728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saw Blades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Make splinter-free cuts and flat bottom grooves with the Diablo 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set. The set includes blades, wing chippers and shims constructed from durable micro-grain titanium carbide for a design that is durable, strong and razor sharp. The blades are designed to fit 5/8 in. laser cut arbors for accurate blade rotation.
Overall rating:
4.452 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product27 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product27 of 31reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Review 1 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Centennial, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great dado set

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dado set is easy to setup on the table saw, the provided guide makes knowing which blades to use for the appropriate cut width a breeze. Also the blades are very sharp, and cut through wood like butter. I had the choice of picking a set that was half the cost, however knowing how good Diablo blades are I felt it best to spring for the extra cost and have a set that cuts very accurately.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for beginners and pro's

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a machinist for 22 years and I had used this brand of saw blade which is the best in my opinion.I made all my own work benches and I wish I had the dado blades then.The square sides and clean cuts makes making half lap and other joinery easy.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no line up indacators
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Rochester
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommended

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great Dado set. Comes with everything you need. two blades, chippers, spacers, and shims. I've used this a ton making cabinets for my workshop area and they work great. Price wise they're similar to actual Freud brand blades (Diablos are made by Freud) I really don't know why you spend more for a dado set if you're a weekend woodworker. Includes a decent heavy plastic case to store blades.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from American Fork, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Purchase

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good dado blade for the price. Cuts are clean and smooth.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

worth the money?

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yup, its a dado set. they're sharp with plenty of shims. Are they twice as nice as the brand next to them that comes with a wood storage case, unlikely. I bought based off my experience with their other blades, which is great. I feel these are over priced.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Osceola, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Added to my R4512 the possibilities are almost endless!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked Diablo brand for my stacked dado set as their other blades I always use and find them to be bar-none. These are no different. The guide on the front of the holder lets you know exactly what blades, wings, and shims to use for different size dado cuts. Once stacked and on the machine these cut through hardwood with precision. Highly recommend for any cabinet makers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Chattanooga, Tenn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleased to see the smooth bottom the dado blade made. Also glad I decided to purchase this relatively inexpensive dado rather than the 250.00 set. Use gloves when assembling the blades because they are sharp.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Holly, MI 48442, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use dado

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used a cheap version and threw it away. This is pure quality and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Lake Elsinore, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

If you have a hybrid cabinet saw or better and good wood to work with...

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second experience with a dado set. The first one was a 6" Craftsman set that I bought from another vendor other than that big store that sells Craftsman stuff and has for years and that made me do a bit more research. I had to make some dado cuts to support some project joinery (glue and screw, lap joints). I went to the local Home Depot (after looking this up on the web and reading other comments) and voila! I am a dado apprentice! In no time, I'll be a dado master! At least these blades are not in the way. I think the Freud Diablo brand is really made with great stuff. I have seen lots of woodworkers using their blades and router bits. I think the type of saw you have and the wood you are working with really matters. BTW: I used it without shims. It comes with a bunch of those.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: the instructions are embedded on the cardboard
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product at a very fair price

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it on-line & picked it up in my local store. Performs exactly as advertised. Easy to install, clean cuts, etc.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Northwest, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am buy one again

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The negative angle on the carbide tips allow me to cross cut oak plywood without splintering. I had to make my own cutout for my table saw but that did not take long ad the payoff is worth it. This dado is easy to setup and use. The outside blades cut a little deeper but that helps to keep any excess glue from from running out.
Pros: Easy to Use
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Festus, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent tool!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd never used a dado blade set prior to buying this. I'd always made due using repeated passes with the table saw and an ordinary blade. This dado set makes projects I'd put on hold so easy to do.
One piece of advice; When you've got the blades in place and ready to cut, try to spin each of the blades independently. I managed to ruin my set tonight but not getting the nut tight enough. No fault of the blades themselves. I'll be going back to Home Depot and buying another set if that tells you anything!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Roseville Michigan

very durable

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i have used these for a couple of years now, no complaints at all, when it comes to cutting or shaping wood i always use freud blades or router bits, i refuse to use anything else.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

3 years and still works great

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had these 3 years now and they still work excellent, if these blades don't fit the mandrel on your saw then it is time to buy a real table saw! these really are not meant for 10 inch bench top saws, you can maybe cut a 1/2" dado on one, for best results use a real contractors saw.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Diablo dado set

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a Bosch 4100-09D this set works perfect on it. They make very clean flat cuts, and run quiet and smooth.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Boise, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of the best tools I have ever bought.

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I build planter boxes. After burning up two routers I tried this blade. No issues.
Pros: Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Melbourne, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

item works very good

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works well, very accurate and clean cuts, set up was easy
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Cedar Rapids, IA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Using this on oak is like a hot knife through butter

PostedMay 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased a less expensive product and learned that you get what you pay for....
The Diablo dado head is an excellent value for my level of woodworking.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Chiloquin, OR 97624, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent cutting

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good slim design, makes great, thin, clean cut.
Pros: Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Winter Haven, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Dado

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good dado set. It does not produce a groove with a smooth bottom. The choppers are not wide enough. For my application it was adequate.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not a precision tool
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>