728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White

Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White

The GE Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer features a sound reduction system to help provide quiet dryer operation. The manual controls offer easy use, and the DuraDrum helps provide durability. The dryer features 3 dry cycles and 3 heat selections to help deliver efficient drying results. The dryer features a portable and stackable design to help provide versatility and is UL listed for safety.
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product34 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(25)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product34 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
19 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
Review 1 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEST PORTABLE DRYER AVAILABLE!

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having the convenience of doing laundry in your own home has never been easier. JUST VENT, PLUG IN, AND USE.
This dryer is the best portable available anywhere. While not as large in capacity as standard clothes dryers, it can handle a pretty decent load size. Even blankets! Now the only trips I make to the laundromat are once a year - to wash our large comforters for the winter. Excellent performance. We really love this machine! COMPLETELY SATISFIED.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White

This product is best for those who move around a lot. Since it simply plugs into a regular outlet.

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The dryer is a real spacesaver, and is very portable. It is relativelly quiet and does a good job, holds more than you would think it would. It does require a special heat vent fitting, which they fail to make clear in the catalogue. The filter is the easiest one I have ever encoountered, in terms of access and also is very effective in collecting lint. It does use a lot of electricity, however, as compared to other dryers with 220 lines, or to gas. Seems to be well-made. It is a great choice where space is limited. I do believe that is price much too high! Should probably sell for under $400, but costs almost $700; price gouging for those who need a reliable brand and don't have space for a full size dryer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: power usage, price. it is too costly for something this size.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Bronx, NYC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BROKE IN LESS THAN 3 MONTHS

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I HAD THE "OTHER BRAND" OF DRYER FOR MANY YEARS BEFORE IT FINALLY CONKED OUT. I DECIDED TO GO WITH GE THIS TIME BECAUSE IT WAS A LITTLE BIGGER AND HAD SUCH GLOWING REVIEWS. I RECEIVED IT ON JANUARY 23rd AND IT BROKE ON APRIL 11th!!! REALLY "GE"?!? I COULD NOT BELIEVE IT. I WAS FLABBERGASTED. WHEN THE SERVICE TECH CAME TO MY HOUSE OF COURSE HE DIDN'T HAVE ANY SUPPLIES TO FIX IT. HE CLAIMED THAT THE BELT WAS BROKEN AND HE WOULD HAVE TO ORDER ONE TO BE DELIVERED TO MY APARTMENT. I AM A SENIOR CITIZEN WITH NO CHILDREN IN THE HOUSE. I AM NOT DRYING JEANS AND SNEAKERS IN THIS DRYER. WHY WOULD THE BELT BREAK SO SOON? I BELIEVE IT WAS DEFECTIVE, NO OTHER REASON THAN THAT.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Upperville, Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quite

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased the GE Space Saver drier after reading the reviews which all tended to be positive. The Space Saver replaced an ASCO drier which was stackable (on top of the ASCO washer). Within a two year period we had to service the ASCO drier three times and decided It was time to make a change. Thus far the GE Space Saver has run well - where the ASCO tended to run loudly - this is quite quiet and efficient. So far, so good. On the negative side - the drier could have had a better finish to it as it does not look as polished as it could be.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Altoona, Pa

Great Little Dryer

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this great portable dryer and had it installed and vented as a stationary dryer in a former closet that was converted for this purpose. This thing is GREAT! It uses regular house voltage, which I why I as a renter could have a dryer in my apartment.
I got this with the matching portable washer and I will tell you the washer holds way more that the dryer,( if you want near normal drying times). I just split up extra large wash loads into 2 dryer loads and I will tell you it probably takes about 10-15 minutes longer than your full size dryers, However it is so quite you cannot believe it. Now instead of dragging my clothes to a Laundromat, I just dry them in the evening while I watch my favorite shows on TV. Wonderful dryer.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Impressive.

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this dryer along with the GE portable washer. I am very, very pleased with both. The dryer, of course, takes a little longer to dry a load, but I fully expected that. I have the vent out a window when the dryer is on and it works just fine for me. Don't hesitate, it does a good job and the clothes feel clean and dry. I found the reviews of what other folks said to be really helpful when I was doing my research, so I hope that this is helpful to you.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

AWESOME DRYER!!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love this dryer. We are a family of 5 and I cloth diaper my baby. This means a whole lot of laundry! We use this dryer for pretty much all our laundry. I line dry some heavier items (men's jeans/sweats) but them throw them in the dryer to fluff. It takes about 90 minutes to dry a decent size load. I usually use the timed/high heat cycle but have used the automatic cycle for small/light cycles.
I have it stacked over the matching washer. It takes up very little floor space in my small kitchen. I haven't been to the laundromat in months. I love this machine.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from New York, NY

Great Washer!!!

