728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Double Hung Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window

8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window

The 8500 Series Double Hung window by American Craftsman, an Andersen Company, is designed for low-maintenance convenience and energy savings. This remarkably sturdy window offers an attractive colonial exterior profile that gives your home a traditional appearance. Its many features include energy efficient insulated glass, tilt-in sash for easy cleaning and rugged vinyl construction to make this Double Hung window an excellent choice.
Overall rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product5 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product5 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
Review 1 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
from Columbus, OH

Great Windows for the Price

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Contrary to the other review, I am very happy with this window, especially for the price. These replaced 20 year old dual pane wood windows. When I installed mine ((2) this size, (2) 28"x66"), I also replaced the brick molding, so I had full access to fill every crevis around the frame with insulation and foam. Obviously I filled everywhere I could, as well as added insulation to the head expander and sealed the entire thing up from the inside. IMHO, the install is the most important aspect and how well you do the install will determine your overall satisfaction with this, or any other, window.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I would recomend these windows.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a fifty year old rental home that desperately needed new windows. I ordered one window to see the quality and ease of installation. After successfully changing the first window, I ordered nine more. Although they are not top of the line windows, they are a very good window for the price, are easy to install, and look good. The free shipping helped make these affordable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window

Good low cost replacement window

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a well made window that seems to operate fine.
It is hard to flash well as there are only a 1" caulk flange so exterior trim is installed first then a healthy bead of caulk to set the window in place. Screw through the side jambs into studs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
from nj

glass breaks

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had these windows almost 10 yrs. about 3 yrs ago glass began breaking in winter. currently 1 window per year is breaking from (we can only guess) the cold weather. this year one already broke the 1st cold night we had. its not even really winter yet. i live in freehold, nj. i checked the manufacturers 'lifetime' warranty and it specifically DOES NOT cover glass breakage of any kind
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
from Springfield, MO

Great Replacement Window

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replacement window was a breeze to install! My husband and I decided to do it ourselves! (after watching many many videos!) We are replacing the original wood windows in our home put in 40 years ago. The old one came out easy, this one went right in from the inside of the house! We made sure it was all level, insulated & caulked and replaced the trim work! Was a BREEZE! We love these windows! The room is warmer and quieter. A local company came out and quoted me $279 for the exact same window! WOW..what a savings! Thanks Home Depot for carring such great items!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
from St Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great window!

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have installed 6 of these windows so far. Replaced single pane aluminum windows with storm windows. It is so nice to be able to open the window and have it stay up..LOL. I had only installed one to test quality and performance and after a year of use with the test subject (really cold winter, 100+ summer temps) have been replacing only of the windows in the house with this unit.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
from San Antonio TX

1 good, 1 bad

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Received both windows as scheduled, easy to install however there was a defect in the right end bottom of the sash that needed to be replaced, also the inner spring casing was damaged. good response time when calling the customer service number, ordered a replacement. But this requires that the window has to be removed entirely. not an impossible job but left feeling frustrated as I had just finished caulking and sealing the window in its place just 1 day after installation.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8500 Series Double Hung Buck Vinyl Window
from MN

You get what you pay for...

PostedDecember 15, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We decided to remodel our bathroom last summer and one of the upgrades we chose was a new window. We chose this window because we liked the size and the price was right. We were sure to insulate and caulk all the way around it inside and out to seal any possible leaks when we installed it. We live where the winters can be quite cold. In the sumer the window seemed fine but when the winter rolled around and the cold winds started to blow this window quickly showed it's true colors and lack of quality. We are so disappointed with this window. It's extremely drafty and cold. I'm glad we decided to wait to replace the rest of the windows in our home rather than installing these windows throughout our whole house. This window is draftier than the rest of our windows and our old windows are over twenty years old! I wouldn't waste your money on these.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.