728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product84 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(39)
4
(46)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product84 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
JMD78
from Kansas City, KS

Plug Aerator

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lots of the reviews said it took along time to put together, it took me around 40 minutes. I just used an air ratchet and that made the process go faster. The unit itself works fine, I wish the plugs were a little wider, but I would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
dutch68
from Phoenix, Az.

Good Product

PostedNovember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
About one hour to assemble, no problems. Have only used once but it worked fine. Wished the raise and lower handle was usable from the tractor seat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
JayOne
from MA

Good product for the price

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is supplied with good directions and material. The manner in which the wheels are fixed could be improved. The aerator does what it is supposed to at a very reasonable price. The only warning that I would give to people is that they have at least 100 lbs to add to the top to ensure the spikes go all the way down. 60-80 lbs just didn't cut it for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
MrGreen

Works Good!

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought it from a local store. Put it together in about 1/2 hour with my air tools (I used to be a mechanic) only to find two of the aeration spoons missing! A call to the customer service line (no way was I returning this after spending all that time putting it together) netted me two new spoons about a week later.
Weighed it down with a few sandbags and tried it today.
It works fine. The main issue is the axle flexing upwards about an inch in the center which causes the center tines to be less effective. This is remedied by more passes over the area.
I was aerating rather hard soil (glacial till) and none of the tines showed any signs of bending or dulling even after running over several large rocks.
I would reccomend this product
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Tina
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took awhile for my husband to put together but he loved the quality. It put nice plugs into the lawn and took minimal time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Pegasus44
from Houston, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value for the money

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked very well in our Houston soil. Highly recommend using an air tool to put this together since there are MANY nuts and bolts to it and using a hand ratchet could mean a long assembly time. Very effective at what it does and tolerated hitting the concrete and a few tree roots here and there. Highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Greg
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product performs as described.

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it took a while to put together, but all of the parts were there. I hooked it to my lawn tractor and it performed as I had hoped. no more renting an aerator.
Pros: Sturdy, Durable, Easy to Store
Cons: takes time to assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
bigwoofer
from De Pere, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to assemble

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All my neighbors like it when they use it. I have used once so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
tominator64
from Braintree, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this aerator just before the fall. It shipped quickly and was delivered within 5 days of ordering. Unfortunately there were many missing parts from the hardware bag when it arrived. I had to call Brinly for replacement parts, which also came pretty quickly.
Assembly was pretty simple for me, and once assembled it did a great job on my lawn. I was able to aerate and reseed my lawn in the same day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Charlie
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product appears to be of good quality but I have only used it one time. We will see if it does as well inthe future

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product preformed very well, and will be of great use to me in years to come.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Chris
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Anonymous

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall good product for the price. Tines could have come pre-assembled saving time on what is a lengthy assembly. Needs additional weight to function correctly. After the assembly is over and weight is added, it works great for a very low price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
andthereyouare
from Elkton, MD

Nothing but perfect.

PostedApril 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a little over an acre of land and I just used this aerator. It works perfectly and does exactly what it's designed for. Needless to say I go out and buy it and now all my friends & neighbors want to use it. I do agree it takes a long time to put it together, though. 2 hours for me, but once it's built it works like a charm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
SpringHill
from Spring Hill, KS

40 inch aerator

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't try to buy one of these at the stores or online during peak arerating season. Assembly was easy, I used an air rachet. I pulled it with a small zero turn Toro with no problems. Yard size is one acre. Oil it up before you use it so you don't tear up the nylon bushings. I bought four 4x8x16 concrete blocks but I think you can come up with something better than that for the odd shaped weight tray. Worked very well, pulled good plugs. Don't forget the grass seed. Be careful going around trees. For the price it's a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Anonymous
from Pittsburgh, PA

