728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Planers & Joiners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 In. Thickness Planer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

13 In. Thickness Planer

The TP1300LS includes the following features: 15 AMP/120V motor with overload protection; 13 In. x 6 In. cutting capacity; Snipe reduction with sure-cut lock; Super fine finish with 66 cuts per inch; Dual-edge, quick change knives. The IND-I-CUT? depth measurement system instantly measures cutting depth before each pass. The Repeat-a-cut? depth stop provides 8 adjustable depth stops to precisely plane work pieces to desired thickness up to 1-3/4 In. thick. The built-in cord wrap keeps cord out of the way when planer is not in use. On-board tool and knife storage keeps knives and knife-changing tools conveniently stored for quick and easy access. Sof-touch? controls provide ergonomic knobs that are comfortable and user-friendly. Includes knife changing tools, extra knife set, and owner?s manual.
Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Customer reviews for 13 In. Thickness Planer
Review 1 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from South Central Texas

This is a Great Planer

PostedMay 9, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this planer for about 6 months and love it. It performs great and has never given me any trouble at all. I use it on a daily basis with Aromatic Cedar, Cherry and Oak. In one of my woodworking magazines it is rated Editors Choice "Best Value" with only the DeWalt performing better (If you want to spend the $150.00 + for the DeWalt)
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Richmond Hill, Ga

Intermediate Woodworker

PostedJune 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this planer about 4 months ago. I read reviews on this planer before purchasing it and found it was a top tool choice. The planer comes with a stand and work piece supports. It is easy to set up and very easy to use. I was using it out of the box in about 20 minutes (enough time to set up the stand). Highly recommend this product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Sun Prairie, WI

Excellent tool

PostedFebruary 28, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After doing a lot of research, this is the planer I selected and I am glad I did. It has plenty of power, cuts smoothly, and the mess is minimized with the vacuum hood attachment. Replacement blades are readily available doing a simple Google search, and are simple to change. When using the head lock snipe is manageable IF you have the outfeed table tuned properly. Tuning takes mere minutes and is worth the time spent.
This is my first Ridgid power tool purchase but will not be my last. Quality is evident throughout and I am very pleased.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Sterling, VA

Buy This Planer

PostedDecember 12, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of research before buying. Feel I made the best choice, even over those costing $100-150 more. It came with a stand, dust collecting hood, and an extra set of knives. Was easy to assemble the stand and accesories. Have planed pine, oak, ash, cherry and walnut. Extra smooth finish on the boards. Virtually no snipe. Have changed the knives once (flipped them over) and it was easy once I read the directions. I could not find the release to rotate the cutter head to get to the second knife. Manual explained that it was color coded making it easy to find. Learned my lesson! Had a Ryobi 10" planer for nearly 15 years and the Ridgid was a huge step up in capacity and quality. I love the 13" capacity. Only problem - I have to empty the dust collector much more often (that is a good problem)!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Martinsville, NJ

Great power and features

PostedJanuary 23, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer more than exceeded my expectations. It's powerful, the knives are ground superbly out-of-the-box, and the dust collection works great. It was a simple procedure to shift and align blades when they needed changing. And I love the on-tool storage for the wrenches, etc... The stand is really sturdy, and versatile enough that I use it for all of my portable tools, not just the planer. I've used other planers before and this performs better than Porter Cable or Makita right from the start. As with all planers, make sure you use good hearing protection. This tool is load (ask my neighbors)! If I had to buy another planer in the future, this would be my first choice.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Provo, Utah

Ridgid 13" Planer

PostedFebruary 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this last weekend after reading a planer review showdown in Wood magazine from a couple months ago. The only one they rated higher (under $700) was the DeWalt DW735 and the Ridgid is $200 cheaper plus comes with the legs and an extra set of blades and the DeWalt doesn't come with infeed/outfeed tables.
This is my first planer so I don't have a lot to compare it two but I have been very pleased so far. I started with a piece of very rough cedar fencing just to see what it would do. You know the type of the wood, the kind that if you slapped it you would end up with a palm full of splinters. After a couple passes taking a 64th of each time the cedar was as smooth poplar stock you can buy at Home Depot.
My next test was with several strips of pine that I had ripped from 1x6 #2 pine. 1 1/8" high by 3/4" wide and them I glued 4 of them together to get one 1 1/8" x 3". I ran this through several time on both sides till I got it down to 1" and the new surface was like glass.
I've purchased several Ridgid tools in the past and have yet to be disappointed. In fact, in most cases the tools have exceeded my expectations. I would definitely buy Ridgid again. I'm eying their bandsaw next and maybe the jointer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Sacramento, CA

Nice, VERY nice ...but: where are the blades?

