728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Water Coolers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment

Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment

The GE Hot and Cold Free Standing Water Dispenser provide you with hot and cold drinking water for instant soups, foods and beverages. The easy-to-use push-button faucets provide a child-resistant feature on the hot water. This water dispenser also comes equipped with a removable drip tray for easy cleaning and a non-refrigerated compartment for storing cups and other items. Depending upon your needs, the 3 gallon and 5 gallon bottle (not included) option provides you with versatility.
Overall rating:
3.528 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product54 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(40)
4
(15)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product54 of 85reviews
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 83 Answers
Customer reviews for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Review 41 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
jsmith7689
from NJ

Durability

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this water cooler about 18 months ago. The hot water does not work anymore. The last water cooler we had lasted 5 years. It is also very noisy. I would not recommend it.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy MerchantPlumbingMarch 22, 2011
We recommend that you check the switch on the back of the dispenser to make sure it didn't get accidently turned off. This switch controls the hot water only. If it is accidentally turned off, you won't get hot water.
Review 42 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
seechel
from maryland

love hate relationship

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have had this cooler for a few years- overall have been happy with it
PROS-- great size and up until now no problems
cold was cold and hot is hot
family loves it- convenient and like the bottom door
CONS-- cooler is beigey which is fine but i have in my kitchen and over time has def. yellowed in many spots!
makes a clicking sound but i got use to it- otherwise fairly quiet
up until 4 days ago no problem with it-- now I have no cold water-- blue light is one but water is just luke warm ANY SUGGESTIONS as to what the problem is ?? Can this be easily fixed? dont want to have to buy a new one so soon :-(
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Amity1

Doesn't last

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is the second cooler I'm getting. The first one lasted 4 years and I was pleased so, I got a replacement. To my disappointment it only lasted 15 months. Cooled water and heated water while it worked. The unit suddenly began to leak in both instances.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Eric

Good for short time them problems start

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
W have the GE model GXCF05D in our office. It worked great for the first year. After that the cold water side stopped working in the afternoon. Now it stops working for half the day every day.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Adam
from NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's all right

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It took roughly 3 hours to set up because you have to clean/disinfect it. Which is understandable however the way to drain the tanks is just by holding the buttons which take forever to dispense water. They should make note of that on the box or at least in the description. Not very convenient to either water gets everywhere, and when you need this because your tap water is contaminated it's also very costly to clean. It took about 5 gallons of water to get this unit clean.
Also the decals have rubbed off completely from the dispenser buttons. I have the same model at work but it's about 4 years old - much better made. Rather disappointed that the item has become so shoddy.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD CustomerServiceDecember 21, 2011
Hi Adam,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with your GE Water Dispenser. Although our dispensers are sanitized before leaving the factory, we still encourage consumers to sanitize their water dispensers upon install. As noted on page 7 of the Use & Care Manual for this product, you can skip some sanitization steps for first time installation. If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to contact us via
www.geappliancesathomedepot.com or call 1-877-WINWTHD (1-877-946-9843).
Review 46 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
disappointed
from winder, ga
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

S - L - O - W !

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very disappointing! We use this for coffee, tea, drinking water all the time. It is agonizingly slow and our 2 qt pitcher is too tall to rest on the drain to support it during the very long time it takes to fill. We have used it for two days and it is now going back in the box for a return! Who new that technology could backslide this far - its a faucet on a bottle for heaven's sake! Have no idea about hot and cold as we did not need that feature and never plugged it in.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Olympia98506
from Olympia

Started to leak after 9 years...

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased the counter top model of this in 2002. It has worked perfectly until a few days ago when it started to leak. I was able to trace the leak to the where the heater element entered the holding tank. I put a nitrile o-ring between the nut and the tank...and I hope I get several more years of service out of this. It is quiet, and works great! My wife's only complaint is that the five gallon containers are a bit much for her to lift onto the unit.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
ParentOfTwo
Age Range:25 to 34

worse than a leaky faucet!!

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have not had this product very long and it was leaking!! overnight of course.. runined my floors and ceiling since it was on the second floor of my home!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
OfficeBuyer
from HudsonValley, NY

NOT as described!

PostedSeptember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am so peeved about this purchase. I put a LOT of research into buying a water cooler for our office. The online user's manual on GE's website SAID that it had 2 switches on the back, if you so chose, you could switch OFF the HOT or the COLD water.
This is VERY important because we have children that come to our office and we did not want ANY chance of them being SCALDED by 190° hot water! When we got the unit to the office, there was only ONE switch on the back that turns off BOTH THE HOT AND COLD WATER! So, GE saved 25cents and totally ruined a perfectly designed water cooler! Now I have to lug it back to HD to return it!
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy MerchantPlumbingMarch 22, 2011
This model has one switch on the back. This switch only turns off the heating elements for the hot water. The dispenser will continue to keep water cold, even if the switch is in the "off" position.
Review 50 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
circlefx
from NH

Not a good dispenser

PostedMay 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I created this home depot website account just to write this review. Do not buy this item, it dispenses water at an unbelievably slow rate. Very frustrating, had to return it.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Betty
from Dayton, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Water Dispenser hot/cold

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cold water really comes out slow, slow, and slow. I am not happy at all with this unit.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
akumar

Its loosing paint in 1st week of use.Water dispensing is slow. its Unstable.

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
No thermostat to control cooling and heating externally.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
amanda
from Charlotte, NC

Best thing in our kitchen!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just love the GE Hot and Cold Free Standing Water Dispenser..... so much, that this is our 3rd one! The previous one lasted 7 years without any problems. The new one is identical, and delivers nice cold drinking water, or heated water for tea or other beverages, with no effort on my part. Lots better than using all those small plastic water bottles, or buying extra features on a refrigerator. The storage bin is handy for keeping paper cups in, too.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
JudeO
from Laurel, MD

Not worth it

PostedApril 14, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've had one of these for a few years, the cold water has not worked in over 3 years and the hot water leaks at the faucet.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
CPRI
from Rhode Island

Leaking Dispenser

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have had this Water Dispenser for about a month and it was working great. Two days ago it started leaking from the bottom and we can't figure out why it is doing this. We bought this model based on the reviews read here. Should we just give up and return this item?
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
ld1234
from providence, ri

terrible color

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this is going back asap.. not white, as i thought from looking at the box, not grey as the specs say, but a weird beige-ish kind of color...
-10points
1out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Raesin
from California

freezing

PostedJanuary 21, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The cold water freezes every single time you reset the cooler. I would not recommend this cooler. It does not give any directions that fix the problem, it only you what you can do to correct it evey time it happens.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
MJCinNH
from New Hampshire

EXCELLENT WATER COOLER

PostedJanuary 25, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had this water cooler for a couple of years now and have NEVER had a problem with it. It's convenient and we love the on/off and safety option for the hot water. It's a great product and we would definitely recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Realjrivera
from Lancaster, PA

Great!!

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This water cooler is awesome! I was on a budget and didn't really have high expectations for this cooler. Well, using this cooler for awhile now and this cooler surpassed all my expectations. The water is really cold and the hot water is great!! I use the hot water for my teas and quick oats.
It is also very quiet. We have kids and the hot water childproofing is excellent!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Energy Star Hot and Cold Free-Standing Water Dispenser with Storage Compartment
Glink
from Moscow, ID
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I am pleased with the product

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dispenser was exactly as I ordered it and was delivered in a timely fashion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>