728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Primers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer

5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer

The Glidden 5-Gallon Interior PVA Drywall Primer and Sealer is formulated for an easy application with a roller or brush. It is designed for use under latex paints on properly prepared, new or previously painted drywall, concrete block and brick. The latex base dries quickly to the proper hardness for easy sanding.
Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product15 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Review 1 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Vermonter
from Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for your money

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good basic primer for new drywall. 2 coats unless you are using a primer paint combo on top of it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Tim11
from Tampa, FL

Good Drywall Primer

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our condo had a fire that required new drywall on ceilings/floors. I purchased 2, 5 gallon pails of this glidden after reading poor reviews of the behr brand. This primer worked great. In 1 coat it completly covered all mudded,taped,red lined areas. After 1 hour it was dry, walls went from bare drywall to a white 1st layer you could almost live with. It looked like a white walled apartment. Buy this brand and you won't have any regrets. Now on to the Behr ultra paint....
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Amrie
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This paint went on easily and looked great when dry.

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this primer over newly finished drywall on a 960 sq ft ceiling. It took about 4 gallons, so the coverage wasn't great, but the surface was smooth and even when dry. I was a little nervous about using a product that was so inexpensive compared to most other quality paints that I have used in the past, but I was pleasantly surprised. The paint was a good consistency and as easy to apply as any primer that I have used, even on the areas of old drywall that were uneven.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Dutch
from Vicksburg, MI 49097, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome performance

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used more expensive Primers in the past, but this product far surpasses my expectations. Easy to apply, dries to a hard/smooth finish. I did 1000 s.f. of interior walls in 3 hours with a roller and brush for cutting in. Don't be fooled by the more expensive paints/primers, Glidden is a great value for the money!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
girlscanfixit

Amazing!

PostedJune 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money, this is the best primer!
Covered a nasty denim blue in 2 coats!
Thought I'd need 5 gallons to cover an entire basement... only used 2 gallons!
Would recommend this to anyone looking for cheap primer and needing to cover a lot!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Sam234

Awesome New Drywall Primer

PostedMay 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just built our new home and used the Glidden PVA to prime all our new drywall. I was unsure on how well it would do at such a low price, but it was awesome. it sprayed great threw my graco sprayer and covered awesome. Great Product for any one priming new Drywall or texture a MUST!!!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
MisterB
from Grantsville, UT 84029, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We just painted our entire new home with this primer and are very satisfied with the results. I was unsure how this product would work since it had such a low price but I was not sorry about my choice. We used 55 gallons without any problems using a Titan paint prayer in about 7 hours. I would recommend this primer to anyone painting new drywall. It looked so good I wondered if we needed to put a top coat on it at all.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
markus99
from Jackson, Michigan

Awesome paint to use, A+++

PostedJune 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If ever you are looking for the perfect primer, this is the one to get. So smooth and covers everything effortlessly.
Add that to the courteous Home Depot Staff and you have a winner, hands down!
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
mlt26
from nh
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleased with performance

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just finished priming new drywall installation in a large building. This worked great and covered with one coat as long as it was applied generously. No need to skimp with the great price of this product. Very pleased.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
ElGuapo
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good stuff , I will definitely use it again. Good for raw sheetrock.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Dries Quickly, Even Application, Good Coverage
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Chr1

Great product!!! Better than Behr

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product covers new drywall in one coat and looks great unlike Behr where you need two coats also glidden is cheaper . I highly recommend this product over Behr .
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
DudeFritzer

Covered up nicely and evenly.

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had on wall electrical that was hidden back into drywall. Contractors cut 2 ft up from baseboards to conceal wiring and re drywalled the cut with texture. At first the primer wasn't getting into the texture as well as I thought it should. A loaded roller would only cover about 3 sq ft. This problem was solved with a better napped roller. Be very liberal with it. Once it drys- it looks completely fine. Waiting to put a finish coat on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
outlander
from Boise, Idaho

Glidden Primer

PostedJuly 1, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not at all impressed with this product. After four coats of this primer plus a coat of paint you can still see the brown of the drywall seeping through. The drywall is older, but we even had a thick texture over it and four coats still didn't cut it! Now I am off to the store to purchase Kilz for a little extra money and a lot of wasted time with this product. I would give it a poor rating, but it works fine on brand new drywall, but definately would not recommend on any surface that currently has stains or anything that could potentially bleed through. Spend the extra money on something better, because you'll end up doing it in the end anyway.
-11points
5out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
RMikeB
from Sequim, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not apply or cover well. Would never buy again.

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased at local home depot under the recommendation of the Glidden Representative. Product was mixed at home depot and immediately applied by brush and roller. It did not cover well and was difficult to work into the dry orange peal textured dry wall. I had to work areas so much to get the paint to adhere that the texture started to deteriorate.
I did not have enough Glidden to finish the job, but I did have a gallon of a competitor's product (starts with a Z) that is more expensive, but covered more easily and used less paint to do the a top coat over this section. Sorry Glidden you've got a dud here.
Pros: cheaper
Cons: poor application difficult to use bad product, really bad product.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
justme
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

covered great

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
used on new drywall in basement covered great, had to second coat where i wrote on wall with ink, was surprised how good it covered. the wall really sucked it up
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
John

Easy to apply. Coverage was very satisfactory. A real bargain!

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Price performance was great. I recommend this brand of ceiling paint over more expensive brands especially when you buy the 2-gallon size.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Dries Quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 5-gal. Interior Drywall Primer and Sealer
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product