728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Coolers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment

Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment

The GE Hot and Cold Free Standing Water Dispenser provide you with hot and cold drinking water for instant soups, foods and beverages. The easy-to-use push-button faucets provide a child-resistant feature on the hot water. This water dispenser also comes equipped with a removable drip tray for easy cleaning and a non-refrigerated compartment for storing cups and other items. Depending upon your needs, the 3 gallon and 5 gallon bottle (not included) option provides you with versatility.
Overall rating:
3.528 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product54 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(15)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product54 of 85reviews
Customer questions and answers:
72 Questions | 90 Answers
Customer reviews for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Review 1 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Tampa, Fl

GE water dispenser

PostedFebruary 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had bought this Ge water dispenser 10 years ago and moved 3 times. Yesterday i was sitting at my table and heard the water dispenser making a funny noise. So i went to check the water and it was warm. I called GE and told them the problem and they said the compressor went. This unit was very good and after all the years i had it it did a very good job. I would recomend this unit to any one . I bought this one at home depot 10 years ago and so now i am off to buy the same exact one...thank you GE for making a good product.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from West Richland, WA.

Great for price, very slow water dispensing.

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had this cooler for about 3 months now and it has been great except for the speed at which the water comes out. The water comes out so slow it is unbearable. Contemplating taking it back to see if I could trade it in for a model up. The build is nice, water sets in nicely, the cold water is nice and cold and the hot is absolutely perfectly hot. The little door underneath is nice but if you set this on carpet you can barely open it.
Over all nice cooler, just very very slow when it comes to getting water out.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is very dependable.

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am on my 2nd GE dispenser. The first one I had for about 10 years and the compressor went out. It worked great those 10 years. Hot was very hot and cold was very cold. I looked for and purchased the same model for my second one because I was so pleased with the first one. I have had this one for 2 years now and again it is a great dispenser. It has been very dependable.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from maryland

love hate relationship

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have had this cooler for a few years- overall have been happy with it
PROS-- great size and up until now no problems
cold was cold and hot is hot
family loves it- convenient and like the bottom door
CONS-- cooler is beigey which is fine but i have in my kitchen and over time has def. yellowed in many spots!
makes a clicking sound but i got use to it- otherwise fairly quiet
up until 4 days ago no problem with it-- now I have no cold water-- blue light is one but water is just luke warm ANY SUGGESTIONS as to what the problem is ?? Can this be easily fixed? dont want to have to buy a new one so soon :-(
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Las Vegas, Nevada

Great Machine

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Okay I must say it has been a great 11 years with this model however it is time for a new one. After cleaning it as I usually do every four months, it developed a leak that was unstoppable. After about 8 years, it had a few leaks from the bottom but I figured that out because those only happen when the water did not recycle down and the water became hot when the jug was low. All I had to do was get a cup of water and let the bubbles come up and it was fine. This leak was something different and I knew it was time to let go. I had the counter top model, but will replace it with the floor model this time. I believe I will get another 11 or so years out of the replacement.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from San Luis Obispo, CA

It took 4 years before it finally broke.

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was originally disappointed that it was leaking but after reading reviews on other mfg water coolers, I guess I should be happy that this model lasted as long as it did. I checked other stores and what they offered and the customer reviews averaged 6-12 months before other looers started leaking.
I guess I'll head to homedepot to buy the same model to replace my old one and hope it lasts for another 4 years.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy MerchantPlumbingMarch 22, 2011
Pinhole leaks in the water bottle are the cause of leaks in almost every instance. A pinhole leak can cause the bottle to lose vacuum and cause the water to seep out around the collar on the top of the dispenser. Replacing the bottle solves this problem.
Review 7 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment

save on water bottle waste

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Does exactly what I wanted it to do, hot water is hot and cold is cold. Just wish it came in a color other than white.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment

water cooler

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this product for five years now and I love it and it is still going strong.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this water cooler in my kitchen area for over 6 years now and we love it. We have a family of 5 and it gets a lot of use!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from new Jersey

Water Spills Out

PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After having this product for less than a month, One night I wake up to a big mess of water in my kitchen, it looks like the water comes out from the botton somewhere, it did that twice and I had to return it to Home Depot, thankfully it had 90 days warranty from the store.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from NJ

Durability

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this water cooler about 18 months ago. The hot water does not work anymore. The last water cooler we had lasted 5 years. It is also very noisy. I would not recommend it.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy MerchantPlumbingMarch 22, 2011
We recommend that you check the switch on the back of the dispenser to make sure it didn't get accidently turned off. This switch controls the hot water only. If it is accidentally turned off, you won't get hot water.
Review 12 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from HudsonValley, NY

NOT as described!