PostedOctober 22, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this thing. I live in an apt in NYC. I haven't been able to do laundry in the comfort of my own home for five years. I finally decided to go portable and I before I made my purchases I did an extensive amount of research. For the dyers, many of the user reviews said that the dyers didn't dry well or that the clothes were always half wet and that drying time was exhaustive. They also commented that the problem might be low voltage and venting. Well, finally I decided on this machine, yet I wasn't expecting much. I was shocked when I used it. It drys perfectly and it is low voltage. I think the vent might be the key. Regardless it was an excellent purchase and I highly recommend this dryer! It works great, everything comes out clean and dry. Even large loads of towels. The exchange over all was great.
I filled out the home depot form online. Someone called me the next day and set up delivery for that Saturday btw 7:30-11:30. The delivery man showed up at 7:30 on the dot. Brought it up to my second story apt and put it in place. Great transaction!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quiet and performs well

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Performs as advertised. If you order online, do NOT include any power cords in your order.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from suburban chicago

GE Spacemaker 120V Portable Electric Dryer

PostedNovember 16, 2006
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you live in an apartment, or a condo and are thinking you would like a portable washer and dryer then this is for you. Even though it is smaller than a full size, you will be amazed how much this actually holds. It has a terrifice lint filter, and you can vent it with a indoor vent that is perfect for any home not equipped with an outdoor vent. It really does a great job in getting your clothes dry without the worry of the disasterous dryers that you pour countless amounts of cash into in order to get them dry enough to hang to dry and not drip all over the floor. You also do not have to worry about overheating your clothes to the point where they almost melt. You will be very impressed at how well this is designed. I Love this Dryer, and so will you.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Pittsburgh, PA

Good Dryer, Another Good Choice

PostedJuly 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered both the portable GE washer and dryer. Again, this dryer consistently received high ratings when I was searching for the best product. This dryer has the capacity for about half a normal load. The clothes dry well on timed drying and usually dry within 45-60 minutes and are not excessively wrinkled. For a 120 volt dryer, I think I got a gem. The only problem I had was the screws provided with the casters were too big for the predrilled holes. I will need to replace with smaller scews from Home Depot. Thanks again GE for making a great product.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Austin, TX

Good Value For Difficult-to-Find Appliance

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed to replace my mother's old dryer. 1950s house has minimum size electric panel with no space to add 220 circuit. While this 110 volt dryer is more expensive than a standard 220, the cost to replace the current panel with a larger one would have been more expensive than this dryer, and I still would have had to buy a new dryer. Enough background.
I ordered online because no one has a 110 dryer in stock. It was delivered in about a week, and in the hour expected. Free delivery was a plus, and they took the old one with them. Delivery guys made sure it worked before leaving. And, this dryer works great. I only gave it 4 stars because it's too early to know how well it will last.
It lacks a buzzer, which is only a problem because the dryer is so quiet you can't tell when it has finished. Lint filter is in the door, so it's easy to get to. Air is drawn over the clothes, across the filter, down through the door, and into the bottom of the dryer where the fan is located, then out the exhaust in the back. To get to the filter you remove a plastic grate, then the filter. Both just pop in and out.
We dried some towels to test it, and the hand towels and wash cloths (with the bath towels) dried in about 40 minutes. The bath towels required an hour total. It seems there are 3 temperature settings that correspond to the cycle. Timed-dry has the highest heat. Sensor-dry is less hot, and corresponds to Permanent Press. Air-dry has no heat. I'm drawing on my memory for this review, so I might not have the details entirely correct.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
Age Range:35 to 44

Best 110v Dryer Ever

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is without doubt the very best 110v dryer we have ever used. The clothes are always dry, and it takes less then half the time to dry a load compared to the model that was replaced. It has a lot of room inside, and is easy to use. I would highly recommend this dryer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Key West, FL

Apartment perfect

PostedMarch 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this dryer 4 yrs ago. It has worked perfect since day one. I have never had a problem with it. I have used it on the balcony and under a cabinet. Easy to vent no matter where you place it. It has never heated my kitchen up when in use under the cabinet. We used the dishwasher space and vented it into one of those water vent trays placed under the sink right next to the dryer. My electric bill has never been lower as when using this model. My other portable ran my electric bill way up and this one does not do that. Lots of different time modes to use for different fabric types. Makes no noise. Great value for the quality. Can roll it where ever you want to plug it in. I also own the washer. Bought both at same time. Another great value for the quality. Saves space, time and money.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White

Convient

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Its nice having a dryer to use along with my washing machine. Living in a NYC apartment one has to use their free space wisely. This electronic dryer does not take a lot of space and does take a little more drying time than a gas dryer but so far I have had no problem drying jeans, towels and even a comforter.
So in summary, I love not having to go to the local laundry mat any more. I also love that it is made by G.E., its light weight and can be rolled anywhere.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Evergreen, CO

Spacemaker Dryer

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed a small dryer that was 120V and had a regular plug. I found this one. It takes a little more time to dry but is very quiet. It was delivered on the day it was supposed to be and the men who delivered were professional and quick. I am very, very pleased with the service and the dryer.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Massachusetts

What a find!!!

