728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product83 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(38)
4
(46)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product83 of 85reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Grumpy
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High Quality and Performance!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembled with my wife and was impressed with quality of components. If you have a pneumatic ratchet I highly recommend for assembling the spoons to shaft bodies. I left the under tray slotted hardware loose until I hooked the assembly to the trailer hole on my John Deere D140 and then adjusted flatness of tray before tightening these last four blots. Sits nice and flat after raising wheels. I aerated .6 acres in one hour with about 180 pounds of bagged soil tied onto the tray. Great results!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: none at all
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Frosty
from Oakdale, CA 95361, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the price. I checked out several other makes and models and this is definitely the best bang for the buck hands down.
My observations:
* Assembly was straight forward, lots of nuts, bolts and washers. I didn't have any missing parts, I inventoried all my parts before starting the assembly due to some reviewers stating they were missing parts. I did have about 10 left over nuts and bolts.
* I have a John Deere D140 and the unit sits on a severe downward angle, I was unable to level the unit according to the instructions. This didn't affect operation, I'm not to happy with the angle it sits on. I'll definitely be contacting the manufacturer about this to see if there is an adapter to correct this problem.
* Do yourself a favor and read the instructions, I've found the majority of negative reviews are related to "not" reading the instructions and following procedures.
* Make sure the lawn has been watered sufficiently before operating. If you don't, the aerator will ride the surface and tear the lawn.
* I operated the aerator at the speed of a mild walk and got great penetration at 3", good spacing and plugs that pushed out nicely.
* I used 4 pier blocks for additional weight and as stated, 3" plug depth was consistent.
Recommendations to the manufacturer:
I would really like to see the addition of a drop spreader for a 2 in 1 combination, with a drop spreader on the back it would reduce a second operation and would keep the plugs from being crushed back into the soil.
The key for good operation in my opinion boils down to:
Correct soil moisture, pulling the unit slowly and adding weight to the unit.
I would recommend this unit with out hesitation, great product for the money!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
elvis14
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great once you get it together

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this aerator. It's going to save me hundreds of dollars. Just by using it this year it's paid for itself over the estimate given to me by my lawn service. Once you get this thing together it works very well. Make no mistake it's a pain in the rear to assemble. Each individual step in assembly isn't difficult, very few steps are difficult. But there are a lot of parts to put together. I'm pretty good with a wrench and it took me a couple of hours.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, works as advertised
Cons: arduous assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
tyresmoker
from southern New England
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get what you pay for!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got tired of borrowing my brother-in-laws JD core aerator so I bought this one. I cannot say that the JD model is worth over twice the price of this one, but it is definitely higher quality.
This unit DOES NOT come with pneumatic tires, which is ok…one less thing to put air in twice a season.
Assembly is very straightforward if you know how to swing a wrench. I was store-to-using it in under two hours. For the money and the side of my yard, it is fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
FROG17
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

would not recommend

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used with a JD L110 tractor and unable to level unit per instruction. Shortly after starting aerating, several welds sheared that attach weld plates with spoons to tube assembly. Inspecting welds showed very little penetration between plate and tube allowing spoon assembly to rotated freely about tube assembly. Poor welding and quality control! Tube assembly ends need to be deburred to accept skimpy nylon bearings. Axle assembly flexes during operation and is in need of a center support. Unit returned and letter written to Brinly
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Johnny
from Midlothian, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid performance for the price!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In stock at store. Took about an hour to put together with power tools. Everything went together correctly. Spent about 2 hours using the product and seemed to work great. For the price paid, it is well worth it and will pay for itself in one season. Only drawback is that you cannot operate the wheel lift from the tractor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Faisal
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it with my John Deere D110, tractor had no issues pulling it. I would not recommend using concrete blocks on it because when you go through an area that’s uneven, concrete will scratch the surface it’s sitting on. I used 3 sand bags (each 50 lbs), worked perfectly (no scratches what so ever) and it pulled the plugs out just as advertized. You should aerate when it’s neither wet nor too dry.
Assembly is time consuming, 2 Hr Est. To raise aerator spoons when moving through concrete area, you have to carry your tools with you to un-screw the bolt so you can raise the unit to run on wheels only. It would’ve been nice if the aerator could be adjusted right from the tractor seat. It’s just an added work. When pulling the aerator with a tractor, you have to take wider turns, taking sharp turn will pull big chunks of grass along with the plugs. Overall, it’s a great unit. Solid built. Go buy it, you will like it.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Sejonzin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would have been a 5 but the directions do have you putting one of the parts in backwards. Aerator does a very good job, but as others have commented, you do need to take it a bit slow. I used the two bags of weed and feed as my weights and it worked great. All in all it does a very good job.
Pros: very good for the money.
Cons: instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Chris
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
ts31

Once you get it put together it works great!

