728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

This ECHO 17 in. 22.8cc Gas Straight Shaft Trimmer features the high-output Power Boost Tornado engine. It includes a heavy-duty air filtration system, padded edging-style left handle, a debris shield with cut-off knife, vibration reducing hand grips, die-cast fan cover and engine vibration reduction shocks. It also comes with safety glasses, the operator's manual and engine oil.
Overall rating:
4.642 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product135 of 147reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(123)
4
(17)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Features 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product135 of 147reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Review 1 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from La Vernia, TX 78121, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stop reviewing, and go buy it!!!

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are anything like me, you spend a lot of time researching and reviewing products prior to buying. Well, I'll save you some time... Stop it and go buy this trimmer. After fighting with my 1 acre of grass with my previous trimmer, I had to look into another trimmer to save my back and my time. I had a 28cc prior, and I have to say that this 22.8cc trimmer out performs the larger one that I had by far. Right out of the box, this thing started with three pulls, and took down huge weeds with out a problem. The speed feed head also saves a lot of time in line replacement. So, stop looking at reviews and go out and buy this awesome Echo trimmer. You will not regret it..
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing performance, can hold a line edging, engine operation is smooth

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this on accident as I intended to buy a model that could use the attachments, I intended to buy a edging attachment later. After using this and edging with this by turning it up side down and stable and smooth the engine runs, I knew I had a winner and despite the fact I can't get attachments like intended there is no way I could ever part with such a good product. The day before I purchased a competitor brand and took it back and got this. So glad I did. Top notch product, which these days are quite hard to find. I'm so happy with this product I intend to purchase a blower and hedge trimmer that's an Echo.
Only cons is it would have been great if a shoulder strap came included. Also if attachments could be used.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bullet proof for 13 seasons

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this model at the begining of the 2000 mowing season. I have used it weekly on multiple properties ever since. I replaced the head early the first season with an Echo rapid loader head, as I prefer the ease of using cut line to bump and go heads. I've changed the spark plug and filters once in 13 years and it has been trouble-free the whole time. A friend of mine who is out of work needed a new line trimmer, I gave him mine and bought a new one of the same model. I have friends who have bought (and fought with) three or four cheaper line trimmers in the same time. They ended up spending much more in the long run.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Kaukauna, Wi
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great trimmer!

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love Echo products. I have a Echo pole saw I purchased 10 years ago and never had any issues with it. I recently purchased this Echo trimmer and was amazed at the power. This trimmer is built to last. The last trimmer I purchased was a cheap $100 gas trimmer. I thought I would save some money. All that cheap trimmer gave me was nonstop headache. Hard to start and it would just stop running.
If you have a lot of trimming to do, I suggest spending more for quality and you will be set for many years to come.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Oklahoma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Echo Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this trimmer for going on 3 summers now. It's an Echo product, which is probably the equivalent of a Toyota or Honda vehicle. It will last a very long time. It's easy to start and has plenty of power to do the job, but that's not even the best feature. I have to give major credit to whoever invented the EZ-Load head on this trimmer. I'm a mechanically declined person and I can re-load the trimmer string in a minute. If you are serious about lawn care and want a trimmer that is going to be hassle-free for many years to come, look no further.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Long-Lasting, ez-load trimmer head
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Euless texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Arm 230

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trimmer is great! Plenty of power and starts easy. The only thing I wish the trimmer shield or cover was a little larger. Do not buy the Echo trimmer line, it will break when edging. Buy the tuff stuff triangle neon yellow line it is much stronger. I have over 400 feet of sidewalk to edge and I can edge twice on one load of line. Make sure you wear safety glasses when edging This trimmer has been worth every penny, take it from me , spend the extra dough and buy this, you will not be disappointed
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Rural Kentucky

Great Pruduct

PostedMay 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for another string trimmer (not echo brand) I have had some experience with Echo before.
I live on a farm so I need a pretty good string trimmer. Out of the box this thing ran beautifully, the first day I cleaned about 200 ft of fence row, just to try out it, worked great!
My biggest concern purchasing this product was the string diameter, .095, I don't know what the deal is but the string lasts longer in this than my old trimmer that used .105 string! Maybe it is the RPM because it does turn considerably faster.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone looking to purchase a larger string trimmer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Winston Salem
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT REAL HAPPY

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My trimmer rotates counter clockwise were most others are clockwise. I do not like that and the muffler guard is to hot for touch. I keep bumping my arm on it, I do not like it either. It is very strong and cuts well. I wish I did not buy it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Wakefield, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

VERY nice tool !!!

