728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Files or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

The Husky 10-Piece File Set is designed for use on metal and wood. Its 8 files are crafted from metal for durability and come in an assortment of file teeth, and the 8 in. 4-in-hand file has file and rasp teeth on its flat and curved sides. The set has 2 contoured plastic handles for better comfort and control.
Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(6)
3
(7)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product25 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Review 1 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
KauaiGuy
from Kauai, Hawaii
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small Size File Set, Okay Value if that is what you need!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
These files are small, at least the largest ones are probably about medium in size if you are buying them individually and a name brand. The do seem to work fine, although I haven't abused any of them yet! Seriously, if you use them correctly and take care of them, I think any file should do fine. I was able to sharpen a lawn mower blade with the largest file in the set with fine results. A larger file would of done it faster though.
Hard to say if this is a good value. If you only need one or two files, you will probably pay about the same as the full set and may never use the other files in the set!
Only time will tell on how I feel overall about the set, but thought a photo showing the size and teeth may help?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
tilepainter
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner-grade - and that's not a bad thing

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are not the best files you can buy.
But then, the whole set costs less than one 'pro' file, and you are getting just about every size and shape there is. For infrequent 'homeowner' use, that is much more useful than having one really good file that doesn't fit the job.
Likewise, for infrequent use, you could expect these to last a lifetime, and if they don't, at this price, you can't complain!
Some of mine came with a slight bow to them, which I actually find useful at times. Otherwise easily straightened in a vise with hand pressure.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, inexpensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
wetto

excellent value

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are a good set of files with different grades. Also you cant beat the price. They get the job done. The handles are kind of cheap but a real man uses his hands anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
gravemanms5
from lapwai idaho
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great combo for a great price

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great combo of files and the price is unbeatable. Nice selection of styles for one small package . I would highly recommend these to everyone
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
noscully

Great price for a functional product

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much less expensive to buy the package of files and they aren't a professional set but work just fine for small projects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Maxbotmtym
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Returned item unopened

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Did not use item. I sorted through my old files and decided that I didn't need this new set. Can't comment on the quality of these files beyond the fact that they appeared to be about average.
Pros: price was right
Cons: didn't need them
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
jferg
from EastCoast, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

OK for fooling around - but....

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Before i bought this set, I had never used anything but Nicholsons. so i never realized that files could be warped. Each of the Mill files is non-planar (warped) such that it would be unusable to "level" a surface. They are sharp, though, and probably plenty good for knocking burrs off edges, sharpening lawn-mower blades, and axes, and so forth, but now I'm going to have to go back to HomeDepot and buy a couple of Nicholsons like I should have done in the first place. I'll keep these for loaners. I wonder what the people who wrote all the rave reviews I see above are using them for.
Pros: sharp and cheap
Cons: warped a bit- ok for some uses.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
CVix

OK for the price paid

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The handles are not easily getting on and off so I didn't bother using them. They are also not a variety of grades, which I had hoped for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Judge
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Files work well, handles not so good.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The files themselves do a good job sharpening, and widening holes, but the handles do not hold the files tightly.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: handles do not hold files well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
weld387
from Douglasville, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Every file NEEDED

PostedOctober 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are of good steel quality. They have worked well on every job I have used them. The handles included are plastic. They do stay put once placed on the file of your choosing. I can say with confidence that you will be ok with your purchase. I like how they have helped keep my axe's in top shape for my firewood collecting.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
maggieb
from MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A file for all reasons

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since I've started doing a bit of carving and wood working I wanted a set of files to help me in my efforts. This set had a little of nearly everything. I gave the metal files to my Husband for his tool box. They seem strong enough to do the job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
sometimeshandyman
from US
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Great starter kit.

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very good kit to buy if you are just starting to fill your toolbox with filing tools. This kit offers a great variety of files that are well made and at a very good price.
Pros: Durable, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Studio
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice file set

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice assortment of different files for a very cheap price. Unfortunately, a little too cheap. The files don't really fit well into the handle and you are supposed to use the same handles for all of he files. Odd that I wouldn't have thought the handle was worth more than the file itself. They work great for light duty so they were worth it to me.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
WoodworkingDad

Great for the Price

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these just to see how they worked, they were so cheap. They work well on soft metal and wood. I was very pleased. Well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
THREEDUBYA
from Alexandria, VA, USA

So so

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good price good deal. I hate changing the handles/knobs each time. These products would be perfect if there is handle/knob for each filer. This is for home use only but nor pros or heavy use.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
LEEZER
from CROTHERSVILLE, IN. 47229
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

these files work for my everyday use.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
BOUGHT THESE FILES TO SHARPEN ALL MY GARDEN TOOLS AND LAWN MOWERS.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Diego

Decent for the price

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It did the job well and did not break the bank. For the price, you do get a bunch of different size files.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
TruBluDru
from Corona, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great stuff

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well. Don't have anything to compare it to but they have lasted and worked well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
WilsonConstructionSD
from CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent cheap set

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not the highest quality it seems but definitely a good and cheap "jobsite" or homeowner type set, to get beat on but not for a machinist or somebody doing precision work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
DIYer
from Patchogue, NY, USA

Great choice

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although any files I have used in the past were heavily worn, I can say without a doubt that these files are top notch. They have an oily residue on them (likely left over from cooling the cutting machines) but otherwise they are solid and versatile. The size options and different head types allow you to tackle almost any situation where a dremel would otherwise be overkill or too tedious.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>