728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saws or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED

16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED

The Ryobi 16 in. Scroll Saw features variable speeds of 400 - 1600 strokes per minute (SPM) to help optimize use in a variety of materials. The 16 in. throat depth allows you to cut a wide range of stock sizes, and the AccuClear sawdust blower helps keep the cutting line clear. This scroll saw provides smooth cutting with minimal vibration, and the table tilts 45 degrees left to suit your needs.
Overall rating:
2.8 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product22 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(18)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product22 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Lewiston, ID, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I dont know what others giving it a bad review did wrong love my saw

PostedApril 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bad reviews saying cant cut anything but thin wood i cut several 3d cutting prodjects out of maple and cherry thats almost 2 inches thick if they use the right blades and tighten the blade correctly there are no problems i own several ryobi tools and they all work well for a hobbiest not a contractor
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+49points
50out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED

met my expectations completely

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw for a guitar project (and because a scroll saw is a good tool to own - I like a new tool) and am overall quite satisfied. The negatives are: the "toolless change" is useless. The plastic knobs break the first time you use them. And, the side cover plate is in the way when you do change a blade. The blower can't be adjusted to actually hit the cut line and probably isn't powerful enough to actually do anything anyway - I went old fashioned and just blew on it as I cut like I did when I first used a "hobby" saw when I was a kid. The vac port is not size well, but you can easily "coax" it to work. The prose are: Once you break the knobs changing a blade and remove the side plate, you can use the tee handle allen wrench that comes with the saw to easily change blades. I cut a whole lot out of 1.5" mahogany with ease, and with a little bit of sanding, got great results. I also cut some tight details in 1/4" mahogany and was easily able to file and sand the finishing touches. In the end, I made a high quality guitar for a professional musician (I can't play at all). It is an inexpensive tool, but unless you are looking for something that will give you perfection with the tightest bit of after work, it is well worth the money. I am a semi-professional woodworker and this tool is on the bench in my shop. And, I did ALL my cuts (some fairly intricate) without bolting the saw down. I sat it on my work bench and used it without breaking a blade or making a miscut.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product could use Quality Control

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
For the price it is OK but the table is not flat the blade hole is not level with the table and the sheet metal side on the RH side is poorly fit to the saw. I have used it and it is hard to load the blade perpendicular to the table. All these things are fixable but could be done during Manufacturing of the Saw if there were better Quality Control like in the Automotive Quality checks and Standards.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: vibration is bad, table not flat
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for beginners

PostedFebruary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am going to start out like this if you are like me and a new beginner to wood working keep this one on your list. It is a perfect machine to practice with and learn on. For the 100 dollars I spent I got a good quality product for beginners. All of the levers and mechanisms are simple and easy to figure out. I saw many bad reports about this machine which I will tackle here in my opinion:
1) the blade change is simple people say it is difficult but you just have to be careful and if you have problems I used a needle nose to hold it in place when tightening it down.
2) noisy, yes out of the box it was a little noisy because the motor knocks on the bottom guard, simple fix, I bent the bottom guard up and it is quiet as can be.
3)moves around, like with all power tools, they vibrate, this was fixed when I put four bolts through the mounting holes on the stand, also making it quieter.
4) packaging problems, I had no problems with the packaging, it was nice and tightly packed with nothing bouncing around, very pleased with the packaging.
5) the blower, not the strongest, but in my point of view a little personal work blowing it away doesn't take much, plus if you have to blow the dust out of the way it makes you pay better attention to your line as a beginner.
Overall very pleased with this product, if you are a beginner this is perfect to learn on.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Dallas,Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Little Go-Get-ER

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This little saw is very impressive. I am new to scrolling, but once I figured out how to change the pinned blades, I was well on my way! Ryobi really makes pretty reasonably priced do-it-yourselfer tools at GREAT prices for the beginner or intermediate end user. Definitely 2 BIG THUMBS UP!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED

Very nice saw for the price

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall this saw does the job nicely. Had a little trouble getting the table turned upright after unpacking the saw.
The right side mounting hole is very poorly placed because of control box covering the hole, unnecessary as there is lots of room for a clearance hole for the mount.
The anti lift hold down bar shaft is quite loose but useable.
The plastic table insert is about .035 below flush to the table causing it to catch work. I made a hardwood insert to be flush with the table top, kept the plastic one for when I need to make a new one.
Minor irritations only.
Not meant for heavy work but does a nice job at detail cutouts and delicate scroll work.
Quite stable and vibration free at lower speeds, high speed starts to jump.
The dust blower works well as does the vacuum port, which could have been turned 90deg and not hurt anything.
Easy to change blades after bending the shroud back where it belongs making it easy to reach the lower clamp.
A good wood shop addition, not a band saw replacement. It has its own niche.
I would recommend this to anyone wanting a light to medium duty bench top saw.
Seems like the designers did not consult with each other before manufacturing making some things awkward.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: has some idiosyncrasies.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Grand Rapids, MI

Decent Saw for a beginning scroller!

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this saw after spending a lot of time researching the various types of scroll saws and reading what experienced scrollers recommended for beginners. That being said, many experienced scrollers recommended that a beginner not spend more than $150 on a scroll saw and to simply find one that accepted plain end and pin end blades. This saw fit the bill! I have run this saw quite a bit and have not broken anything on it but I will say that bolting it to a tabletop is a MUST. Lastly, the blower doesn't work very well keeping the sawdust off of your pieces but I am pretty content blowing it off... Anyway, I would recommend this saw to a friend and anyone else who was trying their hand at scrolling. This one will have to last until I can purchase the Dewalt scroll saw.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Charleston, SC

Average product for the money

PostedApril 30, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a high-quality product, but at $100 it's not a bad deal, either. The cheap plastic clip holding the air bellows in place broke after less than an hour of run-time. So the sawdust blower no longer works... minor inconvenience. The best thing going for this machine is the ease of changing blades. I've used it for several projects now, and changing blades is a snap - much easier and simpler than changing the blade on the Deltas. However, I am concerned about how long all the plastic knobs are going to last. Overall, this machine has performed reasonably well for me so far (I've had it for about a month), but it doesn't exactly exude quality.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Scroll Saw

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this for a couple of months now and find the saw to be a great product. Other seem to have trouble with blades breaking - if you tighten the blade tension correctly and use the right blade this does not happen. I have finished a few intricate projects using 3/4" and 5/4" Pine with no problem. Blades are a bit tricky to change (cannot see the bottom well) but with a little patients its not a problem. The saw performs well, is easy to use and has a large work surface to hold your wood. Overall I am quite pleased with this product and over time will see how it holds up. Definitely recommend to others as a hobby saw
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value. Rough out of the box, but capable and accurate with care and tweaking.