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so peeved about this purchase. I put a LOT of research into buying a water cooler for our office. The online user's manual on GE's website SAID that it had 2 switches on the back, if you so chose, you could switch OFF the HOT or the COLD water.
This is VERY important because we have children that come to our office and we did not want ANY chance of them being SCALDED by 190° hot water! When we got the unit to the office, there was only ONE switch on the back that turns off BOTH THE HOT AND COLD WATER! So, GE saved 25cents and totally ruined a perfectly designed water cooler! Now I have to lug it back to HD to return it!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy MerchantPlumbingMarch 22, 2011
This model has one switch on the back. This switch only turns off the heating elements for the hot water. The dispenser will continue to keep water cold, even if the switch is in the "off" position.
Review 13 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Chicago , Ill

excellent

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes I got this model 5 years ago for christmas and all of a sudden 4 months ago it started to leak, I don't know how we did it but we fix it, not just yesterday it started to leak again. But it was a really good brand and had very nice things. I am going to go buy another one, just the same, I don't think there are many out there that lasts a lot of years, it's worth it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Racine, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This a fantastic dispenser!

PostedJanuary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, nice cold water that we all are enjoying, and the price was very reasonable. We have also used the hot water dispenser and was excited to have instant hot cocoa.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's all right

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took roughly 3 hours to set up because you have to clean/disinfect it. Which is understandable however the way to drain the tanks is just by holding the buttons which take forever to dispense water. They should make note of that on the box or at least in the description. Not very convenient to either water gets everywhere, and when you need this because your tap water is contaminated it's also very costly to clean. It took about 5 gallons of water to get this unit clean.
Also the decals have rubbed off completely from the dispenser buttons. I have the same model at work but it's about 4 years old - much better made. Rather disappointed that the item has become so shoddy.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD CustomerServiceDecember 21, 2011
Hi Adam,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with your GE Water Dispenser. Although our dispensers are sanitized before leaving the factory, we still encourage consumers to sanitize their water dispensers upon install. As noted on page 7 of the Use & Care Manual for this product, you can skip some sanitization steps for first time installation. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us via
www.geappliancesathomedepot.com or call 1-877-WINWTHD (1-877-946-9843).
Review 16 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Watertown, NY 13601, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Our cooler is just 2 years old. After one year, the cold water just wasn't as cold as it should be. We thought maybe the very high summer temps were in some way affecting it. It never improved despite the fact that we followed the manual's instructions to troubleshoot this problem. We've tolerated the "lukewarm" cold water, but I'm disappointed that it broke down so soon with no recourse other than buying a new one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Salt Lake
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad quality

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is my 2nd unit in 8 months. The 1st one went out (no hot or cold water) within 3 months. The 2nd one lasted 5 months. We use about 5 gallons every 10 days or so. It's not like we're abusing it or any thing. Really disappointed in the product when it carries a "GE" name. On a positive note, Home Depot return policy is excellent.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from winder, ga
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

S - L - O - W !

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointing! We use this for coffee, tea, drinking water all the time. It is agonizingly slow and our 2 qt pitcher is too tall to rest on the drain to support it during the very long time it takes to fill. We have used it for two days and it is now going back in the box for a return! Who new that technology could backslide this far - its a faucet on a bottle for heaven's sake! Have no idea about hot and cold as we did not need that feature and never plugged it in.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like it says!!!

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had it just over a month. Love it for my office. Water is cold when I go to use it. Used the hot water for some tea the other day. Love it!!! Only thing I wish was better was how quickly the water comes out. Wish it was a little bit more, but nothing too major. Great product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
from Vader, Washington

GE Hot & Cold Free Standing Water Dispenser

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Water Dispenser Rocks!!! I purchased mine 6 years ago from Home Depot. It is one of the best items I've ever purchased. Home Depot's Prices Rock Too!!! The Cooler is a trooper. I haven't had one problem with it. It always is ready to go with plenty of hot or cold water. In the 6 years I've owned it, it has always had enough cold or hot water for what I needed it for at the time. I would highly recommend this to anyone. A big thank you to Home Depot for carrying it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>