728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product101 of 105reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(54)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product101 of 105reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it with my John Deere D110, tractor had no issues pulling it. I would not recommend using concrete blocks on it because when you go through an area that’s uneven, concrete will scratch the surface it’s sitting on. I used 3 sand bags (each 50 lbs), worked perfectly (no scratches what so ever) and it pulled the plugs out just as advertized. You should aerate when it’s neither wet nor too dry.
Assembly is time consuming, 2 Hr Est. To raise aerator spoons when moving through concrete area, you have to carry your tools with you to un-screw the bolt so you can raise the unit to run on wheels only. It would’ve been nice if the aerator could be adjusted right from the tractor seat. It’s just an added work. When pulling the aerator with a tractor, you have to take wider turns, taking sharp turn will pull big chunks of grass along with the plugs. Overall, it’s a great unit. Solid built. Go buy it, you will like it.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Very nice stuff for the price

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very nice purchase, used it a week ago, did the job to plug holes in my lawn as it advertised. Easy to assemble and use. Need to put extra weight on it so it can punch holes that are around 2" deep. I put over 100 lbs or cement bricks on the tray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Aerator and Great Company!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I completely believe in buying American whenever possible, and this is a great Made in America piece of equipment. I recommend you follow the soil conditions info in the manual or you will (as with any aerator) break some of the plugging spoons (B-4855-10 - costs $1.30 each on 7/1/2014).
Product comes with a 2 year warranty from Brinly Hardy, and they will replace some of the spoons one time only. I broke 6 after 9 months of use - once 1 breaks, the rest start popping due to the unequal weight balance. Warranty for Brinly Hardy sent me 8 so I would have a few extra in the future.
Great product! Great company!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Concord, NC

Outstanding product...

PostedJuly 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although assembly took about 1-1/2 hours, high quality parts, the spreader works exceptionally well. Since I use it in hard NC clay, I put 4 4x8x16 blocks on it for weight and was very pleased with the plug holes... now if they just make a spreader of the same quality... would recommend this over all the others I researched in this price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Spring Hill, KS

40 inch aerator

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't try to buy one of these at the stores or online during peak arerating season. Assembly was easy, I used an air rachet. I pulled it with a small zero turn Toro with no problems. Yard size is one acre. Oil it up before you use it so you don't tear up the nylon bushings. I bought four 4x8x16 concrete blocks but I think you can come up with something better than that for the odd shaped weight tray. Worked very well, pulled good plugs. Don't forget the grass seed. Be careful going around trees. For the price it's a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Pembroke Pines, FL

Plug Aerator 40 inch

PostedMay 14, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product requires complete assembly, it took 2 hours to complete task. The aerator is made of heavy duty steel and rugged enough to outlast my lawn tractor. The handle used to lower the aerator from wheel to the spikes is to far back to be reach from the sitting position on the tractor. You have to dismount an unleash the lever from its latch, which takes some force. Use is
fairly simple and straight forward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall good product for the price. Tines could have come pre-assembled saving time on what is a lengthy assembly. Needs additional weight to function correctly. After the assembly is over and weight is added, it works great for a very low price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Charlotte, NC

fair price, very similar to others on market

PostedOctober 13, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased mine in the local store; $1 more than online and they were the only ones to have it in stock. Still it was priced below everyone else except one retailer that was sold out.
The aerator is build very similar to the ones sold at other stores, their price was better than most of the other brands, but more important they actually had them in stock and for sale.
Assembly is required and takes about 1-1.5 hours. You will also need two large adjustable wrenches or 15/16 open ended wrenches - this is written on the box but I didn't notice until I got home and realized I only had one wrench that size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Great Mills, MD

40 In. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

PostedNovember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased online and delivered to the door. Assembly required 2 hrs. The directions were all pictures. Perfect for the people (like me) who would rather see it and build it. The tines assembly are extremely time consuming. The handle to engage the unit is positioned too far and is not accessible to the operator sitting on the tractor which makes it difficult to disengage when crossing walkways, driveways, etc. This is the only problem encountered as the aerator created the perfect plugs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Elkton, MD

Nothing but perfect.