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read further for set up advice...
The negative reviews here nearly prevented me from buying this saw, but my experience with Ryobi's tile saw and drill press is that they can be tuned and tweaked to work quite well. I've only had one Ryobi tool (a palm sander) that ever failed to work at all, and Ryobi cheerfully replaced it. Given that experience, I rolled the dice on this scroll saw.
The saw comes fully assembled, with a pinned blade installed and the table loosely set to a 45 degree tilt. Contrary to the tool description, the table tilts only to the left, not both ways.
I removed the drop foot and used the head of my combo square to square the table to the blade. I don't anticipate ever tilting the table so I added some loctite to the locking knob threads once I had completed the rest of the set up.
It is imperative that you mount this saw firmly or it will walk around on you. I did a test run with the saw loose and cut some quick shapes from 1/4 plywood scraps, and nearly slid it off the table...the rubber grommets at each bolt location are not enough to keep it from sliding around, at least not on the masonite surface of my assembly table, but I was able to verify that the saw cut pretty well, even with the cheap factory supplied blade.
However, the saw made a terrible racket, quieting somewhat when I clamped it down with C-clamps, but still annoying. Observing the running saw, I noted that the sheet metal shroud was vibrating and then determined that the eccentric arm on the motor shaft was banging against the shroud. Removing the shroud quieted the machine way down and revealed that the blade arms and other internals of the saw are actually pretty well finished. A bit of gentle bending and careful re-installation of the shroud quieted the machine considerably.
Satisfied that I could quiet the noise, I proceeded to permanently mount the tool in place in its new home. Unfortunately, this was a bit difficult. The switch/speed control housing unnecessarily interferes with one of the mounting points. It is simply not possible to place a lag screw through this hole with the switch housing in place.
Removing the switch housing requires the removal of 11 screws (make sure the saw is unplugged first!) and doing so reveals that the space behind the switch cover-plate is mostly empty. This housing could be easily re-designed so that it does not interfere with the mounting of the saw. There is really no good reason for the switch to be mounted "sideways" instead of in a more conventional "up and down" orientation. This would shave about 3cm from the side of the switch housing, allowing clear access to the bolt hole with a 2" lag screw and socket wrench, and this is a change Ryobi should definitely make before starting the next production run of this saw.
Be that as it may, I secured the saw to the bench, remounted the switch housing and fired it up. Firmly screwed to its permanent bench (2x4 frame, lag screwed to the wall with a layer of 3/4 ply for a top) the running saw was quiet enough to allow comfortable conversation in the shop.
I left the saw running for a 10-15 minute "break in" while I rummaged through the scrap box for test pieces. Then I went to work. First off, while the saw will cut through 2x framing lumber, it's not happy about it...and scroll saws aren't for that anyway. More importantly, I was able to adequately follow wiggly lines on scraps of 3/4" Poplar and Oak. The factory blade did fine. More purposeful blade selection might do even better.
Satisfied, I turned the saw, and a supply of 3/8 pine off-cuts over to my ten year old who got busily to work drawing shapes and then cutting them out. He happily spent the afternoon turning usable pieces of scrap into unusable ones, without, surprisingly, ever breaking the blade. We did note that the factory blade's performance dropped off significantly after about 3 hours of his work...which is probably better than anyone should expect for a scroll saw blade.
The blade holders do an adequate job holding the pinned blades, and contrary to other reports, I've had no problem securely installing pinless blades and tensioning them adequately as well.
I expect to continue tweaking and improving this saw:
First, I will probably replace the factory shroud with a shop made one to better direct sawdust to the dust port. I don't mind the front dust port though. I'm just going to use my canister vacuum to collect the dust and it's easier to temporarily connect that at the front of the saw.
I'm not delighted with the fit of the throat plate...it's about 1/32" too thin and has pretty wide clearance, so I am working on a template to knock out my own.
Although there is a mounting point in the upper support arm for a work light, I haven't seen a light built to fit this saw. I will probably add some sort of light though, my eyes not being what they used to be.
Finally, on my saw, the machining for the blade holders at the end of the moving blade arms is less than perfectly square. While cutting, this isn't noticeable to me, but I might be more persnickety if I decide to take up scroll sawing as a hobby. A bit of work with a file would probably cure this.
To summarize:
This is a perfectly serviceable tool if you need a scroll saw for quickly knocking out parts for jigs, fixtures or models, you occasionally do decorative scroll saw work or need to make interior cuts, or want a tool that your kids can use as they learn proper shop habits and power tool safety by making bird houses and the like. I would also recommend it if you are just exploring scroll saw work as a hobby, but are not hooked on it. This saw does require some care in set up and there is lots of room for tweaking to make it a better saw. But if you would rather not spend $500 (and let's face it, you have to tweak the $500 tools too), and you don't mind a bit of fussing and tweaking, this scroll saw may be perfect for you.
On the other hand, if you are dedicated to becoming a scroll saw artist and devoting a substantial amount of time to that craft you probably will out grow this saw.
But whatever you do, have fun with your woodworking!
+64points
73out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Shelton, WA

Not bad for a first timer

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I go through more blades than I would like, but I suspect part of that is that I am new to this type of saw. It details well. Vibrates a bit more than I would like, but not terrible. My sawdust blower does work well. (Unlike some of the reviews I've read.) All in all, for what I paid, it meets my expectations and is far better than the jig saw I was using before! Oh, and I've owned and been using it for about a year now.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Aromas, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Entry Level Unit ... at Best

