728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

Trubord 4x8 square edge panels are ideal for the construction of residential single and multi family houses as well as light commercial construction and modular mobile homes. Trubord rated structural panels are manufactured using wood strands and waterproof adhesives, and do not contain added urea-formaldehyde resins. The wood strands are arranged in cross-oriented layers to provide strength and performance properties similar to an equivalent thicknesses of plywood. The result is a structural engineered wood panel that is consistent in quality with no core voids. No special tools are required to work with the panels. Trubord sheathing, with a grade stamp, are certified by the APA (The Engineered Wood Association) to ensure the quality is built into every panel and that it meets North American building codes.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product29 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(21)
4
(11)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product29 of 33reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
Review 1 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

smooth and sturdy

PostedSeptember 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its realy smooth over the top and realy sturdy i used it for a skate ramp and its held up for a LONG time. great buy
+8points
40out of 72found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Rayville LA

pleased

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this plywood. It is wonderful very cheap and useful for alot of different things
+4points
24out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from El Cajon

Great stuff on a budget!

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought a fixer-upper and have been slowly remodeling each room of the house. Some of the flooring was in rough shape, so this plywood has totally saved my home and my wallet! Also since I'm not a pro, if I do make a mistake it's very inexpensive to get another piece :)
+22points
30out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Missouri
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awsome

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff is at an amazing price and still dropping!
Its great for almost anything you could possibly need it for, like my reptile enclouser for my python 8ft x 4ft is amazing!
A 4ft x 2ft x 2ft glass tank cost $150
A 8ft x 4ft x 4ft wood cage cost $50 besides glass
-6points
5out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Abilene, TX

Works good, low price

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was brown like the picture and actually 4' wide by 8' long. Bought nearly 60 sheets, product quality is consistent. Would look even better on the walls without the black ink printing, but after putting in shelves, hanging tools and generally piling my stuff against the wall, I can't see the surface anyway. Have not tried to paint any of it - way too lazy for that.
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

beware - bad glue in my batch

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this osb for the set of a play production because I liked the texture and the price was good. When I started painting with latex paint, I noticed that the strands started bubbling up all over the board. I scraped and repainted. After about 3 boards, it hit me --- "This must be some low- VOC glue that's sensitive to the water in the latex paint!" And people use this in the construction of their houses?? On their roofs and walls?? I didn't expect perfection at this price, but I did expect the glue to hold for more than 4 days. Can't blame the Chinese for this one. Louisiana Pacific makes this junk right here in the USA. Buy plywood if you intend to paint your sheets.
-53points
25out of 103found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

This is not plywood people. You dont paint it!

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this to frame all my cabins. This is OSB Sheathing.....not intended to paint like plywood. This is a great product if you actually use it for what it was made for!!!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install
+12points
23out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

Great VALUE and QUALITY for the PRICE!

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Upon fixing our porch area, we have decided to close it down completely with windows and the front door installed. These sheets have been available at our local HD and although concerned that they might be "underpowered" strength-wise, we picked-up 10 of these.
Utilized some of them for roofing purpose with beams spread 2' apart. Outstanding strength for 7/16!!! Multiple layers of pine chips in these boards and strong glue base. Cutting did not produce many jagged edges, but clean cuts.
Easy to cut, somewhat light in weight, outstanding strength a few reasons worth mentioning. Expandable foam and caulk adhere with no issues.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+29points
37out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Usefull material

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This material is great for many building projects. Just be sure you buy all you need up front as the price might double overnight. Hoping the price returns to a reasonable amount soon.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Redondo Beach
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to cut into shapes for custom arches and ceilings

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
OSB is much cheaper than plywood and has good sheer properties. I used it to form all the arches and curves of my cove ceiling and door way arches. Just draw the curve and cut with the jig saw. Touch up a bit if there are bumps. Then nail in cross supports for the drywall. See pictures. Plywood works too, but at higher cost and harder to cut and form.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, cheaper than real wood, easy to cut
Cons: price has really been going up
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+74points
83out of 92found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Yucca Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I used to build raised bed, waterproofed oil-base F&P

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saved 50% on buying these boards instead of plywood and they weigh a little less than plywood.
Regardless of the other reviewer said about the customer who used waterbased paint and wasn't happy, I initially used waterbased waterproofer and it did raise the wood chips a littler, but did seal the boards before I painted them with Glidden flat exterior.
I'm now using oil-based F&P waterproofing/mold treatment, then using exterior paint to make them more attractive on my raised-bed farm.
It's perfectly fine for those of us who are imaginative enough to re-purpose these boards for what we need to do, even if it is unusual. That's the power of the Home Depot :-)
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, use oil based sealer/waterproofer for outdoor use
Cons: must be sealed if used outside and before painting
+1point
13out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Las Vegas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product is as expected

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The wood was of decent quality with only minor imperfections. Suitable for the purpose in which it was intended
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Go the extra few $$$ and get true plywood.

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Probably should have paid the extra few dollars for genuine plywood. OSB strands don't really hold well when drilling/cutting.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood
-8points
2out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Hartsville, SC 29550, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The price was right

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The price was right for the time of purchase.
The sale went well and the sheets were already bundled for us on arrival .We called ahead and bought online.
The price was the best for our area and we got a rebate.
The staff at the store was very accommodating and were ready to load us immediately.
We will buy from HD again.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Mobile, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Basic Roof decking

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ordered and picked up without a problem. Product installed as expected.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
13out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not bad

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The quality is average, the price is good. My nail gun will shoot an 8 penny nail straight through this sheathing if I miss the stud and it does tend to blow out a quarter sized hole on the backside when that occurs. The material holds up ok in weather, but it does tend to peel after a few storms. I used it for sheathing on the outside of a detached garage and for roof decking. It did the job, but I wouldn't use this for flooring in an attic.
+37points
41out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Louisiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This OSB SHEATHING is great and I trust it for durability.

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When changing the siding on my home I was informed that an OSB BOARD must be used under the new siding. Living in southern Louisiana during the summer means you never know when a hurricane might hit, so the size of this board made applying it to the house quick and easey with very little cutting in order to fit the house. The density of the boards gives my home an added weight advantage during a hurricane. I feel safer.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Good Shape, Solid
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+17points
26out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Sutherlin, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High quality product in perfect condition for our commercial application.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality product in perfect condition for our commercial application.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
22out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing

OSB Sheathing - Not Recommended

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product for shething roofing. The quality was poor and did not perform well. We had to remove the OSB and go to plywood.
Cons: poor quality
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 7/16 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. OSB Sheathing
from Paradise, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

you get what you pay for!

PostedOctober 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stuff works great! Good price, good quality!!
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Good Shape
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 >>