728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Brinly’s high-performance 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator is the perfect tool for achieving and maintaining a healthy, vibrant lawn. The 24 heat-treated 16-gauge steel tines penetrate the soil up to 3 in. deep, allowing water, seed and nutrients to reach your lawn’s root system. Each plugging spoon is individually replaceable, allowing for easy servicing. The fully enclosed all steel weight tray offers flexibility for adding various types of weights; 150 lbs. of additional weight may be added for aerating considerably compacted soil or hard clay. And the easy to engage transport wheels make crossing driveways and sidewalks a breeze. Don’t settle for a less than perfect lawn. Let Brinly help you get the lawn of your dreams.
Overall rating:
4.323 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product113 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(59)
3
(5)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product113 of 117reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
Review 1 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Franklin, Tennessee

Works great!

PostedSeptember 26, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After a weekend of rain, I hooked mine up to my lawn tractor and was pleased
to find how effective this aerator is at doing its job. With a pair of
concrete blocks to add weight, I think the plug tines sank the full 3"
or so into the soil. I rolled along at about 3mph, occasionally 4, and
found the operation to be smooth. Be sure the grass is dry though, as I
used mine early in the morning and the dew made traction difficult in a
few places.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Concord, NC

Outstanding product...

PostedJuly 10, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Although assembly took about 1-1/2 hours, high quality parts, the spreader works exceptionally well. Since I use it in hard NC clay, I put 4 4x8x16 blocks on it for weight and was very pleased with the plug holes... now if they just make a spreader of the same quality... would recommend this over all the others I researched in this price range.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Chattanooga, TN

Weel made...

PostedMay 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well made unit but takes way too long to put together. Used it once and seems to be holding up well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Warminster, Bucks County, PA

A sturdy looking good quality attachment

PostedAugust 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haven't used my plug aerator yet, I have heavy clay soil and haven't had rain for 8 weeks. It took about 2 1/2 hours to assemble the unit but you only ever have to do it once. Assembling the four plugs to each plate was the hardest part. A rachet set was helpful, however it took 2 people. One to hold down the piece while the other racheted the nuts and bolts. If it was easy to put them on it would be easy for them to loosen up and fall off so the tighter the better. As soon as we get some rain I am ready. The aerator is heavy duty, easy to move around and a great alternative to rentals every year. Every time I wanted to rent a unit on a weekend, so did everyone else and it would already be rented so I would have to take time off from work. Now I can work at my leisure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from MA

Good product for the price

PostedMay 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product is supplied with good directions and material. The manner in which the wheels are fixed could be improved. The aerator does what it is supposed to at a very reasonable price. The only warning that I would give to people is that they have at least 100 lbs to add to the top to ensure the spikes go all the way down. 60-80 lbs just didn't cut it for me.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Good aerator for home use

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After much research I selected the Brinly 40 in plug aerator. Assembly took 1 1/2 hours with two people and was easy and straight forward. Construction is solid and final assembled product is very sturdy. The core aerator pulled out nice 3 inch deep plugs with 120lbs in the try (I have an irrigation system so my lawn has the right moisture content for aeration). Going in reverse was not an issue with the Brinly aerator and the engagement handle is easy to use to raise and lower the plugging spoons.
Overall, I am very satisfied with the Brinly aerator and expect many years of dependable use from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, performance
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Thibodaux, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Other than having a lot of parts to bolt together, this was a great buy. I plugged my 2 acre yard in no time. You will need something to weigh this down with and it does not penetrate hard packed dry ground very well, but it did great everywhere else!
Pros: Easy to Use, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Kinnelon, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, quality item.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Does what I need it to do connected to my lawn tractor!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Midlothian, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid performance for the price!!

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In stock at store. Took about an hour to put together with power tools. Everything went together correctly. Spent about 2 hours using the product and seemed to work great. For the price paid, it is well worth it and will pay for itself in one season. Only drawback is that you cannot operate the wheel lift from the tractor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product here in CT

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was able to assemble this unit in under an hour with the use of an air ratchet. Without the air ratchet, it would have taken longer due to the locking nuts used on the spoons. Directions are correct and all the parts were available in this unit.
Ran a full test run on the lawn (semi dry) and I was able to pull 1/2" - 1" plugs out of dry dirt. So when the weather cooperates in the next several weeks (more rain to soften soil), I will run another pass and seed at that time.
Overall, this is a great product and I always try to buy "Made in the U.S.A." products ... this one works!
Good luck with yours.
Pros: Accurate, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Effective areator, pulls good plugs

