728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chisels or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set

4-Piece Wood Chisel Set

The Irwin 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set features chisels that have a load capacity of 75 lb. They are crafted with carbon-rich steel to help ensure strength and are completely forged and hardened for added durability. They have ergonomic soft grip handles that are designed to reduce fatigue for efficiency.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product10 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
Review 1 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
JHarlow
from Hobbiest/tinkerer in Colorado Springs, CO.

Great first set if you are a begining woodworker

PostedJanuary 18, 2007
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this set for about 6 months now.
They are sharp out of the box and have good weight to them. I have used them mostly on stick lumber and they have done everything that I have asked them to. They come with plastic tip guards, any well shaped chisel blade would be easy to chip/break, so use the guards and don't loose them.
I have not had to sharpen them yet, so I cannot comment on how well they sharpen, however, I don't foresee a problem.
They are a great value and you get the sizes you really need for a beginner.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
atwyman
from Chestnut Hill, PA

Great!

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this wood chisel set for carving basswood, walnut and other material. They have worked very well, and I have been impressed with them. The steel is good quality and the tools hold an edge well. The wider blades are great for roughing out material, and the thinner one is awesome for more detail-oriented work. I’ve also found that using them upside down allows you to really gouge out large chunks of wood quickly, making rough work nice and fast. They have a nice weight and good balance too. I also love that they come with tip guards, since I have ruined other chisels by storing them together in a box (the blades jostle about and the tips got nicks and chips).
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
atwyman
from Chestnut Hill, PA

Great!

PostedFebruary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this wood chisel set for carving basswood, walnut and other material. They have worked very well, and I have been impressed with them. The steel is good quality and the tools hold an edge well. The wider blades are great for roughing out material, and the thinner one is awesome for more detail-oriented work. I’ve also found that using them upside down allows you to really gouge out large chunks of wood quickly, making rough work nice and fast. They have a nice weight and good balance too. I also love that they come with tip guards, since I have ruined other chisels by storing them together in a box (the blades jostle about and the tips got nicks and chips).
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
Doresoom
from Harvest, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Chisels that really hold an edge

PostedMarch 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had these chisels for two years now, and I haven't needed to sharpen them yet. I've only used them on pine and cedar, once or twice a month. So they haven't been put through a torture test, but they also haven't been sitting on the shelf unused.
I'm happy with their weight, and picked them over other options because they were the best quality for the money. The metal striking ends and the included tip covers are also great features.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
DonOfKy

Quality Manufacturing

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Steel quality is a big factor in maintaining a cutting edge. This product is manufactured with very hard blade steel and, additionally, it is featured with steel impact beds. They should last for many years to come.
I support the positive reviews I considered prior to purchasing this product. Home Depot's shipping process was fast and secure.
For those of you who aren't aware of this ordering option; I was able to use a merchandise card for this online purchase. The remaining balance I was able to place on a credit card in the same ordering process. Home Depot has their online act together in this regard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
Leviticus

Great set of chisels, not an outrageous price

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I got to the store, I decided on these because they were clearly the highest quality on the shelf and decided that the price wasn't too much to pay. I got them home and they're ready to go right out of the packaging. Clean cuts, durable tails for hammer hits, and good at removing enough material while maintaining control. Happy to have purchased them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
thinice
from FF, MN

Great value

PostedJanuary 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for $30 they're plenty hard, hold a good edge and the 1/4" is very useful at times.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
RamJacCorp
from Philly
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A step up from the low-cost versions

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The tools are constructed well, and I'm hoping that they'll provide years of good performance. The grip fits the hand nicely, and has a textured rubber coating. It would have been nice if the set came with a case of some sort. They provide tips guards. The tools are actually made by Marples, which I guess was bought by Irwin, which is now owned by an even bigger fish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
Jumpinjoe
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Marples make great chisels

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great set of Chisels. Easy to resharpen and should provide many years of use.
Pros: Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-Piece Wood Chisel Set
Robert
from Myrtle Point, OR 97458, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's a good deal !

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are working with wood as much as I do and need a high end wood chisel at a good prices then look at the Irwin 4-piece wood chisel set !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.