728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product93 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(50)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product93 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Aerator and Great Company!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I completely believe in buying American whenever possible, and this is a great Made in America piece of equipment. I recommend you follow the soil conditions info in the manual or you will (as with any aerator) break some of the plugging spoons (B-4855-10 - costs $1.30 each on 7/1/2014).
Product comes with a 2 year warranty from Brinly Hardy, and they will replace some of the spoons one time only. I broke 6 after 9 months of use - once 1 breaks, the rest start popping due to the unequal weight balance. Warranty for Brinly Hardy sent me 8 so I would have a few extra in the future.
Great product! Great company!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High Quality and Performance!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembled with my wife and was impressed with quality of components. If you have a pneumatic ratchet I highly recommend for assembling the spoons to shaft bodies. I left the under tray slotted hardware loose until I hooked the assembly to the trailer hole on my John Deere D140 and then adjusted flatness of tray before tightening these last four blots. Sits nice and flat after raising wheels. I aerated .6 acres in one hour with about 180 pounds of bagged soil tied onto the tray. Great results!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: none at all
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Oakdale, CA 95361, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the price. I checked out several other makes and models and this is definitely the best bang for the buck hands down.
My observations:
* Assembly was straight forward, lots of nuts, bolts and washers. I didn't have any missing parts, I inventoried all my parts before starting the assembly due to some reviewers stating they were missing parts. I did have about 10 left over nuts and bolts.
* I have a John Deere D140 and the unit sits on a severe downward angle, I was unable to level the unit according to the instructions. This didn't affect operation, I'm not to happy with the angle it sits on. I'll definitely be contacting the manufacturer about this to see if there is an adapter to correct this problem.
* Do yourself a favor and read the instructions, I've found the majority of negative reviews are related to "not" reading the instructions and following procedures.
* Make sure the lawn has been watered sufficiently before operating. If you don't, the aerator will ride the surface and tear the lawn.
* I operated the aerator at the speed of a mild walk and got great penetration at 3", good spacing and plugs that pushed out nicely.
* I used 4 pier blocks for additional weight and as stated, 3" plug depth was consistent.
Recommendations to the manufacturer:
I would really like to see the addition of a drop spreader for a 2 in 1 combination, with a drop spreader on the back it would reduce a second operation and would keep the plugs from being crushed back into the soil.
The key for good operation in my opinion boils down to:
Correct soil moisture, pulling the unit slowly and adding weight to the unit.
I would recommend this unit with out hesitation, great product for the money!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great once you get it together

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this aerator. It's going to save me hundreds of dollars. Just by using it this year it's paid for itself over the estimate given to me by my lawn service. Once you get this thing together it works very well. Make no mistake it's a pain in the rear to assemble. Each individual step in assembly isn't difficult, very few steps are difficult. But there are a lot of parts to put together. I'm pretty good with a wrench and it took me a couple of hours.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, works as advertised
Cons: arduous assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

would not recommend

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used with a JD L110 tractor and unable to level unit per instruction. Shortly after starting aerating, several welds sheared that attach weld plates with spoons to tube assembly. Inspecting welds showed very little penetration between plate and tube allowing spoon assembly to rotated freely about tube assembly. Poor welding and quality control! Tube assembly ends need to be deburred to accept skimpy nylon bearings. Axle assembly flexes during operation and is in need of a center support. Unit returned and letter written to Brinly
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
10out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it with my John Deere D110, tractor had no issues pulling it. I would not recommend using concrete blocks on it because when you go through an area that’s uneven, concrete will scratch the surface it’s sitting on. I used 3 sand bags (each 50 lbs), worked perfectly (no scratches what so ever) and it pulled the plugs out just as advertized. You should aerate when it’s neither wet nor too dry.
Assembly is time consuming, 2 Hr Est. To raise aerator spoons when moving through concrete area, you have to carry your tools with you to un-screw the bolt so you can raise the unit to run on wheels only. It would’ve been nice if the aerator could be adjusted right from the tractor seat. It’s just an added work. When pulling the aerator with a tractor, you have to take wider turns, taking sharp turn will pull big chunks of grass along with the plugs. Overall, it’s a great unit. Solid built. Go buy it, you will like it.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Summerville, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bought it over the Deere

