note, I would suggest you purchase a wear safety goggles that are fully "enclosed" - similar to a scuba mask - which has complete coverage between the frame and your cheeks/eyes, instead of standard "glasses". This monster throws a ton of debris, and even with my full-coverage goggles I still got a few rocks and such inside the goggles.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
superboat
from Beaufort, N.C.

Excellent

PostedJune 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't go wrong with this trimmer. I use this in a commercial lawn care business. It starts easily and does a fantastic job. I own alot of Echo power equipment and have been very satisfied with all of their pruducts. It's comparible if not better than Stihl but carries a better price and parts are available at Home Depot. If you buy it,you won't be dissapointed.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Mike S.
from Mississippi

Quality and price finally come together!

PostedJune 5, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I were looking for a durable and simple to use weed eater that wouldn't force us to mortgage the house to purchase. We've tried other brands, both gas and electric, that just didn't hold up to the abuse of a fully landscaped acre and a half. I needed commercial power on a "Joe User" budget. Enter, the Echo. Straight out of the box I knew that this thing was built to last. Durable molded plastic and a heavy duty cast housing. It's very well balanced with the throttle lever and kill switch conveniently located on the grip. As for weight, even with a fully loaded spool and full tank of gas my wife was able to wield it with ease. It came with a shoulder strap, but we both agree that it's easy enough to use without it. The bump feed system, when properly wound, works great. Cold starts aren't as troublesome as other gas models I've used since it has the cold start choke position that automatically resets once it's cranked. Be careful not to push the primer bulb to many times or you WILL flood the carb. Three works for me. Over all, I'd say that this is the best string trimmer I've owned. It has a ton of available accessories and the warranty is as good if not better than most. I definitely recommend the Echo I-Start system attachment available from Echo to make starting even easier. For the money, Echo is the best-built and easy to use string trimmer out there.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Mattmmm

Great Product !!

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this weedwacker on 6-15-2009 And This thing is EXCELLENT ! starts very easy ! I put my Echo rapid head loader on it though. Because I could not get close to the ground with the bump & feed head. But over all 5/5 This thing is WELL BUILT ! I HIGHLY recommend this weedwacker ! I've had good luck with Echo in the past and I got this. I love it runs great, starts great, cuts great ! what else could you ask for ?
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
zane
from Oklahoma, USA

great trimmer

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have had mine since 2006 and it has never let me down!!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
LawnWarrior
from Woodstock, GA (Atlanta Metro)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A true BEAST! 5 years and still going strong...somewhere

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
One of the happiest days of my life was the day my wife said those magic 7 words... "We need a nice trimmer, don't we?" Not sure what she said after that, as I was already in the car on the way to get one. I knew I needed something robust, and I had previously had bad experiences with the $100 trimmers. I purchased the srm-230 and never had an issue with it for five years, until it was stolen a couple months ago.
Before that, I used it at home (trees and creeks and woods to trim) and on some commercial jobs. I never had a problem starting it in just a couple pulls, though if it was a cold start, I would have to let it sit and run for 30 - 60 seconds to warm up before it would run full throttle, as is common with all small 2-stroke engines. Once it was warm, or after subsequent warm starts, there was no stopping it. Grass, weeds, vines, thorns, privet, honeysuckle, and everything else I got into was laid to waste by the trimmer. (I replaced the bump-feed head with a rapid loader that would allow me to use .155" super thick line)
Most of the time, I didn't even run over half throttle. It did just fine at slower rpms. Since my trimmer was stolen, I had to buy a new one (five days ago), and there was no question about getting another Echo. This time, I spent an extra $10 for the srm-266 and its three more c.c.s. I've only run that one for ten minutes or so, but it seems to be even more of a monster than the 230. I could not be more pleased with my Echo trimmers and other Echo equipment. Highly Recommended.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
rookie62

Amazing

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a lawn business and this is defintley the best weedeater I have ever used. I will never think about buying another brand. It is great for commercial use or the serious home owner. It is very predictable in starting. My 12 year old son can operate it well!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
hoov
from Florida

PostedMay 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trimmer is a beast. It is by far the best i've ever had, This is the second one i've bought and both work very well. If your in a lawncare biss. or a serious homeowner do it your self kind of person id deff look at buying one of these.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
PatK
from West Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent Gas Trimmer!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally broke down and purchased a quality gas trimmer. I had been using an electric Black and Decker trimmer for years. The difference between the two is like night and day. I can trim much more area with the Echo and it can handle much more difficult weeds and saplings. Replacing the string is a snap and the string lasts long. I could not be more satisfied with this Echo trimmer. Plus it starts super easy!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Schatz
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trimmer!

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was so sick of buying a cheap trimmer every year only to have another piece of junk at the end of the season. I researched, researched, researched. Then after hearing everyones opinion, I went by and asked 4 professional mower companies in my area. The answer I got by all of them was Echo is the best. They have the best warranty, the best torque, the best head, etc.....they are overall the best. so, I bought it. Oh my gosh, the power that this machine has is amazing! Hope it lasts. I will update at the end of the season.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
Cons: none so far
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Emiliano

Light and Powerful! Easy to start!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only modification done to it by choice was replacing the
String head with another for a faster or simpler string reload.
It has not let me down!!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Rwbigbear
from Monte Vista, Colorado

ECHO gas trimmer

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recieved my new Echo weed trimmer SRM-230 on 6/25/2009. I've used it twice now and it runs like a dream. Very easy to start and handle, it eats weeds and long grass with ease. Not very loud and does not smoke, it idl's very nice. I'm glad i paid a little extra for a much better machine.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Tony
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy starting

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Right out of the box this trimmer worked great. I bought a set of trimmer blades to cut cat tails, great cutting, huge power, really long runs on a tank of gas! Starts so easy every time, Glad I made the purchase, really worth it !!!!.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Cycle 22.8 cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
JHRock

The one to buy

PostedMay 6, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a high quality trimmer. Appears to be the best I have ever owned. Starts easily cold or hot. Feels well balanced, easy to control. Handles feel good; trigger is in the right place. Little to no vibration felt. Line seems to last longer for some reason. Bump feed works perfect. Definitely a well engineered quality product. I will focus more on ECHO brand products for future needs. If they make trimmers this good, their other products are worth a look.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>