PostedFebruary 25, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You've read the glowing reviews, and the various comparisons? And you've convinced yourself that this is the planer you want? After all, it's a good price. And a great feature set. And a comprehensive list of accessories comes with it: what's not to like (and why did I give mine only three stars ...and contemplated giving it only one)?
Been there ...done that ...bought one.
But you might not want to put _your_ hard-earned money down on one of these.
May I suggest that prior to actually spending your money on a TP1300, you might want to try and locate an actual set of replacement knives? The very, very special and unique replacement knives that are required by the TP1300 cutterhead?
You know, the two knife sets that are supposedly such a good price deal that people mention that was one reason they bought this rather than Brand X? (I can tell you that they really are *very* easy to replace btw: that part is true.) -- Good luck with locating 'em though: I've been trying since December (2006) to find a set. Three months (it's the end of February 2007 as I write this).
I can report that you won't find them at your local Home Depot (I've tried three HD's, and they ALL said "We don't carry the Ridgid knives" ...as they helpfully suggest the Brand "D" knife set hanging high on a wall). You won't find them online at Home Depot either.
This gets worse: they don't have any sets at Ridgid either. Umm, in case you didn't notice, Ridgid is the company that makes the TP1300 ...and they don't have knife sets on their website. That's ...sad. Just sad.
Now ...if you get really clever and thorough, you'll eventually discover that the TP1300 uses the same knives as the Brand "R" model AP1301 planer uses ...and then you'll find out that *their* online website doesn't have any knife sets either. (Btw, the AP1300 knives are not the same blades, and won't work.)
You can look on the big auction site that begins with an "E" (like me, and quite a few others). There hasn't been a set go onsale there since early January (and I check that site daily) ...and it's now the end of February.
Maybe this situation will be taken care of (and hopefully, soon) ...but it says a lot to me about the product when the retailer, and the manufacturer (BOTH "manufacturers: Ridgid and Brand "R" ...and I'm not sure which actually builds the thing) let something as basic as the need to stock replacement knife sets for a planer get this far out of hand.
Especially after designing the planer's cutterhead to only take a unique knife design. One that is used by NO other planer. And which can NOT be sharpened (you *can* sharpen these, but you lose the indexing feature if you do). And which the after market blade manufacturers are NOT making blades for.
And y'know, a planer is pretty useless if you can't get blades for it.
I can't recommend this product. IF you do buy it (and I hope you only buy it because you've found the knife sets are again available) I'd suggest you buy enough replacement sets to keep you in chips for the life of the planer.
...and that last advice IS the best advice you're going to read in any review of the TP1300 planer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Plymouth, Minnesota

First and Last

PostedDecember 20, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first planner and will probably be my last. Rock solid performance. Sturdy stand, strong in and out feed tables, and a built in tool organizer. The cut indicator is extremely handy for gauging how much you're about to plane off - slide your board under the cut-indicator button, lower the head until the needle reaches the desired cut depth, 32nd of an inch to a full 1\8th. The dust collector hood works very well.
I've had it a year and haven't even flipped the blades over yet, let alone used the included second set of blades (handily located under the outfeed table). The only maintenence I've done is paste waxing the center table and cleaning the feed rollers. Lately stock was starting to stall midway through a cut which presents the semi-scary action of grabbing the board from the outfeed table and pulling it through! Once the rollers were cleaned (they had quite a bit of saw dust on them) it pulled hard oak right through without even hesitating.
I get the feeling if I take care of this baby, it'll take care of my planning needs for many years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Helena MT

Great Tool

PostedMarch 20, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I too did quite a lot of research before purchasing and the cost to quality ratio of this model seemed to be best and was the right fit for me. I was greatly concerned about complaints expressed by another reviewer stating that blades were not available. Doing internet research, at first blush, I was inclinded to agree that blades seemed to be missing. But I wrote to Ridgid and they responded within 1 day stating that there was no problem with blade supply, they were in stock and Home Depot did have access to them. They suggested that I talk to the Special Services desk at my local Depot to verify. I did, and they did - No problem and they had 6 sets on the shelf. The tool seems to work great. I'm working on hickory and its doing a fine job. Hickory is a pain no matter what tool used on it. You have to go slow and watch the grain. With that in mind this tool is performing very well and is saving much work and time for me. Building the stand was a cinch. I was making wood chips within 30 minutes of opening the box.
Connecting a shopvac to the dust port works very well at controlling chips and dust. This is my 3rd Ridgid shop tool and I'm very happy with this and my other purchases.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from North Georgia

Excellent tool!