PostedApril 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a little over an acre of land and I just used this aerator. It works perfectly and does exactly what it's designed for. Needless to say I go out and buy it and now all my friends & neighbors want to use it. I do agree it takes a long time to put it together, though. 2 hours for me, but once it's built it works like a charm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Works well

PostedMarch 30, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like other posters, It took me 2 hours to assemble the aerator. I agree with one other poster who suggested the tines should come assembled. That would speed things up considerably. In order to engage and disengage the pluggers you will need to dismount the Lawn Mower to do so.
Other than that, it plugs the soil very well. After having to rent a walk behind aerator the last couple of years, this is a much better way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Pittsburgh, PA

Brinly PA-40 BH core aerator

PostedNovember 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit impressed me right out of the box. Everything seemed heavy duty and the metal was heavy gauge Putting it together was a bit tedious and took around 1 1/2 hours total. That included time spent figuring out the pictures only directions. The 40 incher doesn't use a washer with every bolt, so make sure that you use them where indicated only. I used a couple of 50 lb sandbags for additional weight and they fit into the tray perfectly and never moved even going up and down the hills on my property.
It was mostly dry for several weeks prior to my purchase so the soil was hard. It rained about 1/2 inch over 2 days, so on the 3rd day I tried the aerator. In areas where the soil was moist, it worked very, very well. On areas that were drier such as under oak trees, it worked, but didn't go very deep. Upon taking a closer look, the spoons penetrated down to dry, compacted soil and stopped. Another 50 lbs.weight may have helped a bit, but more moist soil would do it for sure. I will repeat the aeration in the spring when the soil is much softer in these areas. Overall I'm very happy with the quality and effectiveness of the aerator and recommend it. I was pulling it with a heavy duty 1977 John Deere 210, 10 HP garden tractor without effort.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Kansas City, KS

Plug Aerator

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lots of the reviews said it took along time to put together, it took me around 40 minutes. I just used an air ratchet and that made the process go faster. The unit itself works fine, I wish the plugs were a little wider, but I would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Chattanooga, TN

Weel made...

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Well made unit but takes way too long to put together. Used it once and seems to be holding up well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Winder, GA

Great Product

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I LOVE this item. The one thing it needed and I corrected is lock washers at the nuts and bolts in the cart.
This is a god send for my yard work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Warminster, Bucks County, PA

A sturdy looking good quality attachment

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't used my plug aerator yet, I have heavy clay soil and haven't had rain for 8 weeks. It took about 2 1/2 hours to assemble the unit but you only ever have to do it once. Assembling the four plugs to each plate was the hardest part. A rachet set was helpful, however it took 2 people. One to hold down the piece while the other racheted the nuts and bolts. If it was easy to put them on it would be easy for them to loosen up and fall off so the tighter the better. As soon as we get some rain I am ready. The aerator is heavy duty, easy to move around and a great alternative to rentals every year. Every time I wanted to rent a unit on a weekend, so did everyone else and it would already be rented so I would have to take time off from work. Now I can work at my leisure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Phoenix, Az.

Good Product

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
About one hour to assemble, no problems. Have only used once but it worked fine. Wished the raise and lower handle was usable from the tractor seat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Northcentral Texas

Good for the Price!!

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item is good for the price. Surprisingly sturdy and penetrates the ground pretty good as long as you have adequate weight in the weight tray. Most of the reviews I read before purchasing this item were all promising about the use of it. The problem that was consistent in most reviews was the fact that the assembly process was long. Its not that bad. Borrow some air tools or find someone that has ratchet wrenches (1/2 in.) and you will be done in no time. Who cares how long it takes to put it together as long as it gets put together. Mine was only missing one part and that was the slip pin that keeps the main pin from coming out. Nothing a little baling wire wouldn't fix but I put a pin in it because I just happen to have one. Blah Blah....If you want to aerate your yard, this is a good prouduct to do it with. I wouild recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>