728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.302 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product117 of 122reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(58)
4
(61)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product117 of 122reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Work great!!!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Im agree with all of the good reviews. I want to add what I did with the weigh. First time i used three bags of sand, around 150 pounds. It's okay but the plastic bag broke and I got sand in all of the place. I did something a little bit crazy. See the picture. On the picture you can see only one small 2.5 pounds, I used for reference but you can use one plate of 35 pounds on each side and one of 25 pounds on each side. Around 120 pounds and is enough. The 2"x10" is just for keeps the weights on level. Enjoying.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Oakdale, CA 95361, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product for the price. I checked out several other makes and models and this is definitely the best bang for the buck hands down.
My observations:
* Assembly was straight forward, lots of nuts, bolts and washers. I didn't have any missing parts, I inventoried all my parts before starting the assembly due to some reviewers stating they were missing parts. I did have about 10 left over nuts and bolts.
* I have a John Deere D140 and the unit sits on a severe downward angle, I was unable to level the unit according to the instructions. This didn't affect operation, I'm not to happy with the angle it sits on. I'll definitely be contacting the manufacturer about this to see if there is an adapter to correct this problem.
* Do yourself a favor and read the instructions, I've found the majority of negative reviews are related to "not" reading the instructions and following procedures.
* Make sure the lawn has been watered sufficiently before operating. If you don't, the aerator will ride the surface and tear the lawn.
* I operated the aerator at the speed of a mild walk and got great penetration at 3", good spacing and plugs that pushed out nicely.
* I used 4 pier blocks for additional weight and as stated, 3" plug depth was consistent.
Recommendations to the manufacturer:
I would really like to see the addition of a drop spreader for a 2 in 1 combination, with a drop spreader on the back it would reduce a second operation and would keep the plugs from being crushed back into the soil.
The key for good operation in my opinion boils down to:
Correct soil moisture, pulling the unit slowly and adding weight to the unit.
I would recommend this unit with out hesitation, great product for the money!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High Quality and Performance!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembled with my wife and was impressed with quality of components. If you have a pneumatic ratchet I highly recommend for assembling the spoons to shaft bodies. I left the under tray slotted hardware loose until I hooked the assembly to the trailer hole on my John Deere D140 and then adjusted flatness of tray before tightening these last four blots. Sits nice and flat after raising wheels. I aerated .6 acres in one hour with about 180 pounds of bagged soil tied onto the tray. Great results!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: none at all
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great once you get it together

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I really like this aerator. It's going to save me hundreds of dollars. Just by using it this year it's paid for itself over the estimate given to me by my lawn service. Once you get this thing together it works very well. Make no mistake it's a pain in the rear to assemble. Each individual step in assembly isn't difficult, very few steps are difficult. But there are a lot of parts to put together. I'm pretty good with a wrench and it took me a couple of hours.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, works as advertised
Cons: arduous assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from grove city, ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

cheaply made for the price your paying

PostedAugust 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I cannot review further than its cheaply made. I was unable to even get it put together. The tray holes and the side panel holes to mount together all different lengths and unable to match bolt holes to attach. they were about .25 inch off, tried to changes panels to other side and was same. Attempted to angle it andget bolts through to no avail. I did not expect the best of the best but for $160 I expected to get it together and be able to use it. I will be returning to get my money back, its another 25 minute trip from home to homedepot. You'd think a company would put things together prior to selling or the machine would line things up when drilling.
Cons: built incorrectly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By BrinlyCustomerServiceAugust 27, 2015By BrinlyCustomerServiceAugust 27, 2015
Hi usmccountry,

We apologize for the issues you had with this unit. Please contact Brinly Customer Service at 877-728-8224 if there is anything that we can do to assist you.

Brinly-Hardy Co. Brinly
Response from By BrinlyCustomerServiceAugust 27, 2015By BrinlyCustomerServiceAugust 27, 2015
Hi usmccountry,

We apologize for the issues you had with this unit. Please contact Brinly Customer Service at 877-728-8224 if there is anything that we can do to assist you.

Brinly-Hardy Co. Brinly
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

It is what it is

PostedJuly 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bought this to aerate about 5000 sq ft of my yard that I have been trying to seed. I was pleased with the easy to follow instructions and provided hardware. I assembled it in about an hour on the tailgate of my truck and garage floor. All hardware was supplied and it went together rather easily. I tow it with my little 1986 jd 111 and it works great. I run in 1st great with about 80lbs of weight on it. My soil is junk but this little guy did a fine job of getting into the soil about 1.5 to 2 inches. The trick is just to go slow and give the tines time to do their job. Satisfied so far!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Better then a deer!

