728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Riding Mower & Tractor Attachments or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(112 reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product102 of 106reviews
Rating Breakdown 112 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(54)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product102 of 106reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Charlotte, NC

fair price, very similar to others on market

PostedOctober 13, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased mine in the local store; $1 more than online and they were the only ones to have it in stock. Still it was priced below everyone else except one retailer that was sold out.
The aerator is build very similar to the ones sold at other stores, their price was better than most of the other brands, but more important they actually had them in stock and for sale.
Assembly is required and takes about 1-1.5 hours. You will also need two large adjustable wrenches or 15/16 open ended wrenches - this is written on the box but I didn't notice until I got home and realized I only had one wrench that size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Spring Hill, KS

40 inch aerator

PostedSeptember 30, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Don't try to buy one of these at the stores or online during peak arerating season. Assembly was easy, I used an air rachet. I pulled it with a small zero turn Toro with no problems. Yard size is one acre. Oil it up before you use it so you don't tear up the nylon bushings. I bought four 4x8x16 concrete blocks but I think you can come up with something better than that for the odd shaped weight tray. Worked very well, pulled good plugs. Don't forget the grass seed. Be careful going around trees. For the price it's a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Kansas City, KS

Plug Aerator

PostedSeptember 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lots of the reviews said it took along time to put together, it took me around 40 minutes. I just used an air ratchet and that made the process go faster. The unit itself works fine, I wish the plugs were a little wider, but I would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Works well

PostedMarch 30, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like other posters, It took me 2 hours to assemble the aerator. I agree with one other poster who suggested the tines should come assembled. That would speed things up considerably. In order to engage and disengage the pluggers you will need to dismount the Lawn Mower to do so.
Other than that, it plugs the soil very well. After having to rent a walk behind aerator the last couple of years, this is a much better way to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Northcentral Texas

Good for the Price!!

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This item is good for the price. Surprisingly sturdy and penetrates the ground pretty good as long as you have adequate weight in the weight tray. Most of the reviews I read before purchasing this item were all promising about the use of it. The problem that was consistent in most reviews was the fact that the assembly process was long. Its not that bad. Borrow some air tools or find someone that has ratchet wrenches (1/2 in.) and you will be done in no time. Who cares how long it takes to put it together as long as it gets put together. Mine was only missing one part and that was the slip pin that keeps the main pin from coming out. Nothing a little baling wire wouldn't fix but I put a pin in it because I just happen to have one. Blah Blah....If you want to aerate your yard, this is a good prouduct to do it with. I wouild recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Pittsburgh, PA

Brinly PA-40 BH core aerator

PostedNovember 2, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit impressed me right out of the box. Everything seemed heavy duty and the metal was heavy gauge Putting it together was a bit tedious and took around 1 1/2 hours total. That included time spent figuring out the pictures only directions. The 40 incher doesn't use a washer with every bolt, so make sure that you use them where indicated only. I used a couple of 50 lb sandbags for additional weight and they fit into the tray perfectly and never moved even going up and down the hills on my property.
It was mostly dry for several weeks prior to my purchase so the soil was hard. It rained about 1/2 inch over 2 days, so on the 3rd day I tried the aerator. In areas where the soil was moist, it worked very, very well. On areas that were drier such as under oak trees, it worked, but didn't go very deep. Upon taking a closer look, the spoons penetrated down to dry, compacted soil and stopped. Another 50 lbs.weight may have helped a bit, but more moist soil would do it for sure. I will repeat the aeration in the spring when the soil is much softer in these areas. Overall I'm very happy with the quality and effectiveness of the aerator and recommend it. I was pulling it with a heavy duty 1977 John Deere 210, 10 HP garden tractor without effort.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Winder, GA

Great Product

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I LOVE this item. The one thing it needed and I corrected is lock washers at the nuts and bolts in the cart.
This is a god send for my yard work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Melbourne, FL

Plug Aerator

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Aerator does the job. It takes a while to put together, but it's good quality. I traded renting at $80/day, vs storing this aerator and being able to use it once a year. I decided it was worth having to store the machine. It works well, and is good value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Wilmington, NC

Good product, good price!