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
As a avid ScrollSawyer I have actually had the chance to own and use one ... for 15 minutes. The only thing I can find good about the unit is it is variable speed .... though most are now. Mine broke after 10 minutes of use on 1/8" thick oak. A quality saw would eat it up! The dust port is located at the front of the saw ... why? Who wants a hose looped between them and the saw? The blade tensioner/holder has plastic parts so needless to say, it broke. There are many better saws for a fraction more $'s Move on to a better saw if you have any plans of using it more than a few minutes every once in a while. If not, you will find yourself growing tired of the saw and upgrading soon.
+16points
24out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Hot Springs, Arkansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

a good investment

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this scrollsaw to replace another brand scrollsaw...the better quality was very obvious the moment I unpacked it. It mounted onto the hand-crafted table I built for the other saw and performed perfectly from the very tart. It is much quieter and "feels" more substantial and "solid" than the General Machine model. I would recommend this scrollsaw over the other brand, and the price difference isn't even a factor (old saw: $70.00...Ryobi saw:$99.00. A good investment. I use the scrollsaw almost every other day...I build birdhouses (and other stuff) for fun and a small profit...mostly fun...
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Malvern, PA

A Good tool to have for Artistic Details

PostedNovember 22, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A Good tool to have for Artistic Details. This scroll saw is a great by! I have one and I carved 4 toys out of a 2" thick peace of pine, in half the time it would take me to cut out 1 using a hand saw. It is one of the best tools in my shop and at this price who could resist. As an artist I use it to quickly tern a sketch into a 3D work of art. I highly recommend this tool to any carpenter, and any one who loves working with wood. As long as you have a good experience using power tools.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Northeast Tennessee

My first scroll saw

PostedNovember 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was my first scroll saw I bought in Oct 2005. For the beginner this saw works great I feel. Blade change is very easy and tool less.Sawdust blower doesnt work great but oh well. So far I used last year for christmas projects (over 30 items) and not again till this Nov 2006 and still works great. I have changed several blades out but thats part of learning. For the price this one cant be beat and you dont have to be an expert to operate, just read the instructions. Variable speed is a must and this feature works great. I would recommend for any beginner or anyone needing one for occasional projects till you graduate to a bigger/better model and type.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Fort Myers, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Very, Very poor saw

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this from HD last week as I have been a Ryobi man for years. First Ryobi item I have ever had that I consider JUNK--The saw will not even cut a piece of 5/8 soft yellow pine stright and the saw needs many adjustments using added washers and screws to keep the plate tight. As all the others tell you the dust blower does not work at all and should not even be added in with the saw. No big deal with it but if you are going to pay for it it should at least work when it is set up. Ryobi needs to ditch this item before their name really goes down the tubes...................
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Taylors, SC

Not a good tool

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this for a fairly simple project. Right out of the box, I found the guard was bent and had to bend it back. Not a big deal. Put it together with no issues. It did not make it through the first piece of wood. The dust blower did not work at all. After getting about 75% through the first piece, the blade snapped. If you are wanting this for very very simple jobs, its not a bad deal I guess. But if you want something for wood more than 1/2 in thick, I might suggest something else. Unfortunately, this is the only scroll saw that Home Depot offers. I took this back less than 2 hrs after I got it.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked great

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used it to cut 3/4'' oak worked fine, don't get in a hurry when cutting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from Littleton, NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works As Intended

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Being my first scroll saw purchase and use I would say that this scroll saw is great. I do know that there are high end scroll saws, and that this is one of the cheapies, but it works. Ryobi in general is my starter tool purchase, if in a few months or years it breaks then I buy a higher quality version of that tool. All that said, I've had this scroll saw for two months and have used it extensively. I make signs so I have used it to cut out lettering and sign shapes. I give it a thumbs up.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 16 in. Scroll Saw-DISCONTINUED
from topsham,me

what you pay for is what you get

PostedJuly 24, 2006
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
have had this saw less then 4 days and already had to return it for an exchange. first the blower seems a little weak...ok can deal with that. second the upper arm section that holds a pin blade in broke......not so happy but ok dont use that style anyways. third the motor seized up......definately not happy as i only got about 5 hours of use. have returned and am trying it again so i guess you get what you pay for. i have used scroll saws before and others that know me agree it wasnt me doing somethin wrong.....the dewalt is looking mighty good right now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>