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Pretty easy to assemble, took a couple hours and tried it out on my lawn with 60 pounds of weight, much to my delight, this unit was pulling some good long plugs out.
The absolute key to this machine is having the right amount of moisture in the soil. If its really bogged down, the spoons will clog and too dry is not good either, we just had a good rain, so the soil was moist and the machine able to work.
Love the idea that it is now in the shred at my disposal and I didn't have to wrestle around a huge, heavy rental, I now own this and although it was a little pricey, I only had to pay once.
It seems pretty sturdy and with care, should last a decade or more. I hosed mine off and sprayed it down with a rust barrier. They didn't suggest greasing the axle in the assembly instructions but I greased everything before assembly with some marine grade bearing grease to keep the rust out.
You can make a pretty tight turn with it. Backing it up with it attached is near impossible for more than a few feet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Very nice stuff for the price

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very nice purchase, used it a week ago, did the job to plug holes in my lawn as it advertised. Easy to assemble and use. Need to put extra weight on it so it can punch holes that are around 2" deep. I put over 100 lbs or cement bricks on the tray.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Wisconsin

Good deal

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product for the price. Does not tear up the lawn. I added 120 pounds on the tray to get good soil penetration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Winder, GA

Great Product

PostedApril 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I LOVE this item. The one thing it needed and I corrected is lock washers at the nuts and bolts in the cart.
This is a god send for my yard work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

Well constructed of quality material

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The aerator was somewhat tedious to assemble taking a couple of hours. It did perform as expected. The quality construction of this tool should make it last over many years. It pulled easily behind the lawn tractor with the only drawback not being able to raise or lower it from the tractor seat. Overall, I am satisfied with this purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Carlisle Pa.

Solid features

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This aerator is more solid than the picture would appear. Works well with the right amount of weight in the tray. The only drawback was the assembly (which took 2 hrs.) I had no missing pieces and the instructions were adequate. Overall good purchase.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Vienna, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Logical Design

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I understand why it takes 2 hrs. to assemble the unit, but it's not that difficult, and the instructions are easy to follow. Unfortunately, the shipping packaging is inadequate, therefore a significan part (the axle) was missing. One e-mail and/or phone call and the part was mailed the following business day. Unfortunately, I discovered the missing part at 5:15 on Friday (they close at 5), but customer service responded to me the first thing on Monday morning. Nicely done.
This unit works very well, my only suggestion is to make sure that you make wide turns. Short turns put understandable sideways torque on the inside posts so that part will likely be the first point of failure.
By owning my own aerator (versus trying to rent when all the rentals are gone during peak season), I look forward to aerating 2x/year and creating a lush lawn that you'll all be proud of.
Now, I have my eye on a tow-behind de-thatcher! When's Christmas?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Sumerduck, Lee, VA 22742, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value, works well. Missing parts

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the 40" model of this aerator and was frustrated at first because it was missing 26 different little parts (nuts, bolts, etc.). I called customer service and they got the parts to me in about a week. Assembly was easy. I put sand bags in the tray for weight (about 120lbs) and it's working exactly as advertised. I really like it---just be sure to COUNT all the little parts before you start assembly.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator
from Brunswick, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lawn tool!

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this aerator twice on my yard, once dry and once slightly moist. Honestly, with enough weight (I used 4 cinder blocks at 30lbs each for a total of 120lbs) and proper speed (I went roughly half throttle on my Cub Cadet zero-turn) a yard can be properly aerated rather it's wet or dry. I had no problems pulling 1.5-2.5 inch plugs all across my yard. Although the 48 inch model ofers a better value per dollar, I prefer the 40 inch model because it allows me to access areas that the larger model may not be able to get into (backing may be neeccessary). Assembly was relatively simple with a few tools and the instructions were adequate. Product is well made and most importantly, made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 40 in. Tow-Behind Plug Aerator

This works great

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Yes, you have to assemble it, but it's not that hard. My lawn is almost nothing but clay. I watered it so that the top 1" was moist but not muddy. Used 5 - 4x8x16" blocks in the tray for weight, and it pulled plugs about one and a half inches deep. I have a Sears lawn tractor with a 24 HP motor and it pulled it with no problem. Very happy with the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>