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have only used this unit for a few hours, but really prefer it over my Stihl FS90R. About the same weight (a litttle heavy) , but can run this at a much slower RPM for light cuts, yet rips when needed. God-bless true 2-Strokes, Trigger is much more sensitive/easier to regulate. VERY happy with it.
Only have a few yards to do, but makes them much easier, by far. You will be pleased. I sure am. No complaints.
Get it. Worth the money.
Tried the $95 Homelight straight-shaft as a back-up for one week. Absolutely inferior/junk. You get what you pay for.
Jim
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Dyersburg, TN

Comfortable, Easy to start, Lots of power!

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use these trimmers for my lawn care company, and they are awesome! We've used Stihl, and many other brands, but the Echo SRM230 is the best we've found. From the comfortable hand grips, to the easy starting and great power band, these really can't be beat. If you are looking for a trimmer that will stand up to years of use, look no further.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

great engine

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i recently found an srm230 that was over 25 years old, and in horrible repair, gunk all in the engine, and all i had to do was get the air out of the carb and clean the fuel line and it started with one pull. first start in 20 years..great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Humble, Tx
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great weed eater for the price.....

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Im from Houston, Tx and the Saint Augustine grass grows at a rapid pace and need cutting every week during the summer time. I been using this weed eater since 2010 and works like brand new! the power is just unbelievable. I had previous weed eaters in the past ( toro, craftsman , weed eater) and just don't compare to the echo arm-230. If u are reading this, go buy it.. u won't regret it!! The pros recommend this product for commercial use...it has to be a good weed trimmer!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
Cons: none
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Beaufort, N.C.

Excellent

PostedJune 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
You can't go wrong with this trimmer. I use this in a commercial lawn care business. It starts easily and does a fantastic job. I own alot of Echo power equipment and have been very satisfied with all of their pruducts. It's comparible if not better than Stihl but carries a better price and parts are available at Home Depot. If you buy it,you won't be dissapointed.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Burbank, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great Trimmer

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far the best trimmer I have owned, I had bought the EGO 56 volt trimmer because of the trouble starting my other gas fueled trimmer's, What a disappointment as to what the advertisement said it was as powerful as a gas fueled trimmer or better. It did cut light grass ok and the battery did last about 45 minutes but there were problems with the line feeding and compared to a gas powered trimmer it did not come close to measuring up however I would say it was superior to all the cordless trimmer I have had. I read the reveiws on the echo SMR-225 & the SMR-230 and bought the SMR-230, other than it would be nice to have a shoulder strap as it tends to get a little heavy after 30 minutes. However it does start up within three pull's once you get the prime / choke controls figured out and it does idle without stalling, The most powerful gas trimer and the easiest to start trimmer I have ever owned so I give two thumbs up on this one,
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Powerful, Great Engine
Cons: no shoulder strap included
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Mississippi

Quality and price finally come together!