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Brought it home and it took about an hour and a half to put together. Read the directions carefully and follow them exactly or it will come out backwards (ie. don't insert the axle from the left (even though it will go in from either side) instead of the right). Some pre-assembly from the factory would be nice and speed up assembly. If you have a cordless drill and a 1/2" nut driver the assembly will go much quicker. The aerator works with the two 60lb bags of sand I bought to go with it. I would purchase at least 150bls and water the lawn/wait for rain before use. De-thatching the lawn will also help the tines penetrate the ground. It pulled some 1-3" plugs, the deepest coming from the areas I used a thatch rake on. Im sure another bag or two of sand would have helped pull deeper plugs over the whole lawn. In summary, it works great, just make sure you have enough weight and the lawn is wet enough!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from North West, Loudoun Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedOctober 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used it with my John Deere D110, tractor had no issues pulling it. I would not recommend using concrete blocks on it because when you go through an area that’s uneven, concrete will scratch the surface it’s sitting on. I used 3 sand bags (each 50 lbs), worked perfectly (no scratches what so ever) and it pulled the plugs out just as advertized. You should aerate when it’s neither wet nor too dry.
Assembly is time consuming, 2 Hr Est. To raise aerator spoons when moving through concrete area, you have to carry your tools with you to un-screw the bolt so you can raise the unit to run on wheels only. It would’ve been nice if the aerator could be adjusted right from the tractor seat. It’s just an added work. When pulling the aerator with a tractor, you have to take wider turns, taking sharp turn will pull big chunks of grass along with the plugs. Overall, it’s a great unit. Solid built. Go buy it, you will like it.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Central Ohio, Ohio, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brinley 40" plug aerator

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm fighting a crabgrass problem. The grass growing guys said overseed a grass that doesn't go dormant in late summer. So I needed a plug aerator to drill thousands of holes for the seed and fertilizer. This is a great aerator for a pull behind application. Easy to assembly, sturdy, and works very well. Simple to use. For deeper plugs, just add concrete blocks to the weight box. For shallow plugs take some weight off. It's November in Ohio now, and the neighbors ask why our lawn looks so good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Green Bay, WI

Core Aerator

PostedMay 12, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Out of the box, it appeared as if it was constructed well. Everything is made of decent quality metal, with nothing real chincy-looking. Assembly was fairly straight forward and took about an hour.
For the initial run, I loaded up the heavy-duty weight tray with about 150 pounds. The garden tractor had no problem pulling it fully loaded down. The weather hadn't really cooperated, and the ground was a bit dry on this run, but it still took decent plugs. I believe that if the ground had been normal-spring-type moist, it would have taken the 3" advertised plugs. I am thoroughly satisfied with what it did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Pembroke Pines, FL

Plug Aerator 40 inch

PostedMay 14, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product requires complete assembly, it took 2 hours to complete task. The aerator is made of heavy duty steel and rugged enough to outlast my lawn tractor. The handle used to lower the aerator from wheel to the spikes is to far back to be reach from the sitting position on the tractor. You have to dismount an unleash the lever from its latch, which takes some force. Use is
fairly simple and straight forward.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Brunswick, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lawn tool!

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this aerator twice on my yard, once dry and once slightly moist. Honestly, with enough weight (I used 4 cinder blocks at 30lbs each for a total of 120lbs) and proper speed (I went roughly half throttle on my Cub Cadet zero-turn) a yard can be properly aerated rather it's wet or dry. I had no problems pulling 1.5-2.5 inch plugs all across my yard. Although the 48 inch model ofers a better value per dollar, I prefer the 40 inch model because it allows me to access areas that the larger model may not be able to get into (backing may be neeccessary). Assembly was relatively simple with a few tools and the instructions were adequate. Product is well made and most importantly, made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Sumerduck, Lee, VA 22742, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value, works well. Missing parts

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the 40" model of this aerator and was frustrated at first because it was missing 26 different little parts (nuts, bolts, etc.). I called customer service and they got the parts to me in about a week. Assembly was easy. I put sand bags in the tray for weight (about 120lbs) and it's working exactly as advertised. I really like it---just be sure to COUNT all the little parts before you start assembly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Took awhile for my husband to put together but he loved the quality. It put nice plugs into the lawn and took minimal time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Best deal for the price

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
your not gonna find a better built unit for this kind of money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worked Grate

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used 4 blocks and 4 bricks to keep blocks from shifting. Installed two tie down straps around and under tray. Aerator plugs about 2 1/2 inches. I think I made the right choice with aerator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

PostedMay 28, 2006
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall good product for the price. Tines could have come pre-assembled saving time on what is a lengthy assembly. Needs additional weight to function correctly. After the assembly is over and weight is added, it works great for a very low price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>