728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Well Pumps & Systems or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

Made of heavy-gauge steel with an appliance-like finish, the Flotec 35-gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-gal. Equivalent Rating is constructed for durability and a long life. Featuring a conveniently located air valve for quick hookup. This tank comes pre-charged to 40 psi and has a replaceable air/water separator that is FDA approved.
Overall rating:
3.787 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product33 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 47 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(11)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(9)
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product33 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
Review 1 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

Makes for a good do it yourselfer's replacement

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Local store had in stock. I was concerned about the plastic threads, you need to take care not to strip. First attempt, I used pipe dope. Leaked. Second, I used teflon tape. I wrapped the threaded coupling 10-12 times as suggested in other reviews. No leaks.To prevent rust, I also wrapped the legs in electrical tape as to not to scrap the paint while moving into a tight location. Rubber dipping the legs partially would be something I wish the manufacturer would consider. Just a thought.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this bladder tank to replace the original tank the well driller installed. I have had this tank for almost 15 years. It finally started losing pressure after all these years.This is a very good purchase.
Pros: Reliable
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Wappinger Falls NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DRIP

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I had to install it three times before it would stop leaking. Use at least 15 wraps of plumbers tape on the male end and thread sealant on the female end. I had to buy three 1 inch fittings at $12 a pop because I sweat all the fittings in each time. Last time I installed a union just in case it leaked again, but it didn’t. It has been working great now for over a week. Time will tell.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

Nice item

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Only had for a short time but so far so good. Love the idea of replaceable bladder.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Leesville, LA

Great Product

PostedNovember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old tank was non-op with the water pressure waving at you like you were at a football game. I priced these things around town and this one was the only one under $200. It also states that you can replace the bladder, which is the only thing that can go wrong with them. We got it home and all you have to do is screw in a 1" fitting to the bottom and connect to your system - pvc, galvanized or whatever and you are back into good water pressure. I took the 40 lbs down to 28 per the instructions that came with it prior to turning on the water . This is the one to get if you ask me. 5 year warranty, too. The 82 gallon equivalent is NO BIG DEAL as they all work the same. I KNEW when I looked at the box that it was only 35 gallon but EQUIVALENT to 82 gallons. I do not know what that comment is all about. Have a great time with your new tank, but don't do like me and end up replacing all the PVC fittings in the system because I got too rough with the old stuff and it all broke on me...too old I guess. Way to Go Home Depot!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from lapeer, michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very dissapointed

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this flo-tech unit 5 months ago ,,and today I had to have a well guy come out . he diagnosed the problem as a waterlogged bladder tank ..he also told me that he replaces a lot of these cheeper units with a higher quality unit . do yourself a favor ,,don't be cheep when it comes to bladder tanks . now I need to see if the store will take this defective unit back ..
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks, below average product
Cons: below average product
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Pierceton, IN

Pre-charged tank

PostedJune 27, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Flotec tank is fantastic! We really liked the fact the the adapter was a standard 1" female fitting which will fit any pump. Our pump is up in age and this took away any concern that we had to buy extra parts. It's easy to connect and works very efficiently. We compared to other brands and found the Flotec to be the best and the most reasonable in price, as well. We would recommend to anyone needing a tank. It gives great performance. Sincerely, MBoyd
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from arnold,md
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Water tank

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The water was easiest tank i have ever install worked great first time no problems with anything
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

Love it

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great! Love the ease it took to install. It's a keeper
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Parker CO

Bladder ruptured after 5 years

PostedDecember 18, 2007
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Worked fine but recently noticed the pump was cycling way too often. Checked the pressure fill valve and water would squirt out due to a ruptured bladder. I discovered that one of my kids had let the air pressure out and probably caused the bladder to burst. New bladder was a little over half the cost of a new tank. Need to check the pressure regularly to prevent this from happening although I've heard reports that is not that uncommon on flotec tanks. Pressure must be checked with the tank empty.
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Kingston, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install but be carefull not to crossthread plastic threads

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This my second flotec tank. Not sure how old the first was - guessing five years. Installation took me about 2 hours but most ot the time was draining the old tank. Definitely use a union connection in the line so you are not over torqueing the plastic fitting at the tank. I believe it is very important to check the tank pressure at least every 6 months (with the pump off and system drained) as I believe I ruined my last tank by not doing so. Also suggest wrapping bottom of steel legs with electric tape as soon as you take it out of the box to prevent scratching off the paint making them vulnerable to rust especially in a damp basement. Overall installation easy - not really sure why the first one failed - must be that the bladders have problems.
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Upper, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buyer beware

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tank has a plastic flange for connection to a service tee. As you can guess, the plastic flange is easily damaged by overtightening or cross threading. When installing the tee it bottomed out with at least another 3/4 turn left to turn the tee in the proper upright position. As per the installation instructions and utilizing a pipe wrench to tighten, the flange threads failed and stripped. I had to replace flange and this time, I used a 6" nipple and union connection to the tee so as not to over stress the plastic flange while plumbing the remaining connections. After reading some of these reviews (post installation) I see that the union will save me in the long run as I will probably be doing this again in the near future. ps. Customer service was very good and the replacement flange is less than $10.00 (that should tell you something)
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

Cheap Poorly Made Plastic Fitting

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The plastic fitting on the bottom was tapped too large. The pipe nipple bottomed in the hole before the pipe threads got tight. I avoided stripping the threads like others here had done, but ended up with a leak. Had to take the system apart and apply epoxy to seal the fitting. Don't like poorly made stuff and having to band-aid things together. There's no value in an inexpensive item that doesn't work.
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

Glad I chose this tank

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The tank was easy to install, did it by myself in about 1 1/2 hrs. including removal of old tank and piping. Changed piping from galvanized to cpvc water grade, which also cut down on time. The larger capacity keeps my well pump from cycling as often.
If you need to replace the bladder, it is best to contact the manufacturer, since they do have a shelf life according to them.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

needed it quick they had it

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
we wanted a larger tank but old tanks never give you a warning so it was a weekend they had one that was the same as we had so much for going larger plastic inlet cross threaded but I was able to get it to seal second time around like the changeable bladder hope I don`t have to change it two soon to soon to say if it will hold up only had it couple months
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: plastic inlet cross threads easy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Nashua New Hampshire
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tank for the price!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Found the tank instructions to be straightforward and easy to follow. Had my new tank installed and working within an hour, including getting the well pump attached to the top and piped in. Was pleased to see the mounting heights were identical to my previous tank, so no modifications were needed to the system to make it work. Has been working well since I installed in a couple weeks ago.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, Good Instructions, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

These are great Tanks

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was delivered 5 days earlier than promised. The install was simple and the tank works great.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating

2 years and dead.....

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
almost 2 years to the date of install, and the bladder has ruptured. The warranty is only 12 months....
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Murfreesboro, Tennessee

82 Gal Pressure Tank

PostedJuly 19, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is a replacement for the tank on our well system. It's well made and easy to install (average do it yourselfer). I liked the fact that tank can be repaired if needed. The bladder is replaceable. After installation, our water pressure was improved. We now have steady pressure without the pulsating higher and lower pressure we had before the replacement. Thanks for a well built product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 35 Gal. Pre-Charged Pressure Tank with 82-Gal. Equivalent Rating
from Alaska, USA

plastic bottom poor design

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Where the T screws in the threads were stripped before installing it. When we went back to the store the other two they had on hand had been returned for the same reason. Poor design company just trying to make a cheap product and you get poor results.
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>