PostedMarch 1, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time I used this tool was with a type of wood called Pedauk. The machine handled the wood perfectly. I don't regret the purchase at all compared to the more expensive options available.
There is only one caveat that I had any issue with at all... the plastic feet at the bottom of the legs could be better. They were hard to get fully seated on the legs and I had to remove the tool itself from the stand to adjust them a few times before the stand sat firm and level. But, this probably could have been avoided if I had taken a few extra minutes during assembly to ensure they were completely seated on the legs before assembly.
Overall, I really enjoy the tool and love the new options in rough-sawn lumber I now have available to me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 13 In. Thickness Planer

Not Pleased

PostedJanuary 15, 2007
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had my planner for about a year. I loved it when I bought it. However i don't anymore. It keeps shutting off or after you turn it off it wont restart unless you take the front motor brush out and blow in the hole then replace the brush.Then it starts but when you turn it off. it wont start again. I went on line to order a new pair of brushes to see if that may fix it. there is only 1 in stock and no idea when other will be available. As for service centers Good Luck finding one within 100 miles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Florida

Outstanding

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this planer for a year now, and it is an absolute joy. Makes smooth, accurate cuts, and if you set the outfeed correctly, there is no snipe except for short pieces, but that is basically unavoidable in those cases. (A longer push stick of equal thickness lightly glued to the end can cure this.)
The dust collection cowling works well hooked up to a 1hp or better dust collection system.
The preset stops are very accurate and the lock doesn't budge during repeated passes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from southern Il

its a fine machine

PostedDecember 30, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Straight out of the box, its a fine machine. I like the way everything is set up. The dust port is designed for either a shop vac or a real 4 inch collector. Set up tools are on board, not mixed in with all my other setup tools. Stand is solid, small shops could use a wheel system on it. Leaves a smooth cut. It is a HOME unit not , the 3 phase 24 inch planer I used to run at my last job, but it is good!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Maine

Ridgid 13"planer

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this planer for about four years now and couldn't be happier with the purchase.I've run all types of hardwood through this including exotics and have never had a problem as long as you watch the grain direction.The tables need to be adjusted to avoid snipe, but once done this tool is an animal. Blades ARE available and changing them is a breeze.All in all, a great tool...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from Boise, ID

Smooth

PostedSeptember 8, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several Craftsmen units and this one beats them. It gave a clean surface and smooth operation. I found it much easier to avoid the end of board skids that many other planners have problems with, and the depth of cut indicator was much more helpful than i first thought it would be.
A very nice tool for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from PA

Ridgid planer is awesome!

PostedJanuary 9, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just purchased the Ridgid 13" thickness planer and cannot say enough good things about it. It produced perfectly mirrored surfaces right out of the box. All of the guages were perfectly aligned with no adjustments. It's fast and quiet. Highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 13 In. Thickness Planer
from East Central MO

Rigid Planer

PostedSeptember 15, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This planer does a good job ...BUT...I can only squeeze out a rating of 4.
This machine needs a change in the feed rate before I'd consider giving it a higher rating. The platen should also be hardened/heat-treated to reduce scratching/gouging that WILL APPEAR it you miss a staple or similar small-diameter bit of metal (pin or brad, etc) in ‘re-used’ lumber. The single-speed feed rate does seem to bounce the end of boards, thus leaving a very visible gouging, especially on the front fed end.
I believe the fast feed on the intake is probably the number one contributing factor for the gouging effect. A little slower in-feed rate, when making the first couple of shallow passes on truly rough-cut stock should significantly reduce this tendency.
MAYBE...the boys at RIDGID are listening and will or already have given this a thought and will re-engineer it to at least a two-speed, selectable in-feed rate. A variable rate would probably take it to a much higher cost, all the way around. It’s a balance of cost versus a simple, reliable product.
On the up side...as always, the folks at RIDGID are forward thinkers and include a tool set for knife changes PLUS a second set of knives as part of the initial package. There’s good access to the cutter head for knife changes. The stand that's included planer is also another positive to consider if you’re looking to buy a useful machine for home/handyman use. The vacuum-ready dust collector is EZ to mount and works quite well; fills-up a 12 gal RIDGID shop vac canister in short order. A centralized dust collection system would be a snap! For portability, simply remove the four stand mounting bolts and you can lug this rascal to a remote site without worrying about a top-heavy piece of equipment swaying or falling over in/on the bed or your truck, in route. Surfaces are smmmooooooth for a two-blade head on soft woods; haven't run oak, walnut or hickory through it yet. With Christmas coming, there’ll be quite a bit of hardwoods running through it soon, to fashion useful and unique gifts for family and friends.
While this unit's not designed for the professional cabinet maker, the price, features and time that it saves, makes good cent$ to buy one for home use. I think the ‘average’ chip maker will be well-pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.