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all, no matter which brand you buy my advice is to go with a plug aerator like this. The spike aerators (the tines look more like circular saw blades) cut southern grasses like St. Aug or Centipede because they cut at the surface more than penetrate in the soil. This plug aerator penetrated perfect holes 3-4" deep with a few bags of mulch added for weight on the tray. Cinder blocks would be more stable, and I would recommend over mulch or soil.
I have a D-series John Deere and I was first drawn to the PA-40JD, but after some research and initial sticker shock of $400+ for the Deere unit, I looked at the <$200 Brinly and found a great deal of value over the Deere. My favorite quote from a review that helped steer my decision was "I didn't realize green paint cost so much." Also, Brinly actually manufactures the J-D unit under license, so make your own conclusions... If it bothers you that much, there's always 2 cans of green spray paint available. And they won't cost $200!
Assembly was far easier than the reviews had set my expectation for- so that is a non-issue IMO. Took 90 minutes start to finish at less than a break-neck pace- basically a few beers. YOU WILL NEED A WRENCH LARGER THAN 3/4 for a few nuts/ bolts on the wheels. I used channel locks and (I think) a 1" ratchet- but many DIYers only have wrenches that go to 3/4. Telling you now to avoid a return visit if you're not equipped.
After first use, I am satisfied with this unit. It is built sturdy and I believe the more than $200 savings for an almost identical unit in the Deere is a MUCH better value over it. My only gripe is that the pin that holds the drop/ lift bar in place is a little wonky, I may have to verify it was installed correctly bc it seems insecure and doesn't want to stay in place. Not an issue in engaged mode, just when it comes time to lift the tines up. Again, I believe I may not have installed that pin correctly.
All in all, I would recommend this unit over the B -H combination aerator-spreader and over the very expensive J-D spike aerator.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, easy assembly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good investment

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The aerator works as described in their description. Had to wait for missing parts to be sent from the manufacturer who responded very quick. Due to size and weight, you might want to have another person available to lend a helping hand. The manual was darn good. I got sloppy/rushed almost at the end of assembly and will lose a finger nail due to a slipped wrench so please be careful. Wish I could engage the wheels without having to stop the tractor. Storage is a bit of a problem along with all the other attachments and lawn/mechanical stuff in my shed.
Pros: Accurate, good investment
Cons: need to stop tractor to engage transport wheels
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Troy Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great aerator

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Instructions weren't right but if you are buying this to do your own yard you do not really need directions anyway. If you do, pay someone to aerate your yard. That said, I have used the spike aerators in the past with little success. This is so much better simply due to the style of aerator it is. It is very heavy duty for the price and though rated at 150 lbs the rack can hold much more. I had over three hundred pounds on this thing stable pulling 4 1/2" plus plugs from my very hard ground. Then simply drove it in to my shed behind my tractor with the easy convenient wheels feature. For the price I am very pleased and not only would but have already suggested it to my brother for his yard. 4/27/14.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Brandenburg, Ky.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product and Service

PostedMay 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The aerator is a perfect example of a simple design which is well engineered and the service of Brinly-Hardy is exceptional. My lawn is Fescue with red clay and the aerator consistently removed two to three inch plugs when towed behind a 17.5 H.P. Troy Built lawn tractor. The only problem I encountered was one of the spoons immediately broke from a defect in manufacturing during operation. I called Brinly-Hardy and spoke with a well informed, cooperative lady who shipped a replacement spoon plus a spare. This service cannot be improved upon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Easley, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy Duty Construction

