728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(100 reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product93 of 95reviews
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(50)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product93 of 95reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Great Mills, MD

40 In. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

PostedNovember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased online and delivered to the door. Assembly required 2 hrs. The directions were all pictures. Perfect for the people (like me) who would rather see it and build it. The tines assembly are extremely time consuming. The handle to engage the unit is positioned too far and is not accessible to the operator sitting on the tractor which makes it difficult to disengage when crossing walkways, driveways, etc. This is the only problem encountered as the aerator created the perfect plugs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Concord, NC

Outstanding product...

PostedJuly 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although assembly took about 1-1/2 hours, high quality parts, the spreader works exceptionally well. Since I use it in hard NC clay, I put 4 4x8x16 blocks on it for weight and was very pleased with the plug holes... now if they just make a spreader of the same quality... would recommend this over all the others I researched in this price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Kansas City, KS

Plug Aerator

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lots of the reviews said it took along time to put together, it took me around 40 minutes. I just used an air ratchet and that made the process go faster. The unit itself works fine, I wish the plugs were a little wider, but I would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from MA

Good product for the price

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is supplied with good directions and material. The manner in which the wheels are fixed could be improved. The aerator does what it is supposed to at a very reasonable price. The only warning that I would give to people is that they have at least 100 lbs to add to the top to ensure the spikes go all the way down. 60-80 lbs just didn't cut it for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble (with power tools - about 45 minutes) and even easier to use. Does what it is supposed to do if your soil is soft or damp. On my lawn I have noticed that it will "tear" some strips of sod out of the ground instead of just plugs if you turn too sharp. My only complaint is that the dimensions of the weight tray will not accommodate standard cinder blocks in any useful configuration. Overall, great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does what it says it will do. Assembly is not that difficult and instructions are straight forward. Watch the direction in which you thread the axil. Had to turn mine around, but still only took about an hour. No missing parts. Quality is good and should last a while with a little care. Holds plenty of weight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Southern NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Excellent quality and performance.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for price paid. Works well - I'm very glad I bought this, and so is my lawn. :-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Does what it says

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As stated on several reviews it took a bit of time to assemble, but the assembly was pretty easy, check the number of wrenches you have as two of each required size is handy (an adjustable slide wrench worked ok for me on the other end). I saw a few reviews about it tearing up the lawn when you turn, but have concluded they may have been driving too fast or perhaps working in wet conditions. I waited for a good rain, then gave it a couple days to dry out a bit, drove around in circles for about an hour and had poked a tremendous amount of plugs in the lawn. Pretty much solid clay in Missouri. Worked great (more so if your lawn has room to turn around). Can be a bit more trouble than the rental walk behind models in tight spaces, lifting / dropping it without tripping the safety kill switch on my mower if out of the seat, but this really wasn't too bad either. For reference my lot is irregular size / small in front as it is on a culdesac. Compared to renting, by the time I pick up a rental, get it home and return it, I can have the aeration completed. Will definitely aerate at least twice a year now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good buy .MADE IN USA !!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was straight forward (1 hr), lots of nuts, bolts and washers. No missing parts.Very good quality.You have to put weight on it ( 2 1/2 concrete blocks)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great with cement blocks in back...instructions were easy to follow...now if they would have only packed my wheels for it!!! Called customer service at Brinly,and they shipped them out ASAP..all in all good purchase. Would have been a higher rating if wheels were rubber as illustrated on box..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Stafford, Va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price but DOA -parts missing and block off an hour to assemble.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Minus 1 star for missing parts. As other reviewers have mentioned these are consistently missing pieces. Sometimes its the wheels and in my case the wheel bracket (part #5). So before you buy or walk out of the store with it ask to open it up and go through the ENTIRE parts list (there's a long list) to be sure nothing is missing. If there is, ask for another one if in stock and repeat the procedure. Perhaps these have all been used for Frankenstein parts so between the available ones you might be able to complete a set.
Minus 1 star for time to assemble. I unfortunately got a 15 minutes in the the assembly when I realized a part was missing and still not half way done. This should only be a minus half star but it won't let me do that so a whole star it is. Make sure you set aside a 6 square foot space to work and lay out all the parts. there are like 50 little nuts and bolts and the bolts are in slightly differing sizes: 5/16"x3/4", 5/16"x1", 5/16"x1-1/4". So many look very similar. If you're not careful you'll have to start over switching out the bolts. Definitely have a tape measure handy.
I'm now driving the 30 minute round trip to my home depot to try and swap this out. I'll update the review with actual performance if/when I get a complete product assembled that I can use.
Cons: Limited Features, missing parts, very long assembly required
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall good product for the price. Tines could have come pre-assembled saving time on what is a lengthy assembly. Needs additional weight to function correctly. After the assembly is over and weight is added, it works great for a very low price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Spring Hill, KS