Brinly PA-40 BH core aerator

PostedNovember 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit impressed me right out of the box. Everything seemed heavy duty and the metal was heavy gauge Putting it together was a bit tedious and took around 1 1/2 hours total. That included time spent figuring out the pictures only directions. The 40 incher doesn't use a washer with every bolt, so make sure that you use them where indicated only. I used a couple of 50 lb sandbags for additional weight and they fit into the tray perfectly and never moved even going up and down the hills on my property.
It was mostly dry for several weeks prior to my purchase so the soil was hard. It rained about 1/2 inch over 2 days, so on the 3rd day I tried the aerator. In areas where the soil was moist, it worked very, very well. On areas that were drier such as under oak trees, it worked, but didn't go very deep. Upon taking a closer look, the spoons penetrated down to dry, compacted soil and stopped. Another 50 lbs.weight may have helped a bit, but more moist soil would do it for sure. I will repeat the aeration in the spring when the soil is much softer in these areas. Overall I'm very happy with the quality and effectiveness of the aerator and recommend it. I was pulling it with a heavy duty 1977 John Deere 210, 10 HP garden tractor without effort.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Weizer
from Winder, GA

Great Product

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I LOVE this item. The one thing it needed and I corrected is lock washers at the nuts and bolts in the cart.
This is a god send for my yard work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
claysoil
from Warminster, Bucks County, PA

A sturdy looking good quality attachment

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I haven't used my plug aerator yet, I have heavy clay soil and haven't had rain for 8 weeks. It took about 2 1/2 hours to assemble the unit but you only ever have to do it once. Assembling the four plugs to each plate was the hardest part. A rachet set was helpful, however it took 2 people. One to hold down the piece while the other racheted the nuts and bolts. If it was easy to put them on it would be easy for them to loosen up and fall off so the tighter the better. As soon as we get some rain I am ready. The aerator is heavy duty, easy to move around and a great alternative to rentals every year. Every time I wanted to rent a unit on a weekend, so did everyone else and it would already be rented so I would have to take time off from work. Now I can work at my leisure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
FarmBoy
from Tennille, GA

Sturdy Well Built

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered product online. Arrived well packed and intact. No damage or missing parts. Assembly instructions were well laid out. About 1.5 hours assembly time using a couple of rachets and box end wrenches. Once put together it was more sturdy than I had imagined for something you assemble yourself. Works as advertised. Did a great job, and it has already made a difference in the water use and health of my lawn. I tried using two 60lb bags of sack crete to start with, but due to the overall condition of my soil I couldn't get full penetration of the plugging spoons. Went with two 80lb bags of sack crete and adjusted to the maximum tray weight of 150lbs. This worked perfectly, and gave me full plugging spoon penetration. I pull this with a 20hp lawn tractor. It never loaded down or slipped, and probably could have used much less horse power.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
cma5084

Missing Parts

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I purchased this aerator today from a local Home Depot and began assembly after getting it home. After the first step, I realized that one of the two tow bars was missing along with the center plate (mid axle support). These are relatively large, major components; not just a missing washer or bolt. I began counting the other components and realized that there was not enough nuts and bolts to complete the assembly. The shipping box was not damaged in any way. These missing components were not shipped from the factory. No wonder Brinly includes their customer service number several times with instructions to call and order missing parts. I called, but of course it was after "regular business hours." Then I called the Home Depot where it was purchased. The customer service representative I spoke with instructed me to return it for a replacement from the store. I think that would be better than calling Brinly to order missing parts and wait a day (or two) to process the order and then wait 4-5 days for UPS to deliver. 5 stars for Home Depot - 1 star for Brinly. If you buy one of these, you might want to check the parts before you leave the store.
-8points
0out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
lawnlover
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brinly-Hardy 40 inch plug aerator purchased on line in August. Seems to be well made and was easy, but tedious to assemble. Attaching the plug cutters to the axle brackets is what takes the most time. I will not use this until my bermudagrass goes dormant in late fall, but it looks like it will do the job. The plug cutters are sturdy and so are the brackets.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>