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews, and deciding to purchase based on them, I felt I should add my opinion. Many have complained about missing parts--there was one box open at HD where I'm wondering if someone was missing something and didn't want to wait a week. My box was packed well, and the only thing missing was the instructions, which I found on the Brinly site.Once obtained, the instructions were easy to follow. There are 24 spoons that must be attached--if you don't have a power driver it will be a longer task than you want. I am impressed with how heavy the steel is--definitely well built, especially for the price. I haven't used the aerator yet, but I believe it will do a good job, due to heavy duty construction and simple design. The aerator wheels are engaged/disengaged with a bar that cannot be reached from the tractor. "Leveling" the tray to the maximum amt. still leaves it at a modest angle--but certainly usable. I will tow with a JD500. Tray could use holes to attach weight securely with rope, straps, etc.Well pleased overall so far.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Jasper, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

In General works gteat but needs 2 improvements

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I did two yards with my new aerator yesterday and it does a great job of aerating the laws but it is a job to assemble with a mumber of lock nuts to install, just beware. It badly needs a couple of slinght modifications,
1) the lever to lower the wheels drags on the ground to move it from one place to another and it either need a wheel on the lever or a pin to lock it in place.
2) the pin that holds the handle in place while aerating needs a way to lock it in place it just off the pin.
These are not great problems and would be easy for the manufacurer to fix.
Pros: does a great job
Cons: two modifications are needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Stafford, Va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price but DOA -parts missing and block off an hour to assemble.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Minus 1 star for missing parts. As other reviewers have mentioned these are consistently missing pieces. Sometimes its the wheels and in my case the wheel bracket (part #5). So before you buy or walk out of the store with it ask to open it up and go through the ENTIRE parts list (there's a long list) to be sure nothing is missing. If there is, ask for another one if in stock and repeat the procedure. Perhaps these have all been used for Frankenstein parts so between the available ones you might be able to complete a set.
Minus 1 star for time to assemble. I unfortunately got a 15 minutes in the the assembly when I realized a part was missing and still not half way done. This should only be a minus half star but it won't let me do that so a whole star it is. Make sure you set aside a 6 square foot space to work and lay out all the parts. there are like 50 little nuts and bolts and the bolts are in slightly differing sizes: 5/16"x3/4", 5/16"x1", 5/16"x1-1/4". So many look very similar. If you're not careful you'll have to start over switching out the bolts. Definitely have a tape measure handy.
I'm now driving the 30 minute round trip to my home depot to try and swap this out. I'll update the review with actual performance if/when I get a complete product assembled that I can use.
Cons: Limited Features, missing parts, very long assembly required
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great with cement blocks in back...instructions were easy to follow...now if they would have only packed my wheels for it!!! Called customer service at Brinly,and they shipped them out ASAP..all in all good purchase. Would have been a higher rating if wheels were rubber as illustrated on box..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Pylesville, MD, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delighted with this plug aerator

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised and better. Pulls out 3" plugs continuously with 120 pounds strapped on the top. Was afraid it would get clogged, but no problem with that. Seems solid and well constructed and my son had no problem with assembly, although it took over an hour. Bought a aerator years ago from a well-known chain that features lawn & landscaping equipment (which I sent to recycle) but this one is fantastic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from southern New England
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get what you pay for!

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got tired of borrowing my brother-in-laws JD core aerator so I bought this one. I cannot say that the JD model is worth over twice the price of this one, but it is definitely higher quality.
This unit DOES NOT come with pneumatic tires, which is ok…one less thing to put air in twice a season.
Assembly is very straightforward if you know how to swing a wrench. I was store-to-using it in under two hours. For the money and the side of my yard, it is fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Midlothian, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid performance for the price!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In stock at store. Took about an hour to put together with power tools. Everything went together correctly. Spent about 2 hours using the product and seemed to work great. For the price paid, it is well worth it and will pay for itself in one season. Only drawback is that you cannot operate the wheel lift from the tractor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works very well.

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Would have been a 5 but the directions do have you putting one of the parts in backwards. Aerator does a very good job, but as others have commented, you do need to take it a bit slow. I used the two bags of weed and feed as my weights and it worked great. All in all it does a very good job.
Pros: very good for the money.
Cons: instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>