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Paint it green if your a deer lover and save 300.00 dollars. This is well priced, easy to put together and it works great. I put 120 pounds of sand in the holder and it makes perfect 3 to 4 inch holes. Cant go wrong. At first I was not interested in this because of all the comments about how hard it was to assemble. Glad I followed my gut and ordered it anyways. It can't be any easer to assemble unless of course you can order it all ready assembled.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

would not recommend

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used with a JD L110 tractor and unable to level unit per instruction. Shortly after starting aerating, several welds sheared that attach weld plates with spoons to tube assembly. Inspecting welds showed very little penetration between plate and tube allowing spoon assembly to rotated freely about tube assembly. Poor welding and quality control! Tube assembly ends need to be deburred to accept skimpy nylon bearings. Axle assembly flexes during operation and is in need of a center support. Unit returned and letter written to Brinly
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Yorktown, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This aerator works well, as long as you keep a few things in mind:
-Make sure the soil is at an appropriate moisture level
-Use a fair amount of weight to ensure the plugs go deep enough
-Going too fast prevents the plugs from doing their job
-If sections of your lawn have a high moss content to it, you'll most likely rip up a patch or two
As far as assembly/configuration is concerned:
-It will take the better part of an hour to assemble
-Having an impact driver or impact wrench will reduce assembly time significantly
-When attaching the plugs to the plates, make sure you do so on the non-welded sides
I find this to be a good buy, and my lawn is already reaping the benefits!
Pros: Sturdy, Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used it with my John Deere D110, tractor had no issues pulling it. I would not recommend using concrete blocks on it because when you go through an area that’s uneven, concrete will scratch the surface it’s sitting on. I used 3 sand bags (each 50 lbs), worked perfectly (no scratches what so ever) and it pulled the plugs out just as advertized. You should aerate when it’s neither wet nor too dry.
Assembly is time consuming, 2 Hr Est. To raise aerator spoons when moving through concrete area, you have to carry your tools with you to un-screw the bolt so you can raise the unit to run on wheels only. It would’ve been nice if the aerator could be adjusted right from the tractor seat. It’s just an added work. When pulling the aerator with a tractor, you have to take wider turns, taking sharp turn will pull big chunks of grass along with the plugs. Overall, it’s a great unit. Solid built. Go buy it, you will like it.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Aerator and Great Company!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I completely believe in buying American whenever possible, and this is a great Made in America piece of equipment. I recommend you follow the soil conditions info in the manual or you will (as with any aerator) break some of the plugging spoons (B-4855-10 - costs $1.30 each on 7/1/2014).
Product comes with a 2 year warranty from Brinly Hardy, and they will replace some of the spoons one time only. I broke 6 after 9 months of use - once 1 breaks, the rest start popping due to the unequal weight balance. Warranty for Brinly Hardy sent me 8 so I would have a few extra in the future.
Great product! Great company!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Clay, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as advertized

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing takes awhile to assemble!
I also recommend coating the axel with a good general purpose auto grease during assembly to block out moisture and make everything turn easily - I did that!
I used 6 Cat Litter Jugs (about 3 gallons: lid caps towards the back) ) filled with water for just the right recommended weight: I put a stuck through the handles, then used bungee cords, over the stick, and through the handles to lash them down. I stored it with the jugs still on it until Fall when I'll aerate my lawn again before the snow arrives, and I can take the caps off the jugs and tilt the aerator back to dump the water out of all the jugs at once to prevent freezing and damaging them during winter storage in my shed. Then just refill them again in the Spring for another season. (Water is pretty cheap here).
I also caution against getting the wheels too close to anything they can snag on while operating, I did that (natural rock landscaping wall) and had to straighten out one of the wheels that got out of alignment the first time I tried using it.
OK- once I got going, lawn was slightly moist for previous day's rain, it pulled up plugs like crazy!!! After a few passes, it looked like Geese pooped all over my lawn (if you know what I mean), except it was an abundance of grass plugs. And do not let the tines roll over hard surfaces, even if you have to retract and reposition, do it!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plug aerator works great.

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. Have used it for 2 years now. We have a 6 acre yard. Only real issue is that 3 concrete blocks don't fit long ways just 2 and one in the other direction. And occasionally the lowering bar comes off of pin. User error if run it to close to where you just ran it the tires will be covered with mud and raise your aerating height. I use it with a John Deere 150.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Small Turn Radius
Cons: lowering bar comes unattached sometimes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Sutton, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This aerator was easy to assemble and works well. I put three bags of sand in the top tray to weigh it down. It pulled good plugs of soil where the ground was wetter and held the moisture from a recent rain and where it is sandier and drier it didn't do as well, but that is more a result of dry conditions and soil texture than any problem with aerator. I plan to use it 2-3 times a year and it paid for itself with the first usage compared to hiring someone to aerate an acre of lawn. I used a John Deere lawn tractor to pull it, but may use my ATV next time due to some steep areas where the lawn tractor wheels were spinning.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Works great

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Fairly easy to assemble and works as advertised. I would recommend this if you want to handle this yourself.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Coventry, RI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lawn aerator

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Instruction for assembly was VERY good. All parts were present and labeled very nicely, and assembly was accomplished without a problem, and within a reasonable amount of time. I used the aerator for the first time yesterday, 2 days after a good rainfall. I used THREE 40lb. bags of granule lime as weight. They fit perfectly in the top, and spread the lime when done. No storage of cement blocks. The aerator pulled plugs 2 1/2 to 3 inches deep. I could not back up the unit, no control at all, but it was meant to go forward. I pulled the unit with my TroyBilt TB30 rear engine rider. NO PROBLEM AT ALL, EVEN ON A SLIGHT INCLINE. I have 6000 sq.ft.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AERATOR

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this item knowing that it might not hold up for me living in clay and rock soil is the Colorado mountains but it I figured it was worth the price if I could get one aeration done. This product succeed with one time and went above my expectations and will probable hold up for at least a couple of years. I used 6 gallon water tanks for weight plus a couple of rocks (probably a little over the weight limit). The only bad I would say is you don't want to back up, and the lever for dropping it down should be made thicker.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Rhode Island
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice tool

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Takes a little to assemble, but works great. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: takes a while to assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>