728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets

40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets

The 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets with its Softener Care formula is up to 99.8% pure salt that can be used in most water softeners. The pellets minimize bridging and mushing and help keep the softener clean.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product6 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product6 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
Review 1 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
bonzo
from Kern county California

Morton Water Softener Salt Pellets

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for the last 4 years and my softener performs flalesly with not one single problem. I can recommend this to anyone who has a softener with no regrets whatsoever.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
avery24
from Kaysville, UT, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great softener pellets

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was originally recommended these pellets by my brother-in-law who sells water softeners. He says that this brand is the only thing he will use with his personal water softener. We have three kids and with running a dishwasher three to four times a week, baths, showers, etc, etc our large salt bin (for lack of the proper term) hold about five of these 40 lb. bags and they seem to last for about two months. I have nothing to compare them against but am satisfied with how little I have to refill compared to stories from others. As for the "bait and switch" comment posted on here I don't really understand his complaint. He is either dissatisfied having to use salt in a water softener or has some other issue that wasn't written. To summarize these salt pellets are the best you can get, and on sale if you have a water softener you have no reason not to buy.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
BPayne
from Harpers Ferry, WV

The Right Stuff

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the cleanest working and most efficient product that I have found for our water softener. It does not contain the rocks, sea shells and sediment that the regular salt contains and therefore does not leave sludge in your brine tank. Well worth the price, but your tank must be clear of other types of salt before you can use it. So try and start with it if you can.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
GeorgioP
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Different than what is pictured here. Diamond Saver brand

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hello,
I too fell for the ad for this on Dealnews. I ordered three bags for in-store pickup, but was given the cheaper "Diamond Saver" brand in the all-yellow bags. I asked the employees about this ad, and they have not carried any actual Morton salt in their store in years they said. I feel rather deceived, though salt is salt, but at least I would have not made a trip into the store for that in house brand, Not very happy by the advertising here.
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
Propok1

Excellent Price!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent price for a necesary product. Local access to this product makes life a lot more simplified.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
Disappointed1Ed
from Parker, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Misleading Information

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I wanted Diamond Crystal, I would have purchased it. I wanted the Morton System Saver II product, which you evidently no longer carry. Your website and the Morton Salt website need to be updated. I will buy the salt elsewhere!
Pros: Easy to Use
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
MoodyBlues

Rental Department

PostedJune 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I especially like the rental department. I have rented many items in the past years at Home Depot. The thing I like about renting tools and equipment from Home depot is if you bring back a tool or whatever and you go over the your time limit by alittle bit the folks there usually wil not charge you for the extra time. I remember one particular time I rented a grass thacther and It was not performing very well, and it was hard to get the job done.I did finish the job and when I got back to Home Depot and told the man working in the rental department about it and he did not charge me anything for the thacther. I thought that was very nice of him.
-35points
1out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
5ndime
from Minnesota
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bait and switch

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dont expect system saver 2 salt, you will only be able to get off brand plain salt tablets for this price.
-13points
10out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 40 lb. Water Softener Salt Pellets
HOMER

Home Depot Availability

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The description says Diamond Crystal Brand wich is what you will receive. Picture showing Morton Brand is invalid it is now the yellow bags of Diamond Crystal 40lb. Sorry for the inconvenience.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.