728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.276 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product96 of 100reviews
Rating Breakdown 105 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(51)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product96 of 100reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Oakdale, CA 95361, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product!

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for the price. I checked out several other makes and models and this is definitely the best bang for the buck hands down.
My observations:
* Assembly was straight forward, lots of nuts, bolts and washers. I didn't have any missing parts, I inventoried all my parts before starting the assembly due to some reviewers stating they were missing parts. I did have about 10 left over nuts and bolts.
* I have a John Deere D140 and the unit sits on a severe downward angle, I was unable to level the unit according to the instructions. This didn't affect operation, I'm not to happy with the angle it sits on. I'll definitely be contacting the manufacturer about this to see if there is an adapter to correct this problem.
* Do yourself a favor and read the instructions, I've found the majority of negative reviews are related to "not" reading the instructions and following procedures.
* Make sure the lawn has been watered sufficiently before operating. If you don't, the aerator will ride the surface and tear the lawn.
* I operated the aerator at the speed of a mild walk and got great penetration at 3", good spacing and plugs that pushed out nicely.
* I used 4 pier blocks for additional weight and as stated, 3" plug depth was consistent.
Recommendations to the manufacturer:
I would really like to see the addition of a drop spreader for a 2 in 1 combination, with a drop spreader on the back it would reduce a second operation and would keep the plugs from being crushed back into the soil.
The key for good operation in my opinion boils down to:
Correct soil moisture, pulling the unit slowly and adding weight to the unit.
I would recommend this unit with out hesitation, great product for the money!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great once you get it together

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this aerator. It's going to save me hundreds of dollars. Just by using it this year it's paid for itself over the estimate given to me by my lawn service. Once you get this thing together it works very well. Make no mistake it's a pain in the rear to assemble. Each individual step in assembly isn't difficult, very few steps are difficult. But there are a lot of parts to put together. I'm pretty good with a wrench and it took me a couple of hours.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, works as advertised
Cons: arduous assembly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High Quality and Performance!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembled with my wife and was impressed with quality of components. If you have a pneumatic ratchet I highly recommend for assembling the spoons to shaft bodies. I left the under tray slotted hardware loose until I hooked the assembly to the trailer hole on my John Deere D140 and then adjusted flatness of tray before tightening these last four blots. Sits nice and flat after raising wheels. I aerated .6 acres in one hour with about 180 pounds of bagged soil tied onto the tray. Great results!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting
Cons: none at all
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Aerator and Great Company!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I completely believe in buying American whenever possible, and this is a great Made in America piece of equipment. I recommend you follow the soil conditions info in the manual or you will (as with any aerator) break some of the plugging spoons (B-4855-10 - costs $1.30 each on 7/1/2014).
Product comes with a 2 year warranty from Brinly Hardy, and they will replace some of the spoons one time only. I broke 6 after 9 months of use - once 1 breaks, the rest start popping due to the unequal weight balance. Warranty for Brinly Hardy sent me 8 so I would have a few extra in the future.
Great product! Great company!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

would not recommend

PostedApril 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used with a JD L110 tractor and unable to level unit per instruction. Shortly after starting aerating, several welds sheared that attach weld plates with spoons to tube assembly. Inspecting welds showed very little penetration between plate and tube allowing spoon assembly to rotated freely about tube assembly. Poor welding and quality control! Tube assembly ends need to be deburred to accept skimpy nylon bearings. Axle assembly flexes during operation and is in need of a center support. Unit returned and letter written to Brinly
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Boston Mass
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pain to put together but works great once I finished assembly.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use ONCE BUILT is simple....probably was buidling it. Took longer and was more difficult than I expected. I am fairly handy but I had trouble attaching the "Plugs" to the axel. Just be prepared for more work putting it together than you think it will be. Go to the store and buy an assembled one if you can.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: hard to assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works ok but quality control is awful

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one I bought had a problem with the long curved bars that connect the aerator to the hitch assembly. The holes were drilled in the wrong places and the two bars didn't line up. Since I didn't want to drill my own holes and make it non-returnable, I returned it for another one.
The second one was missing a washer (which I noticed was also missing from the first one). Fortunately, I had an extra one laying around that was the right size. Everything else lined up but when I tried to slide the axle through the tubes with the spoons on them, it wouldn't go. Turns out when they welded the square plates to the tubes, they ended up leaving globs of weld INSIDE the tubes. I was able to get a rounded file in there and filed them away so the axle would fit but it was a real pain and took forever. I find it ridiculous that the company would send out something like this.
As some other reviewers noted, it does not sit level on some tractors. I have a JD D100 and the aerator definitely tilts forward when in the transport position, even after being adjusted as far as possible in the other direction. Once the spoons are engaged though, it sits close to level. If anyone is wondering, I didn't have any trouble towing it with probably about 150+ pounds on it, even with my entry-level tractor. I didn't go any faster than 3mph.
Once it was together, it worked well. I was concerned about the plastic wheels but I don't really think you need pneumatic tires for how often you'll tow it in transport mode. I also thought the size was good. Originally, I was looking at a 48in one but I like the maneuverability of the 40in. It definitely allowed me to reach more of my lawn and fit nicely when aerating the strip of grass between the sidewalk and the street. Again, this worked well and I would recommend a 40in but just not this brand unless you want to risk spending all day returning and modifying it until it works. I will not be buying another Brinly product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: missing part, poor welding
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Great Mills, MD

