728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chisels, Files & Punches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

The Husky 10-Piece File Set is designed for use on metal and wood. Its 8 files are crafted from metal for durability and come in an assortment of file teeth, and the 8 in. 4-in-hand file has file and rasp teeth on its flat and curved sides. The set has 2 contoured plastic handles for better comfort and control.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product51 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 59 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(15)
3
(9)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product51 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Review 1 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Kauai, Hawaii
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small Size File Set, Okay Value if that is what you need!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
These files are small, at least the largest ones are probably about medium in size if you are buying them individually and a name brand. The do seem to work fine, although I haven't abused any of them yet! Seriously, if you use them correctly and take care of them, I think any file should do fine. I was able to sharpen a lawn mower blade with the largest file in the set with fine results. A larger file would of done it faster though.
Hard to say if this is a good value. If you only need one or two files, you will probably pay about the same as the full set and may never use the other files in the set!
Only time will tell on how I feel overall about the set, but thought a photo showing the size and teeth may help?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Round Lake, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

does what it needs to do

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this to file down some rough cut plastic. I didn't know exactly what i needed so this multi file worked well for me
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Bullhead City, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The files give a great assortment of uses and the file cleaner provides a good way to keep the files clean. I expect these to last a long time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Greenville, South Carolina
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice kit for the money

PostedMay 4, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I chose this file set after reading reviews and came to the conclusion that this was a good deal. However, as I was opening the package, one of the small files broke right in half! I was obviously disappointed, but Husky has a lifetime warranty, so I wasn't too worried. I went back to HD the following day and was able to get a completely new set! I didn't even need a receipt, just had to bring the all the pieces of the old set for an exchange.
I bought this to sharpen my lawn mower blade and it worked great! It was very easy to give my lawn mower blade that "dull butter knife edge" you are supposed to have. Had I kept sharpening it, it would have been super sharp an inappropriate for my grass. Because this is an assortment set, I know that I will be using the various sizes and shapes of files sometime down the road when I'm working on future projects.
The only thing is that I wish some sort of case or carry bag was included...oh well, can't complain because the price was so competitive! Enjoy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, lifetime warranty
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Handles are bad

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The attachable handles do not grip the file and fall off with the slightest tension. The files are sharp but the handle is a waste of time.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Rhode Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great set of files...

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good quality set of files. Excellent assortment and a good price. Can't go wrong with this purchase.
Pros: good selection, reasonable price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Ashburn, Va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value !!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The files worked very well, good quality. Easy to handle.
Pros: Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from McAllen, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You get what you pay for.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The handles and file to not set well together. It's almost recommended that you throw the handles away instead of having the files slip out of it.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner-grade - and that's not a bad thing

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are not the best files you can buy.
But then, the whole set costs less than one 'pro' file, and you are getting just about every size and shape there is. For infrequent 'homeowner' use, that is much more useful than having one really good file that doesn't fit the job.
Likewise, for infrequent use, you could expect these to last a lifetime, and if they don't, at this price, you can't complain!
Some of mine came with a slight bow to them, which I actually find useful at times. Otherwise easily straightened in a vise with hand pressure.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, inexpensive
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Great Product!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This file set is a awesome value for the money you pay, I definitely recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Mattawan MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Files!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This set of files are great because of the varieties of sizes, I have used them a lot more than I expected, for various projects and materials.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Long-Lasting, multiple sizes of files, great price
Cons: had to find a box to store once out of the package
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Meh!

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Files are OK for the price, but not enough handles for the mix of shank sizes. Besides that, the big handle split in the first attempt at installing on the biggest file. I know it says Lifetime Warranty, but how to you prove what they are since they're not marked?????
Pros: assorted
Cons: not branded
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Aurora, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice Set For the Home Projects

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Various sizes and shapes of files that serve different purposes, excellent value for the price and great addition to any small projects done at home or a small workshop.
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from EastCoast, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

OK for fooling around - but....

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Before i bought this set, I had never used anything but Nicholsons. so i never realized that files could be warped. Each of the Mill files is non-planar (warped) such that it would be unusable to "level" a surface. They are sharp, though, and probably plenty good for knocking burrs off edges, sharpening lawn-mower blades, and axes, and so forth, but now I'm going to have to go back to HomeDepot and buy a couple of Nicholsons like I should have done in the first place. I'll keep these for loaners. I wonder what the people who wrote all the rave reviews I see above are using them for.
Pros: sharp and cheap
Cons: warped a bit- ok for some uses.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Sewall's Point, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Choice

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not a lot to say about a set of files. Basic tools that work well for light duty tasks around the house.
Pros: Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good deal for the money

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great value for the money and had all the files I was looking for.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of Capability - Low Price

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is very versatile and gives me a lot of options to do anytype of filing job.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Warrenton, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Set!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This set offered a variety that I needed at a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Husky Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Liked the files. Little one comes in handy for half inch pipes.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Morrisville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good file set for repairing rifle stock

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice set of files for woodworking. The round file, it is coarse and sharp, does an excellent job of removing wood. The bigger half round file is very good for finishing and smoothing. The little half round has it's own handle and is good for finishing/smoothing. The two triangle files, the little one has it's own handle, work well for wood with medium bite from the teeth. The reason I bought the set was for the 4-in-1 rasp. Turns out that the rasp is the only one with a manufacturers marking and mine says Nicholson. A note on the handles: there are two loose handles for the majority of the files, the two smaller files have their own handles cast to the file and are not moveable.The fine toothed flat files are better suited for finishing metal, such as putting a new edge on your putty knife. There are no teeth on the edge of the flat files. If you want to dress your shovel or lawn mower, get a more aggressive file.
Pros: Durable, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>