728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Saw Blades or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

Make splinter-free cuts and flat bottom grooves with the Diablo 8 in. x 12-Tooth Carbide Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set. The set includes blades, wing chippers and shims constructed from durable micro-grain titanium carbide for a design that is durable, strong and razor sharp. The blades are designed to fit 5/8 in. laser cut arbors for accurate blade rotation.
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product37 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(27)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product37 of 42reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Review 1 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Centennial, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great dado set

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This dado set is easy to setup on the table saw, the provided guide makes knowing which blades to use for the appropriate cut width a breeze. Also the blades are very sharp, and cut through wood like butter. I had the choice of picking a set that was half the cost, however knowing how good Diablo blades are I felt it best to spring for the extra cost and have a set that cuts very accurately.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Temple tx
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works like it's supposed to.

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I used my stacked dado set 10 min after I got it to make some box joints and it did great. Thin discs that are included make it easy to get the perfect thickness.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Long-Lasting
Cons: No Instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Medina, Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice set

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It includes 2 outside blades, 3 chippers Not 2chippers, spacers and shims. You can get additional shims but the diversity of this product for anything dado for the price is very good. Pay the extra for the Diablo/Freud technology. Anytime I try to save money and get cheaper blades at first I end up buying a Diablo/Freud later and spending more than I wanted to originally. Just get one.
4 stars because the store should carry SD206 Pro blades from the same manufacturer as this one I bought in a rush. An 8 inch Dado blade is unnecessary on many of the lower powered table saws that the DIYer will buy. A 6 inch blade like the SD206 would do a better job, put less strain on the motor of your table saw, is a Professional version from the same manufacturer and is cheaper. But the HD purchaser is smarter than I am (apparently) and the reviewer of the Customer Reviews probably will kick this back with some excuse to me by email so the guy/gal who needs to know will remain in the dark. Thanks.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for beginners and pro's

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was a machinist for 22 years and I had used this brand of saw blade which is the best in my opinion.I made all my own work benches and I wish I had the dado blades then.The square sides and clean cuts makes making half lap and other joinery easy.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: no line up indacators
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Rochester
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommended

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great Dado set. Comes with everything you need. two blades, chippers, spacers, and shims. I've used this a ton making cabinets for my workshop area and they work great. Price wise they're similar to actual Freud brand blades (Diablos are made by Freud) I really don't know why you spend more for a dado set if you're a weekend woodworker. Includes a decent heavy plastic case to store blades.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Bangor, ME
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Go Cheap On Dado Blade Sets!

PostedMarch 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second dado blade set that I have bought within the past six months. The first set I bought at a discount tool place, and it was terrible. There was a learning curve with it, but with that set I found the need to run a chisel over the dado or rabbit every time, and it was not saving me any time. After reading the review for this set, and after saving up a little for it, I made the purchase.
I set this up and the very first cut I was very happy with the results. There was no need to go back over the dado with a chisel, and with the use of two feather boards, I had perfect precision cuts each time. The set up was easier than the cheaper set as well. It's fairly intuitive to set up, and Freud made it idiot-proof by even labeling which direction of rotation for setting up the blades.
Without a doubt, worth every penny.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Normal, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Happy With My Purchase

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased a cheaper brand several years ago, and it did a decent job, especially for a novice using it, but the bottom of the dado was not very smooth. I don't think that was my fault, and I don't know that I'm any better at using it now either. This dado set is pretty easy to use, and the end result is pretty darned smooth. I believe it cost twice what the other one was, but that's just another $50.00, and it's well worth it. I think it's hard to beat this company for quality in their tools.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Chattanooga, Tenn
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great quality

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleased to see the smooth bottom the dado blade made. Also glad I decided to purchase this relatively inexpensive dado rather than the 250.00 set. Use gloves when assembling the blades because they are sharp.
Pros: Sturdy, Accurate
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this at the last minute after mine was damaged beyond repair while in the middle of a project. Didn't expect much, but didn't want to wait days while internet order arrived, and didn't want to drive 100 miles to get one from wood store. My expectation was it would be good enough the finish a few dadoes to allow me to complete my project on time. However when it opened it up and installed it I was quite pleased. Setting it up was simple. Chart to get correct size was easy to read. and the first cut was perfect. Bottom and sides were smooth and no tear out or splinters. This blade did as good as one costing twice as much. The plastic storage case is not the best, but is ample enough to protect blade from damage. The reason for a four is that the top end Freud is a little better and if I were a professional craftsman doing this for a living I would upgrade to it. This one appears to be good enough for me, an avid hobby woodworker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: No Instructions
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Osceola, WI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Added to my R4512 the possibilities are almost endless!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I picked Diablo brand for my stacked dado set as their other blades I always use and find them to be bar-none. These are no different. The guide on the front of the holder lets you know exactly what blades, wings, and shims to use for different size dado cuts. Once stacked and on the machine these cut through hardwood with precision. Highly recommend for any cabinet makers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from American Fork, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Purchase

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good dado blade for the price. Cuts are clean and smooth.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Central Kansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality product

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Blades are of a high quality. The case is of decent quality with storage for everything and it comes with some instructions for the less experienced user. I used these on a smaller portable style table saw and had no issues with it bogging down.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Huntington WV
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Performance For Your Money

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't use a Dado blade that much in my work shop. I use exact fit router blades mostly. But I do encounter a need every once that calls for a dado set. I bought this brand because to be quite honest, I like the Diablo line of blades. They are reasonable priced and perform quite well. I make some nice stuff in my shop but I'm not able to go out and spend hundreds of dollars on one blade. I do this for fun/hobby. So this item fits my needs quite well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Holly, MI 48442, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use dado

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used a cheap version and threw it away. This is pure quality and easy to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Tomball, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good quality product. Storage case is a big plus as well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Lincoln , NE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice clean cut

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
New to a dado but in first use the cut was clean and the bottom smooth! Could not ask for much more!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Diablo dado set

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a Bosch 4100-09D this set works perfect on it. They make very clean flat cuts, and run quiet and smooth.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Roseville Michigan

very durable

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i have used these for a couple of years now, no complaints at all, when it comes to cutting or shaping wood i always use freud blades or router bits, i refuse to use anything else.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set

3 years and still works great

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've had these 3 years now and they still work excellent, if these blades don't fit the mandrel on your saw then it is time to buy a real table saw! these really are not meant for 10 inch bench top saws, you can maybe cut a 1/2" dado on one, for best results use a real contractors saw.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. x 12-Tooth Stacked Dado Saw Blade Set
from Northwest, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I am buy one again

PostedNovember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The negative angle on the carbide tips allow me to cross cut oak plywood without splintering. I had to make my own cutout for my table saw but that did not take long ad the payoff is worth it. This dado is easy to setup and use. The outside blades cut a little deeper but that helps to keep any excess glue from from running out.
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>