40 inch aerator

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't try to buy one of these at the stores or online during peak arerating season. Assembly was easy, I used an air rachet. I pulled it with a small zero turn Toro with no problems. Yard size is one acre. Oil it up before you use it so you don't tear up the nylon bushings. I bought four 4x8x16 concrete blocks but I think you can come up with something better than that for the odd shaped weight tray. Worked very well, pulled good plugs. Don't forget the grass seed. Be careful going around trees. For the price it's a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Pittsburgh, PA

Brinly PA-40 BH core aerator

PostedNovember 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit impressed me right out of the box. Everything seemed heavy duty and the metal was heavy gauge Putting it together was a bit tedious and took around 1 1/2 hours total. That included time spent figuring out the pictures only directions. The 40 incher doesn't use a washer with every bolt, so make sure that you use them where indicated only. I used a couple of 50 lb sandbags for additional weight and they fit into the tray perfectly and never moved even going up and down the hills on my property.
It was mostly dry for several weeks prior to my purchase so the soil was hard. It rained about 1/2 inch over 2 days, so on the 3rd day I tried the aerator. In areas where the soil was moist, it worked very, very well. On areas that were drier such as under oak trees, it worked, but didn't go very deep. Upon taking a closer look, the spoons penetrated down to dry, compacted soil and stopped. Another 50 lbs.weight may have helped a bit, but more moist soil would do it for sure. I will repeat the aeration in the spring when the soil is much softer in these areas. Overall I'm very happy with the quality and effectiveness of the aerator and recommend it. I was pulling it with a heavy duty 1977 John Deere 210, 10 HP garden tractor without effort.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Winder, GA

Great Product

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I LOVE this item. The one thing it needed and I corrected is lock washers at the nuts and bolts in the cart.
This is a god send for my yard work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Tennille, GA

Sturdy Well Built

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered product online. Arrived well packed and intact. No damage or missing parts. Assembly instructions were well laid out. About 1.5 hours assembly time using a couple of rachets and box end wrenches. Once put together it was more sturdy than I had imagined for something you assemble yourself. Works as advertised. Did a great job, and it has already made a difference in the water use and health of my lawn. I tried using two 60lb bags of sack crete to start with, but due to the overall condition of my soil I couldn't get full penetration of the plugging spoons. Went with two 80lb bags of sack crete and adjusted to the maximum tray weight of 150lbs. This worked perfectly, and gave me full plugging spoon penetration. I pull this with a 20hp lawn tractor. It never loaded down or slipped, and probably could have used much less horse power.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Missing Parts

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I purchased this aerator today from a local Home Depot and began assembly after getting it home. After the first step, I realized that one of the two tow bars was missing along with the center plate (mid axle support). These are relatively large, major components; not just a missing washer or bolt. I began counting the other components and realized that there was not enough nuts and bolts to complete the assembly. The shipping box was not damaged in any way. These missing components were not shipped from the factory. No wonder Brinly includes their customer service number several times with instructions to call and order missing parts. I called, but of course it was after "regular business hours." Then I called the Home Depot where it was purchased. The customer service representative I spoke with instructed me to return it for a replacement from the store. I think that would be better than calling Brinly to order missing parts and wait a day (or two) to process the order and then wait 4-5 days for UPS to deliver. 5 stars for Home Depot - 1 star for Brinly. If you buy one of these, you might want to check the parts before you leave the store.
-7points
1out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brinly-Hardy 40 inch plug aerator purchased on line in August. Seems to be well made and was easy, but tedious to assemble. Attaching the plug cutters to the axle brackets is what takes the most time. I will not use this until my bermudagrass goes dormant in late fall, but it looks like it will do the job. The plug cutters are sturdy and so are the brackets.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>