PostedDecember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This aerator works great once you get it put together. It was easy to put together until you get to the tines. I have a dewalt drill I was using to fasten the nuts onto the bolts and I still had trouble. Without a power driver you will never be able to get the nuts tightened on the bolts. Even with the drill I had trouble because there was not enough room for the drill to fit in between the tines. This part was really a two person job. One to hold the bolt and tine with vise grips and the other to tighten the nut.
Overall I was pleased with the priduct. It did exactly what was advertised. It was just frustrating trying to put it together to use. Definitely a knuckle buster.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: difficult to put together
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Zekers
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
max58
from middle river
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked as advertised....almost

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
overall, it is a good product. contrary to some reports, it was not all that difficult to build. a socket set is a must, though. I've only used it once and it worked some of the time. the turf has to be moist enough for the tines to penetrate, but not so much that it is a muddy mess. hit and miss with my lawn. we'll see, over time, if it is rugged enough for my small yard. and my neighbor's, and his brother's, and his uncle's, etc.... oh, storing it in a shed is a must to stop any rusting. but it takes up a bit of space. and the tires aren't the ones advertised.
Pros: Easy to Use, not too expensive, arrived quickly
Cons: tires aren't neumatic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
PapaBear

I wish I could say something different

PostedJuly 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
But....I can't. Here's all the problems I had 1.(parts missing...had to go to a local Ace to get more parts.) 2. (Handle to lift tires was not drilled properly, and wouldn't fit) 3. Had to re-drill holes since some holes didn't align.) 4. (I found the directions to be so confusing, especially since the directions are for the 48 in. model, and through your reading you have to figure out what you don't need for the 40 in. model.) 5. ( You need 2 people to put this together)
Can't tell you how it works, since I'm still waiting for the handle for the wheels. One week and still no part. Contemplating returning back to Home depot. Buyer beware or make sure you have lots of patience when it comes to putting it together.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
GreeneThumb
from Maryland

Terrific aerator for the price

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the same company that manufactures aerators for John Deere. I can't say that putting it together was easy (took about 2.5 hours, allowing for mistakes putting things on the wrong way). Anytime one has to torque a huge number of locknuts (with resistance from plastic inside the nuts), the job is not easy. Once put together, it does a great job. You need to buy a couple of cinder blocks which fit in the tray above the aerator and cause the plug cylinders to penetrate the soil. With this product, we have had good success growing grass, where we hadn't any before. For the money, this is a great purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
dbr99
from Nevada, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality materials and fabrication

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product worked better than expected, I had to add heavy weights as suggested to get maximum ground penetration, but the product has already paid for itself because I no longer have to pay for aeration services.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Jervis
from Greensboro, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value.

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Plug Aerator was easy to assemble and use. Did a great job. It takes around 1 hour to put it together. I bought $20 of cement blocks to add some weight and it worked perfect. Bottom line. It cost me less than what any contractor would charge me. Great deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Charlie
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product appears to be of good quality but I have only used it one time. We will see if it does as well inthe future

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product preformed very well, and will be of great use to me in years to come.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
VaBeach2013
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Solid performance from this aerator. Had it together in a little over an hour; no missing parts and instructions-pictures were easy to follow. Tow mount on my John Deere 180 is very low to the ground, so I mounted to an L-bolt above the tow mount to get the aerator level. Used 3x cinder blocks for weight, strapped down using tow straps hooked to holes in weight tray. No problems pulling 3-5 inch plugs over entire lawn; I used a dowel to clean out plugs at end of day. Seems pretty well built, definately got the job done.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
xkuzme1
from Kansas City, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty Good But Not Perfect... but good product.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am happy with the quality of this aerator. It is well engineered and well built. I have already used it a few hours and it has held up well. The directions to put it together were clean and came with a lot of extra nuts and bolts in case any come lose (Yes I put it together right :-). There is one reason that I cannot give it perfect marks. The handle to raise and lower the aerator spikes to the ground cannot normally be reached from the seat of the tractor. It would have been easy for the designers to spend an extra 30 minutes and produce a more complete design. There were some cheaper ones online, but I opted for this one because the wheel assembly seemed to be higher quality and more durable. After the assembly, I have to say that it is a very rugged aerator.
I would buy it again. I am happy with it. The quality is good.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
Cons: design of handle
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
BirdHunter

BRINLY-HARDY vs. AGRI-FAB

PostedMarch 28, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
AGRI-FAB 48" (wider than Brinly):
13 gauge steel box (thicker than Brinly)
12 gauge steel knives (thicker than Brinly)
The square plates have 4 "spot-welds" to attach them to the spindles. (worse than Brinly).
Spindles rotate on plastic split bearings.
Pneumatic tire pressure is adjustable.
3-year warranty (better than Brinly)
Agri-Fab did not respond to repeated e-mail inquiries for technical information.
BRINLY-HARDY 40":
14 gauge steel box
16 gauge steel knives
The square plates are welded 360 degrees around each spindle.
Spindles rotate on plastic bushings.
Tires are semi-pneumatic; not inflated and can not adjust pressure.
2-year warranty
Brinly customer service was much more responsive to questions via e-mail.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>