PostedJune 5, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My wife and I were looking for a durable and simple to use weed eater that wouldn't force us to mortgage the house to purchase. We've tried other brands, both gas and electric, that just didn't hold up to the abuse of a fully landscaped acre and a half. I needed commercial power on a "Joe User" budget. Enter, the Echo. Straight out of the box I knew that this thing was built to last. Durable molded plastic and a heavy duty cast housing. It's very well balanced with the throttle lever and kill switch conveniently located on the grip. As for weight, even with a fully loaded spool and full tank of gas my wife was able to wield it with ease. It came with a shoulder strap, but we both agree that it's easy enough to use without it. The bump feed system, when properly wound, works great. Cold starts aren't as troublesome as other gas models I've used since it has the cold start choke position that automatically resets once it's cranked. Be careful not to push the primer bulb to many times or you WILL flood the carb. Three works for me. Over all, I'd say that this is the best string trimmer I've owned. It has a ton of available accessories and the warranty is as good if not better than most. I definitely recommend the Echo I-Start system attachment available from Echo to make starting even easier. For the money, Echo is the best-built and easy to use string trimmer out there.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Wichita, Kansas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome!!!!!!!!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit has plenty of power to trim at half throttle. Pull the throttle all the way and demolish whatever gets in its way!
I grew up using and ECHO trimmer on my fathers farm. When I got my own place I was cheap and went for a Yard machine trimmer with my first purchase. I should have known better, it was blown up in a year. I should have spent the money last year and went with the ECHO brand I have come to know and trust.
Also, this unit started on the second pull after I fueled it from the store!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer

Great Product !!

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this weedwacker on 6-15-2009 And This thing is EXCELLENT ! starts very easy ! I put my Echo rapid head loader on it though. Because I could not get close to the ground with the bump & feed head. But over all 5/5 This thing is WELL BUILT ! I HIGHLY recommend this weedwacker ! I've had good luck with Echo in the past and I got this. I love it runs great, starts great, cuts great ! what else could you ask for ?
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Oklahoma, USA

great trimmer

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i have had mine since 2006 and it has never let me down!!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Sterling, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow, what a monster!

PostedMay 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently gave up trying to get my Homelite trimmer to work (properly, or at all usually) and decided to try this trimmer out based on the other reviews.
In a word ... WOW.
This thing is a beast. It is amazing. It is so far and above better quality than the Homelite piece of junk I had I simply cannot believe I had never tried a good piece of equipment like this.
My story, as brief as I can be:
I ordered online and picked up in the store. I happened to notice the air filter and head were missing from mine, so I went back to the store and got that sorted out.
At home, I removed the packaging, read the directions (I know, right?) and filled it with 2-cycle gas.
I pressed the primer bulb several times, until the bulb filled up and fuel was returning to the tank.
I put the choke on (70 degrees outside, meh) and yanked a few times. No luck. I turned off the choke and it fired up after about 3 pulls and idled nicely.
I let it warm up for about a minute and then jammed it into some thick weeds and ivy that are a perennial problem on my fence and ...
and ...
and WOW it just tore right through the ivy like it was nothing. I mean, it absolutely DESTROYED it. My old Homelite would choke and die on this ivy (and many smaller tasks).
I ran this Echo through everything I could find at the edge of my yard and it just doesn't care, it rips right through it. It is an amazing machine.
Ok, bottom line:
PROS:
+ Starts quickly and easily.
+ Too powerful for mortal beings.
+ "Bump" to feed more line works great.
+ *Incredibly* easy to re-string (I've never seen a trimmer that is so easy to re-string).
+ Could probably cut down a tree.
CONS:
- A little expensive, but seeing as how I had to throw away my last bargain trimmer, and this one seems to be long-lasting, it will probably be more cost effective in the long run ...
- A little on the heavy side. After about 10 minutes you'll want to take a break if you're a thin guy like me. However, you'll probably be halfway done with your yard, instead of only 1/10th, so this really isn't a big issue.
- The manual references a strap, which does not seem to be included. :(
As a closing note, I would suggest you purchase a wear safety goggles that are fully "enclosed" - similar to a scuba mask - which has complete coverage between the frame and your cheeks/eyes, instead of standard "glasses". This monster throws a ton of debris, and even with my full-coverage goggles I still got a few rocks and such inside the goggles.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Cycle 22.8cc Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
from Clarksburg, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best string trimmer I have ever used

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Initial start up was extremely difficult. After proper priming and choke setting it still took at least 12 pulls of the starter rope. Seems to be the same result if it runs out of fuel and then after re-fueling several pulls are required. Other than those times the engine starts first pull if it is shut down momentarily. Overall the machine runs well and rarely bogs down in heavy grass. This is an excellent machine. Highly recommend.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>