40 In. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

PostedNovember 7, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased online and delivered to the door. Assembly required 2 hrs. The directions were all pictures. Perfect for the people (like me) who would rather see it and build it. The tines assembly are extremely time consuming. The handle to engage the unit is positioned too far and is not accessible to the operator sitting on the tractor which makes it difficult to disengage when crossing walkways, driveways, etc. This is the only problem encountered as the aerator created the perfect plugs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Concord, NC

Outstanding product...

PostedJuly 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although assembly took about 1-1/2 hours, high quality parts, the spreader works exceptionally well. Since I use it in hard NC clay, I put 4 4x8x16 blocks on it for weight and was very pleased with the plug holes... now if they just make a spreader of the same quality... would recommend this over all the others I researched in this price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Kansas City, KS

Plug Aerator

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lots of the reviews said it took along time to put together, it took me around 40 minutes. I just used an air ratchet and that made the process go faster. The unit itself works fine, I wish the plugs were a little wider, but I would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from MA

Good product for the price

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is supplied with good directions and material. The manner in which the wheels are fixed could be improved. The aerator does what it is supposed to at a very reasonable price. The only warning that I would give to people is that they have at least 100 lbs to add to the top to ensure the spikes go all the way down. 60-80 lbs just didn't cut it for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble (with power tools - about 45 minutes) and even easier to use. Does what it is supposed to do if your soil is soft or damp. On my lawn I have noticed that it will "tear" some strips of sod out of the ground instead of just plugs if you turn too sharp. My only complaint is that the dimensions of the weight tray will not accommodate standard cinder blocks in any useful configuration. Overall, great product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

As advertised.

PostedSeptember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does what it says it will do. Assembly is not that difficult and instructions are straight forward. Watch the direction in which you thread the axil. Had to turn mine around, but still only took about an hour. No missing parts. Quality is good and should last a while with a little care. Holds plenty of weight.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Southern NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Excellent quality and performance.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great value for price paid. Works well - I'm very glad I bought this, and so is my lawn. :-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Does what it says

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As stated on several reviews it took a bit of time to assemble, but the assembly was pretty easy, check the number of wrenches you have as two of each required size is handy (an adjustable slide wrench worked ok for me on the other end). I saw a few reviews about it tearing up the lawn when you turn, but have concluded they may have been driving too fast or perhaps working in wet conditions. I waited for a good rain, then gave it a couple days to dry out a bit, drove around in circles for about an hour and had poked a tremendous amount of plugs in the lawn. Pretty much solid clay in Missouri. Worked great (more so if your lawn has room to turn around). Can be a bit more trouble than the rental walk behind models in tight spaces, lifting / dropping it without tripping the safety kill switch on my mower if out of the seat, but this really wasn't too bad either. For reference my lot is irregular size / small in front as it is on a culdesac. Compared to renting, by the time I pick up a rental, get it home and return it, I can have the aeration completed. Will definitely aerate at least twice a year now.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good buy .MADE IN USA !!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was straight forward (1 hr), lots of nuts, bolts and washers. No missing parts.Very good quality.You have to put weight on it ( 2 1/2 concrete blocks)
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performs well

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great with cement blocks in back...instructions were easy to follow...now if they would have only packed my wheels for it!!! Called customer service at Brinly,and they shipped them out ASAP..all in all good purchase. Would have been a higher rating if wheels were rubber as illustrated on box..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Stafford, Va
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price but DOA -parts missing and block off an hour to assemble.

PostedMay 31, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Minus 1 star for missing parts. As other reviewers have mentioned these are consistently missing pieces. Sometimes its the wheels and in my case the wheel bracket (part #5). So before you buy or walk out of the store with it ask to open it up and go through the ENTIRE parts list (there's a long list) to be sure nothing is missing. If there is, ask for another one if in stock and repeat the procedure. Perhaps these have all been used for Frankenstein parts so between the available ones you might be able to complete a set.
Minus 1 star for time to assemble. I unfortunately got a 15 minutes in the the assembly when I realized a part was missing and still not half way done. This should only be a minus half star but it won't let me do that so a whole star it is. Make sure you set aside a 6 square foot space to work and lay out all the parts. there are like 50 little nuts and bolts and the bolts are in slightly differing sizes: 5/16"x3/4", 5/16"x1", 5/16"x1-1/4". So many look very similar. If you're not careful you'll have to start over switching out the bolts. Definitely have a tape measure handy.
I'm now driving the 30 minute round trip to my home depot to try and swap this out. I'll update the review with actual performance if/when I get a complete product assembled that I can use.
Cons: Limited Features, missing parts, very long assembly required
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>