PostedApril 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a find... This is the greatest. I live in a rented home with no 220v so I needed to find a dryer I could plug into a regular plug.
This is the best thing I have bought in 15 years. Dries great and can handle a large load. Use the optimum cycle for regular laundry and extra dry for heavy items. You WON"T regret purchasing this. My electric bill hardly moved, way less than laundrymat prices and never mind the time to get there. ENJOY!!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Southern Oregon

I Tried the Rest then I Tried the Best

PostedMay 15, 2007
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We rent an apartment and don't have 240V power and our landlord would not let us do a gas hookup, so we needed a 120v dryer.
This GE is the best (better) on the market, in my opinion.
My review title is kind of a joke because "the rest" is virtually only one other 120v dryer. There are many other "brands" but they look the same inside and out and they are probably made in the same factory.
Unfortunately, I tried one of "the other" brand name 120v dryers first, before I bought this GE. I bought it first because: the reviews were good (that's a mystery); It was under a name brand; it listed for $50 less than the GE; and it was on display in the store (the GE was special order).
It turned out to be a noisier machine than this GE and did not dry as well. The most glaring design flaw of the other brand is that heated air came into the REAR of the tumbler on the left and went out the REAR of the tumbler on the right, so the heated air does not pass through the clothes. I returned that machine and had to pay for the pickup and a restocking fee. Ouch! I decided to try the GE before I hung a clothesline, and am I glad I did. The GE is a much better design. With this GE, the heated air comes into the REAR of the tumbler in the center and exits out the FRONT of the tumbler, forcing the heated air to pass through the tumbling clothes before exiting out of the machine exhaust pipe. This better GE design makes a big difference for drying efficiency. This GE design also puts the lint cleaner conveniently in the door. The other machines make you reach inside to the back of the tumbler and remove and disassemble the lint catcher, a real inconvenience.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from Fort Lauderdale
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

It's small and does the job, albeit a bit expensive for what it is.

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Operation: This unit is designed to work with a front loader high efficiency washer. it's important to remember this because the unit also Uses 110v to dry (think of the heat generated by a toaster oven rather than a stove) IE: You can dry smaller loads in the same time as a normal dryer but if you overfill it (even a little) it will take twice as long. With our high efficiency washer I am always tempted to overfill it, but keeping the loads small allows the dryer to keep pace with the washer (items are free to tumble and air circulates better and enhances drying. Also the smaller loads in at the HE washer mean the spin cycle is more efficient as well. My result is clothes come out cleaner and ready to wear. Loads like Jeans, large towels, or bedspreads I will wash at the end of the day and put in the dryer at bedtime. The auto dry does a good job of drying the clothing "just enough" Comparing energy usage from before and after installing the dryer has been negligible. Because we had been washing clothing and drying the month before and after the difference ended up to be less than expected for a dryer.
Installation: We personally have a Whirlpool washer and have this GE Dryer stack on top of it. both units have stacking kits but don't use the same connections to accomplish the stacking so a bit creative maneuvering was necessary. (Luckily I had the stacking kit from the prior Whirlpool dryer that we couldn't use in our current location) So I used some of the components from the whirlpool and some from the GE to link them securely together. The GE Dryer does come with wheels which may be attached to make the unit mobile if you are not stacking the unit. Unlike 220v dryers (and some 110v dryers) this unit does come with the power cord & already connected. The unit seems instructed fairly well, time will tell as to the longevity. The blower connection is preconfigured to discharge from the lower center of the unit but areas are cleared so that you can (with a basic vent elbow can direct the air from the left or right side rather than the back (punch out's are pre-set). However the pre-installed tubing that exits the center of the unit is not long enough to attach new vent pipe to which force some additional tweaks to get it to work, then I decided to vent it from the side to allow the unit to be placed much closer to the wall.
Summary: Overall quite happy with the unit and features. Drying speed is decent provided you do not overload and are using with a HE washer set to high spin to extract the most water from the clothing. The disappointment is the cost of the unit is substantially more than what the unit is providing. I know it must be because it's not produced in high volume which jacks up the price. (so value is listed as fair)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, dry sensor
Cons: small drum restricts airflow
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spacemaker 3.6 cu. ft. Portable Electric Dryer in White
from New York, NY

Very Impress!!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this portable dryer about 2 weeks ago and so far IM AMAZED BY IT! Dry very well you could take it anywhere around the house, has a very large capacity and the best part is that you could mounted on a wall. I have a washer so I mounted right on top of where my washer is so its very convinient.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>