728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chisels, Files & Punches or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

The Husky 10-Piece File Set is designed for use on metal and wood. Its 8 files are crafted from metal for durability and come in an assortment of file teeth, and the 8 in. 4-in-hand file has file and rasp teeth on its flat and curved sides. The set has 2 contoured plastic handles for better comfort and control.
Overall rating:
4.356 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product40 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(11)
3
(7)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product40 of 41reviews
Customer reviews for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Review 1 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Kauai, Hawaii
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Small Size File Set, Okay Value if that is what you need!

PostedMay 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
These files are small, at least the largest ones are probably about medium in size if you are buying them individually and a name brand. The do seem to work fine, although I haven't abused any of them yet! Seriously, if you use them correctly and take care of them, I think any file should do fine. I was able to sharpen a lawn mower blade with the largest file in the set with fine results. A larger file would of done it faster though.
Hard to say if this is a good value. If you only need one or two files, you will probably pay about the same as the full set and may never use the other files in the set!
Only time will tell on how I feel overall about the set, but thought a photo showing the size and teeth may help?
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Warrenton, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Set!

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This set offered a variety that I needed at a great value.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Husky Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Liked the files. Little one comes in handy for half inch pipes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from houston, texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

new files

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
needed new files. mine were over 10 years old & dull. saw these & bought them.
Pros: All In One
Cons: none
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Montana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very pleased

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased. I needed something simple and inexpensive and this was it.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Homeowner-grade - and that's not a bad thing

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are not the best files you can buy.
But then, the whole set costs less than one 'pro' file, and you are getting just about every size and shape there is. For infrequent 'homeowner' use, that is much more useful than having one really good file that doesn't fit the job.
Likewise, for infrequent use, you could expect these to last a lifetime, and if they don't, at this price, you can't complain!
Some of mine came with a slight bow to them, which I actually find useful at times. Otherwise easily straightened in a vise with hand pressure.
Pros: Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, inexpensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value and selection for the price

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great variety of files in this package. Can file multiple surfaces and angles.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

just what I was looking for. ...

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These are very good but I had a small issue with the files staying in the handles. Im not very strong so they did slip out a few times.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Goodwater, Al
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Self filing file

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These things file like an top rate old fashion 1950's secretary. They are so good they almost file themselves.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good file set!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This file set was very close to the price of 1 separate file, so why wouldn't you get the whole set? Great deal!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good file assortment

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice assortment of quality files. did the job I needed (clean a burr from inside a little tube) and will be there for the next ones I need. I thought the handles might be exchangable , but apparently not. No instructions included, so just jammed one on the file needed. Will eventually come up short, as there were 3 or 4 files with little rat-tail handles and only 2 plastic comfy ones to put on. But still happy with the purchase,
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Arkansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good deal

PostedJuly 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was going to buy a single flat file when I noticed this package. For the price I took a chance and bought this set. Used the large flat file when I got home and it did a very good job. Having the others has proven handy a couple of times already.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from EastCoast, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

OK for fooling around - but....

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Before i bought this set, I had never used anything but Nicholsons. so i never realized that files could be warped. Each of the Mill files is non-planar (warped) such that it would be unusable to "level" a surface. They are sharp, though, and probably plenty good for knocking burrs off edges, sharpening lawn-mower blades, and axes, and so forth, but now I'm going to have to go back to HomeDepot and buy a couple of Nicholsons like I should have done in the first place. I'll keep these for loaners. I wonder what the people who wrote all the rave reviews I see above are using them for.
Pros: sharp and cheap
Cons: warped a bit- ok for some uses.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Los Alamitos, Ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent assortment of files. Great for your tool collection for small jobs.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A very handy set to have in the tool box. Quality appears to be durable. Handles fit well and make it easier to use. Was able to file a rubbing pocket door jamb without removing the door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from Colorado Springs, CO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good files, great price

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good files, great price but the website is making me be much more verbose than I really should have to be.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from ILL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product worked better then I had thought.

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I checked on the web and I decided after review all the different brands that these files were what I was looking for.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

Good product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used several of the files for various projects since I
got the set. The work great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from El Paso
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inexpensive file set

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an inexpensive and good file set. If you need a file once on a while, this is the perfect set for you. It has a several types of files with handles. They wont last long if you use them for strong metals and very frequently, but for getting a job done once on a while at home. This set is the best value for the cost.
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)

excellent value

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are a good set of files with different grades. Also you cant beat the price. They get the job done. The handles are kind of cheap but a real man uses his hands anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Flat/Curve Assortment File Set (10-Piece)
from lapwai idaho
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great combo for a great price

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great combo of files and the price is unbeatable. Nice selection of styles for one small package . I would highly recommend these to everyone
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>