728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor

60 gal. Electric Air Compressor

This compressor offers a solid cast iron, twin cylinder compressor pump for extreme durability. It also offers 135 psi maximum pressure and air delivery 11.5/10.2 SCFM at 40/90 psi. It has a space saving vertical design that is perfect for your home, garage, or work shop.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product50 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(13)
3
(5)
2
(6)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product50 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
Review 1 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Minneapolis, MN

Great performer

PostedOctober 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this air compressor about 7 or 8 years ago. I use it in my home shop, where it mostly sees light-duty work, but occasional heavy-duty work. It performs great. Minimal maintenance, I check the oil every once in awhile but have only added a little bit once, and I drain the tank periodically. I'm really glad I bought this. It's a great deal, compare to other compressors with similar specs. Also compare to the next level cheaper. With this compressor you double your output for only about $50 more. Trust me it's well worth it! For that $50 or so you get a larger tank so the compressor doesn't kick on as often, you get the faster filling so it's not on as long, and for those times when you really need a lot of air you'll be glad you won't have to wait for your compressor to catch up.
The only thing I wish I had was a higher pressure system for those times I would like to kick up the power. It wasn't worth it to me to buy the dual stage systems because they cost about twice as much with only modest performance increases.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from back yard machinc

comprssoer

PostedOctober 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
nice machine,plus comes with oil
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Seattle

3.2 Running HP 60 Gallon

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, its quiet and has all the power for my needs. The price is well worth it.
Hope it lasts for ever.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Michigan

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this compressor and it's perfect for my garage work. It's really easy to install and it's pretty quiet. JUST love it.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor

great product great price

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i run a 2 person small body shop. my compressor went down and i was in a bind. i didn't want to spend 2500 at that time for a new compressor because it was Xmas time, so i bought this one for a temporary solution and it has worked out great. 6 months in and im still using it exclusively. i know that doesn't sound like a long time, but this thing runs a lot. i actually have a good sized fan blowing right on the motor and pump all day so it doesn't get as hot as it should here in FL. excellent product.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Ohio

Very Great Product! A Must Have!

PostedJanuary 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just installed the air unit and it is great. It is a lot quieter than the 3.5 gallon unit I have. It also has no vibration to it for the most part. We left it on the pallet and it works perfect. I would see no need to bolt it to the floor. I have even used it for some sandblasting and it has done wonderful. This is one of the best purchases I have made for my garage in a long time and am extremely satisfied. The manual that comes with it provides you with great instruction on maintenance and set-up. If you are looking for an air compressor with high expectations and low cost this is the one for you!
+19points
35out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from West Virginia

Husky 60 gal

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This compressor is really good, as long as you break it in proper and change oil directly after break in, everything should go good, all my tools are an 11.2 cfm or less and this compressor not only runs during the use but can fill and use the tool at same time, multy tool usage at same time is not reccomended, one tool at a time and you will love this compressor at the correct cfm usage, factory setting is at 135 psi max, mine is cranked up to about 148 psi giving me the same as the kobalt compressor for cheeper compressor, this comressor is fairly quiet, mine is also linked to a 15 gal second reserve giving me a 75 gal reserve no problems keeping up.
When breaking in make sure to run for 25-35 minutes before compressing and change oil directly after (prefilled oil gets really black quickly), 8oz of mobile 1 (10-30) is reccomended by manufacturer, has a site glass for proper filling, conventional oil is not reccomended and may even shorten pump life, does not come with regulator, any ball valve will do, either mount to the floor, or place some padded under at least one leg, does have slight vibration from top heavy during compression.
Never adjust factory setting, or add reserve tanks unless your experienced, no telling what loop holes with void warranty.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Miami, FL

Very Very Goog Product!

PostedApril 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this compressor and love it. It handles everything that i throw at it. Just don't leave home depot before visiting the plumbing and electrical because u will be needing some more extra parts. i would defiantly recommend this compressor to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from tulsa, ok
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product and great price

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are looking for a great air compressor for at excellent price, this one is for you!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product and Great Customer Service

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brought one home and got it wired and it worked good for a week then the I had a problem; when the compressor pressurized the switch would remain open and not close until the compressor kicked back on to pressurize. Called HD and they delivered a new one and it works great. It was a very minor problem with the first one with the ball sticking and not dropping allowing the switch to engage. Mounted it with the mounting kit and bought the oil drain kit from the Campbell Hausfeld site with the part numbers from the manual. The oil drain extension is must have and the mounting kit works great as well. When you change the oil with the extension you will have to blow into the oil filler in order to get the oil to drain, but it is better than having it drain all over the tank. Could not be happier with the unit and the customer service,
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor

Go ahead and buy it

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had mine for 14 years. It is a real pal when I need it. Sometimes it's to blow something off for a minute, other times it will run for 8-12 hours straight running my bead blast cabinet.
I depend heavily on this compressor, and have gotten every cent I spent back in value and dependability. At the same time I use it in my engine business I used it to restore 4 cars.
Go ahead and buy one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor

GREAT mid-level compressor

PostedFebruary 13, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purposely waited a few weeks to add my review of this product. I wanted to wait until I had a chance to use it for a variety of different tasks.
The installation was just as simple and easy as I had expected. It was not difficult to add a 220 volt breaker to my breaker box and hard wire the compressor.
I used masonry bits to drill holes in the concrete in my garage for concrete anchors. The compressor has very little vibration but the manual clearly states that the warrantee is void if the unit is not anchored to cement. the complete installation was pretty straight forward and I had no problem taking care of it by myself, although I did have to enlist the help of a couple neighbors to unload the compressor from the truck when I first brought it home.
After the suggested break-in period, I installed a regulator and filter to the output along with an in-line filter at the end of the hose.
I am amazed at how quiet the unit is. For a compressor of this size, I was expecting it to be much louder. As an example of how quiet this compressor is, one time I turned on the compressor when my filter/regulator was not completely closed. I could hear the small amount of air that was escaping from the filter/regulator while the compressor was running.
My first task was to air up my wife's tires. It comes as no surprise that the compressor was able to handle that without having to refill the tank.
My second task was using an impact wrench to remove and replace lug nuts while I changed my brake pads. I was a little surprised that the compressor was able to supply me with enough air for the entire job without having to refill (I only did the front wheels).
My third task was painting the front door and trim to my home with a high-pressure siphon feed pray gun. I had never used a paint gun before and I didn't know exactly what to expect. I was very impressed how much easier it was to paint specific areas with a spray gun (much easier than a roller or brush). I put about 4 heavy coats of paint on the door and the compressor only kicked on 3 or 4 times.
I have many more jobs lined up for the coming weekends with which I plan to utilize this compressor. While a smaller compressor might handle most of what I need, this compressor has had no problems with anything that I have used it for thus far. It has never had to strain to keep up, in fact it doesn't have to refill near as often as I had expected. I have not even come close to testing the 100% duty cycle.
The tank capacity is VERY NICE, but that also means that it takes awhile to relieve all the pressure from the tank when I am finished using the compressor.
This compressor has proven to be even better than I had expected when I purchased it. At this price point it is a steal and a VERY good buy.
I could not bring myself to purchase an inferior compressor (non-oiled, small motor and/or tank) when I was able to buy this compressor for an additional $40. It runs my tools admirably and the cast iron pump gives me peace-of-mind that this compressor will serve me for many many years to come.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor

awesome tool

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought a 165 psi blow valve and put the pressure at 155 and this tool is great much better than before and works great for the price compared to a more expensive unit
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Ballwin, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Is as described

PostedMay 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this compressor as an upgrade from the 8 gallon compressor I was using. I use it to run (not at the same time), a blast cabinet, HVLP gun, airbrush, car tire inflator, and blow guns. It works great for all of these.
I run it pretty consistently and it never lags behind, even while running the blast cabinet.
I'm currently in the process of setting up a water removal system with PEX and copper piping, drain valves, and filters.
If you're going to use this for painting, make sure you set up a filter, as it runs pretty warm, and warm means condensation.
I have no complaints about the compressor itself, as it does exactly what it claims to do.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Andrews, South Carolina

Great Value and Price

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this 3.2 Running HP 60 Gallon Compressor from my local Home Depot in Myrtle Beach, SC and it was very easy and simple to set up and connect up where my old compressor was. It run and works like a brand new unit and is very quiet.
I really love the price and that it's like having a brand new 3.2 Running HP 60 Gallon Compressor for a faction of the price of a new unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Fredonia, KS

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great compressor for the price. Installation was easy & quiet unit!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Springfield Ohio

great compressor

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
ok just to shed some light on the product. First of all i can talk on the phone standing beside it while its running so its quiet enough. second of all if your concerned about 220 volts dont be its just one extra wire to attach and it uses less amperage than 110 compressors.about 7.5 per 110 wire attached. when setting it up u can keep it on the pallet it came on it only weighs 250 pds so easy to manuever.u do have to buy the plumbing the output hole needs reduced to 3/8 and then u plumb it with 3/8 equipment like the shut off ball valve,then the 3/8 regulator do not reduce down to 1/4 in at any time u will hurt the output scfm. then buy an air/water seperator because it does tend to make alot of water.then finally the air hose use the 3/8 couplers and attachments for your tools.you will be happy because it will run every air tool the home mechanic will ever use.if u need more then well u have a buisness not a home shop.make sure you break it in by running it 30 min with all the valves open so theres no actual compressing going on then change the oil to get the break in metal shavings out of it and your ready to go.wonderful product at a wonderful price.beat that roebucks.
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from automotive tech

great bang for buck

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i just got this compressor hooking it up was a breeze ran it threw its break in and then had to test it with die grinder i say i was shocked kept up with no prob if your thinking about buying this model dont even blink just buy it you wont be sorry at all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from O'Fallon, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good service !!!

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
a littlt expensive . cost too much to get mounted. seems to be doing fine.
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 60 gal. Electric Air Compressor
from Rincon, GA 31326, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works fine for me

PostedJune 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't had any issues in over two years of use. i use this unit to do custom body mods, build furniture and paint vehicles. if you will be using 100% duty get a refrigerated dryer to keep airlines and paint water free.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>